Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Hickorynut and the Kidneyshell [Final Version]

Record of Cooperation and Consultation

Fisheries and Oceans Canada engaged several First Nation communities in Southern Ontario in the development of recovery strategies for Ontario mussel species.  There were several meetings with members of the London Chiefs Council, one to discuss sampling the Thames River adjacent to the Chippewa, Oneida and Delaware communities and one to discuss the Thames River Recovery Strategy.  There was ongoing dialogue between DFO and the policy advisor to the Southern First Nations Secretariat which is the administrative agency of the London Chiefs Council.   DFO had meetings with the director of the Walpole Island Natural Heritage Centre and the Fish and Game Enforcement Officer from Walpole Island First Nation. During these meetings, general information on the Species at Risk Act was presented and the Walpole Island Recovery Strategy was discussed.  A representative from Walpole Island First Nation was invited to participate on the Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team which prepared the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell Recovery Strategy; the representative was invited to attend all meetings and included in all correspondence sent to the recovery team members regarding this and other mussel recovery strategies. DFO also discussed SARA issues with a representative of the Six Nations of the Grand who works from the Six Nations EcoCentre and who also represents First Nation interests on the Grand River Fishes at Risk Management Plan, the Thames River Fish Management Plan and the St. Clair River Management Strategy.

An information package, which includes a copy of the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell recovery strategy and a summary description of the strategy, was prepared to solicit comments from potentially affected First Nations.  This package was sent to the Chief and Council of Chippewa of Stoney and Kettle Point, Chippewa of Sarnia, Caldwell First Nation, Moravia of Thames First Nation, Chippewa of the Thames, Oneida, Munsey-Deleware First Nation, Mississauga of New Credit First Nation and Six Nations of the Grand. Members of these communities may have traveled or harvested fish from the waters of the Ausable River, Sydenham River, Thames River and Grand River where these mussels were historically found.  Follow-up telephone calls were made to each community office to ensure that packages were received and to ask if they would like to schedule a meeting to learn more about the recovery strategy or the SARA.

The Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team had representation from all of the Conservation Authorities responsible for managing the rivers where mussels at risk are presently or were historically found. In addition to this, DFO prepared a list of non governmental organizations and municipalities which may be impacted by the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell Recovery Strategy. Information packages were prepared to inform these groups that the recovery strategy was posted on the SARA Public Registry and inviting each group to comment on the strategy.  As well, an announcement was prepared and placed in newspapers with circulation in the area where these mussels are found to inform landowners and the general public about the strategy and to request their comments.  These packages were sent and the announcements published to coincide with posting of the Recovery Strategy on the SARA Registry.

The province of Ontario was represented on the Recovery Team by the Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR) and actively participated in the development of this Recovery Strategy. Further to their participation in the development of the Recovery Strategy, the OMNR conducted a thorough review of the penultimate draft (December 2004) providing valuable additional insight. A letter to request further Provincial comment on the Recovery Strategy was sent to the OMNR to coincide with posting of the Recovery Strategy on the SARA Public Registry.

            The National Water Research Institute of Environment Canada was actively engaged in the development of this recovery strategy providing two members to the Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team. Environment Canada was invited to review and provide comment on the December 2004 draft of the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell recovery strategy.

The Recovery Team contacted representatives from Resource Management agencies at the state and federal levels in the U.S.A., where Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell are extant, to invite their participation if interested; none participated. These two mussels are only found in Canada and the U.S.A.  Information packages were sent to each U.S. agency to coincide with posting of the Recovery Strategy on the SARA Public Registry.

Page 12

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'obovarie et le ptychobranche [version finale]

