Skip booklet index and go to page content

Short-tailed Albatross (Phoebastria Albatrus)

Distribution

Global Range

Breeding

Historically, breeding colonies of the Short-tailed Albatross were known from at least nine sites, all within the sub-tropical western North Pacific (Hasegawa 1984) (Figure 2). These include the Izu, Bonin, Daito, Senkaku and western volcanic groups of Japan, and Agincourt Island and the Pescadore Islands of Taiwan (Federal Register 2000, Harrison 1983). It is possible that other, undocumented, nesting colonies may have also existed (Hasegawa and DeGange 1982). Of those known, only two are now active, both following periods of inactivity: Tori-shima (Izu group) and Minami-kojima (Senkaku Islands) in Japan (Figure 2). While individuals have recently been observed landing on Bonin Island, no breeding has been recorded (P. Sievert pers. comm. 2003).

Records from the 1930s, and recent observations, suggest that the Short-tailed Albatross may have once nested on Midway Atoll in the Hawaiian chain. However, within the records there are no confirmed historical breeding accounts. While a single incubating individual was found in November 1993, and again in 1995 and 1997, none of the eggs laid were viable (Federal Register 2000).

Figure 2: Global distribution of the Short-tailed Albatross Phoebastria albatrus

Figure 2: Global distribution of the Short-tailed Albatross Phoebastria albatrus, from McDermond and Morgan (1993).

From McDermond and Morgan (1993).

A number of early naturalists believed the Short-tailed Albatross bred on the Aleutian Islands in Alaska. Apparently unaware of the species’ winter breeding on islands further to the southwest, they mistook the abundance of the albatross from early May to late October in the Aleutians as an indication of breeding activity. An early explorer also recorded natives exploiting nests for both birds and eggs, and Alaska Aleut folklore referred to breeding birds. However, breeding was never verified. While the remains of adult Short-tailed Albatrosses have been recorded from archaeological investigations of Aleut middens, no fledging remains have been discovered (Yesner 1976). This evidence, in addition to knowledge of past and present breeding distributions, suggests that former breeding in Alaska was highly unlikely (Yesner 1976, Sherburne 1993). 

Marine

The marine range of the Short-tailed Albatross extends from Siberia south to the China coast, into the Bering Sea and Gulf of Alaska, south to Baja California, and throughout the North Pacific including the northwestern Hawaiian Islands (Figure 2). 

Historically the species was considered common throughout this range, irrespective of season (review by Sanger 1972, AOU 1998). However, the dramatic population declines during the late 1800s-early 1900s, the result of hunting in the breeding colonies (see sections below), were strongly reflected in the number of observations at sea with few records of the species away from the breeding grounds between the 1940s and 1970 (Tramontano 1970). Sightings since this time indicate the Short-tailed Albatross still wanders over much of its original range, but in greatly reduced numbers (review by Sanger 1972, Hasegawa and DeGange 1982).


Canadian Range

In Canada, the Short-tailed Albatross occurs exclusively as a nonbreeding species off the coast of British Columbia; most records occur from February through October (Table 1). Historically the species was the dominant near-shore albatross, and appears to have been of considerable importance to the native people in those areas investigated. Approximately 27-40% of all the bones excavated from the Yuquot midden at Nootka Sound, on Vancouver Island, were from Short-tailed Albatrosses (McAllister 1980). The species likely constituted a major part of the spring and summer diet for this region, and appears to have been hunted long before whaling was practised (McAllister 1980). Short-tailed Albatross bones also formed a distinctive portion of the samples collected from the Maple Bank site in Victoria. However, the skeletal elements present suggest the species was used for different purposes at this site (Crockford et al. 1997). Crockford (2003) summarized all available information on the locations where Short-tailed Albatross bones had been found in middens in BC. The locations included Digby Island (west of Prince Rupert) to islands within the Queen Charlotte archipelago: the west coast of Vancouver Island from Nootka Island, Tofino/Ucluelet/Barkley Sound area to Esquimalt Harbour and the entrance to Esquimalt Lagoon: and North Pender Island.

