Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Hickorynut and the Kidneyshell [Final Version]

Threats

The Round Hickorynut and the Kidneyshell, like most mussel species, are sensitive to a wide variety of stressors including exotic species, poor water quality resulting from point (industrial and residential discharge) and non-point (herbicide, pesticide and surface run-off) sources, loss of host fish species, impoundments, siltation/sedimentation, predation and urbanization.  The following discussion of threats focuses on those threats which are specific to the two remaining populations of the Round Hickorynut (St. Clair delta, Sydenham River) and three remaining populations of the Kidneyshell (St. Clair delta, Sydenham River, Ausable River) although it is likely that all of the stressors listed previously have contributed to the decline of these species in Canada.

 Threats to Extant Populations  St. Clair Delta Populations: The introduction and spread of the exotic zebra and quagga mussels throughout the Great Lakes basin has resulted in steep declines of native mussel species (Schloesser et al. 1996).  These invasive mussels are known to attach to the shells of unionids and can cause death by interfering with feeding, respiration, excretion and locomotion (Haag et al. 1993; Baker and Hornbach 1997). COSEWIC (2003b) reported that 64% of the Canadian sites where the Round Hickorynut was historically found are now infested with zebra mussels rendering much of the habitat unsuitable for unionids. The St. Clair delta population occurs in waters inhabited by zebra mussels and Round Hickorynuts were found in areas with relatively high zebra mussel infestation rates (D. McGoldrick, National Water Research Institute, Environment Canada, pers. comm., October 2003). It is not known why the mussels of the St. Clair delta have survived when other areas in Lake St. Clair have been devastated by the zebra mussel invasion (Nalepa et al. 1996) nor is it known if this population will persist (Zanatta et al. 2002). The St. Clair delta Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell populations are very small with only 9 Round Hickorynuts and 1 Kidneyshell detected during sampling of nearly 15,000 m2 in 2003 (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2004)).  These populations are dominated by relatively large, older individuals indicating poor reproductive success with the possibility of frequent year-class failure (COSEWIC 2003b).

Sydenham and Ausable River Populations

Water Quality: The Sydenham River flows through an area of prime agricultural land in southwestern Ontario and over 85% of the land in the watershed is in agricultural use with 60% of land in tile drainage (Staton et al. 2003). Large areas of the river have little to no riparian vegetation as only 12% of the original forest cover remains. Strayer and Fetterman (1999) identified high sediment and nutrient loads and toxic chemicals from non-point sources, especially agricultural activities, as the primary threat to riverine mussels.  Agricultural lands, particularly those with little riparian vegetation and large amounts of tile drain, allow large inputs of sediments to the watercourse. In the case of tile drained land, the sediment input is often of a very fine grain which can clog the gill structures of mussels resulting in decreased feeding and respiration rates and reductions in growth efficiency. The Sydenham River has historically shown high nutrient levels with total phosphorus levels consistently exceeding provincial water quality levels over the last 30 years while chloride levels have shown recent inclines due to an increased use of road salt (Staton et al. 2003).

            Agriculture is also the dominant land-use within the Ausable River basin with over 80% of the land in agricultural use and 71% of the land area in tile drainage (Nelson et al. 2003).  Suspended sediment levels are high throughout the river with levels in the lower main channel consistently exceeding those required to maintain good fisheries (Nelson et al. 2003). Nutrient levels (N, P, un-ionized ammonia) regularly exceed provincial Water Quality Objectives for the protection of wildlife and Canadian Council of Ministers of Environment guidelines. Recent evidence has shown that juvenile mussels are among the most sensitive aquatic organisms to ammonia toxicity (Mummert et al. 2003; Newton 2003; Newton et al. 2003).

