Skip booklet index and go to page content

Short-tailed Albatross (Phoebastria Albatrus)

Biology

General

Very little quantitative information exists on the biology of the Short-tailed Albatross. Like all pelagic seabirds, the species spends most of its life at sea, returning to land only to breed. They are long-lived birds that are slow to mature, and breeding females produce a single egg per year. This is balanced by a low natural rate of adult mortality (Cochrane and Starfield 1999). The average generation time is estimated to be 26 years (cf. a mean of 24.2 years, range 15-30, for 13 other albatross species; P. Sievert pers. comm. 2003).


Reproduction

Short-tailed Albatrosses are monogamous, and most adult birds with surviving mates breed annually. Individuals that lose a mate may require two or more years to form a new pair bond and nest successfully again. Pairs return to nearly identical nest sites each year, and in general birds hatched on Torishima return to the island to breed. 

For the Torishima colony, the age of first breeding is estimated to be 6 years (Sievert and Hasegawa 2003). This is younger than for other albatross species, and may result from the low density of individuals in the colony, compared with historically high breeding densities (Cochrane and Starfield 1999). Approximately 50% of the population is considered sexually mature (i.e. 6 years or older) (H. Hasegawa 2001, in litt), and of those an estimated 75% breed each year (Sievert and Hasegawa 2003). From 1976 the average annual breeding success (the percent of eggs laid that result in a fledged chick) has been high at around 64% (Sievert and Hasegawa 2003). Low breeding success has been recorded in years when catastrophic volcanic (1988) or weather events (1995) have occurred during the breeding season, thus introducing a greater variability in breeding success than for some other albatross species (Cochrane and Starfield 1999).

On Torishima, individuals begin arriving at the breeding colony in October and begin nest building. Egg-laying occurs from late October through early November. A single egg is laid, incubation is shared by both parents and lasts for 64-65 days. Eggs are not replaced if destroyed (Austin 1949). Hatching occurs from late December through early January. By late May or early June, chicks are almost fully grown and adults begin abandoning their nests. Chicks fledge soon after the adults leave the colony, and do not return until they are non-breeding two-to-five year olds (Hasegawa and DeGange 1982). Non-breeders and failed breeders disperse from the breeding colony in late winter through spring. While there is no detailed information on breeding activities on Minami-kojima, they are likely to be similar to those on Torishima.


Survival

For the Torishima colony, the annual adult survival rate is estimated to be 96.7%, and that of immature birds (all birds under the age of first breeding) is 94.1% (Sievert and Hasegawa 2003). No confidence intervals are available. No references are available on annual variation within age classes (Cochrane and Starfield). Longevity is not known for this species although Hasegawa (in Cochrane and Starfield 1999) estimates individuals may live to be 50 years or older.

Little information is available on the causes of natural mortality in Short-tailed Albatrosses (Hasegawa and DeGange 1982). Losses of eggs or chicks through desertion, storms, interference from other albatrosses, accidental egg puncturing, disease, parasites and the rolling of eggs from nests are potential, but unquantified, sources of mortality (Hasegawa and DeGange 1982). Harrison (1979) suggests that sharks may get some hatch-year birds after they have fledged. Adults and chicks are known to die when they have become entangled in bushes or other similar vegetation (Austin 1949). 


Movements/Dispersal

Little is known of the seasonal movements of the Short-tailed Albatross. Historically, it was presumed that after the birds departed from their colonies, the majority dispersed towards the Aleutians and the Bering Sea, with many moving down along the west coast of North America, some as far south as Baja (McDermond and Morgan 1993). 

Sightings during the past 30 years indicate that during the breeding season (December through April) the distribution of both adults and immatures is concentrated near the breeding colonies in the Izu and Bonin Islands (McDermond and Morgan 1993), although foraging trips may extend hundreds of miles or more from the colony sites (Federal Register 2000). Recent research indicates that immature individuals exhibit two patterns of post-breeding dispersal: while some move relatively rapidly north to the western Aleutian Islands, other individuals stay within the coastal waters of northern Japan and the Kuril Islands, Russia, throughout the summer. In early September these individuals move through the Kuril Islands and into the western Aleutian Islands. Once in the Aleutians, most birds travelled east toward the Gulf of Alaska (Suryan et al. 2003).

