Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Hickorynut and the Kidneyshell [Final Version]

Potential Impacts of Recovery Strategy on Other Species/Ecological Processes:

The Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell are sensitive species, particularly to issues of water quantity and quality. For this reason, we expect that efforts made to improve conditions for these mussels will benefit most other aquatic species. A few opportunistic species that can readily adapt to degraded conditions (e.g., giant floater (Pyganodon grandis) or fathead minnow (Pimephales promelas)) may see a decline in numbers/range as a result of rehabilitative efforts. These changes should not be viewed in a negative light but rather as a restoration of the aquatic community to pre-disturbance conditions.

 5. Actions Already Completed or Underway

SydenhamRiver Aquatic Ecosystem Recovery Strategy: The Sydenham River Recovery Team became the first group in Canada to adopt an ecosystem approach to recovering aquatic species when they completed the Sydenham River Aquatic Ecosystem Recovery Strategy (SRAERS) in 2003 (Dextrase et al. 2003). The recovery strategy focuses on the 14 aquatic species (5 mussels, 8 fishes, 1 turtle) within the basin that are listed as endangered, threatened or of special concern by the COSEWIC. Both the Round Hickorynut and the Kidneyshell were listed after the SRAERS was completed and so these species are not directly considered within the strategy. Despite their exclusion from the strategy many of the actions proposed by Dextrase et al. (2003) to benefit the 5 included mussel species will be beneficial for recovery of these two species.

ThamesRiver Recovery Ecosystem Strategy: The Thames River Recovery Team (TRRT) has set out to develop an ecosystem based recovery strategy for the Thames River watershed. The stated goal is to develop “a recovery plan that improves the status of all aquatic species at risk in the Thames River through an ecosystem approach that sustains and enhances all native aquatic communities” (Thames River Recovery Team 2003). This recovery strategy addresses 25 COSEWIC listed species including 7 mussels, 12 fishes and 6 reptiles. Both the Round Hickorynut and the Kidneyshell are being considered in the development of this strategy as both species historically occurred within this watershed. Although neither species is still known to occur in the Thames River, recovery actions proposed by the TRRT will increase the likelihood that Recovery habitat for these species in the Thames River will prove suitable for possible future repatriations. 

AusableRiver Ecosystem Recovery Strategy: The Ausable River Recovery Team is developing an ecosystem Recovery Strategy for the 14 COSEWIC listed aquatic species in the Ausable River basin. This plan covers 4 endangered mussel species including the Kidneyshell. The overall goal of the strategy is to “sustain a healthy native aquatic community in the Ausable River through an ecosystem approach that focuses on species at risk “(Ausable River Recovery Team 2004). The Ausable River Recovery Team (2004) has also established a species-specific recovery goal for all mussels of “maintain(ing) existing populations of species at risk and restor(ing) self-sustaining populations of each species to areas of the river where they formerly occurred.

Grand River Fish Species at Risk Recovery Strategy: The Grand River Recovery Team has developed a draft recovery strategy for fish species at risk in the Grand River. The goal of this strategy is “to conserve and enhance the native fish community using sound science, community involvement and habitat improvement measures” (Portt et al. 2003). Although the strategy does not directly address any mussels species, their “habitat preferences and requirements will be taken into account when assessing management actions targeting fish species at risk. In most cases, it is anticipated that recovery actions benefiting fishes at risk will also benefit these other rare species” (Portt et al. 2003).

WalpoleIslandEcosystem Recovery Strategy: The Walpole Island Ecosystem Recovery Strategy Team was established in 2001 to develop an ecosystem based recovery strategy for the area containing the St. Clair delta with the goal of outlining steps to maintain or rehabilitate the ecosystem and species at risk (Walpole Island Heritage Centre 2002). The strategy identifies all known COSEWIC designated species within Walpole Island First Nation, both aquatic and terrestrial. 

Fish Host Identification: A research group led by Dr. J. Ackerman and Dr. G. L. Mackie has been established at the University of Guelph to investigate aspects of the reproductive cycle of freshwater mussels (host fish determination, glochidial development, juvenile growth and survival). The group conducts its research at the Hagen Aqua Lab on the grounds of the university in Guelph, Ontario, Canada. This facility has been used to investigate potential hosts for four species of endangered mussels including the Kidneyshell (McNichols and Mackie 2003). In 2003 they identified three host species for the Kidneyshell (blackside darter, Johnny darter, fantail darter) but have yet to attempt to identify or confirm the host for the Round Hickorynut (McNichols and Mackie 2004).  