            Dissolved oxygen (DO) levels in the East Sydenham River typically average about 10 mg/L however levels at all four Provincial Water Quality Monitoring Stations in this basin have dropped as low as 5 mg/L during the last 35 years (Jacques Whitford Environment Ltd. 2001). Over the same time period, DO levels in the Ausable River have on occasion fallen to comparable levels (2-3 mg/L) (Nelson et al. 2003). Johnson et al. (2001) have found mussel survival rates are closely related to DO levels while Tetzloff (2001) reported massive mussel die-offs in Big Darby Creek, Ohio, following a low oxygen event resulting from a chemical spill. Kidneyshells were one of the most sensitive species to these conditions with greater than 95% mortality, much of it coming rapidly after the onset of low oxygen conditions. Three years after the low O2 event many of the affected species have still not recovered to pre-event levels (pers. comm., J. Tetzloff, Darby Creek Association Inc., March 2004).  

            Water Quantity: Hydrologic regimes can affect mussels in a number of ways. High flow conditions can cause dislodgement and passive transport of mussels from areas of suitable habitat into areas of lesser or marginal habitat. Neither the Round Hickorynut nor the Kidneyshell show the typical shell adaptations associated with resistance to scour and shear stress associated with hydrologically flashy rivers (pustules, ridges, fluting) (Watters 1994). In contrast to the dislodgement associated with high flows, low flows can result in depressed dissolved oxygen levels, desiccation, and elevated temperatures. In a study of drought conditions in relation to mussel survival, Johnson et al. (2001) identified the need for instream flow protection as a critical issue for mussel conservation and protection in the southwestern U.S. Low flow events in the Ausable River often result in the stranding of mussels.

            Host Fish: The Round Hickorynut is an obligate parasite unable to complete its early life stages without a suitable host. The host species for the Round Hickorynut has not yet been confirmed in Canada although evidence indicates the greenside darter (see Reproductive Attributes section) likely functions as a Canadian host.  Clark (1977) also noticed an association between the Round Hickorynut and the eastern sand darter (Ammocrypta pellucida) suggesting a possible host relationship although this species has not been formally tested (M. McGregor, Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources, pers. comm., January 2004).  The greenside darter is considered a species of special concern in Canada where it is found in both the Sydenham River and Lake St. Clair although it is believed to be relatively abundant and stable in the Sydenham River (Dextrase et al. 2003).The eastern sand darter is listed as a threatened species in Canada but can be found in the East Sydenham River in areas where the Round Hickorynut persists. Siltation resulting from agricultural activities has been cited as one of the main reasons for the decline of the eastern sand darter (Holm and Mandrak 1996).

Three species have been identified as hosts for the Kidneyshell: blackside darter; fantail darter; johnny darter (McNichols and Mackie 2004). Recent surveys have shown that johnny darters and blackside darters are abundant throughout the Ausable (Nelson et al. 2003) and Sydenham rivers (N. Mandrak, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Burlington, pers. comm., March 2004) while fantail darters are neither abundant nor widespread in either system. If johnny darters or blackside darters are acting as a host for wild populations in the Ausable or Sydenham rivers then host limitation should not be a primary cause of the observed declines. Only a heavy reliance on the fantail darter as the host would appear to place these species in danger of being host-limited.

Any threats that affect the host species’ abundance, movements, or behaviour during the period of glochidial release must be considered as threats to these mussels as well.  For example,the invasive round goby has been implicated in the following declines of native benthic fish species in the lower Great Lakes: 1) logperch (Percina caprodes) and mottled sculpin (Cottus bairdi) populations in the St. Clair River (French and Jude 2001); 2) johnny darter (Etheostoma nigrum), logperch, and trout-perch (Percopsis omiscomaycus) in Lake St. Clair (Thomas and Haas 2004); and, 3) channel darter (P. copelandi), fantail darter (E. flabellare), greenside darter (E. blenniodes), johnny darter, and logperch in the Bass Islands, western Lake Erie (Baker 2005). Index trawling data from 1987 to 2004 (unpublished data, Lake Erie Fisheries Assessment Unit MNR) indicate that similar declines have occurred in the Inner Bay of Long Point Bay and the western basin of Lake Erie.  Potential causes include goby predation on eggs and juveniles, competition for food and habitat, and interference competition for nests (French and Jude 2001, Janssen and Jude 2001).  The round goby poses a real threat to host fish populations and could seriously impact the future survival and recovery of Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell populations.

