Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Hickorynut and the Kidneyshell [Final Version]

Habitat Trend

      Habitats for the Round Hickorynut, Kidneyshell and other unionids in Lake Erie and Lake St. Clair have been largely destroyed by dreissenid mussels.  Native mussel communities were virtually extirpated from the offshore waters of western Lake Erie by 1990 (Schloesser and Nalepa 1994) and the offshore waters of Lake St. Clair by 1994 (Nalepa et al. 1996).  The mussel communities of Lake Erie were already in decline, probably due to a general decline in water quality over the past 40 years (Nalepa et al. 1991), but Lake St. Clair still supported an abundant and diverse mussel assemblage as recently as 1986 (Nalepa and Gauvin 1988).  Unionids continue to survive in some nearshore areas with very shallow water, a high degree of connectivity to the lake (which ensures access to host fishes), and harsh conditions for dreissenid mussels (high water temperatures and considerable wave action in summer; ice scour in winter).  However, such “refugia” are rare, and most of the unionid habitat in the Great Lakes has been permanently lost (COSEWIC 2003a).

The Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell have apparently been lost from the Thames and Grand rivers, and the Round Hickorynut has declined significantly in the Sydenham River.  Agriculture is believed to be the main cause of the destruction of mussel habitat across North America (Strayer and Fetterman 1999) and southwestern Ontario is no exception.  Since agriculture accounts for 75-85% of land use in the Grand, Thames and Sydenham River basins, it is likely that agricultural impacts (e.g., runoff of sediment, nutrients and pesticides, increased water temperatures due to loss of riparian vegetation, destruction of habitat by tractor crossings and cattle) are primarily responsible for the loss of mussel habitat in these rivers (COSEWIC 2003a).

  7. Habitat Protection

      The federal Species at Risk Act (SARA) was proclaimed in June of 2003. Under SARA there are general prohibitions against killing, harming, taking, possessing, capturing, and collecting the Round Hickorynut or Kidneyshell and against damaging or destroying their residences, as well as prohibitions on the destruction of Critical Habitat. The Federal Fisheries Act represents another significant piece of legislation protecting freshwater mussels and their habitat in Canada since fish are broadly defined under the Act to include shellfish. The collection of live mussels is considered fishing and would fall under the Ontario Fishery Regulations that are made under the Fisheries Act.  The protection of other fish and fish habitat under the Fisheries Act may indirectly protect the habitat of the Round Hickorynut or Kidneyshell and other species of freshwater mussels.  The Provincial Policy Statement under Section 3 of the Planning Act provides for protection from development and site alteration in the significant habitats of threatened and endangered species.  Other mechanisms for protecting mussels and their habitat in Ontario include the Ontario Lakes and Rivers Improvement Act, which prohibits the impoundment or diversion of a watercourse if it would lead to siltation; and the voluntary Land Stewardship II program of the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food, and Rural Affairs, which is designed to reduce erosion on agricultural lands.  Stream-side development in Ontario is managed through flood plain regulations enforced by local Conservation Authorities.  The majority of land in the Sydenham and Ausable rivers where these mussels are found is privately owned while the land in the St. Clair delta is controlled by the Walpole Island First Nation.

 8. Ecological Role

Freshwater mussels play an integral role in the functioning of aquatic ecosystems. Vaughn and Hakenkamp (2001) have summarized much of the literature relating to the role of unionids and identified numerous water column (size-selective filter-feeding; species-specific phytoplankton selection; nutrient cycling; control of phospohorus abundance) and sediment processes (deposit feeding decreasing sediment organic matter;  biodeposition of feces and pseudofeces; epizoic invertebrates and epiphytic algae colonize shells; benthic invertebrate densities positively correlated with mussel density) mediated by the presence of mussel beds. Welker and Walz (1998) have demonstrated that freshwater mussels are capable of limiting plankton in European rivers while Neves and Odom (1989) reported that mussels also play a role in the transfer of energy to the terrestrial environment through predation by muskrats and raccoons. 

 9. Importance to People

Although these species have no apparent economic significance, freshwater mussels are sensitive to environmental pollution and a diverse mussel community indicates a healthy ecosystem.  Besides decreased biodiversity in Canada, the loss of the Round Hickorynut or Kidneyshell may indicate further environmental degradation of southwestern Ontario watercourses which would adversely affect those people who depend on surface water for drinking, recreation or watering livestock.

