Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Hickorynut and the Kidneyshell [Final Version]

Species information – Kidneyshell

 imageText Box: 1 cmimage

Figure 4: Two kidneyshell specimens from the Sydenham River. Note the characteristic squarish spots. Photo credit: T. Morris, Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

COSEWIC Assessment Summary - May 2003

Common Name: Kidneyshell

Scientific Name: Ptychobranchus fasciolaris

COSEWIC Status: Endangered

COSEWIC Reason for designation: This species has been lost from about 70% of its historical range in Canada due to impacts of the zebra mussel and land use practices. It is now restricted to the East Sydenham and Ausable rivers. Although both populations appear to be reproducing, there is evidence that abundance has declined in the East Sydenham River. Agricultural impacts, including siltation, have eliminated populations in the Grand and Thames rivers, and threaten the continued existence of this species in Canada.

Occurrence: Ontario COSEWIC

Status history: Designated Endangered in 2003.

The Kidneyshell (Figure 4) is one of 5 members of the genus Ptychobranchus that occur in North America, however, it is the only member of the genus with a distribution that extends into Canada.  The species is considered globally secure (G4) and is listed by the American Fisheries Society as being stable within the United States although, in Canada, the Kidneyshell was designated as endangered by COSEWIC in 2003. The Kidneyshell has always had a Canadian distribution limited to southwestern Ontario where it was once found in lakes St. Clair and Erie, as well as the Detroit, Sydenham, Thames, Ausable, Grand, Welland and Niagara rivers.  Recent surveys have shown that this distribution has been reduced and the Kidneyshell is now limited to the Sydenham and Ausable rivers with a few scattered specimens in the Lake St. Clair delta.

The Kidneyshell is a medium to large freshwater mussel that is readily distinguished by its elongate, elliptical shell and yellowish-brown periostracum with wide, interrupted green rays that look like squarish spots (Figure 4).  The type locality is the Muskingham River, Ohio.  The following description of the species, reported in COSEWIC (2003b), was adapted from Clarke (1981), Strayer and Jirka (1997) and Parmalee and Bogan (1998).  The shell is solid, heavy and compressed, and may have a humped shape in old individuals.  The anterior end is rounded and the posterior end is bluntly pointed.  Beak sculpture is poorly developed, consisting of several fine, indistinct wavy ridges.  The surface of the shell (periostracum) ranges in colour from yellowish to yellowish-green, yellowish-brown, or medium brown, with generally distributed broad, interrupted green rays; the shells of old specimens may be a dark chestnut brown and rayless.  The periostracum is unsculptured except for coarse growth rests and a roughened posterior slope.  The nacre is generally white or bluish white, but may be pinkish in young specimens.  The hinge teeth are heavy.  The left valve has two low, thick, serrated triangular pseudocardinal teeth and two lateral teeth that are short, nearly straight, and usually widely separated.  The right valve has one somewhat compressed and pyramidal elevated tooth and one wide, elongated and serrated lateral tooth. The lateral teeth are almost pendulous distally, which is a good distinguishing feature.  The interdentum is wide and the beak cavity is shallow.  Females have a conspicuous groove on the inside of the shell that runs diagonally from the beak cavity towards the posterioventral end; this groove corresponds to the marsupium (COSEWIC 2003b). 

Distribution

GlobalRange: In the United States, the Kidneyshell is currently found in Ohio, Tennessee, Kentucky, Michigan, New York, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Virginia, Alabama, Mississippi and Illinois.

CanadianRange: In Canada, the Kidneyshell is found only in southwestern Ontario.  Since 1997, live specimens have only been reported from the Ausable River, Sydenham River, and Lake St. Clair. 

Percent of GlobalRange in Canada: Less than 5% of the global range of this species occurs in Canada.

Distribution Trend: Since the invasion of the Great Lakes by dreissenid mussels the Canadian geographical distribution for this species has been reduced by 70%.

