Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Chimney Swift in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

The Chimney Swift is part of an aerial insectivore guild that includes swallows and nighthawks that is suffering significant population declines throughout the Americas. Of this guild, the Chimney Swift has had the most serious decline. The cause for this widespread decline is unknown, but likely involves impacts to insect populations through pesticides, habitat loss or some other factors. 


Habitat Loss

One of the main causes of the decline in the North American Chimney Swift population seems to be the reduction in the number of nesting and roosting sites: large-diameter hollow trees, old abandoned buildings and suitable chimneys (Kyle and Kyle 1996; Driftwood Wildlife Association 2000; Cink and Collins 2002). This decline in suitable sites is projected to continue over the next few decades, with very few sites remaining 30 years from now.


Chimney Sweeping During the Breeding Period

The few chimneys still suitable for swifts are often swept in the summer, coinciding with the swift’s breeding period. In Texas, the Driftwood Wildlife Association has partnered up with the National Chimney Sweep Guild in order to educate professional chimney sweepers about the Chimney Swift’s plight and promote chimney maintenance outside of the breeding period (Kyle 1999).


Public Misconceptions About the Species

Public misconceptions about the species have resulted in building owners’ intolerance for swifts nesting in their chimneys. They often cite fire risks as the reason for preventing Chimney Swifts from using their chimneys, even though such risks are non-existent. Roosting swifts cling to the chimney walls at night and leave in the morning. Nesting swifts build only one nest per site, and it is minuscule (approximately 10 cm long and 5 X 7.5 cm wide (Fischer 1958)). It is made of small twigs and often falls to the bottom of the chimney at the end of the season. As a result, there is no possibility of the nest blocking the chimney and causing a fire. Poor chimney maintenance is a much greater danger. However, it must be recognized that the rearing of Chimney Swifts can be quite noisy, forcing homeowners to intervene. Also, some people confuse swifts with more problematic bird species such as the European Starling, which prompts them to remove the nests.


Pesticides

Since the Chimney Swift depends mainly on insects for its subsistence, it is vulnerable to any reduction in the availability of its prey caused by pesticides. Most of the studies conducted on the impacts of pesticides in various environments report pesticide-induced changes in birdlife food resources (Avian Effects Dialogue Group 1994). Insectivorous birds are particularly vulnerable to agricultural and forest pesticides, which can significantly reduce insect prey populations. The reduced abundance of insects has been related to reduced survival, growth and reproduction among birds, as well as to changes in diet composition and quality (Avian Effects Dialogue Group 1994).

In Canada, the arrival of the West Nile Virus generated pesticide-based eradication programs in specific areas. In North America, the practice of spraying pesticides to control other insects in cities and towns is also becoming increasingly popular. It is known that pesticides can be transported over long distances in the air (Poissant 1999). A number of them are relatively volatile, so they evaporate quickly after being applied and disperse in the atmosphere (Poissant and Koprivnjak 1996). Chimney Swifts could be indirectly affected by these products, which cause an impoverishment of the aerial plankton by reducing populations of flying insects. Erskine (1992) expressed concern about aerial spraying against spruce budworm (Choristoneura fumiferana), which has taken place in New Brunswick from 1952 to 1993 and which could have reduced flying insect populations and affected Chimney Swift populations in the province.

In addition, insects that survive these pesticide applications become contaminated and are then eaten by swifts, which become contaminated in turn. There are some indications that Chimney Swifts, like birds of prey, can accumulate dangerous levels of pesticides. Chantler (1999) reports that high concentrations of DDE, a degradation product of DDT, have been found in the Guam Swiftlet (Aerodramus bartschi), another member of the swift family. Chantler (1999) also points out that, considering the position of swifts in the food chain and their extended longevity, it stands to reason that pesticides pose a risk to this family. Sick (1993) states that in Brazil various species of swifts are in decline, as are swallows and nightjars, all of them victims of the unrestricted use of pesticides. In Ontario, similar trends were observed in other aerial foragers such as swallows and nighthawks, which suggests that something may be happening to their food supply, namely insects (M. Cadman pers. comm.).

The recent fecundity and survival rates calculated for swifts in Quebec (Garneau and Gauthier, CWS-QC unpublished data) and Texas (Kyle and Kyle unpublished data) are comparable to those between 1930 and 1950, suggesting that DDT and its degradation products have not significantly reduced fecundity in Chimney Swifts as they did for other species.


Competition

There is intra- and interspecific competition among swift species, which can be significant in species nesting in cavities (Lack and Collins 1985). Disputes over the occupation of nesting sites have been reported between Common Swifts (Apus apus) and European Starlings (Sturnus vulgaris). In the case of the Chimney Swift, competition between adults could take on greater importance as suitable nesting sites become increasingly scarce. Intense competition could exclude birds from breeding due to a lack of available sites, but it could also affect the breeding success of the few lucky pairs, given the extra time required to defend and maintain their territory.