 10. Knowledge Gaps

·   What is the Canadian host for the Round Hickorynut?

Although the host for the Round Hickorynut has been identified in the United States as the greenside darter, host specificity has been reported at the watershed scale for some species and this identification should be verified for Canadian populations if possible.

·   What are the habitat requirements of the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell?

Habitat use must be quantified for all life-stages with particular attention to the glochidial, encysted and juvenile stages when mortality is high.

·   Are the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell host-limited?

Host fish distributions for both mussel species need to be mapped in high detail. Host fish may be functionally unavailable to mussels if their distributions do not overlap at times when female mussels are releasing mature glochidia.

·   Are there life-stage specific threats?

The relative importance of each identified threat to each distinct life-stage (glochidium, larva, adult) must be identified.

·   Can the St. Clair refuge sites be maintained?

It must be determined if these sites represent permanent refugia or whether the mussels at these sites will eventually succumb to the harmful effects of dreissenid mussels. If these sites can not be naturally maintained then the feasibility of actively managing these sites to reduce the effects of dreissenid mussels must be investigated.

·   Can these species be relocated from other jurisdictions or artificially propagated for reintroduction?

Conservation genetics need to be assessed as they relate to relocations/reintroductions and the technical feasibility of artificial propagation should be examined.

 11. Biological and Technical Feasibility of Recovery

            Recovery of the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell is believed to be both biologically and technically feasible as reproducing populations still exist as potential sources to support recovery, suitable habitat can be made available through recovery actions, threats can be mitigated and proposed recovery techniques are anticipated to be effective. Although recovery at the species level is believed to be feasible the effort required to achieve recovery will not be uniform across all populations.

·   Mussels are slow growing and sedentary animals dependant upon their host fishes for the survival and dispersal of their young.  The slow rate of population growth of freshwater mussels makes the natural recovery of decimated populations extremely difficult.

·   The habitat in the Sydenham and Ausable rivers could be improved significantly with proper stewardship of both agricultural and urban lands in the watershed. 

·   Reductions in soil erosion and turbidity in all the watersheds can be achieved but would be challenging due to the number and intensity of the impacts. 

·   Complete removal of the impacts of dreissenid mussels to the Lake St. Clair populations is not possible at this time however it may be possible to establish managed refuge sites to reduce the impacts of dreissenid mussels on Round Hickorynuts and Kidneyshells.

A high level of effort will be required to recover the Sydenham and Lake St. Clair populations of the Round Hickorynut. There is little evidence of natural reproduction within these populations and recovery may require captive breeding and/or relocations from U.S. populations.

A low to moderate level of effort will be required to recover the Sydenham and Ausable river Kidneyshell populations. These populations are believed to be threatened by general habitat loss resulting from characteristic land-use practices within the basin. A general suite of ecosystem recovery actions such as those proposed by Dextrase et al. (2003) will assist with the recovery of this population. 

Recovery of the Lake St. Clair populations of both species will require a higher degree of effort. Active management of selected refuge sites including the regular cleaning of dreissenid mussel infested individuals will be required to maintain and recover this population.  Long term population augmentation and/or translocations may also be required to return the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell to healthy self-sustaining levels in Canada.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'obovarie et le ptychobranche [version finale]

Tendance des habitats

Les habitats de l’obovarie ronde, du ptychobranche réniforme et des autres unionidés du lac Érié et du lac S. Clair ont été détruits en grande partie par les moules dreissenas. Les communautés de moules indigènes sont pratiquement disparues des eaux littorales de l’ouest du lac Érié vers 1990 (Schloesser et Nalepa 1994) et des eaux littorales du lac St. Clair vers 1994 (Malepa et al. 1996). Les communautés de moules du lac Érié étaient déjà en déclin, probablement à cause de la dégradation générale de la qualité de l’eau au cours des 40 dernières années (Nalepa et al. 1991), mais le lac St. Clair soutenait encore un assemblage de moules abondant et divers aussi récemment qu’en 1986 (Malepa et Gauvin 1988). Les unionidés continuent de survivre dans certaines zones littorales d’eau très peu profonde, grâce à un haut degré de connectivité au lac (qui assure l’accès aux poissons hôtes) et aux conditions difficiles pour les moules dreissenas (températures de l’eau élevées et action considérable des vagues en été, et érosion par la glace en hiver). Toutefois, les « refuges » sont rares et la majeure partie de l’habitat des unionidés dans les Grands Lacs est perdue en permanence (COSEPAC 2003a).