Table 1: Assessment of threats to extant populations of the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell. St. Clair delta and Sydenham River threats apply to Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell populations. Ausable River threats apply only to the Kidneyshell population in the Ausable River.
ThreatRelative Impact (predo-minant / contri-buting)Spatial / Temporal (wide-spread / local, chronic / ephe-meral)Certainty (probable / specu-lative / unknown)
St. Clair deltaSydenham R.Ausable R. St. Clair deltaSydenham R.Ausable R. St. Clair deltaSydenham R.Ausable R.
Dreissenid musselspredo-minant--wide-spread chronic--probable--
Siltation-predo-minantpredo-minant-wide-spread chronicwide-spread chronic-probableprobable
Water quality – nutrients & contaminantscontri-butingcontri-butingcontri-butingwide-spread chronicwide-spread chronicwide-spread chronicspecu-lativeprobableprobable
Water quantity-contri-butingcontri-buting-wide-spread ephe-meralwide-spread ephe-meral-specu-lativespecu-lative
Decline of host fishcontri-butingcontri-buting-wide-spread chronicwide-spread chronic-specu-lativespecu-lative-
Urbanization-contri-butingcontri-buting-local chroniclocal chronic-specu-lativespecu-lative
Impoundments-contri-buting--local chronic--unknown-
Predation-contri-butingcontri-buting-local ephe-merallocal ephe-meral-unknownunknown

Threats in Historically Occupied Habitats

 WellandRiver: A single record exists for the Round Hickorynut in the Welland River consisting of a single shell collected in 1931 by an unidentified collector (COSEWIC 2003a). Its current status in this river is unknown. The small 880 km2 watershed of this river is dominated by rural land-uses and the river is subject to many of the same disturbances seen in the larger rural watersheds of southwestern Ontario which have contributed to the decline of freshwater mussels in these systems (A. Mack, Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority, pers. comm. February 2004). Intensive agricultural activity coupled with extensive tile drainage and reduced riparian vegetation has resulted in high sediment inputs to the river, increased turbidity, elevated nutrient and bacterial levels and an overall reduction in the quantity and quality of aquatic habitat (http://www.conservation-niagara.on.ca/wellriver.htm).   

            Grand and Thames Rivers: The existence of the Round Hickorynut in the Grand River is indicated by three shells collected between 1966 and 1972 (COSEWIC 2003a). The Kidneyshell was probably more abundant in the Grand River than the Round Hickorynut as it was historically reported from 7 sites along a 50 km stretch between Caledonia and Port Maitland (COSEWIC 2003b). Recent surveys indicated no sign of live individuals of either species at 95 sites throughout the main channel and tributaries suggesting that the species may have been extirpated from the Grand River for an extended period of time. Like the Grand River population, the Thames River Round Hickorynut population is believed to have been lost as early as the turn of the 20th century (COSEWIC 2003a) with no live specimens collected since 1894. Several fresh shells of the Kidneyshell have been collected from the Thames River between London and Chatham as recently as 1997, however live specimens have never been collected (COSEWIC 2003b).

It is difficult to attribute a cause to the historic loss of populations such as those in the Grand and Thames Rivers although untreated wastewater inputs from major urban centres in these watersheds likely contributed to the declines.

