Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Hickorynut and the Kidneyshell [Final Version]

Approaches to Meeting Recovery Objectives

The approaches to recovery have been organized into four distinct groups – research and monitoring, management, stewardship and awareness. Successful recovery across the ranges of the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell will require consideration of approaches from all categories. A narrative has been included after each table where appropriate.

Recovery of these two species can not be achieved through the actions of any one party. Implementation of the recovery approaches outlined below will require a concerted effort of many groups including, but not limited to, federal, provincial and municipal governments, conservation authorities, academic institutions, First Nations communities, non-governmental organizations and local citizens.  

Research and Monitoring Approaches
PriorityNumberObjective AddressedBroad Approach / StrategySpecific StepsAnticipated EffectThreat Addressed
Urgent1-1ii, vResearch – host fish.Confirm the host fish species for the Round Hickorynut.Will help determine if host abundance is limiting the Round Hickorynut. Will assist with defining the larval encystment site and in identifying critical habitat. Host fish declines.
Urgent1-2ii, vSurveys – host fish.Determine the distribution and abundance of the host species.Will help determine if host abundance is limiting the Round Hickorynut or Kidneyshell.Host fish declines.
Urgent1-3iiiResearch – Critical Habitat.Determine the habitat requirements for all life stages. Will assist with further refining critical habitat for the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell. 
Urgent1-4iii, viSurveys – Critical Habitat.Prepare a distribution map of areas of suitable habitat.Will assist with defining critical habitat and potential areas of reintroduction.  
Urgent1-5viResearch – managed refuge sites.Investigate the feasibility of establishing actively managed refuge sites in the St. Clair delta. Will determine if Round Hickorynuts in the St. Clair delta can be insulated from the effects of dreissenid mussels.Dreissenid mussels.
Necessary1-6i, ivMonitoring – mussel and fish host populations.Establish a network of permanent monitoring stations throughout the distribution of the Round Hickorynut.Will permit tracking of populations, analysis of trend patterns, and permit the evaluation of recovery actions.Host fish declines.
Necessary1-7iv, vMonitoring – habitat.Establish permanent monitoring sites for tracking changes in habitat.Provides trend data for key habitat and will help evaluate the relative threat of habitat loss.All threats.
Necessary1-8vResearch – threats.Identify and evaluate threats to all life stages.Will assist with determining reasons for declines and developing remedial actions. All threats.
Necessary1-9viResearch – conservation genetics.Compare the within and among population genetic variability of Canadian populations and determine if populations show genetic structure by comparing variability between populations in Canadian and U.S. waterways.Will assist with determining if population translocation or augmentation is appropriate. 

 1-1 & 1-2: The necessity for a period of encystment represents a potential bottleneck in the lifecycle of the mussel.  Research and recovery actions focusing on the pre or post encystment period may prove unproductive if the presence of a host fish is the limiting step. In order to determine if these species are host limited it is necessary to first identify the host species and then to confirm that the distributions of the mussel and its host overlap in time and space in a manner that will permit successful encystment. The identification of high host specificity in some mussel species requires that hosts be identified for local populations whenever possible. McNichols and Mackie (2004) have identified three host species for Canadian populations of the Kidneyshell but no Canadian host for the Round Hickorynut has yet been identified.  Efforts should be directed towards confirming that species identified as hosts for American populations also function as hosts in Canada.

Once the Canadian hosts have been confirmed for both of these species it is necessary to verify that host species distributions overlap with the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell distributions. Since adult mussels are essentially sessile this can be accomplished by confirming that members of the hosts species occur in reaches with mature female mussels at times when the female mussels possess mature glochidia.

1-3 & 1-4: Determination of critical habitat is an essential component in the recovery of these species.  Although adult mussels are relatively passively distributed, distinct habitat types can be associated with adult distributions suggesting that survival is linked to local habitat conditions.  Habitat conditions may be equally important during the juvenile stage and attention must also be paid to the habitat preferences of the hosts. Identification of critical habitat will be a multi-stage incremental process.