Winter Range

Since the Chimney Swift makes use of hollow trees in its South American winter range, the species is threatened by intensive logging and fires in the Amazon forest. The discovery of their wintering grounds in 1944 proves that the species uses hollow trees as roosting sites in South America (Brackbill 1950). In addition, after forests are cleared to create farmland, large quantities of pesticides are often used to control insects that are harmful to farm crops and humans. In some countries, very harmful pesticides that are banned in North America, such as DDT, are still being used. These products may be having a significant impact on the Chimney Swift, but no data are available.


Accidents

Swifts roosting in a chimney do on occasion die from asphyxiation or are burned when the heat is turned on in cold weather (Deane 1908). This situation can cause the death of a large number of birds in a single roost. Musselman (1931) reported that 3000 to 5000 swifts died in October in a chimney in Illinois. At Lake Springfield, Illinois, Bohlen (1989) found 100 dead swifts killed by cars on a cold, rainy spring day when the birds were flying very low to catch insects.


Predation

Since Chimney Swifts spend most of their time in the air, coming down to nest and roost in fairly inaccessible locations such as chimneys or hollow trees, predation is likely a minimal threat to populations. However, Merlins have invaded Canadian urban centres in recent years and increasing attacks on swifts have been noted in Quebec. One Merlin preyed on swifts at a roost on the St-Jovite church in 1999 (M. Renaud, pers. comm.); during the period when the bird of prey was present, the swifts almost completely abandoned the roost.


Weather Conditions

According to Walker (1944), the Chimney Swift’s greatest single enemy is the weather. Cold can be very damaging for this insectivore. For instance, 109 birds were found dead on the hearth of the François Pilote Museum chimney in La Pocatière on May 23, 1990; apparently killed by low temperatures and snow (Aubry et al. 1990). Between 1999 and 2003, a video camera was used at an artificial nesting site in the Quebec urban area (Lévis). During many consecutive days of cold and rain, Garneau and Gauthier (CWS-QC unpublished data) observed that swifts never went out to forage. In addition, each time the temperature inside the chimney went below a threshold, swifts would leave the chimney, perhaps looking for a better site even though conditions remained unfavourable.

Precipitation can also kill birds indirectly. A steady drenching rain for two or three days may clear the air of insects and with the food supply gone, the birds are subject to starvation (Walker 1944). Cold, rainy weather in northern Europe is known to cause considerable mortality in swift and swallow populations (Elkins 1988). These unfavourable weather conditions, which reduce the number of airborne insects, indirectly cause the birds’ death. In addition to affecting the number of insects available, Chantler (1999) says that temperature and precipitation also have a major impact on swifts’ breeding success.

Heavy rain also detaches nests from chimney walls on occasion, which often destroys the eggs and nestlings (Dexter 1952b; 1960; 1981a). However, the young do sometimes survive and climb back up the wall, where the parents continue to feed them (Dexter 1952b; 1960; 1985).

Climate change will undoubtedly have consequences for birdlife. In a study on the evaluation of Quebec breeding birds’ vulnerability to climate change, Morneau et al. (1998) observed that of the 13 most climate-sensitive species, most of them were insectivorous neotropical migrants. The Chimney Swift was one of the 71 vulnerable species identified. Species that forage for insects on the wing are more sensitive to temperature variations as this variable directly affects insect abundance. Tropical insect species could expand their range northward. However, climate change could also be very damaging for some species by affecting the abundance and distribution of insects (Chantler 1999). Some data also suggest that climate warming will result in greater climate fluctuations. Temperature extremes, such as very cold springs or summers, could be catastrophic for aerial foragers such as the Chimney Swift. These extremes could also accelerate the degradation of the last remaining traditional chimneys. Warm weather and rain during the winter followed by extreme cold temperature can cause considerable damage to stone or brick structures. Water that infiltrates into the cement and bricks can cause erosion to the structure once it refreezes.

Climate change could also have an impact on the frequency, intensity and trajectories of hurricanes, which are particularly damaging to swift populations. They tend to occur during the fall migration period, and some, like Hurricane Wilma in October 2005, pushed more than 2000 Chimney Swifts north from staging areas further south. At least 700 Chimney Swifts were found dead in the Maritimes after Hurricane Wilma (D. Busby, unpub. data). According to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA 2005), the mean number of storms since 1995 is higher compared to the previous period (1970-1994).