Lake St. Clair, DetroitRiver, Lake Erie and Niagara River: The loss of the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell from historical habitat in these water bodies can be largely attributed to the detrimental effects of zebra mussels. Although, there is some indication that the Lake Erie population of the Round Hickorynut was in decline in the first half of the last century and may have been extirpated as early as 1950 (COSEWIC 2003a). Dreissenid mussels, however, pose the greatest limitation on recovery in these areas.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'obovarie et le ptychobranche [version finale]

3. Menaces

Comme la plupart des espèces de moules, l’obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme sont sensibles à une grande variété de facteurs de stress, comme les espèces exotiques, la mauvaise qualité de l’eau découlant de sources ponctuelles (rejets industriels et résidentiels) et de sources diffuses (herbicides, pesticides et écoulement de surface), la perte des espèces de poissons hôtes, les eaux de retenue, l’envasement et la sédimentation, la prédation et l’urbanisation. Les paragraphes suivants portent sur les menaces qui sont propres aux deux populations restantes de l’obovarie ronde (delta du St. Clair, rivière Sydenham) et aux trois populations restantes du ptychobranche réniforme (delta du St. Clair, rivière Sydenham, rivière Ausable) bien qu’il soit probable que tous les facteurs de stress mentionnés plus haut aient contribué au déclin de ces espèces au Canada.

Menaces pour les populations restantes

 Populations du delta St. Clair :L’introduction et la propagation des moules zébrées et quagga exotiques dans l’ensemble du bassin des Grands Lacs a entraîné un déclin prononcé des espèces de moules indigènes (Schloesser et al. 1996). Ces moules envahissantes s’attachent aux coquillages des unionidés et peuvent causer leur mort en interférant avec l’alimentation, la respiration, l’excrétion et la locomotion (Haag et al. 1993; Baker et Hornbach 1997). Le COSEPAC (2003b) a signalé que 64 % des sites canadiens où l’obovarie ronde se trouvait historiquement sont maintenant infestés de moules zébrées, rendant la majeure partie de l’habitat impropre pour les unionidés. La population du delta St. Clair se trouve dans des eaux occupées par les moules zébrées et les ptychobranches réniformes se trouvent dans des zones présentant des taux d’infestation relativement élevés par les moules zébrées (D. McGodrick, Institut national de recherche sur les eaux, Environnement Canada, communication personnelle, octobre 2003). On ne sait pas pourquoi les moules du delta St. Clair ont survécu alors que les autres zones du lac St. Clair ont été dévastées par l’invasion des moules zébrées (Nalepa et al. 1996) et on ne sait pas non plus si cette population persistera (Zanatta et al. 2002). Les populations d’obovarie ronde et de ptychobranche réniforme du delta St. Clair sont très réduites avec seulement 9 obovaries rondes et 1 ptychobranche réniforme détectés lors de l’échantillonnage de près de 15 000 mètres carrés en 2003 (Metclafe-Smith et al. 2004). Ces populations sont dominées par des individus âgés relativement gros, indiquant un piètre succès de la reproduction et la possibilité d’un échec de classe d’âge fréquent (COSEPAC 2003b).

Populations des rivières Sydenham et Ausable

Qualité de l’eau :La rivière Sydenham s’écoule dans une zone de terre agricole du sud de l’Ontario et plus de 85 % du territoire du bassin versant est à usage agricole avec 60 % des terres en drainage par canalisation en poterie (Staton et al. 2003). De grands secteurs de la rivière ont peu ou pas de végétation riveraine, car seulement 12 % du couvert forestier original demeure. Strayer et Fetterman (1999) ont identifié des charges élevées de sédiments et nutriments et des produits chimiques toxiques de sources diffuses, particulièrement des activités agricoles, comme principale menace pour les moules riveraines. Les terres agricoles, particulièrement celles où il y a peu de végétation riveraine et beaucoup de drains en tuyaux, permettent d’importants apports de sédiments dans le cours d’eau. Dans le cas des terres drainées par des tuyaux, l’apport en sédiments est souvent d’un grain très fin qui peut bloquer les structures des branchies des moules, donnant lieu à des taux d’alimentation et de respiration réduits et à une réduction de l’efficience de la croissance. La rivière Sydenham a montré historiquement des niveaux de nutriments élevés avec des concentrations de phosphore dépassant régulièrement les niveaux provinciaux de qualité de l’eau au cours des 30 dernières années alors que les concentrations de chlore ont montré des augmentations récentes attribuables à l’usage accru du sel routier (Staton et al. 2003).