Outside the breeding season, the majority of adults reported have been observed near the Aleutians (Camp 1993, McDermond and Morgan 1993, Sherburne 1993). Regardless of season, proportionally more immatures (than adults) have been observed in the eastern and northern regions of the Pacific. These results are mirrored by those presented for Canadian waters (see above sections). This suggests that young birds wander farther (than adults) and for longer periods (McDermond and Morgan 1993).


Nutrition and Interspecific Interactions

As for with of the albatrosses, the Short-tailed is a surface feeder (Prince and Morgan 1987) and may feed nocturnally (Hasegawa and DeGange 1982, Sherburne 1993).  Although there is very little published information, the diet of the species is known to include squid, fish, eggs of flying fish, shrimp and other crustaceans (Prince and Morgan 1987, Federal Register 2000). The nestling diet varies but squid, flying fish and large crustacea are the most important foods (Hasegawa and DeGange 1982). There is currently no information on variation of diet by season, habitat, or environmental condition (Federal Register 2000). 

While a number of the Short-tailed Albatross sightings at sea have also noted the presence of other seabird species in association with them, including other albatross, fulmars, kittiwakes and shearwaters (Lane 1962, Wyatt 1963, Tramontano 1970, Wahl 1970, Camp 1993, Cochrane and Starfield 1999), the degree of interspecific interaction or competition, if any, is unknown. Such reports are usually associated with fishing vessels, and it may be that each species is attracted to fishing activity independently.


Behaviour/Adaptability

Short-tailed Albatrosses were known to follow whaling vessels and feed on offal and scraps from whale carcasses. Although they are considered somewhat “‘shy” Short-tailed Albatross still follow ships (Wahl 1970, Gruchy et al. 1972, Yesner 1976, Hasegawa and DeGange 1982). As with many other seabirds, the presence of “free food” in the form of offal and bait also attracts Short-tailed Albatross to fishing operations. Associated with this behaviour is the risk of mortality from incidental take in the longline fishery (see sections below).

Historically Short-tailed Albatrosses rafted together in the waters around Torishima (Austin 1949), and small groups have occasionally been observed at sea (Camp 1993). An oil spill or more likely, an intentional discharge of oily bilge, in an area where a large number of individuals were rafting could affect the population significantly (Federal Register 2000).

The Short-tailed Albatross is highly mobile, with a large marine range. This likely makes the species adaptable to seasonal and inter-annual changes in its prey distribution.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

L’albatros à queue courte (Phoebastria albatrus)

Biologie

Généralités

On possède très peu de données quantitatives sur la biologie de l’Albatros à queue courte. Comme tous les oiseaux de mer pélagiques, il passe la majeure partie de sa vie en mer, ne revenant à terre que pour nicher. C’est un oiseau qui vit longtemps et atteint lentement sa maturité, et les femelles reproductrices ne pondent qu’un seul œuf par année. Cette situation est compensée par le faible taux de mortalité naturelle chez les adultes (Cochrane et Starfield, 1999). La durée moyenne d’une génération est estimée à 26 ans (par rapport à une moyenne de 24,2 ans et une fourchette de 15 à 30 ans pour 13 autres espèces d’albatros; P. Sievert, comm. pers., 2003).


Reproduction

L’Albatros à queue courte est monogame et la plupart des adultes dont le partenaire est toujours vivant se reproduisent chaque année. Les individus qui perdent leur partenaire peuvent prendre au moins deux ans pour trouver un nouveau partenaire et nicher de nouveau avec succès. Les couples retournent pratiquement au même lieu de nidification chaque année et les oiseaux éclos dans l’île Torishima y reviennent en général pour se reproduire.