Population Abundance

GlobalRange: In the United States the Kidneyshell is seldom a significant component of the mussel community but may be locally abundant.  It usually represents on average 2.5% (0.2-8.0%) of the mussel community in rivers but at individual sites where it is found the Kidneyshell may account for more than 10% of the community

CanadianRange: The largest Canadian population of the Kidneyshell occurs in the Ausable River where it comprises 1.5% of the overall mussel community.  In the Sydenham River it occurs in an average estimated density of 0.12/m2 at sites where it was found alive.   In the Lake St. Clair delta Kidneyshells comprised only 0.3% of the overall mussel community (COSEWIC 2003b). 

Percent of Global Abundance in Canada: Less than 5% of the global abundance of this species occurs in Canada.

Population Trend: It is estimated that the population of Kidneyshell in Canada has declined by 70% since the invasion of the Great Lakes by dreissenid mussels.  This estimate is based on the number of historical records that occur in waters that now contain dreissenid mussels.

 

image

Figure 5 : Global distribution of the Kidneyshell (modified from Parmalee and Bogan 1998)

image

Figure 6 : Distribution of the Kidneyshell in Canada. Current distribution reflects surveys since 1997

Biological Limiting Factors

Reproductive Attributes: The reproductive biology of the Kidneyshell follows the general reproductive biology of most unionid mussels. During spawning, male mussels release sperm into the water column and females filter it out of the water with their gills. Fertilization is then able to occur in specialized regions of the gills known as marsupia. Immature juveniles, known as glochidia, develop in the gill marsupia and are released by the female into the water column to undergo a period of parasitism on a suitable host fish species. Further development to the juvenile stage can not continue without a period of encystment on the host. Members of the genus Ptychobranchus have evolved a specialized method of delivering glochidia designed to increase the likelihood of encountering a suitable host.  The glochidia are released in mucous encased packages termed conglutinates which have been shown to resemble fish fry complete with eye spots, or benthic invertebrates such as chironomids. These two forms represent prey items of the host species and stimulate the feeding instincts of the host resulting in an active uptake into the mouth where the conglutinates rupture, releasing glochidia in close proximity to the gills of the host.  The hookless glochidia become encysted on the gills of the host and are encapsulated in a fluid filled sac where they are nourished by the host until they metamorphose and break free, settling to the substrate to begin life as free-living juveniles. Three glochidial host fishes have been identified for the Kidneyshell in Canada: blackside darter (Percina maculata); fantail darter (Etheostoma flabellare); johnny darter (E. nigrum) (McNichols and Mackie 2004).  In Canada, Kidneyshells are known to be gravid between September and November and encystment has been shown to last up to 60 days resulting in the potential for encysted glochidia on the host fishes anytime between September and January (McNichols and Mackie 2004).

Dispersal: Like most native freshwater mussels, Kidneyshell adults are essentially sessile with movement limited to only a few meters on the river/lake bottom. Although adult movement can be directed upstream or downstream, studies have found a net downstream movement through time (Balfour and Smock 1995; Villella et al. 2004). The primary means for large scale dispersal, upstream movement, and the invasion of new habitat or evasion of deteriorating habitat, is limited to the encysted glochidial stage on the host fish.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'obovarie et le ptychobranche [version finale]

Information sur l’espèce – Ptychobranche réniforme

imageText Box: 1 cmimage

Figure 4 : Deux individus du ptychobranche réniforme de la rivière Sydenham. À noter les taches carrées caractéristiques. Crédit de la photo : T. Morris, Pêches et Océans Canada.

Sommaire de l’évaluation – mai 2003

 Nom usuel :Ptychobranche réniforme

Nom scientifique :Ptychobranchus fasciolaris

COSEPAC Situation :En voie de disparition

COSEPAC Raison de l’inscription : Cette espèce a été perdue dans environ 70 % de son aire historique au Canada en raison des impacts des moules zébrées et des pratiques d’utilisation des terres. Elle est maintenant limitée aux rivières Sydenham et Ausable du côté est. Bien que les deux populations semblent se reproduire, tout indique que l’abondance a diminué dans l’est de la rivière Sydenham. Les impacts agricoles, y compris l’envasement, ont éliminé les populations des rivières Grand et Thames, et menacent la survie de cette espèce au Canada.