L’obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme sont apparemment disparus des rivières Thames et Grand, et le déclin de l’obovarie ronde est considérable dans la rivière Sydenham. On croit que l’agriculture est la principale cause de la destruction de l’habitat des moules dans toute l’Amérique du Nord (Strayer et Fetterman 1999) et le sud-ouest de l’Ontario ne fait pas exception. Comme l’agriculture représente 75 à 85 % de l’utilisation des terres dans les bassins des rivières Grand, Thames et Sydenham, il est probable que les impacts agricoles (p. ex. écoulement de sédiments, de nutriments et de pesticides, températures accrues de l’eau à cause de la perte de végétation riveraine, destruction de l’habitat par les traverses de tracteurs et le bétail) sont principalement responsables de la perte de l’habitat des moules dans ces rivières (COSEPAC 2003a).

7.         Protection de l’habitat

La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) fédérale a été proclamée en juin 2003. En vertu de la LEP, il y a des interdictions générales de tuer, blesser, prendre, posséder, capturer et collectionner l’obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme, et d’endommager ou de détruire les résidences des individus de ces espèces, ainsi que des interdictions relatives à la destruction de l’habitat essentiel. La Loi sur les pêches fédérale représente un autre important texte législatif pour protéger les moules d’eau douce et leur habitat au Canada puisque la définition générale du poisson en vertu de cette loi inclut les mollusques. La prise de moules vivantes est considérée comme une pêche et est assujettie au Règlement de pêche de l’Ontario pris en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches. La protection des autres poissons et de leur habitat en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches permet de protéger indirectement l’habitat de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme et d’autres espèces de moules d’eau douce. L’énoncé de principe provincial en vertu de l’article 3 de la Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire prévoit la protection de l’aménagement et de l’altération des sites dans les habitats importants des espèces menacées et en voie de disparition. D’autres mécanismes pour protéger les moules et leur habitat en Ontario comprennent la Loi sur l’aménagement des lacs et des rivières de l’Ontario, qui interdit la retenue ou la dérivation d’un cours d’eau si elle conduit à l’envasement, et le programme d’aménagement des terres II volontaire du ministère de l’Agriculture, de l’Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l’Ontario, qui vise à réduire l’érosion sur les terres agricoles. L’aménagement des dérivations en Ontario est géré par la réglementation sur la plaine inondable appliquée par les offices de protection de la nature locaux. La plupart des terres dans le bassin des rivières Sydenham et Ausable où ces moules sont présentes sont de propriété privée alors que le territoire du delta du St. Clair est contrôlé par la Walpole Island First Nation.

8.         Rôle écologique

Les moules d’eau douce jouent un rôle intégral dans le fonctionnement des écosystèmes aquatiques. Vaughn et Hakenkamp (2001) ont résumé une grande partie de la documentation relative au rôle des unionidés et ont identifié de nombreuses fonctions de filtrage dans la colonne d’eau (alimentation sélective à la taille, sélection du phytoplancton spécifique à l’espèce, cycle nutritif, contrôle de l’abondance du phosphore) et des processus de sédimentation (dépositivores diminuant la matière organique des sédiments, biodépôt des fèces et pseudofèces, invertébrés épizoïques et algues épiphytiques colonisant les coquillages, densités des invertébrés benthiques en corrélation positive avec la densité des moules) assurés par la présence de moulières. Welker et Walz (1998) ont démontré que les moules d’eau douce peuvent limiter le plancton dans les rivières européennes alors que Neves et Odom (1989) signalent que les moules jouent également un rôle dans le transfert de l’énergie à l’environnement terrestre par la prédation par les rats musqués et les ratons laveurs.

9.         Importance pour les gens

Bien que ces espèces soient sans importance économique apparente, les moules d’eau douce sont sensibles à la pollution de l’environnement et une communauté de moules diverse indique un écosystème sain. En plus de la biodiversité qui diminue au Canada, la perte de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme peut indiquer une détérioration accrue de l’environnement des cours d’eau du sud-ouest de l’Ontario qui affecterait défavorablement les gens qui dépendent de l’eau de surface pour boire, les activités récréatives ou abreuver le bétail.