In the late 19th century, the Short-tailed Albatross was reported by Kermode (1904) as “tolerably common on both coasts of Vancouver island, but more abundant on the west coast”. In April 1894, he found it quite common near Cape Beale. In 1889 (exact date unknown), two specimens were obtained in Juan de Fuca Strait off Victoria and prepared as display mounts. Campbell et al. (1990) state that the final record for British Columbia in the 19th century was a bird found dead on a beach at Esquimalt on 4 June 1893, but conflicts with the Kermode (1904) record cited above (and also cited by Campbell et al. 1990). The Short-tailed Albatross then “completely disappeared from the British Columbia coast” (McAllister 1980), and was not recorded again until the late 1950s (Lane 1962, review in Campbell et al. 1990). These sightings, summarized in Table 1, were mostly of single birds, and were “often immatures” (Campbell et al. 1990). The records of Lane (1962) and those reviewed in Campbell et al. (1990) (Table 1) occurred concurrently with ‘renewed’ sightings from Oregon, Alaska and other areas of the Northern Pacific (Wyatt 1963, Tramontano 1970, Wahl 1970). 

 

Table 1: Records of the Short-tailed Albatross Phoebastria albatrus in Canada from the late 1800s - 2003
Date of recordLocationSexAge classReference/Observer
Late 1800’s“tolerably common on both coasts of Vancouver Is.”  Kermode 1904
April 1894“quite common in the Pacific Ocean, near Cape Beale”  Kermode 1904
1889Juan de Fuca Strait, off Victoria – two specimens collectedmale
female
adult
juvenile
Campbell et al. 1990
4 June 1893Esquimalt beach – dead  Campbell et al. 1990
“From 1958 to 1981 single birds, often immatures, were reported on at least 10 occasions: May 1963; June 1964; August 1972 and 1976; September 1958 and 1974; and October 1969”. No further details are noted for these recordsCampbell et al. 1990
11 June 196064 km west of Vancouver Island immatureLane 1962
24 June 1971Ocean Station Papa* immatureGruchy et al. 1972
30 July 1991*47°48’ N 133°35’ W immatureK. Morgan
23 Feb 199648°41’ N 126°41’ W juvenileJ. Anderson
22 Oct 199653°53’ N 133°32’ W subadultR. Cameron (IPHC)
19 Jan 199954°09’ N 133°37’ W juvenileR. Lattorra (IPHC)
8 May 199950°45’ N 129°20’ W adultM. Bentley
25 July 199952°10’ N 130°19’ W juvenileJ. Lellicut (IPHC)
2 July 200050°44’ N 129°24’ W immatureM. Bentley
8 Sep 200049°02’ N 131°39’ W immatureM. Bentley
2 Sep 200152°21’ N 130°45’ W immatureIPHC
15 Oct 200249°30’ N 127°15’ W immatureJ. Anderson
8 Aug 200348°18’ N 126°04’ W immatureJ. Anderson

* sightings outside the EEZ
IPHC indicates records obtained from the International Pacific Halibut Commission from 1996.

Since 1991 periodic sightings, and corresponding locations, have been recorded during at-sea surveys off the coast of British Columbia and by fisheries observers with the International Pacific Halibut Commission (IPHC) (Table 1, Fig. 3). These records suggest a tendency for Short-tailed Albatrosses to occur along, and inshore of the shelf break in British Columbia (Fig. 3). Of 15 confirmed sightings within the EEZ since 1991, 13 were of juvenile or sub-adult birds, and two were of adults (Table 1). Most of the at-sea surveys are conducted from aboard ships-of-opportunity (K. Morgan pers. comm. 2003), so the survey effort has been inconsistent from year to year on a spatial and temporal scale. As a result, it is difficult to delineate the exact range and the relative abundance of the species off the BC coast. In those marine areas where the species has not been recorded, as well as for areas that have not been surveyed, it is not possible to definitely say that the areas are not used by Short-tailed Albatross. Thus the area of occupancy (AO) for the Short-tailed Albatross is equivalent to the extent of occurrence (EO): 423 260 km2  from the boundary of Canada’s Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) in the Pacific to the BC coast, including areas of the species’ historic range (Dixon Entrance, Hecate Strait, Queen Charlotte Sound, Juan de Fuca Strait and coastal inlets).

Figure 3: Canadian Sightings of the Short-tailed Albatross Phoebastria albatrus Since 1991

Figure 3: Canadian sightings of the Short-tailed Albatross Phoebastria albatrus since 1991. Dotted line indicates boundary of the EEZ. Light blue, grey and green shading indicates the continental shelf (200 m isobath) and slope areas.