 Stewardship Activities: Stewardship programs have been available in the St. Clair Region Conservation Authority in 2000 for projects involving tree planting; stream stabilization; wetland creation; buffer strips; grassed waterways; sediment traps; repair or replacement of faulty septic systems; manure storage facilities; clean water diversions; runoff collection systems; fencing livestock from watercourses; plugging and repairing wells and nutrient management plans.  Implementation of these projects improves and protects rural water quality, and the habitat for aquatic species at risk.

                        Currently, the Ausable-Bayfield Conservation Authority is able to provide funding for stewardship activities such as: tree planting, windbreaks, buffer strips, Nutrient Management Plans, well-decommissioning, wellhead protection, livestock washwater, manure spreading equipment modifications, conservation tillage modifications, clean water diversion, livestock restriction, fertilizer, fuel and chemical storage and handling, erosion control, conservation tillage equipment modifications and septic system upgrades.  Implementation of these projects improves water quality and habitat for aquatic species at risk.

                        Stewardship activities occurring throughout the ranges of these two mussels are able to occur, in large part, because of funding obtained through the federal Habitat Stewardship Program (HSP).

Mussel Monitoring Network: Fifteen permanent monitoring stations for mussels have been established on the Sydenham River and a further 6 on the Thames River. Additional stations will be located on the Ausable River during 2006. These sites will be part of an ongoing monitoring system as part of the Sydenham, Ausable and Thames ecosystem recovery strategies and will provide quantitative trend through time data to evaluate recovery actions as well as the overall status of mussel communities.  

Nutrient Management Act:  Implementation of this provincial legislation, which came into force September 30 2003, will regulate the storage and use of nutrients including manure, farmyard run-off and farm washwater.  This should reduce nutrient inputs to the watercourses, which will benefit the aquatic habitats of the mussels. 

Source Protection Planning: A White Paper on Watershed-based Source Protection Planning was released in February 2004. Source Protection Planning will identify potential sources of contamination to the surface water and groundwater, determine how much water is readily available, evaluate where that water is vulnerable to contamination and implement programs to minimize risk of contamination to water quality as well as minimizing threats to water quantity.   

6.Action Plans

One or more action plans relating to this recovery strategy will be produced within 5 years of the strategy being completed. Wherever possible action plans should be linked to existing watershed recovery teams.  Recovery resources in southwestern Ontario (both fiscal and personnel) are limited. Partnership with these other recovery teams will ensure that efforts are not duplicated and will help to prevent the implementation of recovery efforts for differing species that may conflict. 

7. Evaluation

The routine monitoring programs will provide the primary means of evaluating the success of the listed recovery approaches. The monitoring programs will provide trend through time data allowing the tracking of Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell populations and habitat and will form the basis of an adaptive management program. Recovery Implementation Groups will develop specific targets in the Recovery Action Plans to provide a further basis for evaluating success. The entire Recovery Strategy will be reviewed in 5 years at which time all goals, objectives and approaches will be re-evaluated.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'obovarie et le ptychobranche [version finale]

Impacts éventuels de la stratégie de rétablissement sur les autres espèces et processus écologiques

L’obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme sont des espèces sensibles, particulièrement à la quantité d’eau et à la qualité de l’eau. Pour cette raison, nous prévoyons que les efforts visant à améliorer ces conditions pour ces moules bénéficieront à la plupart des autres espèces aquatiques. Quelques espèces opportunistes qui peuvent déjà s’adapter aux conditions détériorées (p. ex., le pyganodon commun (Pyganodon grandis) ou la vairon à grosse tête (Pimephales promelas) peuvent connaître un déclin quant au nombre et à l’aire suite aux efforts de réhabilitation. Ces changements ne devraient pas être considérés sous un angle négatif mais plutôt comme une restauration de la communauté aquatique aux conditions d’avant la perturbation.

5.         Mesures déjà complétées ou en cours

 Stratégie de rétablissement de l’écosystème aquatique de la rivière Sydenham :L’équipe de rétablissement de la rivière Sydenham est devenue le premier groupe au Canada à adopter une approche écosystémique pour rétablir les espèces aquatiques lorsqu’elle a mis au point la stratégie de rétablissement de l’écosystème aquatique de la rivière Sydenham (SREARS) en 2003 (Dextrase et al. 2003). La stratégie de rétablissement met l’accent sur les 14 espèces aquatiques (5 moules, 8 poissons, 1 tortue) du bassin qui sont inscrites en voie de disparition, menacées, ou préoccupantes par le COSEPAC. L’obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme ont été inscrits après la SREARS et, ainsi, ces espèces ne sont pas considérées directement dans la stratégie. Malgré leur exclusion de la stratégie, plusieurs des mesures proposées par Dextrase et al. (2003) pour les cinq espèces de moules de la stratégie seront bénéfiques pour le rétablissement de ces deux espèces.