1-5: The best remaining population of Round Hickorynuts along with a small population of Kidneyshells can be found in the delta area of Lake St. Clair despite the presence of dreissenid mussels.  Metcalfe-Smith et al. (2004) reported zebra mussel infestation rates ranging from 0 to 36 zebra mussels/unionid in this area during 2003. While this rate of infestation is below the lethal limits reported elsewhere (Ricciardi et al. 1995) it may be resulting in long term chronic effects that are causing prolonged declines. Comparisons of collections made in 2001 with those in 2003 showed that abundance of all unionids had declined by about 14% while declines were much higher for some species (i.e., 80% decline of Round Hickorynut) (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2004).   Although the overall trend was toward declining unionid densities some sites showed stable overall abundances. These sites were associated with low zebra mussel infestation rates and high unionid diversity and may represent potential refuge sites. Since these sites are still affected by zebra mussels it is likely that unionids will need to be actively managed with regular zebra mussel removal and the active relocation of Round Hickorynuts, Kidneyshells and other mussel SAR to these locations from the more heavily infested sites. The feasibility of actively managing refuge sites in the St. Clair delta must be determined quickly as this will likely represent the only chance of saving the Round Hickorynut.

1-6 & 1-7: A network of detailed, permanent monitoring stations should be established throughout the present and historic ranges of the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell. Monitoring sites should be established in a manner so as to permit:

  • Quantitative tracking of changes in mussel abundance or demographics (size distribution, age structure etc.) or that of their hosts.
  • Detailed analyses of habitat use and the ability to track changes in use or availability.
  • The ability to detect the presence of exotic species (i.e. dreissenid mussels). Reservoirs represent the likely seed locations for dreissenid mussels in the Sydenham and Ausable rivers. Monitoring sites should be established within or close to these reservoirs to permit the early detection of dreissenid mussels in the event that they invade these systems.  Monitoring of exotics in the Lake St. Clair delta will likely be conducted in close association with the managed refuge sites.
Management Approaches
PriorityNumberObjective AddressedBroad Approach / StrategySpecific StepsAnticipated EffectThreat Addressed
Urgent2-1i-viCapacity BuildingPromote and enhance expertise in freshwater mussel identification/biology and provide for the transfer of knowledge.Will ensure correct identification of mussel species at risk. 
Urgent2-2v, viCooperation –  ecosystem recovery strategiesWork with existing ecosystem recovery teams to implement recovery actions.Encourage a seamless implementation of all recovery actions. 
Necessary2-3vMunicipal PlanningEncourage municipal planning authorities to consider Recovery Goals in official plans.Will provide further protection for the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell and promote future development that does not degrade important habitat.Urbanization, water quality, water quantity, impoundments.
Necessary2-4vDrainageWork with drainage supervisors, engineers and contractors to limit the effects of drainage activities on mussel habitat.Will reduce the harmful effects of drainage activities.Water quality, siltation, water quantity.
Necessary2-5ii, iii, vFish Management PlansEncourage the development of management plans for non SAR fish species within watersheds inhabited by the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell Will provide protection for potential host species.Host fish declines.
Necessary2-6vBaitfishWork with the baitfish industry to reduce the impacts of commercial baitfishing on host species.Will provide protection for potential host species.Host fish declines.
Necessary2-7vWastewater treatment plants and stormwater management facilitiesVerify that wastewater treatment plants are functioning up to specifications and encourage upgrading where appropriate.  Review stormwater management facilities for quantity and quality control in new developments, and retro-fit existing development where possibleWill improve water quality by reducing nutrient and suspended solid inputs from urban centres.Water quality, water quantity, impoundments.

 2-1: The current capacity within southwestern Ontario to perform the necessary survey and monitoring work is insufficient. Knowledge of freshwater mussel identification, distribution, life history and genetics is limited to a small number of individuals from a limited number of government and academic institutions. Furthermore, the retirement of several key researchers is expected prior to the 5-year re-evaluation period for this strategy. A concerted effort must be made to increase this capacity by:

  • Training personnel in the identification of all mussel species with emphasis on the rare species.
  • Producing a field guide to the mussels of Ontario.
  • Encourage graduate and post-graduate research aimed at fulfilling the needs identified under Research and Monitoring.

2-2:  Many of the threats to the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell can be classified as widespread and chronic (Table 1) and represent general ecosystem threats affecting numerous other aquatic species. Efforts to remediate these threats will benefit many species in addition to these two mussel species and should be attempted in close connection with the aquatic ecosystem recovery teams for the Ausable and Sydenham rivers (see section II.5, Activities already completed or underway) to eliminate duplication of efforts and ensure that undertaken activities are not detrimental to other species.   