L’agriculture est également l’utilisation foncière dominante dans le bassin de la rivière Ausable avec plus de 80 % du territoire en agriculture et 71 % de ce territoire en drainage par tuyaux (Nelson et al. 2003). Les niveaux de sédiments en suspension sont très élevés dans toute la rivière, les niveaux dans le chenal principal inférieur dépassant régulièrement ceux requis pour maintenir de bonnes pêches (Nelson et al. 2003). Les niveaux de nutriments (N, P, ammoniaque en NH3) dépassent régulièrement les objectifs provinciaux de qualité de l’eau pour la protection de la faune et les lignes directrices du Conseil canadien des ministres de l’environnement. Une preuve récente démontre que les jeunes moules sont parmi les organismes aquatiques les plus sensibles à la toxicité par l’ammoniaque (Mummert et al. 2003; Newton 2003; Newton et al. 2003).

Les niveaux d’oxygène dissout dans la rivière Sydenham du côté est sont généralement en moyenne d’environ 10 mg/L, mais les niveaux aux quatre stations provinciales de surveillance de la qualité de l’eau dans ce bassin ont chuté jusqu’à aussi peu que 5 mg/L au cours des 35 dernières années (Jaques Whitford Environment Ltd. 2001). Au cours de la même période, les niveaux d’oxygène dissout dans la rivière Ausable ont diminué à l’occasion à des niveaux comparables (2 à 3 mg/L) (Nelson et al. 2003). Johnson et al. (2001) ont constaté que les taux de survie des moules sont associés de près aux niveaux d’oxygène dissout alors que Tetzloff (2001) a signalé des mortalités massives de moules dans le ruisseau Big Darby, Ohio, suite à un événement réduisant l’oxygène découlant d’un déversement de produits chimiques. Le ptychobranche réniforme était l’une des espèces les plus sensibles à ces conditions avec plus de 95 % de mortalité, la plupart du temps rapidement après le début des conditions de rareté de l’oxygène. Trois ans après cet événement, plusieurs des espèces affectées ne s’étaient pas encore rétablies aux niveaux d’avant l’événement (communication personnelle, J. Tetzloff, Darby Creek Association Inc., mars 2004).

Quantité d’eau :Les régimes hydrologiques peuvent affecter les moules de plusieurs façons. Les conditions de débit élevé peuvent causer le délogement et le transport passif des moules des zones d’habitat approprié à des zones d’habitat inférieur ou marginal. Ni l’obovarie ronde ni le ptychobranche réniforme ne montrent des adaptations typiques des coquillages associées à la résistance au stress de délogement et de déchirement associé aux rivières torrentielles au plan hydrologique (pustules, billons, rainurage) (Watters 1994). Contrairement au délogement associé aux débits élevés, les débits faibles peuvent entraîner une diminution des niveaux d’oxygène dissout, la dessiccation et des températures élevées. Dans une étude de conditions de sécheresse relativement à la survie des moules, Johnson et al. (2001) ont déterminé la nécessité d’une protection du débit minimal comme étant critique pour la conservation et la protection des moules dans le sud-ouest des États-Unis. Les faibles débits de la rivière Ausable entraînent souvent l’échouement des moules.