Stratégie de rétablissement de l’écosystème de la rivière Thames :L’équipe de rétablissement de la rivière Thames a entrepris une stratégie de rétablissement écosystémique pour le bassin versant de la rivière Thames. L’objectif énoncé est d’établir « un plan de rétablissement qui améliore la situation de toutes les espèces aquatiques en péril dans la rivière Thames par une approche écosystémique qui soutient et améliore toutes les communautés aquatiques indigènes » (équipe de rétablissement de la rivière Thames 2003). Cette stratégie de rétablissement vise 25 espèces inscrites par le COSEPAC, dont 7 moules, 12 poissons et 6 reptiles. L’obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme sont considérés dans cette stratégie comme deux espèces présentes historiquement dans ce bassin versant. Bien qu’aucune des deux espèces ne se trouvent dans la rivière Thames selon ce qu’on en sait, les mesures de rétablissement proposées par l’équipe de rétablissement de la rivière Thames augmenteront la probabilité que l’habitat de rétablissement de ces espèces dans la rivière Thames s’avère approprié pour un futur rapatriement possible.

Stratégie de rétablissement de l’écosystème de la rivière Ausable :L’équipe de rétablissement de la rivière Ausable élabore une stratégie de rétablissement de l’écosystème pour les 14 espèces inscrites par le COSEPAC dans le bassin de la rivière Ausable. Ce plan porte sur 4 espèces de moules en voie de disparition, dont le ptychobranche réniforme. L’objectif global de la stratégie est de « soutenir une communauté aquatique indigène saine dans la rivière Ausable par une approche écosystémique mettant l’accent sur les espèces en péril » (équipe de rétablissement de la rivière Ausable 2004). Cette équipe a également établi un objectif de rétablissement propre aux espèces pour toutes les moules visant à « maintenir les populations existantes d’espèces en péril et restaurer les populations stables de chaque espèce dans les zones de la rivière où elles se trouvaient autrefois ».

Stratégie de rétablissement des espèces de poissons en péril de la rivière Grand :L’équipe de rétablissement de la rivière Grand a mis au point une stratégie de rétablissement pour les espèces de poissons en péril dans la rivière Grand. L’objectif de cette stratégie est de « conserver et améliorer la communauté de poissons indigènes à l’aide des données scientifiques judicieuses, de la participation communautaire et de mesures d’amélioration de l’habitat » (Portt et al. 2003). Bien que la stratégie ne vise pas directement des espèces de moules, « leurs préférences et leurs besoins d’habitat seront pris en compte en évaluant les mesures de gestion visant les espèces de poissons en péril. Dans la plupart des cas, on prévoit que les mesures de rétablissement bénéficiant aux poissons en péril bénéficieront également à ces autres espèces rares. » (Portt et al. 2003).

Stratégie de rétablissement de l’écosystème de l’île Walpole :L’équipe de rétablissement de l’écosystème de l’île Walpole a été établie en 2001 pour mettre au point une stratégie de rétablissement écosystémique pour la zone contenant le delta St. Clair, l’objectif étant de souligner les mesures visant à maintenir ou à restaurer l’écosystème et les espèces en péril (Walpole Island Heritage Centre 2002). La stratégie identifie toutes les espèces, aquatiques et terrestres, inscrites par le COSEPAC dans la Walpole Island First Nation.

Identification des poissons hôtes :Un groupe de recherche dirigé par J. Ackerman et G.L. Mackie a été établi à l’Université de Guelph pour étudier les aspects du cycle de reproduction des moules d’eau douce (détermination des poissons hôtes, développement des glochidies, croissance des jeunes et survie). Le groupe entreprend sa recherche au Hagen Aqua Lab sur les terrains de l’University de Guelph (Ontario). Cette installation a été utilisée pour étudier les hôtes éventuels de quatre espèces de moules en voie de disparition, dont le ptychobranche réniforme (McNichols et Mackie 2003). En 2003, les chercheurs ont identifié trois espèces hôtes du ptychobranche réniforme (dard noir, raseux-de-terre, dard barré) mais n’ont pas encore tenté d’identifier ou de confirmer l’hôte de l’obovarie ronde (McNichols et Mackie 2004).