10.       Lacunes des connaissances

  • Quel est l’hôte canadien de l’obovarie ronde?

      Bien que l’hôte de l’obovarie ronde ait été identifié aux États-Unis comme étant le dard vert, la spécificité de l’hôte a été indiquée à l’échelle du bassin versant pour certaines espèces et cette identification devrait être vérifiée pour les populations canadiennes si possible.

  • Quels sont les besoins d’habitat de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme?

      L’utilisation de l’habitat doit être quantifiée pour tous les stades de vie, en portant une attention particulière aux stades de glochidie, d’enkystement et juvénile lorsque la mortalité est élevée.

  • L’Obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme sont-ils limités à un hôte?

      Les répartitions des poissons hôtes pour les deux espèces de moules doivent être cartographiées très en détail. Le poisson hôte peut être fonctionnellement non disponible pour la moule si sa répartitions ne se chevauche pas aux périodes où les moules femelles libèrent les glochidies matures.

  • Y a-t-il des menaces spécifiques aux stades de vie?

      L’importance relative de chaque menace identifiée à chaque stade de vie distinct (glochidie, larve, adulte) doit être établie.

  • Les sites de refuge du delta St. Clair peuvent-ils être maintenus?

      On doit déterminer si ces sites représentent des refuges permanents ou si les moules de ces sites succomberont éventuellement aux effets nuisibles des moules dreissenas. Si ces sites ne peuvent pas être maintenus naturellement, on doit alors étudier la faisabilité d’aménager activement ces sites pour réduire les effets des moules dreissenas.

  • Ces espèces peuvent-elles être resituées d’autres secteurs ou propagées artificiellement par réintroduction?

      La génétique de la préservation doit être évaluée car elle a trait aux réinstallations et aux réintroductions, et la faisabilité technique de la propagation artificielle devrait être examinée.

11.       Faisabilité biologique et technique du rétablissement

On croit que le rétablissement de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme est possible biologiquement et techniquement car il existe encore des populations reproductrices comme sources éventuelles pour soutenir le rétablissement, l’habitat approprié peut être rendu disponible par des mesures de rétablissement, les menaces peuvent être atténuées et des techniques de rétablissement proposées seraient efficaces. Bien qu’on croit que le rétablissement au niveau des espèces est faisable, l’effort requis pour le réaliser ne sera pas uniforme pour toutes les populations.

  •  Les moules croissent lentement et les individus sédentaires dépendent de leur poisson hôte pour la survie et la dispersion des jeunes. Le rythme lent de la croissance des populations de moules d’eau douce rend très difficile le rétablissement des populations décimées.
  • L’habitat des rivières Sydenham et Ausable pourrait être amélioré considérablement avec une intendance appropriée des terres agricoles et urbaines dans le bassin versant.
  • Les réductions de l’érosion du sol et de la turbidité dans tous bassins versants sont possibles mais seraient difficiles en raison du nombre et de l’intensité des impacts.
  • L’élimination complète des impacts des moules dreissenas pour les populations du lac St. Clair est impossible en ce moment, mais il serait possible d’établir des sites de refuge aménagés pour réduire les impacts des moules dreissenas sur l’obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme.

Un grand effort sera nécessaire pour rétablir les populations d’obovarie ronde de la rivière Sydenham et du lac St. Clair. Il y a peu de preuve de reproduction naturelle dans ces populations, et le rétablissement peut nécessiter l’élevage en captivité ou la réinstallation de populations américaines.

Un niveau d’effort faible à modéré sera nécessaire pour rétablir les populations de ptychobranche réniforme des rivières Sydenham et Ausable. On croit que ces populations sont menacées par la perte d’habitat générale découlant des pratiques d’utilisation des terres caractéristiques dans le bassin. Une suite générale de mesures de rétablissement de l’écosystème comme celles proposées par Dextrase et al. (2003) aidera au rétablissement de ces populations.

Le rétablissement des populations des deux espèces dans le lac St. Clair nécessitera un effort supérieur. L’aménagement actif de sites de refuge sélectionnés, y compris le nettoyage régulier des individus infestés par les moules dreissenas seront nécessaires pour maintenir et rétablir ces populations. L’augmentation et la translocation à long terme des populations peuvent également être nécessaires pour ramener l’obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme à des niveaux de stabilité sains au Canada.