Skip booklet index and go to page content

Short-tailed Albatross (Phoebastria Albatrus)

Habitat

Habitat Requirements and Trends

Breeding

Short-tailed Albatrosses are colonial breeders that typically nest on isolated, windswept, offshore islands with restricted human access (Sherburne 1993). Historically, the species seemed to prefer level, open areas adjacent to tall clumps of grass for nesting. Tickell (in Hasegawa and DeGange 1982) described the nests of the species as scoops in the volcanic ash, lined with and built up by grass. Volcanic eruptions in 1902 and 1939, as well as extensive cattle grazing, destroyed much of the original breeding habitat on Torishima. The site now used is on a sparsely vegetated steep slope of loose volcanic soil (Hasegawa and DeGange 1982, Hasegawa 1984). In 1981-1982, native plants were transplanted into the colony, in order to stabilize the remaining nesting habitat and nest structures. Efforts are now being made to establish an alternate, well-vegetated site on Torishima that is less likely to be impacted by lava flow, mud slides, or erosion. There is little documentation of the nesting habitat on Minami-kojima. There is no threat of volcanic activity at this site.

Marine

Very little is known of the marine habitat requirements of the Short-tailed Albatross. Specific geographic, seasonal, and age-class distribution patterns within the marine range (see sections below) are not well understood, or remain unknown (e.g. the foraging habitat and ranges of breeding birds).

In general, numerous historic records indicate that the species frequented nearshore and coastal waters, presumably for foraging, and was abundant in the shallow waters of coastal North America. This statement is supported by the high number of bones of this species, relative to the other North Pacific albatrosses, found in middens from California north to St. Lawrence Island (Yesner 1976, McAllister 1980, Lefèvre 1997, Crockford et al. 1997, Crockford 2003). Large numbers of Short-tailed Albatrosses must have ventured close enough to land in order for this species to be so prevalent in the natives’ diets (Hasegawa and DeGange 1982). Recent at-sea sightings in North American waters (Sanger 1972, McDermond and Morgan 1993) also indicate a nearshore tendency, with concentrations along the shelf-break areas in the Bering Sea and along the Aleutian Islands (Camp 1993, McDermond and Morgan 1993, Sherburne 1993, Federal Register 2000). The North Pacific marine environment is characterized by coastal regions of upwelling and high biological productivity, and the observed patterns of Short-tailed Albatross distribution, both past and present, likely coincide with these areas. It cannot be discounted, however, that these patterns are a function of sighting effort. Very little information exists on the distribution of the Short-tailed Albatross in open ocean areas, as these are areas that are seldom visited by experienced observers (Kenyon 1950, Hasegawa and DeGange 1982). It is therefore hard to determine the relative importance of the nearshore marine environment to the species. 

In listing the Short-tailed Albatross within the United States, it was deemed that, due to the low numbers of the species relative to historic abundance, it was not anywhere near its marine habitat carrying capacity. The current rate of annual growth (see sections below) suggests that nothing about the species marine habitat is limiting population increase (Federal Register 2000). 


Protection/Ownership

Both Torishima and Minami-kojima are under Japanese ownership and management. Of concern is that Minami-kojima has also been claimed by the People’s Republic of China and Taiwan. The dispute is primarily due to the oil resources at the continental shelf near the Senkaku Islands (H. Hasegawa 2001, in litt.). The situation may present logistical and diplomatic problems in attempts to implement protection for the colony, and hinders active research on the island.

The marine range of the species includes different areas of Japanese, Russian, American, Canadian as well as International waters, signifying the complexity and importance of international collaboration in the at-sea conservation of this species (Suryan et al. 2003).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

L’albatros à queue courte (Phoebastria albatrus)

