Skip booklet index and go to page content

Short-tailed Albatross (Phoebastria Albatrus)

Limiting Factors and Threats

Volcanic Eruptions

Approximately 85% of the Short-tailed Albatross population breeds on Torishima, an active volcano that erupted explosively in 1902 and 1939, destroying much of the original breeding colony sites. Submarine eruptions occurred in 1965 and 1975. Near the end of 2002 a small eruption occurred, and the volcano is currently ejecting gases (Hasegawa 2002, in litt.). Future eruptions are not predictable in time or magnitude and therefore represent a significant threat to the population. An eruption during the breeding season could kill many birds as well as destroy the breeding area (Hasegawa and DeGange 1982). Additionally, breeding habitat and nesting birds are threatened by frequent mud slides and erosion caused by monsoon rains that occur on the island (Federal Register 2000). 


Commercial Fishing

The potential impacts of the commercial fishing industry include direct injury or mortality from gear, as well as complications associated with discarded ship debris, such as entanglement. The former likely represents the greatest threat to the continued and increasing occurrence of the Short-tailed Albatross within Canadian waters.

In general, seabirds are vulnerable to becoming entangled in derelict fishing gear, although the magnitude of these impacts is unknown. Three to four Short-tailed Albatross come ashore entangled in fishing line per year on Torishima, some of which die as a result (Hasegawa 2001, in litt.). Lost or abandoned gear is a threat to the Short-tailed Albatross throughout its range.

The Short-tailed Albatross is known to co-occur with commercial fisheries off Alaska, at levels that vary both spatially and temporally (Gilroy et al. 2000). The species has been observed from fishing vessels off Alaska, and seven individuals were reported as incidental takes in the Alaskan fisheries from 1983 to 1998 (Cochrane and Starfield 1999). Additional unreported take has probably also occurred (Sherburne 1993, Balogh 2003, in litt.). The majority of takes were associated with groundfish (i.e. non-halibut) longline operations, and one in the Alaskan Pacific halibut (Hippoglossus stenolepis) fishery (Gilroy et al. 2000). All occurred in September.

To date the Department of Fisheries and Oceans has recorded no incidental take of the Short-tailed Albatross in Canadian waters (L. Yamanaka, pers. comm. 2003). The degree of overlap between the industry and the species is difficult to quantify as the effort for pelagic bird observations is too low and uneven. However the potential exists for the two to co-occur in space and time. As populations of Short-tailed Albatross increase, this potential is likely to increase correspondingly. The commercial fishing effort for halibut and rock-fish (Sebastes spp.) is concentrated along the continental shelf off the coast of British Columbia, with additional effort along the coast of Northern Vancouver Island and the east side of Queen Charlotte Sound (J. Smith pers. comm. 2003).  Nine of the 10 sightings of the Short-tailed Albatross in British Columbian waters have occurred in these regions (Fig. 3). Black-footed Albatrosses are routinely killed in commercial halibut and rockfish longline fisheries in BC waters, despite the mandatory use of seabird avoidance devices as a condition of licensing (in the halibut fishery). Therefore, it is likely just a matter of time before a Short-tailed Albatross is taken in BC waters. 

Sea-bird by-catch can also be age or sex biased, depending on the location and timing of albatross foraging in relation to local fishery concentrations (Cochrane and Starfield 1999). While there appears to be no evidence for a sex bias in Short-tailed Albatross mortality in general, there is some evidence of age-biased mortality associated with fisheries with six of the seven recorded takes in Alaska being immatures (Cochrane and Starfield 1999). The majority of Short-tailed Albatross sightings within Canadian waters have been of immatures (Table 1). The possibility therefore exists of a greater threat to these individuals where fishing effort overlaps with the species’ range in Canada. In long-lived species such as albatrosses, adult survival rate has the highest potential to influence the population growth rate. However, Cochrane and Starfield (1999) suggest that fishing-related mortality of immatures may have as strong an influence on trends as does adult survival for the Short-tailed Albatross.

