Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Hickorynut and the Kidneyshell [Final Version]

Habitat – Kidneyshell

 Habitat Identification: The Kidneyshell prefers shallow areas with clear, swift-flowing water and substrates of firmly-packed coarse gravel and sand.  In the Great Lakes it has been found on gravel shoals in Lake Erie and Lake St. Clair. 

 Currently Occupied Habitat:

Geospatial Description: Habitat in need of conservation for the Kidneyshell has been geospatially located using the methods developed by McGoldrick et al (2005) (Figures 9 & 10) who recommend using the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resource’s Aquatic Landscape Inventory Software (ALIS version 1) (Stanfield and Kuyvenhoven 2005) as the base unit for definition of important habitat within riverine systems.  The ALIS system employs a valley classification approach to define river segments with similar habitat and continuity on the basis of hydrography, surficial geology, slope, position, upstream drainage area, climate, landcover and the presence of instream barriers. For Great Lakes populations where ALIS segments can not be employed, McGoldrick et al (2005) recommend using a 5km buffer around known species occurrences. The 5km buffer was selected in light of the spatial extent of historic sampling within Lake St. Clair.  Within all identified river segments the width of the habitat zone is defined as the area from the mid-channel point to bankfull width on both the left and right banks.

image

Figure 9: Currently occupied habitat zone of the Kidneyshell in the Sydenham and Ausable rivers. Areas within this zone matching the functional description should be considered habitat in need of conservation.

image

Figure 10: Currently occupied habitat zone of the Kidneyshell in the Lake St Clair delta. Areas within this zone matching the functional description should be considered habitat in need of conservation.

Functional Description:

Within the area defined under currently occupied habitat areas meeting the characteristics described below are deemed to represent habitat in need of conservation:

  • permanently wetted and
  • of a stream order greater than 2 (riverine population only) and
  • having firmly-packed coarse gravel and sand substrates and
  • swift-flowing waters (riverine populations only) or
  • gravel shoals  (Great Lakes populations).

           Activities Likely to Impact Currently Occupied Habitat

The currently occupied habitat of the Kidneyshell could be negatively affected by a variety of activities.  Direct destruction could result from in-stream activities such as dredging, bridge and pipeline crossings or the construction of dams.  Habitat could also be negatively affected by any land-based activities that affect water quality or quantity.  Such activities would include, but are not limited to, the input of nutrients, sediment and toxic substances through improperly treated storm water, cultivation of riparian lands, unfettered access of livestock to the river, channelization and drainage works, water taking, aggregate extraction, and the release of improperly treated sewage. 

When dealing with freshwater mussels it is necessary to consider not only the physical and chemical components of habitat but also the biological. Any activity which disrupts the connectivity between Kidneyshell populations and their host species (see section on Reproduction) may result in the destruction of habitat. Activities which may disrupt the mussel-host relationship include, but are not limited to, damming, dewatering and sport or commercial harvest.  Note that activities occurring outside the currently occupied habitat zone may affect the host population within the zone (e.g., downstream damming activities may prevent the movement of fish into the zone during the period of mussel reproduction (September 1 – January 1)). Any activity that impacts a host population within an area of currently occupied habitat should be evaluated to ensure that the reproductive cycle is not disrupted.

Historically occupied habitat: Historically occupied habitat is defined as all areas where the Kidneyshell is known to have once occurred but is no longer found. Evidence for occurrence may be through records of historically collected live individuals or shells or through recent collects of weathered shells. Historically occupied habitat for the Kidneyshell includes a 50 km of the Lower Grand River from Caledonia to Port Maitland, a small portion of the Welland River, and a stretch of the Thames River between London and Chatham.  Historically occupied areas in the Detroit River, Lake Erie and Niagara River will only function as potential recovery habitat if the impacts of dreissenid mussels can be eliminated.