Présence :Ontario

COSEPAC Situation historique : Inscrite en voie de disparition en 2003.

Le ptychobranche réniforme (figure 4) est l’un des cinq membres du Ptychobranchus génériques présents en Amérique du Nord, mais il est le seul membre de l’espèce ayant une répartition qui s’étend au Canada. L’espèce est considérée globalement en sécurité (G4) et est inscrite par l’American Fisheries Society comme étant stable aux États-Unis bien que, au Canada, le ptychobranche réniforme ait été inscrit comme espèce en voie de

Disparition par le COSEPAC en  2003.

Le ptychobranche réniforme a toujours eu une répartition canadienne limitée au sud-ouest de l’Ontario où il se trouvait autrefois dans les lacs St. Clair et Érié ainsi que dans les rivières Detroit, Sydenham,

 Thames, Ausable, Grand, Welland et Niagara. Les relevés récents ont montré que cette répartition a été réduite et que le ptychobranche réniforme se limite maintenant aux rivières Sydenham et Ausable avec quelques individus éparpillés dans le delta du lac St. Clair.

Le ptychobranche réniforme est une moule d’eau douce de taille moyenne à grande qui se distingue facilement par son coquillage elliptique allongé et son periostracum jaunâtre-brun avec de larges rayures vertes interrompues qui ressemblent à des marques carrées (figure 4). La localité type est la rivière Muskingham en Ohio. La description suivante de l’espèce, signalée par le COSEPAC (2003b), a été adaptée de Clarke (1981), Strayer et Jirka (1997) et Parmalee et Bogan (1998). Le coquillage est solide, lourd et compressé, et peut avoir une forme bossue chez les vieux individus. L’extrémité antérieure est arrondie et l’extrémité postérieure est légèrement pointue. La sculpture des becs est mal développée, consistant en plusieurs fines bosses ondulées indistinctes. La surface du coquillage (periostracum) va d’une couleur jaunâtre à jaunâtre-vert, jaunâtre-brun ou brun moyen, avec des rayures vertes interrompues distribuées de façon générale; le coquillage des vieux individus peut être marron foncé et sans rayure. Le periostracum est lisse sauf pour les restes de croissance rudes et une pente postérieure rugueuse. La nacre est généralement blanche ou bleutée mais peut être rosée chez les jeunes individus. Les dents cardinales sont lourdes. La valve de gauche comporte deux dents pseudocardinales triangulaires épaisses et dentelées et deux dents latérales qui sont courtes, presque droites et habituellement très séparées. La valve de droite comporte une seule dent élevée compressée et pyramidale et une large dent latérale allongée et dentelée. Les dents latérales sont presque pendantes et distantes, ce qui est une bonne caractéristique distinctive. L’interdentum est large et la cavité des becs est peu profonde. Les femelles ont une rainure évidente à l’intérieur du coquillage qui va en diagonale de la cavité des becs vers l’extrémité postérioventrale; cette rainure correspond au marsupium (COSEPAC 2003b).

Répartition :

Aire globale :Aux États-Unis, le ptychobranche réniforme se retrouve actuellement dans l’Ohio, le Tennessee, le Kentucky, le Michigan, l’État de New York, la Pennsylvanie, la Virginie occidentale, la Virginie, l’Alabama, le Mississippi et l’Illinois.

Aire canadienne :Au Canada, le ptychobranche réniforme se retrouve seulement dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario. Depuis 1997, des individus vivants ont été signalés seulement dans la rivière Ausable, la rivière Sydenham et le lac St. Clair.

Pourcentage de l’aire globale au Canada :Moins de 5 % de l’aire globale de cette espèce se trouve au Canada.

Tendance de la répartition :Depuis l’invasion des Grands Lacs par les moules dreissenas, la répartition géographique canadienne de cette espèce a été réduite de 70  %.