 2-5: The host fishes for these two mussel species must be afforded some degree of protection if the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell are to recover. The greenside darter, which functions as the probable host for the Round Hickorynut, is listed as a species of special concern by COSEWIC. This species is given consideration in the aquatic ecosystem recovery strategies for both the Sydenham River (Dextrase et al. 2003) and Ausable River (ARRT 2003) and will therefore be actively monitored and managed within these systems. The three host species for the Kidneyshell (blackside darter, johnny darter and fantail darter) are not listed by COSEWIC and therefore not explicitly considered in any recovery plans. It may be necessary to develop formal management plans for these species to make certain that their populations remain healthy and do not hinder the recovery of the Kidneyshell.

2-6: While the host species of the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell are not typically targeted as baitfish they are potentially collected as bycatch during legal bait harvesting activities. Effort should be made to minimize potential bycatch of these species and to verify that gear selection and operation do not contribute to habitat degradation which may adversely affect host populations.  In watersheds supporting Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell, live bait storage ponds should be isolated from the watercourse in order to prevent accidental escapement of round gobies. Mechanisms to confirm that bait bucket releases do not further spread the round goby and detrimentally impact host populations should be employed.

Stewardship Approaches
PriorityNumberObjective AddressedBroad Approach / StrategySpecific StepsAnticipated EffectThreat Addressed
Urgent3-1vRiparian buffersEstablish riparian buffer zones in areas of high erosion potential by encouraging naturalization or planting of native species.Will improve water quality by reducing bank erosion, sedimentation and overland run-off.Water quality, siltation, water quantity.
Urgent3-2vTile drainageWork with landowners to mitigate the effects of tile drainage. Will reduce nutrient and sediment inputs.Water quality, siltation, water quantity.
Urgent3-3vHerd managementEncourage the active exclusion of animals from the watercourse.Will reduce bank erosion, sediment and nutrient inputs.Water quality, siltation.
Urgent3-4vLivestock waste managementAssist with establishing adequate manure collection and storage systems to avoid accidental spills, and winter-spreading of manure.Will improve water quality by reducing nutrients.Water quality.
Urgent3-5vFarm planningEncourage the development and implementation of Environmental Farm Plans and Nutrient Management Plans.Will assist with minimizing inputs of nutrients and sediments.Water quality.
Urgent3-6vSewage treatmentWork with landowners to improve faulty septic systems.Will improve water quality by reducing nutrient inputs.Water quality.
Beneficial3-7vSoil testingEncourage soil testing to determine fertilizer application rates.Will reduce nutrient inputs to the river.Water quality.

The stewardship activities outlined here can be described as “best management practices” and represent a non-exhaustive selection of activities that can be encouraged within these predominantly agricultural watersheds to help reduce the impacts of terrestrial practices on aquatic ecosystems.  Encouragement can be achieved through increasing awareness of these activities as well as through the provision of financial assistance to local landowners.

Awareness Approaches
PriorityNumberObjective AddressedBroad Approach / StrategySpecific StepsAnticipated EffectThreat Addressed
Urgent4-1viiAwareness – stewardship actionsIncrease public knowledge of stewardship options and financial assistance available to participate in activities. Increased public participation in recovery actions and a reduction in threats to the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell. Water quality, siltation, water quantity.
Urgent4-2viiExotic speciesIncrease public awareness of the potential impacts of transporting/releasing exotic species.Will reduce the risk of dreissenid mussels or gobies becoming established. Exotic species
Beneficial4-3viiOutreachEncourage public support and participation by developing awareness materials and programs.Will increase public awareness of the importance of species at risk.All threats.

 Public participation in the recovery process for these species is essential as the primary threats to populations in the Ausable and Sydenham rivers result from diffuse non-point source inputs relating to the general agricultural activities within these watersheds. Recovery can not occur without the full participation of local citizens and landowners. The need for an effective public awareness program is crucial to the recovery of these two species.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'obovarie et le ptychobranche [version finale]

Approches pour réaliser les objectifs du rétablissement

Les approches du rétablissement ont été organisées en quatre groupes distincts – recherche et surveillance, aménagement, intendance et sensibilisation. Le rétablissement fructueux dans toutes les aires de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme nécessitera la considération d’approches de toutes les catégories. Une description figure après chaque tableau le cas échéant.