Critical Habitat: The identification of critical habitat requires a thorough knowledge of the species needs during all life stages as well as an understanding of the distribution, quantity, and quality of habitat across the range of the species. At present, this information is not available for the Kidneyshell although Table 3 outlines activities that would assist with obtaining the required information. The activities listed in Table 4 are not exhaustive but outline the range and scope of actions identified by the Recovery Team as necessary to identify critical habitat for the Kidneyshell. It is likely that the process of investigating the actions in Table 3 will lead to the discovery of further knowledge gaps that will have to be addressed. Until critical habitat can be defined the recovery team has identified the areas listed in the currently occupied habitat section as areas in need of conservation.

Table 3: Schedule of activities to identify critical habitat

ActivityApproximate Time Frame1
Conduct mussel population surveys2006-2008
Assess habitat conditions in occupied areas (e.g., flow, substrate, water clarity and quality)2006-2008
Determine any life stage differences in habitat use2007-2009
Survey and map areas of suitable but unused habitat within historical range2008-2010
Assess genetic structure of populations2006-2008
Determine host fish species2006
Conduct host fish population surveys2006-2008
Assess habitat use by host species2006-2008
Determine areas of overlap between mussel and host habitat2009-2010

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'obovarie et le ptychobranche [version finale]

Habitat – Ptychobranche réniforme

 Identification de l’habitat :Le ptychobranche réniforme préfère les zones peu profondes d’eau claire au débit rapide et au substrat de gravier et de sable compacté fermement. Dans les Grands Lacs, on n’a retrouvé sur des hauts-fonds de gravier dans le lac Érié et le lac St. Clair.

Habitat occupé actuellement :

Description géospatiale :

L’habitat ayant besoin de conservation pour le ptychobranche réniforme a été situé au plan géospatial à l’aide des méthodes développées par McGoldrick et al. (2005) (figures 9 et 10), qui recommandent d’utiliser le logiciel d’inventaire des paysages aquatiques du ministère des Ressources naturelles de l’Ontario (ALIS version 1) (Stanfield et Kuyvenhoven 2005) comme unité de base pour la définition de l’habitat important dans les systèmes fluviaux. Le système ALIS emploie une approche de classification des vallées pour définir les segments de rivière ayant un habitat semblable et une continuité en fonction de l’hydrographie, de la géologie des dépôts meubles, de la pente, de la position, de la zone de drainage en amont, du climat, du couvert paysager et de la présence d’obstacles aux débits. Pour les populations des Grands Lacs, lorsque les segments du système ALIS ne peuvent être employés, McGoldrick et al. (2005) recommandent d’identifier l’habitat essentiel à l’aide d’un tampon de 5 km autour de la présence d’espèces connues. Le tampon de 5 km a été choisi à la lumière de l’étendue spatiale de l’échantillonnage historique dans le lac St. Clair. Dans tous les segments fluviaux identifiés, la largeur de la zone d’habitat essentiel est définir comme la zone allant du milieu du chenal à la largeur de toute la rive pour les rives de droite et de gauche.

image

Figure 9 : Zone d’habitat occupé actuellement par le ptychobranche réniforme dans les rivières Sydenham et Ausable. Les aires de cette zone correspondant à la description fonctionnelle devraient être considérées comme un habitat nécessitant des mesures de conservation.


image

Figure 10 : Zone d’habitat occupé actuellement par le ptychobranche réniforme dans le delta du lac St. Clair. Les aires de cette zone correspondant à la description fonctionnelle devraient être considérées comme un habitat nécessitant des mesures de conservation.

Description fonctionnelle :

Dans l’aire définie selon l’habitat occupé actuellement, les zones satisfaisant aux caractéristiques décrites ci-après sont considérées comme représentant l’habitat nécessitant des mesures de conservation :

  • Zone inondée en permanence et
  • D’un ordre de courant supérieur à 2 (population fluviale seulement) et
  • Ayant des substrats sable-gravier compactés fermement et
  • De débit rapide (population fluviale seulement) ou
  • Hauts-fonds de gravier (populations des Grands Lacs).