No information is available on incidental take in foreign fisheries outside the United States and Canada. For the United States, at the current population level and growth rate, the level of recorded mortality resulting from longline fisheries, although significant, is not thought to represent a threat to the species’ survival (NMFS 2003), although it is likely slowing recovery. However, in the event of a major population decline resulting from a random stochastic event (e.g. volcanic eruption during the breeding season, or a major oil spill), the additional impact of longline fisheries on Short-tailed Albatrosses could be significant (Cochrane and Starfield 1999, Federal Register 2000).


Oil Pollution

Oil pollution could pose a threat to Short-tailed Albatrosses by causing physiological problems from petroleum toxicity and by interfering with the affected bird’s ability to thermoregulate. As mentioned, oil development has been considered in the past in the vicinity of the Senkaku Islands (Hasegawa and DeGange 1982, Federal Register 2000). Future development could impact the local marine environment used by the albatrosses during the breeding season by introducing the risk of spills or leaks related to oil extraction, transfer, and transportation.

Oil spills could also occur in many parts of the species’ marine range, including the United States and Canada. Fouling of the birds and their habitat could arise from the chronic illegal dumping of oily bilges, as well as from major oil spills should they occur. For Canada specifically, recent discussions concerning the lifting of the current moratorium on gas and oil exploration off the coast of British Columbia highlights this risk. Areas that might be affected by drilling include Queen Charlotte Sound, shallow areas within Hecate Strait and off the north and northwest coast of Vancouver Island (K. Morgan pers. comm. 2003). As previously mentioned, on the basis of Short-tailed Albatross distribution off the coast of British Columbia, the potential therefore exists for interactions between the species and the oil industry. 


Plastics Ingestion

Albatrosses often consume plastics at sea, presumably mistaking them for food items. Plastics ingestion can lead to injury or mortality through internal injuries from sharp pieces of plastic, or through a reduction in ingested food volumes and dehydration (Sievert and Sileo 1993). Young birds may be particularly vulnerable to plastic ingestion prior to developing the ability to regurgitate (Sherburne 1993). Short-tailed Albatrosses on Torishima commonly regurgitate large amounts of plastics debris (Federal Register 2000), an observation that has become increasingly common in the last 10 years. However, the effects on survival and population growth are not known. 


Interspecific Competition

Black-footed Albatross also nest on Torishima. Historically this species nested on lower slopes; however, they are currently expanding their nesting area up into that of the Short-tailed Albatross (Hasegawa and DeGange 1982). However, Sherburne (1993) notes that Short-tailed Albatrosses arrive to establish and re-establish nests six weeks earlier than the Black-footed Albatross. It is therefore unknown if the observed encroachment represents actual competition for nesting habitat between the two species.


Introduced Species

Ship rats (Rattus rattus) were introduced to Torishima at some point during human occupation, and now inhabit much of the island, including the albatrosses nesting slope. Although it is suspected they may prey on eggs or hatchling albatrosses, no direct evidence of rat depredation has been observed (Hasegawa 1984). Cats (Felis catus) were also present, most likely introduced during the feather hunting period. However, there has been no recent evidence of cats on the island, and it is thought that they no longer occur.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

L’albatros à queue courte (Phoebastria albatrus)

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Éruptions volcaniques

Environ 85 p. 100 de la population d’Albatros à queue courte nichent dans l’île Torishima, volcan actif dont les violentes éruptions de 1902 et de 1939 ont détruit une grande partie des anciens sites de nidification. En outre, des éruptions sous-marines se sont produites en 1965 et en 1975. Vers la fin de 2002, il y a eu une petite éruption et le volcan crache actuellement des gaz (Hasegawa, 2002, in litt.). Il est impossible de prévoir le moment et l’ampleur des prochaines éruptions, qui représentent une menace importante pour la population. Une éruption survenant pendant la saison de reproduction pourrait tuer de nombreux oiseaux et détruire l’aire de reproduction (Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982). De plus, l’habitat de reproduction et les oiseaux nicheurs sont menacés par les fréquents glissements de boue et l’érosion occasionnés par les pluies de mousson auxquelles l’île est exposée (Federal Register, 2000).


Pêche commerciale

Les impacts potentiels de la pêche commerciale comprennent les lésions ou les mortalités causées directement par les engins de pêche, ainsi que les problèmes associés aux débris, dans lesquels les oiseaux peuvent se prendre. Les premiers représentent probablement le plus important obstacle potentiel au maintien et à l’accroissement de la population d’Albatros à queue courte dans les eaux canadiennes.