Abondance de la population :

Aire globale :Aux États-Unis, le ptychobranche réniforme est rarement un élément important de la communauté des moules mais il peut être abondant localement. Il représente habituellement en moyenne 2,5 % (0,2-8,0 %) de la communauté des moules dans les rivières mais aux sites individuels où il est observé, le ptychobranche réniforme peut représenter plus de 10 % de la communauté.

Aire canadienne :La plus importante population canadienne de ptychobranche réniforme se trouve dans la rivière Ausable où il constitue 1,5 % de la communauté des moules. Dans la rivière Sydenham, il est présent selon une densité estimative moyenne de 0,12/m2 aux sites où on le trouve vivant. Dans le delta du lac St. Clair, le ptychobranche réniforme constitue seulement 0,3 % de la communauté des moules (COSEPAC 2003b).

Pourcentage de l’abondance globale au Canada :Moins de 5 % de l’abondance globale de cette espèce se trouve au Canada.

Tendance de la population : On estime que la population du ptychobranche réniforme au Canada a diminué de 70 % depuis l’invasion des Grands Lacs par les moules dreissenas. Cette estimation se fonde sur le nombre de relevés historiques dans les eaux qui contiennent maintenant des moules dreissenas.

image

Figure 5 : Répartition globale du ptychobranche réniforme (modifiée à partir de Parmalee de Bogan 1998)
image 

Figure 6: Répartition du ptychobranche réniforme au Canada. La répartition actuelle reflète les relevés depuis 1997

Facteurs limitatifs biologiques

Attributs reproductifs : La biologie reproductive du ptychobranche réniforme suit la biologie reproductive générale de la plupart des unionidés. Durant le frai, le mâle libère le sperme dans la colonne d’eau et la femelle le filtre avec ses branchies. La fertilisation est possible dans les régions spécialisées des branchies appelées marsupia. Les jeunes immatures, appelés glochidies, se développent dans les marsupia des branchies et son libérés par la femelle dans la colonne d’eau pour traverser une période de parasitisme sur une espèce de poisson hôte appropriée. Le développement jusqu’au stade juvénile ne peut continuer sans une période d’enkystement sur l’hôte. Les membres du Ptychobranchus génériques ont évolué vers une méthode spécialisée de libération des glochidies visant à accroître la probabilité de rencontrer un hôte approprié. Les glochidies sont libérés dans les muqueuses adhérentes appelées conglutines qui ressemblent à des restes de poissons complets avec les trous des yeux ou à des invertébrés benthiques comme les chironomides. Ces deux formes représentent des proies de l’espèce hôte et stimulent l’instinct d’alimentation de l’hôte donnant lieu à une absorption active dans la bouche où les conglutines se rompent, libérant les glochidies à proximité des branchies de l’hôte. Les glochidies sans crochet deviennent enkystés dans les branchies de l’hôte et sont encapsulés dans un sac rempli de fluide où ils sont nourris par l’hôte jusqu’à ce qu’ils se métamorphosent et se libèrent, s’installant sur le substrat pour commencer leur vie de jeunes libres. Trois poissons hôtes des glochidies ont été identifiés pour le ptychobranche réniforme au Canada : le dard noir (Percina maculata), le dard barré (Etheostoma flabellare), et le raseux-de-terre (E. nigrum) (McNichols et Mackie 2004). Au Canada, on sait que les ptychobranches réniformes sont gravides entre septembre et novembre et que l’enkystement dure jusqu’à 60 jours, donnant lieu au potentiel de glochidies enkystés sur les poissons hôtes entre septembre et janvier. (McNichols et MacKie 2004).

Dispersion :Comme la plupart des moules d’eau douce indigènes, les adultes du ptychobranche réniforme sont essentiellement sessiles, leur mouvement se limitant à seulement quelques mètres sur le fond de la rivière ou du lac. Bien que le mouvement des adultes puisse se diriger en amont ou en aval, les études ont démontré un net mouvement en aval avec le temps (Balfour et Smock 1995; Villella et al. 2004). Le principal moyen de dispersion à grande échelle, de mouvement en amont et l’invasion d’un nouvel habitat ou l’évasion d’un habitat détérioré, est limité au stade des glochidies enkystés sur le poisson hôte.