Activités susceptibles de perturber l’habitat occupé actuellement

L’habitat occupé actuellement par le ptychobranche réniforme pourrait être affecté négativement par une variété d’activités. La destruction directe pourrait découler d’activités dans l’eau comme le dragage, la construction de ponts et de pipelines ou la construction de barrages. L’habitat pourrait également être affecté négativement par les activités terrestres qui affectent la qualité de l’eau ou la quantité d’eau. Ces activités pourraient comprendre, entre autres, l’apport de nutriments, de sédiments et de substances toxiques transportés par des eaux pluviales non traitées, la culture des terres riveraines, l’accès libre un bétail à la rivière, les ouvrages de canalisation et de dragage, les prises d’eau, l’extraction des agrégats et le rejet des eaux usées traitées incorrectement.

Dans le cas des moules d’eau douce, il est nécessaire de considérer non seulement les composantes physiques et chimiques de l’habitat mais également les éléments biologiques. Toute activité qui perturbe la connectivité entre les populations de ptychobranches réniformes et leurs espèces hôtes (voir la section sur la reproduction) peut entraîner la destruction de l’habitat. Les activités qui peuvent perturber la relation moule-hôte comprennent, entre autres, les barrages, l’assèchement et la pêche sportive ou commerciale. Il est à noter que les activités se déroulant à l’extérieur de la zone d’habitat occupé actuellement peuvent affecter la population hôte dans la zone (p. ex. les activités de construction de barrage en aval peuvent empêcher le mouvement du poisson dans la zone durant la période de reproduction des moules (1er septembre au 1er janvier). Toute activité qui perturbe une population hôte dans une aire d’habitat occupé actuellement devrait être évaluée pour s’assurer que le cycle de reproduction n’est pas perturbé.

Habitat occupé historiquement :L’habitat occupé historiquement est défini comme tous les sites où l’on sait que l’obovarie ronde était autrefois présente mais ne s’y trouve plus. La preuve de la présence peut provenir des dossiers d’individus vivants ou de coquillages recueillis historiquement ou de récentes collectes de coquillages altérés par le temps. L’habitat occupé historiquement pour le ptychobranche réniforme comprend un segment de 50 km de la rivière Grand inférieure de Caledonia à Port Maitland, une petite portion de la rivière Welland et un segment de la rivière Thames entre London et Chatham. Les aires occupées historiquement de la rivière Detroit, du lac Érié et de la rivière Niagara ne pourront fonctionner comme habitat de rétablissement éventuel que si les impacts des moules dreissenas peuvent être éliminés.

Habitat essentiel :L’identification de l’habitat essentiel nécessite une connaissance approfondie des besoins des espèces durant tous les stades de la vie ainsi qu’une compréhension de la répartition, de la quantité et de la qualité de l’habitat dans toute l’aire de l’espèce. Actuellement, cette information n’est pas disponible pour le ptychobranche réniforme, bien que le tableau 3 présente des activités qui pourraient aider à obtenir l’information requise. Les activités figurant dans le tableau 4 ne sont pas exhaustives mais soulignent la portée des mesures déterminées par l’équipe de rétablissement comme étant nécessaires pour identifier l’habitat essentiel du ptychobranche réniforme. Il est probable que le processus d’étude des mesures du tableau 3 conduira à la découverte d’autres lacunes des connaissances qui devront être comblées. Jusqu’à ce que l’habitat essentiel puisse être défini, l’équipe de rétablissement a identifié les zones figurant dans la section sur l’habitat occupé actuellement comme des zones nécessitant des mesures de conservation.

Tableau 3 : Calendrier des activités d’identification de l’habitat essentiel

ActivitéDélai approximatif (1)
Entreprendre des relevés des populations de moules2006-2008
Évaluer les conditions de l’habitat dans les zones occupées (p. ex. débit, substrat, clarté et qualité de l’eau)2006-2008
Déterminer les différences d’utilisation de l’habitat selon les stades de vie2007-2009
Arpenter et cartographier les zones d’habitat approprié mais inutilisé dans l’aire historique2008-2010
Évaluer la structure génétique des populations2006-2008
Déterminer les espèces de poissons hôtes2006
Entreprendre des relevés des populations de poissons hôtes2006-2008
Évaluer l’utilisation de l’habitat par les espèces hôtes2006-2008
Déterminer les zones de chevauchement entre l’habitat des moules et celui des hôtes2009-2010