Dans la colonie de l’île Torishima, on estime que la première reproduction s’effectue à l’âge de six ans (Sievert et Hasegawa, 2003), soit plus tôt que chez d’autres espèces d’albatros, et cette situation s’explique peut‑être par la faible densité d’individus dans la colonie comparativement aux densités de reproducteurs élevées observées par le passé (Cochrane et Starfield, 1999). Environ 50 p. 100 des individus de la population sont considérés comme ayant atteint leur maturité sexuelle (6 ans ou plus) (H. Hasegawa, 2001, in litt) et l’on estime que 75 p. 100 de ces individus matures nichent chaque année (Sievert et Hasegawa, 2003). À partie de 1976, le taux annuel moyen de réussite de la reproduction (pourcentage des œufs pondus qui ont produit un jeune ayant atteint l’âge de l’envol) a été élevé, se situant à environ 64 p. 100 (Sievert et Hasegawa, 2003). Un faible taux de réussite de la reproduction a été enregistré les années où une éruption volcanique (1988) ou des phénomènes météorologiques (1995) catastrophiques sont survenus pendant la saison de reproduction, de sorte qu’il y aurait une plus grande variabilité dans la réussite de la reproduction que chez certaines autres espèces d’albatros (Cochrane et Starfield, 1999).

Dans l’île Torishima, les oiseaux arrivent à la colonie de nidification à partir d’octobre et ils commencent à construire leur nid. La ponte s’effectue de la fin octobre au début de novembre. La femelle pond un seul œuf et l’incubation, effectuée par les deux parents, dure 64 ou 65 jours. Les œufs détruits ne sont pas remplacés (Austin, 1949). L’éclosion a lieu de la fin de décembre au début de janvier. À la fin de mai ou au début de juin, la croissance des petits est presque terminée et les adultes commencent à abandonner leur nid. Les jeunes prennent leur envol peu après le départ des adultes de la colonie et ils ne reviennent qu’à l’âge de deux à cinq ans, en tant qu’oiseaux non reproducteurs (Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982). Les individus non reproducteurs et ceux qui n’ont pas réussi à se reproduire quittent la colonie à la fin de l’hiver et au printemps. On ne possède pas de renseignements détaillés sur les activités reproductrices dans l’île Minami-kojima, mais il est probable qu’elles sont similaires à celles qui ont lieu dans l’île Torishima.


Survie

Dans la colonie de l’île Torishima, le taux de survie annuel des adultes est estimé à 96,7 p. 100 et celui des oiseaux immatures (tous ceux qui n’ont pas atteint l’âge de la première reproduction), à 94,1 p. 100 (Sievert et Hasegawa, 2003). On ne dispose pas d’intervalles de confiance. Il n’y a pas non plus de données sur la variation annuelle au sein des classes d’âge (Cochrane et Starfield, 1999). La longévité de cette espèce n’est pas connue, mais Hasegawa (dans Cochrane et Starfield, 1999) estime que les individus peuvent vivre jusqu’à 50 ans ou plus.

Il y a peu d’information disponible sur les causes de mortalité naturelle chez l’Albatros à queue courte (Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982). La perte d’œufs ou de poussins résultant de l’abandon du nid, de tempêtes ou de l’interférence d’autres albatros, ainsi que la perforation accidentelle d’œufs, la maladie, les parasites et le roulement d’œufs hors du nid sont tous des facteurs de mortalité possibles, mais non quantifiés (Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982). D’après Harrison (1979), les requins capturent peut‑être certains jeunes de l’année après leur envol. On sait que des adultes et des poussins meurent lorsqu’ils s’empêtrent dans des buissons ou autres végétaux de ce genre (Austin, 1949).


Déplacements et dispersion

On connaît peu les déplacements saisonniers de l’Albatros à queue courte. Par le passé, on pensait qu’après avoir quitté la colonie, la majorité des oiseaux se dispersait vers les Aléoutiennes et la mer de Béring, un bon nombre descendant le long de la côte ouest de l’Amérique du Nord, certains poussant vers le sud jusqu’en Basse‑Californie (McDermond et Morgan, 1993).