Dotted line indicates boundary of the EEZ. Light blue, grey and green shading indicates the continental shelf (200 m isobath) and slope areas.

It is estimated that approximately 390 Short-tailed Albatross use the defined area off BC from at least January to October (the survey period) each year (CWS unpubl. data 2003). This estimate was derived by calculating the average density of Short-tailed Albatross within surveyed areas across years (number of sightings from at-sea surveys/km2 of survey area) and extrapolating the density estimate to the entire Extent of Occurrence for the species.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

L’albatros à queue courte (Phoebastria albatrus)

Répartition

Répartition mondiale

Aire de reproduction

Dans le passé, des colonies nicheuses d’Albatros à queue courte étaient connues à au moins neuf endroits se trouvant tous dans la partie occidentale subtropicale du Pacifique Nord (Hasegawa 1984) (figure 2). Ces endroits comprenaient diverses îles japonaises dont les îles Izu, Bonin, Daito, Senkaku et l’ouest des îles Volcano, ainsi que l’île Agincourt et les îles Pescadores de Taïwan (Federal Register, 2000; Harrison, 1983). Il est possible que d’autres colonies, non documentées, aient également existé (Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982). Parmi les colonies connues, il n’y en a plus que deux qui sont encore actives, toutes deux après des périodes d’inactivité, soit celles de Torishima (groupe Izu) et de Minami-kojima (îles Senkaku) au Japon (figure 2). On a observé récemment des individus qui se posaient dans les îles Bonin, mais aucune reproduction n’a été signalée (P. Sievert, comm. pers., 2003).

D’après les mentions des années 1930 et certaines observations récentes, l’Albatros à queue courte aurait peut-être déjà niché dans les îles Midway, dans la chaîne hawaiienne. Cependant, il n’y a aucun compte rendu de reproduction confirmée dans ces mentions historiques. Bien qu’on ait trouvé un individu solitaire couvant des œufs en novembre 1993, puis de nouveau en 1995 et en 1997, aucun des œufs pondus n’était viable (Federal Register, 2000).

Figure 2 : Répartition mondiale de l’Albatros à queue courte (Phoebastria albatrus)

Figure 2 : Répartition mondiale de l’Albatros à queue courte (Phoebastria albatrus), tirée de McDermond et Morgan (1993).

Tirée de McDermond et Morgan (1993).

Certains anciens naturalistes ont cru que l’Albatros à queue courte se reproduisait dans les îles Aléoutiennes, en Alaska. Ignorant apparemment que l’espèce se reproduisait en hiver dans des îles situées loin au sud-ouest, ils ont considéré à tort l’abondance de l’Albatros du début de mai à la fin d’octobre dans les Aléoutiennes comme une indication de reproduction. Un des premiers explorateurs a également signalé que les Autochtones exploitaient les nids pour y récolter des œufs et des oiseaux, et la tradition aléoute d’Alaska mentionne des oiseaux reproducteurs. Cependant, il n’y a jamais eu de vérification confirmant la reproduction. Les fouilles archéologiques dans les tertres des Aléoutes ont permis de trouver des restes d’Albatros à queue courte adultes, mais aucun reste de jeunes (Yesner, 1976). Cette indication, combinée à nos connaissances sur l’aire de nidification historique et actuelle de l’espèce, donne à penser qu’il est très improbable qu’elle ait déjà niché en Alaska (Yesner, 1976; Sherburne, 1993).

Aire de répartition marine

L’aire de répartition marine de l’Albatros à queue courte s’étend de la Sibérie jusque dans la région côtière de la Chine, dans la mer de Béring et le golfe d’Alaska, puis vers le sud jusqu’à la Basse-Californie, et dans tout le Pacifique Nord, y compris dans la partie nord-ouest des îles Hawaii (figure 2).

Autrefois, l’espèce était considérée comme commune dans toute son aire de répartition, en toute saison (voir l’examen de la question par Sanger, 1972; AOU, 1998). Cependant, les déclins radicaux des populations observés à la fin du 19siècle et au début du 20siècle, attribués à la chasse dans les colonies reproductrices (voir les sections ci-dessous), se sont fortement reflétés dans le nombre d’observations en mer, car il y a eu peu d’observations concernant cette espèce dans les régions éloignées des aires de reproduction entre les années 1940 et l’année 1970 (Tramontano, 1970). D’après les observations postérieures à cette période, l’Albatros à queue courte occupe encore une grande partie de son aire de répartition originale, mais en nombres grandement réduits (voir l’examen de la question par Sanger, 1972; Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982).