Le rétablissement de ces deux espèces ne peut se réaliser par les mesures d’une seule partie. La mise en œuvre des approches de rétablissement présentées ci-après nécessitera un effort concerté de plusieurs groupes, dont, entre autres, le gouvernement fédéral, le gouvernement provincial et les gouvernements municipaux, les offices de protection de la nature, les établissements universitaires, les communautés autochtones, les organisations non gouvernementales et les citoyens locaux.

Approches de recherche et de surveillance
PrioritéNuméroObjectif viséApproche/Stratégie globaleMesures spécifiquesEffet prévuMenace visée
Urgent1-1ii, vRecherche – poisson hôte.Confirmer l’espèce de poisson hôte pour l’obovarie ronde.Aidera à déterminer si l’abondance de l’hôte se limite à l’obovarie ronde. Aidera à définir le site de résidence des larves et à identifier l’habitat essentiel. Déclin du poisson hôte.
Urgent1-2ii, vRelevés – poisson hôte.Déterminer la répartition et l’abondance des espèces hôtes.Aidera à déterminer si l’abondance de l’hôte se limite à l’obovarie ronde ou au ptychobranche réniforme.Déclin du poisson hôte.
Urgent1-3iiiRecherche – Habitat essentiel.Déterminer les besoins d’habitat pour tous les stades de vie. Aidera à préciser l’habitat essentiel de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme. 
Urgent1-4iii, viRelevés – Habitat essentiel.Préparer une carte de répartition des zones d’habitat approprié.Aidera à définir l’habitat essentiel et les zones éventuelles de réintroduction.  
Urgent1-5viRecherche – sites de refuge aménagés.Étudier la faisabilité de l’établissement de sites de refuge aménagés activement dans le delta du St. Clair.Déterminera si l’obovarie ronde dans le delta du St. Clair peut être isolée des effets des moules dreissenas.Moules dreissenas.
Nécessaire1-6i, ivSurveillance – populations de moules et de poissons hôtes.Établir un réseau de stations de surveillance permanente dans toute la répartition de l’obovarie ronde.Permettra le suivi des populations, l’analyse des tendances et l’évaluation des mesures de rétablissement.Déclin du poisson hôte.
Nécessaire1-7iv, vSurveillance – habitat.Établir des sites de surveillance permanente pour le suivi des changements à l’habitat.Fournira des données sur les tendances pour l’habitat essentiel et aidera à évaluer la menace relative de perte d’habitat.Toutes les menaces.
Nécessaire1-8vRecherche – menaces.Identifier et évaluer les menaces pour tous les stades de vie.Aidera à déterminer les raisons des déclins et à mettre au point des mesures correctives.Toutes les menaces.
Nécessaire1-9ViRecherche – génétique de la préservation.Comparer la variabilité génétique des populations dans et parmi les populations canadiennes et déterminer si les populations montrant une structure générique en comparant la  variabilité entre les populations dans les eaux canadiennes et des États-Unis.Aidera à déterminer si la translocation ou l’augmentation des populations est appropriée. 

 1-1 et 1-2: La nécessité d’une période d’enkystement représente un goulot d’étranglement éventuel dans le cycle de vie de la moule. La recherche et les mesures de rétablissement mettant l’accent sur la période d’avant et après l’enkystement peuvent s’avérer improductives si la présence d’un poisson hôte est l’étape limite. Afin de déterminer si ces espèces sont limitées par l’hôte, il est nécessaire d’identifier d’abord les espèces hôtes et de confirmer ensuite que les répartitions de la moule et de son hôte se chevauchent dans le temps et l’espace d’une manière qui permet un enkystement fructueux. L’identification des hôtes à haute spécificité pour certaines espèces de moules nécessite que les hôtes soient identifiés pour les populations locales chaque fois que possible. McNichols et Mackie (2004) ont identifié trois espèces hôtes pour les populations canadiennes de ptychobranche réniforme mais aucun hôte canadien n’a encore été identifié pour l’obovarie ronde. Les efforts devraient chercher à confirmer que les espèces identifiées comme hôtes pour les populations américaines fonctionnent également comme des hôtes au Canada.

