Skip booklet index and go to page content

Short-tailed Albatross (Phoebastria Albatrus)

Existing Protection or Other Status

The Japanese government designated the Short-tailed Albatross as a protected species in 1958, as a Special National Monument in 1962 and as a Special Bird for Protection in 1972. In 1992, the species was classified as endangered under the newly implemented Species Preservation Act. Torishima, one of the two remaining breeding colonies, was designated a no-hunting area by the Japanese Government in 1933, and later a National Monument in 1958. Harvest is prohibited, and human activities and disturbance on Torishima are restricted. In 2001 the Fisheries Agency of Japan set seabird by-catch regulations. These include the requirement for boats fishing within 20 nautical miles of Torishima, during the breeding season, to adopt various mitigation measures to reduce the incidental take of Short-tailed Albatross (Hasegawa 2001, in litt.).

In July 1975 the Short-tailed Albatross was included in Appendix 1 of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES). The species is listed as Vulnerable under criteria D1 and D2 by the World Conservation Union (IUCN). The species is included in Appendix 1 of the Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wildlife Animals.

The United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) listed the Short-tailed Albatross as Endangered rangewide except in the US in the List of Endangered Foreign Wildlife (Federal Register 35:8495, 2 June 1970). This Endangered status was extended to include the range within the United States on 31 July 2000 (Federal Register No. 46643). The species is also listed as Endangered in the State of Alaska (State of Alaska, Alaska Statutes, Article 4, Sec. 16.20.19). The National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) requires the Alaska longline fisheries to employ bird avoidance techniques to reduce the incidental take of seabirds by the fishing industry, and in conjunction with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) has recently proposed management measures to reduce seabird incidental take in the hook-and-line halibut and groundfish fisheries in the Exclusive Economic Zone of Alaska (Federal Register 2003). In addition, the NMFS has recently set incidental take limits for Short-tailed Albatrosses in three fisheries (hook-and-line groundfish, groundfish trawl, and halibut hook-and-line) off Alaska (NMFS 2003). 

The species is ranked by the Nature Conservancy as follows:

Global Heritage Status Rank: G1 (14 Sep 2000)

National Heritage Status Rank – United States: NZN (19 Mar 1997)
National Heritage Status Rank – Canada: NAN (02 Feb 2001)

Sub-national Heritage Status Rank – United States: Alaska (S1N), California (S?), Hawaii (S1), Washington (SZN)
Sub-national Heritage Status Rank – Canada: British Columbia (SZN)

There has been one recorded confirmed sighting of a Short-tailed Albatross in the waters off Pacific Rim National Park (Species in Parks Systems database 2003). On the basis of historical distributions, the species is also likely to occur adjacent to Gwaii Haanas National Park. However, the at-sea presence of the species adjacent to or even within the boundaries of a National Park does not guarantee the protection of the Short-tailed Albatross.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

L’albatros à queue courte (Phoebastria albatrus)

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations

Le gouvernement japonais a attribué à l’Albatros à queue courte le statut d’espèce protégée en 1958, d’élément spécial du patrimoine national en 1962 et d’oiseau spécial à protéger en 1972. En 1992, l’espèce a été classée comme étant en voie de disparition en vertu de la loi sur la protection des espèces récemment entrée en vigueur. En 1933, le gouvernement japonais a interdit la chasse dans l’île Torishima, qui abrite l’une des deux dernières colonies de nidification, et il a déclaré l’île élément spécial du patrimoine national en 1958. La récolte est interdite et l’on a restreint les activités humaines ainsi que les perturbations dans l’île Torishima. En 2001, l’organisme nippon responsable des pêches (Fisheries Agency of Japan) a établi un règlement sur les prises accidentelles d’oiseaux de mer. Celui-ci oblige notamment les bateaux de pêche exerçant leurs activités pendant la saison de reproduction dans les 20 milles nautiques entourant l’île Torishima à adopter diverses mesures d’atténuation visant à réduire le nombre de prises accidentelles d’Albatros à queue courte (Hasegawa, 2001, in litt.).

En juillet 1975, l’Albatros à queue courte a été inscrit à l’annexe 1 de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction (CITES). L’espèce est désignée « vulnérable » en vertu des critères D1 et D2 par l’Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN). Elle est inscrite à l’annexe 1 de la Convention sur la conservation des espèces migratrices appartenant à la faune sauvage.

Le United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) a inscrit l’Albatros à queue courte comme espèce en voie de disparition (endangered) dans toute son aire de répartition excepté aux États-Unis dans sa List of Endangered Foreign Wildlife (Federal Register, 35 : 8495, 2 juin 1970). L’application de ce statut d’espèce en péril a été étendue de façon à inclure l’aire de répartition de l’espèce aux États-Unis le 31 juillet 2000 (Federal Register No. 46643). L’espèce figure également sur la liste des espèces en voie de disparition (endangered) dans l’État d’Alaska (State of Alaska, Alaska Statutes, Article 4, Sec. 16.20.19). Le National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) exige que les pêcheurs à la palangre de l’Alaska mettent en œuvre des techniques d’évitement des oiseaux afin de réduire le nombre de prises accidentelles d’oiseaux de mer dans l’industrie de la pêche, et, conjointement avec la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), il a récemment proposé des mesures de gestion visant à réduire les prises accidentelles d’oiseaux de mer dans la pêche du flétan et du poisson de fond à la ligne et hameçon dans la zone économique exclusive (Exclusive Economic Zone) de l’Alaska (Federal Register, 2003). De plus, le NMFS a récemment imposé des limites concernant la prise accidentelle d’Albatros à queue courte dans trois types de pêches (pêche du poisson de fond à la ligne et hameçon, pêche du poisson de fond au chalut et pêche du flétan à la ligne et hameçon) au large de l’Alaska (NMFS, 2003).

L’organisme The Nature Conservancy a attribué à cette espèce les cotes suivantes :

Rang de priorité mondial : G1 (14 sept. 2000)

Rang de priorité national – États-Unis : NZN (19 mars 1997)
Rang de priorité national – Canada: NAN (2 fév. 2001)

Rang de priorité sub-national – États-Unis : Alaska (S1N), Californie (S?),
Hawaii (S1), Washington (SZN)
Rang de priorité sub-national – Canada : Colombie-Britannique (SZN)

Il y a une observation confirmée d’Albatros à queue courte pour les eaux se trouvant au large du parc national Pacific Rim (base de données du registre des espèces dans les parcs, 2003). D’après sa répartition historique, l’espèce est probablement aussi présente dans les eaux adjacentes au parc national Gwaii Haanas. Cependant, la présence de l’Albatros à queue courte en mer dans les eaux adjacentes à un parc national, ou même dans les limites d’un parc national, ne garantit pas sa protection.