Répartition canadienne

Au Canada, on peut observer l’Albatros à queue courte au large de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique, exclusivement en tant qu’espèce non nicheuse; la plupart des observations sont faites de février à octobre (tableau 1). Par le passé, cette espèce était prédominante parmi les albatros des régions côtières et elle semble avoir eu une importance considérable pour les peuples autochtones dans les régions où il y a eu des recherches. Environ 27 à 40 p. 100 de tous les ossements trouvés dans le tertre de Yuquot à la baie Nootka, dans l’île de Vancouver, provenaient d’Albatros à queue courte (McAllister, 1980). Au printemps et en été, cette espèce constituait probablement une partie importante du régime alimentaire dans cette région et il semble qu’elle y a été chassée longtemps avant le début de la chasse à la baleine (McAllister, 1980). Les os de l’Albatros à queue courte représentaient aussi une part notable des échantillons recueillis au site Maple Bank, à Victoria. Cependant, les éléments de squelette trouvés donnent à penser que l’espèce était utilisée à des fins différentes à cet endroit (Crockford et al., 1997). Crockford (2003) a résumé toute l’information disponible sur les lieux où l’on a découvert des os d’Albatros à queue courte dans des tertres en Colombie-Britannique. Ces lieux se trouvaient dans les régions suivantes : île Digby (à l’ouest de Prince Rupert) jusqu’aux îles de l’archipel de la Reine-Charlotte; côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver depuis l’île Nootka et la région de Tofino-Ucluelet- baie Barkley jusqu’à la baie Esquimalt et l’entrée de la lagune Esquimalt; île Pender Nord.

À la fin du 19e siècle, l’Albatros à queue courte a été signalé par Kermode (1904) comme étant passablement commun sur les deux côtes de l’île de Vancouver, mais plus abondant du côté ouest. En avril 1894, il l’a trouvé assez commun près du cap Beale. En 1889 (date exacte inconnue), deux spécimens ont été capturés dans le détroit de Juan de Fuca au large de Victoria et naturalisés. Selon Campbell et al. (1990), la dernière mention de l’espèce en Colombie-Britannique au 19e siècle se rapportait à un oiseau trouvé mort sur une plage à Esquimalt le 4 juin 1893, mais cette affirmation contredit celle de Kermode (1904) citée ci-dessus (qui est également citée dans Campbell et al., 1990). L’Albatros à queue courte est ensuite complètement disparu de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique (McAllister, 1980) et n’y a plus été observé jusqu’à la fin des années 1950 (Lane, 1962, synthèse dans Campbell et al., 1990). Ces observations, résumées dans le tableau 1, se rapportaient pour la plupart à des oiseaux solitaires, qui étaient souvent des immatures (Campbell et al., 1990). Les mentions signalées par Lane (1962) et celles qui sont présentées dans Campbell et al. (1990) (tableau 1) étaient concomitantes avec de nouvelles observations qui étaient faites en Oregon, en Alaska et dans d’autres régions du Pacifique Nord (Wyatt, 1963; Tramontano, 1970; Wahl, 1970).

 

Tableau 1 : Mentions de l’Albatros à queue courte (Phoebastria albatrus) au Canada de la fin du 19e siècle à 2003
Date de la mentionEndroitSexeClasse d’âgeRéférence/ observateur
Fin du 19sièclepassablement commun sur les deux côtes de l’île de Vancouver  Kermode, 1904
Avril 1894assez commun dans l’océan Pacifique, près du cap Beale  Kermode, 1904
1889Détroit de Juan de Fuca, au large de Victoria – deux spécimens récoltés