Dossier de coopération et de consultation

Pêches et Océans Canada a engagé plusieurs communautés des Premières Nations du sud de l’Ontario dans l’élaboration de stratégies de rétablissement d’espèces de moules de l’Ontario. Il y a eu plusieurs réunions avec les membres du London Chiefs Council, une pour discuter de l’échantillonnage de la rivière Thames près des communautés Chippewa, Oneida et Delaware, et une pour discuter de la stratégie de rétablissement de la rivière Thames. Il y a eu un dialogue constant entre le MPO et le conseiller en politiques du Southern First Nations Secretariat, qui est l’organisme administratif du London Chiefs Council. Le MPO a tenu des réunions avec le directeur du Walpole Island Natural Heritage Centre et l’agent d’application de la réglementation sur la pêche et la chasse de la Walpole Island First Nation. Lors de ces réunions, de l’information générale sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril a été présentée et on a discuté de la stratégie de rétablissement de l’île Walpole. Un représentant de la Walpole Island First Nation a été invité à participer à l’Ontario Freswater Mussel Recovery Team (équipe de rétablissement des moules d’eau douce de l’Ontario) qui a préparé la stratégie de rétablissement de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme. Le représentant a été invité à participer à toutes les réunions et a reçu toute la correspondance transmise aux membres de l’équipe de rétablissement concernant cette stratégie et d’autres stratégies de rétablissement des moules. Le MPO a également discuté des questions relatives à la LEP avec un représentant des Six Nations of the Grand qui travaille au Six Nations EcoCentre et qui également représente les intérêts des Premières nations concernant le plan de gestion des poissons en péril de la rivière Grand, le plan de gestion des poissons de la rivière Thames et la stratégie de gestion de la rivière St. Clair.

Une documentation qui comprend la stratégie de rétablissement de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme et une description sommaire de la stratégie a été préparée pour solliciter les commentaires des Premières nations éventuellement affectées. Cette documentation a été transmise au chef et au conseil de Chippewa of Stoney and Kettle Point, Chippewa of Sarnia, Caldwell First Nation, Moravia of Thames First Nation, Chippewa of the Thames, Oneida, Munsey-Delaware First Nation, Mississauga New Credit First Nation et Six nations of the Grand. Les membres de ces communautés peuvent avoir voyagé ou pêché dans les eaux des rivières Ausable, Sydenham, Thames et Grand où ces moules se trouvaient historiquement. Des appels téléphoniques de suivi ont été faits au bureau de chaque communauté pour s’assurer que les documents avaient été reçus et demander s’ils aimeraient organiser une réunion pour en savoir davantage sur la stratégie de rétablissement ou la LEP.

L’Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team (équipe de rétablissement des moules d’eau douce de l’Ontario) comptait une représentation de tous les Offices de protection de la nature responsables de la gestion des rivières où les moules en péril sont présentes ou étaient présentes historiquement. De plus, le MPO a préparé une liste d’organisations non gouvernementales et de municipalités qui peuvent être affectées par la stratégie de rétablissement de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme. Des documents d’information ont été préparés pour informer ces groupes que la stratégie de rétablissement se trouvait dans le Registre de la LEP et inviter chaque groupe à formuler des commentaires sur la stratégie. En outre, une annonce a été préparée et placée dans les journaux distribués dans le secteur où ces moules se trouvent pour informer les propriétaires et le grand public au sujet de la stratégie et demander leurs commentaires. Ces documents ont été transmis et les annonces ont été publiées pour coïncider avec l’affichage de la stratégie de rétablissement sur le site du Registre de la LEP.

La province de l’Ontario était représentée dans l’équipe de rétablissement par le ministère des Ressources naturelles (MRNO) et a participé activement à l’élaboration de cette stratégie de rétablissement. Outre sa participation à l’élaboration de la stratégie de rétablissement, le MRNO a entrepris un examen approfondi de l’avant dernière version (décembre 2004), offrant de précieuses idées supplémentaires. Une lettre pour demander d’autres commentaires provinciaux sur la stratégie de rétablissement a été transmise au MRNO, coïncidant avec l’affichage de la stratégie de rétablissement sur le site Web du Registre de la LEP.

L’institut national de recherche sur les eaux d’Environnement Canada a participé activement à l’élaboration de cette stratégie de rétablissement grâce à ses deux membres dans l’Ontario Freswater Mussel Recovery Team (équipe de rétablissement des moules d’eau double de l’Ontario). Environnement Canada a été invité à examiner la version de décembre 2004 de la stratégie de rétablissement de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme et à formuler des commentaires.

L’équipe de rétablissement a communiqué avec des représentants des agences de gestion des ressources au niveau des États et au niveau fédéral aux États-Unis où l’obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme sont présents pour les inviter à participer s’ils étaient intéressés, mais aucun n’a participé. Ces deux moules ne sont présentes qu’au Canada et aux États-Unis. La documentation a été transmise à chaque agence américaine en même temps que son affichage sur le site du Registre de la LEP.