Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Hickorynut and the Kidneyshell [Final Version]

Introduction

Freshwater mussels are among the world’s most imperiled taxa with declines reported on a global scale (Bogan 1993; Lydeard et al. 2004). The rich unionid fauna of North America has been hit particularly hard with over 70% of the approximately 300 species showing evidence of declines with many now considered rare, endangered, threatened or imperiled (Allan and Flecker 1993; Williams et al. 1993). Canada is home to 55 unionid species, 41 of which can be found in the province of Ontario with 18 species having Canadian distributions restricted to this province. The rivers of southwestern Ontario, primarily those draining into Lake St. Clair and Lake Erie, are home to the richest unionid assemblages in Canada. The Sydenham River has historically been considered to be the richest unionid river in all of Canada (Clarke 1992) with a total species count of 34 (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2003), however, recent evidence suggests that the Grand (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2000) and Thames rivers (pers. comm. J. Metcalfe-Smith, National Water Research Institute, Burlington, Ontario), also with historic species counts of 34, were equally diverse.

            Despite the historic richness of these rivers, recent events have led to significant declines in the unionid communities of southwestern Ontario. Intensive agricultural activity, expanding urbanization and the introduction of invasive dreissenid mussels (zebra (Dreissena polymorpha) and quagga (Dreissena bugensis) mussels) have all been implicated in large scale declines observed in freshwater mussel populations over the last two to three decades (Nalepa 1994; Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2000; Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2003).  During this time 4 species have been lost from the Sydenham River, 10 species have disappeared from the Thames River and the community of the Grand River has been reduced by 9 species.  These declines, coupled with the near complete collapse of the Great Lakes populations (Nalepa et al. 1996), have led to the listing of 8 Ontario mussel species as endangered by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife In Canada (COSEWIC).  

The Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team (OFMRT) was formed in the spring of 2003 to address concerns about the status of Ontario’s freshwater mussel populations and to begin to address the recovery planning obligations under Canada’s new Species at Risk Act (SARA). The National Recovery Strategy for the Round Hickorynut and the Kidneyshell was developed by the OFMRT using the best available information in an effort to reduce the threats, prevent their extirpation and, if possible, to restore these species to healthy, self-sustaining levels.  In recognition of the degree of overlap between these species in both their historical and current distributions, as well as the commonality of threats, the OFMRT has adopted a multi-species approach to the recovery of these species.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'obovarie et le ptychobranche [version finale]

Introduction

Les moules d’eau douce sont parmi les espèces les plus en danger du monde avec des déclins signalés à l’échelle mondiale (Bogan 1993; Lydeard et al. 2004). La riche faune des unionidés de l’Amérique du Nord est particulièrement frappée, plus de 70 % des 300 espèces ou environ manifestant des diminutions et de nombreuses espèces étant considérées maintenant rares, en voie de disparition, menacées ou en danger (Allan et Flecker 1993; Williams et al. 1993). Au Canada, 55 espèces d’unionidés sont présentes, dont 41 dans la province de l’Ontario, 18 espèces présentant une répartition canadienne se limitant à cette province. Les rivières du sud-ouest de l’Ontario, principalement celles se jetant dans le lac St. Clair et le lac Érié, se retrouvent dans les plus riches assemblages d’unionidés au Canada. La rivière Sydenham est considérée historiquement comme la plus riche rivière d’unionidés de tout le Canada (Clarke 1992), avec un total de 34 espèces (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2003), mais une preuve récente indique que les rivières Grand (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2000) et Thames (communication personnelle avec J. Metcalfe-Smith, Institut national de recherche sur les eaux, Burlington, Ontario), également avec un compte historique de 34 espèces, sont également diverses.

Malgré la richesse historique de ces rivières, les événements récents ont conduit à des déclins importants des communautés d’unionidés du sud-ouest de l’Ontario. L’activité agricole intensive, l’urbanisation accrue et l’introduction d’espèces de moules dreissenas envahissantes (zébrée (Dreissena polymorpha) et quagga (Dreissena bugensis) sont les causes des déclins à grande échelle observés dans les populations de moules d’eau douce au cours des deux à trois dernières décennies (Nalepa 1994; Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2000; Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2003). Durant cette période, 4 espèces ont été perdues dans la rivière Sydenham, 10 espèces sont disparues de la rivière Thames et la communauté de la Grand River s’est réduite de 9 espèces. Ces déclins, accompagnés de l’écroulement presque complet des populations des Grands Lacs (Nalepa et al. 1996), ont conduit à l’inscription de 8 espèces de moules de l’Ontario comme étant en voie de disparition par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC).

L’Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team (OFMRT) (équipe de rétablissement des moules d’eau douce de l’Ontario) a été formée au printemps de 2003 pour étudier les préoccupations entourant la situation des populations de moules d’eau douce de l’Ontario et commencer à s’acquitter des obligations de planification du rétablissement en vertu de la nouvelle Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP du Canada. La stratégie nationale de rétablissement de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme a été élaborée par l’OFMRT à l’aide des meilleurs renseignements disponibles dans un effort pour réduire les menaces, prévenir leur disparition et, si possible, restaurer ces espèces à des niveaux sains de stabilité. Reconnaissant le degré de chevauchement entre ces espèces dans leurs répartitions historiques et actuelles ainsi que les points communs des menaces, l’OFMRT a adopté une approche polyvalente au rétablissement de ces espèces.