Après que les hôtes canadiens auront été confirmés pour ces deux espèces, il sera nécessaire de vérifier si les répartitions des espèces hôtes chevauchent celles de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme. Puisque les moules adultes sont essentiellement sessiles, cela peut s’accomplir en confirmant que des membres des espèces hôtes se trouvent dans des segments avec des moules femelles matures aux périodes où celles-ci contiennent des glochidies matures.

1-3 et 1-4: La détermination de l’habitat essentiel est un élément indispensable pour le rétablissement de ces espèces. Bien que les moules adultes soient distribuées relativement passivement, des types d’habitat distincts peuvent être associés aux répartitions des adultes, indiquant que la survie est liée aux conditions locales de l’habitat. Ces conditions peuvent être tout aussi importantes au stade juvénile et on doit porter attention aux préférences d’habitat des hôtes. L’identification de l’habitat essentiel sera un processus progressif visant plusieurs stades.

1-5: La meilleure population restante d’obovaries rondes ainsi qu’une petite population de ptychobranches réniformes se trouvent dans le delta du lac St. Clair malgré la présence de moules dreissenas.  Metcalfe-Smith et al. (2004) ont indiqué des taux d’infestation de moules zébrées de 0 à 36 moules zébrées par unionidé dans cette zone en 2003. Bien que ce taux d’infestation soit inférieur aux limites mortelles signalées ailleurs (Ricciardi et al. 1995), il peut entraîner des effets chroniques à long terme qui causent des déclins prolongés. Les comparaisons des prises faites en 2001 avec celles de 2003 montrent que l’abondance de tous les unionidés a diminué d’environ 14 %, les déclins étant beaucoup plus élevés pour certaines espèces (p. ex. 80 % de déclin de l’obovarie ronde) (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2004).   Bien que la tendance globale soit vers le déclin des densités d’unionidés, certains sites ont montré des abondances globales stables. Ces sites étaient associés à de faibles taux d’infestation de moules zébrées et à une grande diversité des unionidés, et peuvent représenter des sites de refuge éventuels. Puisque ces sites sont encore affectés par les moules zébrées, il est probable que les unionidés devront être gérés activement avec l’enlèvement régulier des moules zébrées et la relocation active de l’obovarie ronde, du ptychobranche réniforme et d’autres moules aux sites le plus lourdement infestés. La faisabilité de sites de refuge gérés activement dans le delta St. Clair doit être déterminée rapidement car cela représentera probablement la seule chance de sauver l’obovarie ronde.

1-6 et 1-7: Un réseau de stations de surveillance permanente détaillée devrait être établi dans toutes les aires actuelles et historiques de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme. Les sites de surveillance devraient être établis de manière à permettre :