mâle

femelle

adulte

juvénile

Campbell et al., 1990
4 juin 1893Plage d’Esquimalt – mort  Campbell et al., 1990
De 1958 à 1981, des oiseaux solitaires, souvent immatures, ont été signalés à au moins dix reprises : mai 1963; juin 1964; août 1972 et 1976; septembre 1958 et 1974 et octobre 1969. Aucun autre détail n’a été consigné concernant ces mentions.Campbell et al., 1990
11 juin 196064 km à l’ouest de l’île de Vancouver immatureLane, 1962
24 juin 1971Station océanique Papa* immatureGruchy et al., 1972
30 juill. 1991*47°48’ N    133°35’ W immatureK. Morgan
23 fév. 199648°41’ N    126°41’ W juvénileJ. Anderson
22 oct. 199653°53’6 N  133°32’ W subadulteR. Cameron (CIFP)
19 janv. 199954°09’ N    133°37’ W juvénileR. Lattorra (CIFP)
8 mai 199950°45’ N    129°20’ W adulteM. Bentley
25 juill. 199952°10’ N    130°19’ W juvénileJ. Lellicut (CIFP)
2 juill. 200050°44’ N    129°24’ W immatureM. Bentley
8 sept. 200049°02’ N    131°39’ W immatureM. Bentley
2 sept. 200152°21’ N    130°45’ W immatureCIFP
15 oct. 200249°30’ N    127°15’ W immatureJ. Anderson
8 août 200348°18’ N    126°04’ W immatureJ. Anderson

* Observations effectuées à l’extérieur de la zone économique exclusive (ZEE).
Le sigle CIFP indique des mentions obtenues de la Commission internationale du flétan du Pacifique (International Pacific Halibut Commission) à partir de 1996.

Depuis 1991, des mentions périodiques accompagnées du lieu d’observation ont été consignées pendant des relevés en mer au large de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique et par des observateurs des pêches de la Commission internationale du flétan du Pacifique (CIFP) (tableau 1, figure 3). D’après ces mentions, il semble que l’Albatros à queue courte aurait tendance à se tenir le long du rebord de la plate-forme continentale, du côté du continent (figure 3). Sur les 15 observations confirmées dans la Zone économique exclusive (ZEE) depuis 1991, 13 se rapportaient à des oiseaux juvéniles ou subadultes et 2 à des adultes (tableau 1). La plupart des relevés en mer sont effectués à bord de navires occasionnels (K. Morgan, comm. pers., 2003), de sorte que les efforts consacrés aux relevés sont irréguliers d’une année à l’autre, sur les plans spatial et temporel. Il est donc difficile de délimiter l’aire de répartition exacte et de déterminer l’abondance relative de l’espèce au large de la Colombie-Britannique. Il est impossible d’affirmer définitivement que les zones marines où l’espèce n’a pas été observée ainsi que celles qui n’ont pas fait l’objet de relevés ne sont pas utilisées par l’Albatros à queue courte. Pour l’Albatros à queue courte, la zone d’occupation correspond donc à la zone d’occurrence, soit 423 260 km2, et s’étend de la limite de la Zone économique exclusive (ZEE) du Canada dans le Pacifique jusqu’à la côte de la Colombie-Britannique, en englobant certaines régions de l’aire de répartition historique de l’espèce (entrée Dixon, détroit d’Hécate, bassin de la Reine-Charlotte, détroit de Juan de Fuca et bras côtiers).

Figure 3 : Mentions d’Albatros à queue courte (Phoebastria albatrus) au Canada depuis 1991

Figure 3 : Mentions d’Albatros à queue courte (Phoebastria albatrus) au Canada depuis 1991. La ligne pointillée délimite la Zone économique exclusive (ZEE). Les zones colorées en bleu pâle, en gris et en vert correspondent à la plate-forme (isobathe de 200 m) et à la pente continentales.

La ligne pointillée délimite la Zone économique exclusive (ZEE). Les zones colorées en bleu pâle, en gris et en vert correspondent à la plate-forme (isobathe de 200 m) et à la pente continentales.

On estime à environ 390 individus le nombre d’Albatros à queue courte qui utilisent chaque année l’aire britanno-colombienne définie ci-dessus au moins de janvier à octobre (période des relevés) (SCF, données inédites, 2003). Cette estimation a été obtenue en calculant la densité moyenne de l’Albatros à queue courte dans les régions qui ont fait l’objet de relevés au fil des années (nombre d’observations pendant les relevés en mer par km2 de la région visée) et en extrapolant la valeur obtenue pour la totalité de la zone d’occurrence de l’espèce.