D’après les observations des 30 dernières années, pendant la saison de reproduction (décembre à avril), les adultes et les immatures sont concentrés dans la région des colonies de nidification dans îles Izu et Bonin (McDermond et Morgan, 1993), bien qu’ils puissent s’éloigner de centaines de milles ou plus des colonies pour chercher leur nourriture (Federal Register, 2000). Les études récentes montrent l’existence de deux profils de dispersion chez les individus immatures après la reproduction : certains se dirigent relativement vite vers le nord jusque dans l’ouest des îles Aléoutiennes, alors que d’autres individus passent tout l’été dans les eaux côtières du nord du Japon et des îles Kouriles, en Russie. Au début de septembre, ces derniers traversent les îles Kouriles pour se rendre dans l’ouest des îles Aléoutiennes. Une fois dans les Aléoutiennes, la plupart des oiseaux se dirigent vers le golfe d’Alaska (Suryan et al., 2003).

En dehors de la saison de reproduction, la majeure partie des adultes signalés ont été observés près des îles Aléoutiennes (Camp, 1993; McDermond et Morgan, 1993; Sherburne, 1993). En toute saison, il y a proportionnellement plus d’immatures (que d’adultes) qui ont été observés dans l’est et dans le nord du Pacifique. Ces résultats vont dans le sens de ceux qui sont présentés pour les eaux canadiennes (voir les sections ci‑dessus). Cette situation donne à penser que les jeunes oiseaux errent plus loin (que les adultes) et pendant des périodes plus longues (McDermond et Morgan, 1993).


Alimentation et interactions interspécifiques

Comme la plupart des albatros, l’Albatros à queue courte se nourrit en surface (Prince et Morgan, 1987) et peut s’alimenter de nuit (Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982; Sherburne, 1993). Bien qu’il y ait très peu de données publiées à ce sujet, on sait que le régime alimentaire de l’espèce comprend du calmar, du poisson, des œufs de poissons volants, des crevettes et d’autres crustacés (Prince et Morgan, 1987; Federal Register, 2000). Le régime alimentaire des poussins varie, mais le calmar, les poissons volants et les gros crustacés en sont les éléments les plus importants (Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982). Actuellement, il n’y a pas d’information sur les variations du régime en fonction des saisons, de l’habitat ou des conditions environnementales (Federal Register, 2000).

Un certain nombre des Albatros à queue courte observés en mer ont été aperçus en compagnie d’autres oiseaux de mer auxquels ils étaient associés, notamment d’autres albatros, des fulmars, des mouettes et des puffins (Lane, 1962; Wyatt, 1963; Tramontano, 1970; Wahl, 1970; Camp, 1993; Cochrane et Starfield, 1999), mais on ne sait pas s’il y a interaction ou compétition interspécifiques. Ces observations sont habituellement faites à partir de bateaux de pêche et il est possible que chaque espèce soit attirée indépendamment par les activités de pêche.


Comportement et adaptabilité

On sait que l’Albatros à queue courte suivait les baleiniers et mangeait les issues et les déchets des carcasses de baleine. Bien qu’on le considère comme un oiseau un peu timide, l’Albatros à queue courte suit encore les navires (Wahl, 1970; Gruchy et al., 1972; Yesner, 1976; Hasegawa et DeGange, 1982). Comme bien d’autres oiseaux de mer, l’Albatros à queue courte est également attiré par les activités de pêche et la présence de la nourriture « gratuite » que constituent les issues ou les appâts. Ce comportement s’accompagne d’un risque de mortalité lié à une capture accidentelle dans la pêche à la palangre (voir les sections ci‑dessous).

Par le passé, on a vu des Albatros à queue courte en groupe dans les eaux entourant l’île Torishima (Austin, 1949) et des petits groupes ont parfois été observés en pleine mer (Camp, 1993). Un déversement d’hydrocarbures ou, plus probablement, un rejet intentionnel d’eaux de cale huileuses, dans une région abritant un grand nombre d’individus qui se laissent dériver en groupe pourrait avoir une incidence importante sur la population (Federal Register, 2000).

L’Albatros à queue courte est un oiseau très mobile ayant une grande aire de répartition marine. Cette caractéristique permettrait à l’espèce de s’adapter aux changements saisonniers et interannuels dans la répartition de ses proies.