Skip booklet index and go to page content

Short-tailed Albatross (Phoebastria Albatrus)

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Short-tailed Albatross
Phoebastria albatrus
in Canada
2003

Species Information

Name and Classification

The first record of Phoebastria albatrus, commonly known as the Short-tailed Albatross, was made by George Steller in the 1740s. The type specimen for the species was collected offshore of Kamchatka, Russia, and was described in 1769 by P.S. Pallas in Spicilegia Zoologica (AOU 1998). The species is also less commonly referred to as Steller’s Albatross (Austin 1949, Harrison 1983, National Geographic Society 1987, Sibley and Monroe 1990), and “Coast Albatross” (Sherburne 1993, Federal Register 2000). The French name is Albatros à queue courte.

Until recently, the Short-tailed Albatross had been assigned to the genus Diomedea (Class Aves, Order Procellariiformes, Family Diomedeidae, Diomedea albatrus Pallas, 1769). Following the results of genetic studies (Nunn et al. 1996), the species is now classified, along with all the north Pacific albatrosses, within the genus Phoebastria: Class Aves, Order Procellariiformes, Family Diomedeidae, Phoebastria albatrus (Pallas, 1769).


Description

The Short-tailed Albatross shares the classic body morphology of the family Diomedeidae: large bodied with long narrow wings adapted for soaring just above the water surface (Figure 1). Of the North Pacific albatrosses, the Short-tailed is the largest, and when mature, the only white-bodied albatross found in this region. The large bill, a distinguishing characteristic across age classes, is pink and hooked with a bluish tip. The sexes are alike across age classes, with no seasonal variation in plumage (Harrison 1983).

Adults are characterized by a white back, pale-yellow head and back of neck, black and white wings, white tail with a black fringe, and pale legs and feet. Adult length varies from 84-94 cm (33-37 inches), wingspan from 213-229 cm (84-90 inches) (Harrison 1983). First-year birds are wholly chocolate brown, closely resembling the juvenile Black-footed Albatross (Phoebastria nigripes). However, the large bright pink bill provides a clear distinguishing factor in the field. Full adult plumage (with yellowish head and neck) is acquired after 12 to 20 years (Sibley 2000) (see Harrison 1983 for full description of immature and sub-adult stages).


Figure 1: Adult Short-tailed Albatross Phoebastria albatrus

Figure 1: Adult Short-tailed Albatross Phoebastria albatrus (Photo by Hiroshi Hasegawa).

Photo by Hiroshi Hasegawa.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

L’albatros à queue courte (Phoebastria albatrus)

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur
l’Albatros à queue courte
Phoebastria albatrus
au Canada
2003

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

La première mention du Phoebastria albatrus, généralement appelé Albatros à queue courte, a été faite par George Steller dans les années 1740. Le spécimen-type de l’espèce a été récolté au large du Kamtchatka, en Russie, et a été décrit en 1769 par P.S. Pallas dans la publication Spicilegia Zoologica (AOU, 1998). L’espèce est également désignée moins fréquemment sous le nom d’Albatros de Steller (Steller’s albatross - Austin, 1949; Harrison, 1983; National Geographic Society, 1987; Sibley et Monroe, 1990) et parfois en anglais sous le nom de « coast albatross » (Sherburne, 1993; Federal Register, 2000). Son nom commun anglais usuel est « Short-tailed Albatross ».

Jusqu’à récemment, l’Albatros à queue courte était classé dans le genre Diomedea (classe de Oiseaux, ordre des Procellariiformes, famille des Diomédéidés, Diomedea albatrus Pallas, 1769). En se fondant sur les résultats d’études génétiques (Nunn et al., 1996), on classe maintenant cette espèce dans le même genre que toutes les espèces d’albatros du nord du Pacifique, soit le genre Phoebastria : classe des Oiseaux, ordre des Procellariiformes, famille des Diomédéidés, Phoebastria albatrus (Pallas, 1769).


Description

L’Albatros à queue courte présente les caractéristiques morphologiques classiques de la famille des Diomédéidés : oiseau à gros corps pourvu de longues ailes étroites, adapté pour planer juste au-dessus de la surface de l’eau (figure 1). L’Albatros à queue courte est le plus gros des albatros du Pacifique Nord et, à l’âge adulte, le seul albatros à corps blanc présent dans cette région. Son gros bec, caractéristique distinctive quelle que soit la classe d’âge, est rose et crochu avec une pointe bleuâtre. Les sexes sont semblables dans toutes les classes d’âge et il n’y a pas de variation saisonnière dans le plumage (Harrison, 1983).

L’adulte a le dos blanc, la tête et l’arrière du cou jaune pâle, les ailes noir et blanc, la queue blanche frangée de noir, les pattes et les pieds pâles. Il mesure entre 84 et 94 cm (33 à 37 pouces) et les ailes ont une envergure de 213 à 229 cm (84 à 90 pouces) (Harrison, 1983). Dans leur première année, les oiseaux sont entièrement brun chocolat et ressemblent beaucoup aux jeunes de l’Albatros à pieds noirs (Phoebastria nigripes). Cependant, leur gros bec rose éclatant constitue une caractéristique permettant de bien distinguer les deux espèces sur le terrain. Il faut 12 à 20 ans pour que l’oiseau acquière son plumage adulte complet (avec la tête et le cou jaunâtre) (Sibley, 2000) (voir Harrison, 1983 pour une description complète des immatures et des subadultes).


 Figure 1 : Albatros à queue courte (Phoebastria albatrus) adultes

 Figure 1 : Albatros à queue courte (Phoebastria albatrus) adultes (photo de Hiroshi Hasegawa).

Photo de Hiroshi Hasegawa.