En général, les oiseaux de mer sont susceptibles de se prendre dans les engins de pêche abandonnés, mais l’ampleur de ce phénomène est inconnu. Chaque année, dans l’île Torishima, on découvre sur le rivage trois ou quatre Albatros à queue courte prises dans une ligne de pêche et certains en meurent (Hasegawa, 2001, in litt.). Les engins de pêche perdus ou abandonnés constituent une menace pour l’Albatros à queue courte dans toute son aire de répartition.

Il est connu que l’Albatros à queue courte est présent dans la zone de pêche commerciale située au large de l’Alaska, en nombres variant selon l’endroit et le moment (Gilroy et al., 2000). L’espèce a été observée à partir de bateaux de pêche au large de l’Alaska et sept individus ont été signalés comme prises accidentelles dans les pêches de l’Alaska de 1983 à 1998 (Cochrane et Starfield, 1999). Il y a probablement eu d’autres prises non signalées (Sherburne, 1993; Balogh, 2003, in litt.). La majorité des prises était associée à la pêche à la palangre du poisson de fond (autre que le flétan) et une d’elles à la pêche du flétan du Pacifique (Hippoglossus stenolepis) (Gilroy et al., 2000). Toutes les prises ont eu lieu en septembre.

Jusqu’à présent, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans n’a pas signalé de prises accidentelles d’Albatros à queue courte dans les eaux canadiennes (L. Yamanaka, comm. pers., 2003). Le degré de chevauchement entre l’industrie et l’espèce est difficile à quantifier, car les efforts d’observation des oiseaux pélagiques sont trop faibles et irréguliers. Cependant, il est possible que les deux soient présents au même endroit et en même temps. À mesure que les populations d’Albatros à queue courte augmentent, la possibilité de chevauchement augmentera probablement en conséquence. Les activités de pêche commerciale visant le flétan et le sébaste (Sebastes spp.) sont concentrées le long de la plate-forme continentale au large de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique, avec d’autres efforts le long de la côte de la partie nord de l’île de Vancouver et du côté est du bassin de la Reine-Charlotte (J. Smith, comm. pers., 2003). Neuf des dix mentions d’Albatros à queue courte pour les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique proviennent de ces régions (figure 3). Des Albatros à pieds noirs sont régulièrement tués dans les pêches à la palangre commerciales visant le flétan et le sébaste dans les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique, malgré l’obligation d’employer des moyens permettant d’éviter la capture d’oiseaux de mer figurant dans les conditions d’obtention de permis (pour la pêche au flétan). Par conséquent, ce n’est probablement qu’une question de temps avant que des Albatros à queue courte ne soient capturés dans les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique.

Les prises accidentelles d’oiseaux de mer peuvent également être corrélées avec l’âge et le sexe, selon l’endroit et le moment où les oiseaux s’alimentent, en relation avec les concentrations locales des pêches (Cochrane et Starfield, 1999). Il ne semble pas y avoir de preuves à l’appui d’un biais relatif au sexe dans la mortalité observée chez l’Albatros à queue courte en général, mais certaines indications donnent à penser que l’âge aurait une incidence dans le cas de la mortalité due aux pêches étant donné que six des sept prises signalées en Alaska se rapportaient à des individus immatures (Cochrane et Starfield, 1999). La majorité des observations d’Albatros à queue courte effectuées dans les eaux canadiennes se rapportait à des oiseaux immatures (tableau 1). Il est donc possible que la menace soit plus grande pour ces individus aux endroits où les activités de pêche chevauchent l’aire de répartition de l’espèce au Canada. Chez les espèces qui vivent longtemps, comme les albatros, le taux de survie des adultes est le facteur susceptible d’avoir l’incidence la plus élevée sur le taux de croissance de la population. Cependant, Cochrane et Starfield (1999) pensent que la mortalité due à la pêche chez les immatures pourrait avoir une incidence aussi forte que le taux de survie des adultes sur les tendances démographiques dans le cas de l’Albatros à queue courte.