  • Un suivi quantitatif des changements dans l’abondance des moules ou leur démographie (répartition par taille, structure d’âge, etc.) ou de celles de leurs hôtes.
  • Des analyses détaillés de l’utilisation de l’habitat et de la capacité de suivre les changements quant à l’utilisation et à la disponibilité.
  • La capacité de détecter la présence d’espèces exotiques (i.e. moules dreissenas). Les réservoirs représentent les lieux de semence probables des moules dreissenas dans les rivières Sydenham et Ausable rivers. Des sites de surveillance devraient être établis dans ou près de ces réservoirs pour permettre la détection précoce des moules dreissenas dans l’éventualité où elles envahissent ces systèmes. La surveillance des moules exotiques dans le delta du lac St. Clair sera probablement entreprise en étroite association avec les sites de refuge aménagés.
Approches de gestion
PrioritéNuméroObjectif viséApproche/Stratégie globaleMesures spécifiquesEffet prévuMenace visée
Urgent2-1i-viRenforcement des capacitésPromouvoir et rehausser l’expertise en identification et en biologie des moules d’eau douce, et assurer le transfert des connaissances.Assurera la bonne identification des espèces de moules à risque. 
Urgent2-2v, viCoopération –   stratégies de rétablissement des écosystèmesTravailler avec les équipes de rétablissement existantes pour mettre en œuvre les mesures de rétablissement.Encouragera une mise en œuvre transparente de toutes les mesures de rétablissement. 
Nécessaire2-3vPlanification municipaleEncourager les autorités de la planification municipale à considérer les buts du rétablissement dans les plans officiels.Offrira une protection accrue de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme et favorisera un aménagement dans l’avenir qui ne détériore pas l’habitat important.Urbanisation, qualité de l’eau, quantité d’eau, retenues des eaux.
Nécessaire2-4vDrainageTravailler avec les superviseurs, les ingénieurs et les entrepreneurs du drainage pour limiter les effets des activités de drainage sur l’habitat des moules.Réduira les effets néfastes des activités de drainage.Qualité de l’eau, envasement, quantité d’eau.
Nécessaire2-5ii, iii, vPlans de gestion du poissonEncourager l’élaboration de plans de gestion des espèces de poissons non SAR dans les bassins versants inhabités par l’obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme.Offrira une protection pour les espèces hôtes éventuelles.Déclin du poisson hôte
Nécessaire2-6vPoisson-appâtTravailler avec l’industrie du poisson-appât pour réduire les impacts de la pêche commerciale aux poissons-appâts sur les espèces hôtes.Offrira une protection pour les espèces hôtes éventuelles.Déclin du poisson hôte
Nécessaire2-7vUsines de traitement des eaux usées et installations de gestion des eaux pluvialesVérifier si les usines de traitement des eaux usées fonctionnent selon les spécifications et encourager l’amélioration s’il y a lieu. Examiner les installations de gestion des eaux pluviales quant au contrôle de la quantité et de la qualité dans les nouveaux aménagements, et réorganiser l’aménagement existant si possible.Améliorera la qualité de l’eau en réduisant l’apport en solides nutritifs et en suspension des centres urbains.Qualité de l’eau, quantité d’eau, retenues d’eau

 2-1: Actuellement, dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario, la capacité d’entreprendre les relevés et la surveillance nécessaires est insuffisante. La connaissance de l’identification, de la répartition, de l’historique et de la génétique des moules d’eau douce est limitée à un petit nombre d’individus d’un nombre limité d’institutions gouvernementales et universitaires. De plus, on prévoit la retraite de plusieurs chercheurs importants avant la période de réévaluation de cinq ans de cette stratégie. Un effort concerté est nécessaire pour accroître cette capacité :

  • En formant le personne sur l’identification de toutes les espèces de moules et en mettant l’accent sur les espèces rares;
  • En produisant un guide des moules de l’Ontario;
  • En encourageant la recherche des diplômés visant à répondre aux besoins indiqués dans la section sur la recherche et la surveillance.

2-2:  Plusieurs des menaces pour l’obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme peuvent se classer comme répandues et chroniques (tableau 1) et représentent des menaces générales pour les écosystèmes affectant de nombreuses autres espèces aquatiques. Les efforts pour atténuer ces menaces bénéficieront à de nombreuses espèces en plus de ces deux espèces de moules et devraient être tentés en relation étroite avec les équipes de rétablissement de l’écosystème aquatique des rivières Ausable et Sydenham (voir la section II.5, Activités déjà complétées ou en cours) pour éliminer le dédoublement des efforts et s’assurer que les activités entreprises ne sont pas nuisibles pour d’autres espèces.

 2-5: Les poissons hôtes de ces deux espèces de moules doivent obtenir un certain degré de protection si l’on veut rétablir l’obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme. Le dard vert, qui fonctionne comme hôte probable de l’obovarie ronde, est inscrite comme espèce préoccupante par le COSEPAC. Cette espèce est retenue dans les stratégies de rétablissement de l’écosystème aquatique de la rivière Sydenham (Dextrase et al. 2003) et de la rivière Ausable (ARRT 2003) et elle sera donc surveillée et gérée activement dans ces systèmes. Les trois espèces hôtes du ptychobranche réniforme (dard noir, raseux-de-terre et dard barré) ne sont pas inscrite par le COSEPAC et ne sont donc pas considérées explicitement dans les plans de rétablissement. Il peut s’avérer nécessaire d’établir des plans de gestion officiels pour ces espèces afin de s’assurer que leurs populations demeurent saines et n’entravent pas le rétablissement du ptychobranche réniforme.