Poisson hôte :L’obovarie ronde est un parasite obligatoire incapable de compléter les premiers stades de sa vie sans un hôte approprié. Les espèces hôtes pour l’obovarie ronde ne sont pas encore confirmées au Canada, bien que la preuve indique que le dard vert (voir la sections des attributs reproductifs) fonctionnement probablement comme un hôte canadien. Clark (1977) a également remarqué une association entre l’obovarie ronde et le dard de sable (Ammocrypta pellucida), indiquant une relation d’hôte possible bien que cette espèce n’ait pas fait l’objet de tests spécifiques (M. McGregor, Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources, communication personnelle, janvier 2004). Le dard vert est considéré comme une espèce préoccupante au Canada où elle se trouve dans la rivière Sydenham et le lac St. Clair, bien qu’on croit qu’elle est relativement abondante et stable dans la rivière Sydenham (Dextrase et al. 2003). Le dard de sable est inscrit comme une espèce menacée au Canada mais peut se trouver dans l’est de la rivière Sydenham dans les zones où l’obovarie ronde persiste. L’envasement découlant des activités agricoles a été mentionné comme l’une des principales raisons du déclin du dard de sable (Holm et Mandrak 1996).

Trois espèces ont été identifiées comme hôtes du ptychobranche réniforme : le dard noir, le dard barré et le raseux-de-terre (McNichols et Mackie 2004). Les relevés récents ont montré que les raseux-de-terre et les dards noirs sont abondants dans l’ensemble des rivières Ausable (Nelson et al. 2003) et Sydenham (N. Mandrak, ministère des Pêches et Océans, Burlington, communication personnelle, mars 2004), alors que les dards barrés n’y sont ni abondants ni répandus. Si le raseux-de-terre ou le dard noir agir comme hôte pour les populations sauvages des rivières Ausable ou Sydenham, la limitation des hôtes ne devrait alors pas être une cause primaire des déclins observés. Seulement une lourde dépendance du dard barré comme hôte semblerait placer ces espèces en danger d’être limitées en fonction des hôtes.

Les menaces qui affectent l’abondance, les mouvements ou le comportement des espèces hôtes durant la période de libération des glochidies doivent être considérées comme des menaces à ces moules également. Par exemple, le gobie arrondi envahisseur a été impliqué dans les déclins suivants d’espèces de poissons benthiques indigènes dans les Grands Lacs inférieurs : 1) fouille-roche (Percina caprodes) et chabot tacheté dans la rivière St. Clair (French et Jude 2001), 2) raseux-de-terre (Etheostoma nigrum), fouille-roche et omisco (Percepsis omiscomaycus) dans le lac St. Clair (Thomas et Haas 2004), et 3) dard gris (P. copelandi), dard barré (E. flabellare), dard vert (E. blenniodes) raseux-de-terre et fouille-roche dans les îles Bass, l’ouest du lac Érié (Baker 2005). Les données de chalutage de 1987 à 2004 (données inédites, Unité d’évaluation des pêcheries du lac Érié, MRN) indiquent que des déclins semblables se sont produits dans la baie intérieure de Long Point Bay et le bassin occidental du lac Érié. Les causes éventuelles sont la prédation des œufs et des jeunes par le gobie, la compétition pour l’alimentation et l’habitat, et l’interférence pour les nids (French et Jude 2001, Janssen et Jude 2001). Le gobie arrondi pose une véritable menace pour les populations de poissons hôtes et pourrait influer sérieusement sur la survie et le rétablissement des populations d’obovarie ronde et de ptychobranche réniforme dans l’avenir.

Tableau 1 : Évaluation des menaces pour les populations restantes d’obovarie ronde et de ptychobranche réniforme. Les menaces dans le delta St. Clair et la rivière Sydenham s’appliquent aux populations d’obovarie ronde et de ptychobranche réniforme. Les menaces dans la rivière Ausable s’appliquent seulement à la population de ptychobranche réniforme de cette rivière.
MenaceImpact relatif (Predominant / Contri-buant)Spatial / Temporel (Repandue / locale, Chro-nique / éphémére)Certitude (Probable / Spécu-lative / inconnue)
Delta St.ClairR. SydenhamR. AusableDelta St. ClairR. SydenhamR. AusableDelta St. ClairR. SydenhamR. Ausable
Moules dreissenasPrédo-minant--Répan-due Chro-nique--Probable--
Envasement-Prédo-minantPrédo-minant-