Il n’y a pas d’information disponible sur les prises accidentelles dans les pêches étrangères, ailleurs qu’aux États-Unis et au Canada. Aux États-Unis, selon le niveau actuel et le taux de croissance de la population, on considère que le taux de mortalité enregistré dans la pêche à la palangre, bien qu’important, ne constitue pas une menace pour la survie de l’espèce (NMFS, 2003), mais qu’il ralentit probablement le rétablissement de l’espèce. Cependant, en cas de déclin majeur de la population à la suite d’un phénomène stochastique (p. ex. une éruption volcanique pendant la saison de reproduction, ou un déversement d’hydrocarbures important), l’incidence de la pêche à la palangre sur l’Albatros à queue courte pourrait devenir non négligeable (Cochrane et Starfield, 1999; Federal Register, 2000).


Pollution par les hydrocarbures

La pollution par les hydrocarbures peut présenter une menace pour l’Albatros à queue courte en provoquant des troubles physiologiques dus à la toxicité du pétrole et en influant sur la capacité de thermorégulation des oiseaux touchés. Comme on l’a mentionné, on a déjà envisagé l’exploitation des hydrocarbures à proximité des îles Senkaku (Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982; Federal Register, 2000). Une exploitation future pourrait avoir une incidence sur le milieu marin utilisé par les albatros pendant la saison de reproduction à cause du risque de déversements ou de fuites associé à l’extraction, au chargement et au transport des hydrocarbures.

Des déversements d’hydrocarbures peuvent aussi se produire dans de nombreuses parties de l’aire de répartition marine de l’espèce, notamment aux États-Unis et au Canada. Le mazoutage des oiseaux et de leur habitat peut découler du déversement illégal régulier des eaux de cale huileuses et de déversements d’hydrocarbures majeurs, le cas échéant. Dans le cas particulier du Canada, les récentes discussions touchant la levée du moratoire actuel sur l’exploration gazière et pétrolière au large de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique concrétisent ce risque. Les régions susceptibles d’être touchées par le forage comprennent le bassin de la Reine-Charlotte, des hauts-fonds du détroit d’Hécate et des secteurs situés au large des côtes nord et nord-ouest de l’île de Vancouver (K. Morgan, comm.  pers., 2003). Vu la répartition de l’Albatros à queue courte dans la région côtière de la Colombie-Britannique, il est donc possible que l’espèce soit éventuellement affectée par l’industrie des hydrocarbures.


Ingestion de débris en plastique

Les albatros avalent souvent en mer des objets en plastique, probablement parce qu’ils les prennent pour des aliments. L’ingestion de plastiques peut provoquer des mortalités résultant de lésions internes ou d’une réduction du volume d’aliments ingérés et d’une déshydratation (Sievert et Sileo, 1993). Les jeunes oiseaux peuvent être particulièrement vulnérables à l’ingestion de plastiques avant le développement de leur capacité de régurgiter (Sherburne,1993). Dans l’île Torishima, les Albatros à queue courte régurgitent régulièrement de grandes quantités de débris en plastique (Federal Register, 2000), observation devenue de plus en plus commune au cours des dix dernières années. Cependant, on ne connaît pas les effets de cette ingestion sur la survie des oiseaux et la croissance de la population.


Compétition interspécifique

L’Albatros à pieds noirs niche lui aussi dans l’île Torishima. Par le passé, cette espèce nichait en basse pente, mais elle étend actuellement son aire de nidification vers le haut, empiétant sur celle de l’Albatros à queue courte (Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982). Cependant, Sherburne (1993) indique que l’Albatros à queue courte arrive dans l’île pour nicher six semaines avant l’Albatros à pieds noirs. On ne sait donc pas si l’empiétement observé correspond réellement à une compétition entre les deux espèces pour l’habitat de nidification.


Espèces introduites

Le rat noir (Rattus rattus) a été introduit par bateau dans l’île Torishima à un certain moment pendant l’occupation humaine, et il est maintenant présent dans une bonne partie de l’île, notamment dans la pente où nichent les albatros. Bien que l’on soupçonne une prédation des œufs ou des poussins par ce rongeur, on n’en a aucune preuve directe (Hasegawa, 1984). Le chat (Felis catus) a également été présent dans l’île, probablement introduit pendant la chasse visant la récolte de plumes. Cependant, il n’y a eu aucune observation récente de chats dans l’île et l’on pense qu’il n’y en a plus.