2-6: Bien que les espèces hôtes de l’obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme ne soient pas visées généralement comme poissons-appâts, elles sont éventuellement prises accessoirement durant les activités de pêche légale aux poissons-appâts. Des efforts devraient viser à minimiser les prises accessoires éventuelles de ces espèces et vérifier si le choix et le fonctionnement des engins de pêche ne contribuent pas à la détérioration de l’habitat qui peut affecter négativement les populations hôtes. Dans les bassins versants soutenant l’obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme, les bassins de stockage du poisson-appât vivant devraient être isolés des cours d’eau afin de prévenir l’échappement accidentel du gobie arrondi. Des mécanismes pour confirmer que les seaux à appâts ne répandent pas le gobie arrondi et ne nuisent pas aux populations hôtes devraient être employés.

Approchesd’intendance
PrioritéNuméroObjectif viséApproche/Stratégie globaleMesures spécifiquesEffet prévuMenace visée
Urgent3-1vTampons riverainsÉtablir des tampons riverains dans les zones de grand potentiel d’érosion en encourageant la naturalisation ou la plantation d’espèces indigènesAméliorera la qualité de l’eau en réduisant l’érosion des rives, la sédimentation et l’écoulement terrestre.Qualité de l’eau, envasement, quantité d’eau
Urgent3-2vDrainage par tuyauxTravailler avec les propriétaires pour atténuer les effets du drainage par tuyaux.Réduira l’apport en nutriments et en sédiments.Qualité de l’eau, envasement, quantité d’eau
Urgent3-3vGestion des troupeauxEncourager l’exclusion active des animaux des cours d’eau.Réduira l’érosion des rives, la sédimentation et l’apport en nutriments.Qualité de l’eau, envasement
Urgent3-4vGestion des déchets d’élevageAider à établir des systèmes de collecte et de stockage du fumier adéquats pour éviter les déversements accidentels et l’épandage du fumier en hiver.Améliorera la qualité de l’eau en réduisant les nutriments.Qualité de l’eau.
Urgent3-5vPlanification des fermesEncourager la mise au point et en œuvre de plans de gestion des fermes et de plans de gestion des nutriments.Aidera à réduire l’apport en nutriments et en sédiments.Qualité de l’eau.
Urgent3-6vTraitement des égouts Travailler avec les propriétaires pour améliorer les systèmes septiques défectueux.Améliorera la qualité de l’eau en réduisant l’apport en nutriments.Qualité de l’eau.
Beneficial3-7vAnalyse des solsEncourager l’analyse des sols pour déterminer les taux d’applications de fertilisants.Réduira l’apport en nutriments dans les rivières.Qualité de l’eau.

Les activités d’intendance proposées ici peuvent être décrites comme des « meilleures pratiques de gestion » et représentent une sélection non exhaustive des activités qui peuvent être encouragées dans ces bassins versants à prédominance agricole afin d’aider à réduire les impacts des pratiques terrestres sur les écosystèmes aquatiques. L’encouragement peut se faire en accroissant la sensibilisation à ces activités ainsi que par la prestation d’une aide financière aux propriétaires locaux.

Approches de sensibilisation
PrioritéNuméroObjectif viséApproche/Stratégie globaleMesures spécifiquesEffet prévuMenace visée
Urgent4-1viiSensibilisation – Mesures d’intendanceAccroître la connaissance du public des options d’intendance et de l’aide financière offerte pour participer aux activités.Participation accrue du public aux activités de rétablissement et réduction des menaces pour l’obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme. Qualité de l’eau, envasement, quantité d’eau.
Urgent4-2viiEspèces exotiquesAccroître la sensibilisation du public aux effets éventuels du transport et de la libération d’espèces exotiques.Réduira le risque de moules dreissenas ou de gobies s’établissant. Espèces exotiques.
Beneficial4-3viiSensibilisationEncourager le soutien et la participation du public en mettant au point des programmes et du matériel de sensibilisation.Accroîtra la sensibilisation du public à l’importance des espèces en péril.Toutes les menaces.

 La participation du public au processus de rétablissement de ces espèces est essentielle car les menaces primaires pour les populations dans les rivières Ausable et  Sydenham proviennent de sources diffuses associées aux activités agricoles générales dans ces bassins versants. Le rétablissement est impossible sans la participation entière des citoyens et des propriétaires locaux. Un programme de sensibilisation du public efficace est essentiel pour le rétablissement de ces deux espèces.