Habitat

Besoins et tendances en matière d’habitat

Habitat de reproduction

L’Albatros à queue courte est un oiseau qui se reproduit en colonies, nichant en général sur des îles isolées et balayées par le vent, qui sont situées au large et auxquelles les humains ont un accès restreint (Sherburne, 1993). Par le passé, il semble que l’espèce préférait nicher dans des zones plates et dégagées, adjacentes à de grandes touffes d’herbes. Tickell (dans Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982) a décrit le nid de cet oiseau comme une coupe dans les cendres volcaniques, construite et tapissée avec des herbes. Les éruptions volcaniques de 1902 et de 1939, ainsi que le broutage intensif du bétail, ont détruit une grande partie de l’habitat de reproduction original dans l’île Torishima. Actuellement, l’oiseau y niche sur une pente abrupte à végétation dispersée sur un sol volcanique meuble (Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982; Hasegawa, 1984). En 1981‑1982, des espèces végétales indigènes ont été transplantées dans la colonie dans le but de stabiliser l’habitat de reproduction restant ainsi que les nids. On s’efforce maintenant de créer dans l’île Torishima un autre site, à végétation bien fournie, qui serait moins susceptible d’être touché par une coulée de lave, des glissements de boue ou l’érosion. On possède peu de documentation sur l’habitat de reproduction dans l’île Minami-kojima, où il n’y a pas de menace d’activité volcanique.

Habitat marin

On possède très peu d’information sur les besoins de l’Albatros à queue courte en ce qui a trait à son habitat marin. On connaît mal les profils de répartition de l’espèce sur le plan géographique et en fonction des saisons et des classes d’âge dans l’aire de répartition marine (voir les sections ci‑dessous), ou bien on ne les connaît pas encore (p. ex. l’habitat d’alimentation et la répartition des oiseaux nicheurs).

Nombre des mentions historiques indiquent que l’espèce fréquentait les eaux côtières, probablement pour s’alimenter, et qu’elle était abondante dans les eaux peu profondes de la côte de l’Amérique du Nord. Cette assertion est corroborée par le nombre élevé d’ossements de cette espèce découverts dans des tertres depuis la Californie vers le nord jusque dans l’île St. Lawrence, comparativement à ceux des autres espèces d’albatros du Pacifique Nord (Yesner, 1976; McAllister, 1980; Lefèvre, 1997; Crockford et al., 1997; Crockford, 2003). Il faut qu’un grand nombre d’Albatros à queue courte se soient aventurés assez près des terres pour que cette espèce ait été aussi importante dans le régime alimentaire des Autochtones (Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982). De récentes observations en mer dans les eaux nord‑américaines (Sanger, 1972; McDermond et Morgan, 1993) montrent aussi une tendance de l’espèce à fréquenter les eaux côtières, avec des concentrations dans les régions longeant le rebord de la plate‑forme continentale dans la mer de Béring et le long des îles Aléoutiennes (Camp, 1993; McDermond et Morgan, 1993; Sherburne, 1993; Federal Register, 2000). Dans le Pacifique Nord, le milieu marin est caractérisé par des régions côtières de remontées d’eaux avec une productivité biologique élevée, et les profils de répartition observés chez l’Albatros à queue courte, par le passé et actuellement, coïncident probablement avec ces régions. On ne peut toutefois pas écarter la possibilité que ces profils soient liés aux efforts d’observation déployés. Il existe très peu d’information sur la répartition de l’Albatros à queue courte en haute mer, car ces régions sont rarement visitées par des observateurs chevronnés (Kenyon, 1950; Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982). Il est donc difficile de déterminer l’importance relative du milieu marin côtier pour cette espèce.

Quand on a inscrit l’Albatros à queue courte sur la liste des espèces en péril aux États‑Unis, on jugeait que, compte tenu des faibles effectifs de l’espèce comparativement à son abondance historique, cette espèce n’était nulle part en nombres approchant la capacité de support de son habitat marin. Le taux actuel de croissance annuelle (voir les sections ci‑dessous) donne à penser qu’aucun facteur lié à l’habitat marin de l’espèce ne limite la croissance de la population (Federal Register, 2000).


Protection et propriété des terrains

Les îles Torishima et Minami-kojima appartiennent toutes deux au Japon, qui en assure la gestion. Le fait que la propriété de l’île Minami-kojima est également revendiquée par la Chine et Taïwan est préoccupant. Le différend est dû principalement à la présence d’hydrocarbures sur la plate‑forme continentale, près des îles Senkaku (H. Hasegawa, 2001, in litt.). Cette situation pourrait poser des problèmes logistiques et diplomatiques dans les efforts visant à protéger la colonie et entraver les recherches dans l’île.

L’aire de répartition marine de l’espèce comprend différentes régions des eaux japonaises, russes, américaines, canadiennes et internationales, ce qui souligne bien la complexité et l’importance de la collaboration internationale pour la conservation de cette espèce en mer (Suryan et al., 2003).