Activités d’intendance :Des programmes d’intendance étaient disponibles à l’Office de protection de la nature de la région de St. Clair en 2000 pour des projets de plantation d’arbres, de stabilisation du courant, de création de terres humides, de bandes tampons, de voies d’eau gazonnées, de trappes à sédiments, de réparation ou de remplacement des systèmes septiques défectueux, d’installations d’entreposage du fumier, de dérivations des eaux propres, de systèmes de collecte des eaux d’écoulement, de clôtures éloignant le bétail des cours d’eau, de fermeture ou de réparation de puits et de plans de gestion des nutriments. La mise en œuvre de ces projets améliore et protège la qualité de l’eau en milieu rural et l’habitat pour les espèces aquatiques en péril.

Actuellement, l’Office de protection de la nature de Ausable-Bayfield peut offrir du financement pour des activités d’intendance comme la plantation d’arbres, les brise-vent, les bandes tampons, les plans de gestion des nutriments, la fermeture de puits, la protection des puits, les déchets d’élevage, les modifications de l’équipement d’épandage du fumier, les modifications au travail de conservation du sol, la dérivation des eaux propres, le confinement du bétail, les fertilisants, le stockage des combustibles et des produits chimiques et leur manutention, le contrôle de l’érosion, les modifications à l’équipement de travail de conservation du sol et l’amélioration des systèmes septiques. La mise en œuvre de ces projets améliore la qualité de l’eau et de l’habitat pour les espèces aquatiques en péril.

Des activités d’intendance se déroulant dans toutes les aires de ces deux moules sont possibles grâce, pour une large part, au financement a obtenu par le Programme d'intendance de l'habitat (PIH) du gouvernement fédéral.

Réseau de surveillance des moules :Quinze stations de surveillance permanente des moules ont été établies sur la rivière Sydenham et six autres sur la rivière Thames. D’autres stations seront situées sur la rivière Ausable en 2006. Ces stations feront partie d’un système de surveillance constante dans le cadre des stratégies de rétablissement des écosystèmes des rivières Sydenham, Ausable et Thames et offriront des données quantitatives avec le temps sur les tendances pour évaluer les mesures de rétablissement ainsi que la situation globale des communautés de moules.

Loi sur la gestion des nutriments : La mise en œuvre de cette législation provinciale, qui est entrée en vigueur le 30 septembre 2003, réglementera l’entreposage et l’utilisation des nutriments, dont le fumier, l’écoulement agricole et les eaux usées agricoles, ce qui devrait déduire l’apport en nutriments dans les cours d’eau et être bénéfique pour les habitats aquatiques des moules.

Planification de la protection à la source : Un livre blanc sur la planification de la protection à la source des bassins versants a été publié en février 2004. La planification de la protection à la source permettra d’identifier les sources éventuelles de contamination des eaux de surface et des eaux souterraines, de déterminer combien d’eau est disponible facilement, d’évaluer où cette eau est vulnérable à la contamination et de mettre en œuvre des programmes pour minimiser le risque de contamination de l’eau ainsi que les menaces à la quantité d’eau.

6.         Plans d’action du rétablissement

Un ou plusieurs plans d’action associés à cette stratégie de rétablissement seront produits au cours des cinq années de la stratégie. Chaque fois que possible, les plans d’action du rétablissement devraient être liés aux équipes de rétablissement des bassins versants existantes. Les ressources (financières et humaines) pour le rétablissement sont limitées dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario. Le partenariat avec ces autres équipes de rétablissement assurera que les efforts ne se dédoublent pas et aidera à prévenir que la mise en œuvre des efforts de rétablissement pour différentes espèces entre en conflit.

7.         Évaluation

Les programmes de surveillance régulière offriront les premiers moyens d’évaluer le succès des approches au rétablissement. Les programmes de surveillance offriront des données sur les tendances dans le temps permettant le suivi des populations d’obovarie ronde et de ptychobranche réniforme et leur habitat, et constitueront la base d’un programme de gestion adaptative. Les groupes de mise en œuvre du rétablissement établiront des objectifs précis dans les plans d’action pour offrir un fondement pour l’évaluation du succès. L’ensemble de la stratégie de rétablissement sera examiné dans cinq ans, moment auquel les buts, les objectifs et les approches seront réévalués.