Répan-due

Chro-nique

Répan-due

Chro-nique

-ProbableProbable
Qualité de l’eau – nutriments et contami-nantsContri-buantContri-buantContri-buantRépan-due Chro-niqueRépan-due Chro-niqueRépan-due Chro-niqueSpécu-lativeProbableProbable
Quantité d’eau-Contri-buantContri-buant-Répan-due Éphé-mèreRépan-due Éphé-mère-Spécu-lativeSpécu-lative
Déclin des poissons hôtesContri-buantContri-buant-Répan-due Chro-niqueRépan-due Chro-nique-Spécu-lativeSpécu-lative-
Urbanisation-Contri-buantContri-buant-Local Chro-niqueLocal Chro-nique-Spécu-lativeSpécu-lative
Eaux de retenue-Contri-buant--Local Chro-nique--Inconnue-
Prédation-Contri-buantContri-buant-Local Éphé-mèreLocal Éphé-mère-InconnueInconnue

Menaces dans les habitats occupés historiquement

 Rivière Welland :Un seul dossier existe pour l’obovarie ronde dans la rivière Welland consistant en un seul coquillage recueilli en 1931 par un collectionneur non identifié (COSEPAC 2003a). Sa situation dans cette rivière est inconnue. Le petit bassin versant de 880 km2 de cette rivière est dominé par des utilisations rurales et la rivière fait l’objet de bon nombre des mêmes perturbations que celle des plus grands bassins versants ruraux du sud-ouest de l’Ontario qui ont contribué au déclin des moules d’eau douce dans ces systèmes (A. Mack, Office de protection de la nature de la péninsule du Niagara, communication personnelle, février 2004). L’activité agricole intensive, accompagnée du drainage par tuyaux intensif et de la végétation riveraine réduire, a donné lieu à beaucoup d’apport de sédiments dans la rivière, à une turbidité accrue, à des niveaux de nutriments et de bactéries élevés et à une réduction globale de la quantité et de la qualité de l’habitat aquatique (http://www.conservation-niagara.on.ca/wellriver.htm).

Rivières Grand et Thames : L’existence de l’obovarie ronde dans la rivière Grand est indiquée par trois coquillages recueillis entre 1966 et 1972 (COSEPAC 2003a). Le ptychobranche réniforme a probablement été plus abondant dans la rivière Grand que l’obovarie ronde car il a été signalé historiquement dans 7 sites le long d’un segment de 50 km entre Caledonia et Port Maitland (COSEPAC 2003b). Les relevés récents n’indiquent aucun signe d’individus vivants de l’une ou l’autre espèce à 95 sites tout au long du chenal principal et des tributaires, suggérant que les espèces peuvent être disparues de la rivière Grand depuis une longue période. Comme pour la population de la rivière Grand, on croit que la population d’obovarie ronde de la rivière Thames s’est perdue aussitôt qu’au tournant du 20e siècle (COSEPAC 2003a), aucun individu n’ayant été recueilli depuis 1894. Plusieurs coquillages frais de ptychobranche réniforme ont été pris dans la rivière Thames entre London et Chatham aussi récemment qu’en 1997, mais des individus vivants n’ont jamais été recueillis (COSEPAC 2003b). Il est difficile d’attribuer une cause à la perte historique des populations comme celles des rivières Grand et Thames bien que les effluents d’eaux usées non traitées provenant des grands centres urbains de ces bassins versants ont probablement contribué au déclin.

Lac St. Clair, rivière Detroit, lac Érié et rivière Niagara : La perte de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme de l’habitat historique de ces plans d’eau peut être attribuée en grande partie aux effets nuisibles des moules zébrées, bien qu’il y ait une certaine indication que la population d’obovarie ronde du lac Érié était en déclin dans la première moitié du siècle dernier et peut en être disparue aussitôt qu’en 1950 (COSEPAC 20003a). Toutefois, les moules dreissenas posent la plus importante limitation au rétablissement dans ces zones.