West Nile Virus

The Chimney Swift appears on the list of birds which have been found dead and tested positive for the West Nile Virus in the United States (Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Vector-Born Infectious Diseases 2003). There have been no cases of infection in Canada and the species is not on the list of birds retained for testing. The increase of insecticide spraying in response to this disease could also adversely affect insectivorous birds including the Chimney Swift (see Pesticides above).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Martinet ramoneur au Canada

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Le Martinet ramoneur fait partie d’un groupe d’oiseaux insectivores qui s’alimentent en vol et qui comprend les hirondelles et les engoulevents, dont les populations ont subi d’importants déclins dans les Amériques. Cependant, c’est le Martinet ramoneur qui a subi le déclin le plus important. On ne connaît pas la cause de son déclin, mais il est sans doute lié à l’impact des pesticides sur les populations d’insectes, à la destruction de l’habitat ou à certains autres facteurs.


Destruction de l’habitat

Une des principales causes du déclin de la population du Martinet ramoneur en Amérique du Nord semble être la réduction du nombre de sites de nidification et de dortoirs : élimination des arbres creux de fort diamètre, démolition de vieux bâtiments abandonnés et diminution du nombre de cheminées adéquates (Kyle et Kyle, 1996; Driftwood Wildlife Association, 2000; Cink et Collins, 2002). Or, il est prévu que le nombre de sites adéquats continuera à diminuer durant les prochaines décennies et qu’il en restera très peu dans une trentaine d’années.


Ramonage des cheminées durant la saison de nidification

Il arrive souvent que les rares cheminées qui sont encore adéquates pour les martinets soient ramonées durant l’été, c’est-à-dire durant la période de nidification des Martinets ramoneurs. Au Texas, la Driftwood Wildlife Association s’est associée à la National Chimney Sweep Guild afin de sensibiliser les ramoneurs à la situation du Martinet ramoneur et de promouvoir l’entretien des cheminées en dehors de la période de nidification (Kyle, 1999).


Méconnaissance de l’espèce par le public

La méconnaissance de cet oiseau provoque l’intolérance des propriétaires devant la présence de martinets dans la cheminée de leur bâtiment. Les propriétaires invoquent souvent les risques d’incendie pour empêcher les martinets d’avoir accès à leur cheminée. Or, ces risques sont nuls. En effet, les oiseaux ne font que s’accrocher aux parois des cheminées pour la nuit et ils quittent les dortoirs le matin. Les individus nicheurs ne construisent qu’un seul nid par site, et celui-ci est minuscule (environ 10 cm de longueur et 5 à 7,5 cm de largeur [Fischer, 1958]). Le nid est fait de petites brindilles et il tombe souvent dans le fond de la cheminée à la fin de la saison. Il est donc impossible que le nid bouche la cheminée et provoque un incendie. Le mauvais entretien des cheminées constitue un risque beaucoup plus grand. Il faut cependant reconnaître que l’élevage des jeunes martinets peut être assez bruyant, et il arrive que les propriétaires soient forcés d’intervenir. De plus, certaines personnes éliminent les nids de martinets parce qu’elles confondent l’espèce avec d’autres espèces d’oiseaux qui causent des problèmes plus graves, telles que l’Étourneau sansonnet.


Pesticides

Les Martinets ramoneurs étant essentiellement insectivores, ils sont vulnérables à toute réduction des populations d’insectes liée à l’utilisation de pesticides. La plupart des études effectuées sur les impacts des pesticides dans divers milieux rapportent des effets sur les oiseaux, causés par des changements dans les ressources alimentaires de ces derniers (Avian Effects Dialogue Group, 1994). Les oiseaux insectivores sont particulièrement vulnérables à l’utilisation de pesticides en milieu agricole et forestier, ces produits pouvant réduire considérablement les populations d’insectes. La réduction de l’abondance des insectes a été reliée à une diminution de la survie, de la croissance et de la reproduction chez les oiseaux, aussi bien qu’à des changements de la composition et de la qualité du régime alimentaire (Avian Effects Dialogue Group, 1994).

Au Canada, l’arrivée du virus du Nil occidental a entraîné la mise en œuvre de programmes d’élimination du virus fondés sur l’utilisation de pesticides dans certaines régions. En Amérique du Nord, la pulvérisation de pesticides pour lutter contre les insectes dans les villes et les villages devient aussi de plus en plus populaire. Or, il est connu que les insecticides peuvent être transportés sur de longues distances par voie aérienne (Poissant, 1999). Plusieurs d’entre eux ont une volatilité relativement élevée, ce qui entraîne leur évaporation rapide après application et leur dispersion dans l’atmosphère (Poissant et Koprivnjak, 1996). Les Martinets ramoneurs pourraient être affectés indirectement par ces produits qui appauvrissent le plancton aérien en réduisant les populations d’insectes volants. Erskine (1992) s’est inquiété des programmes de pulvérisation aérienne contre la tordeuse des bourgeons de l’épinette (Choristoneura fumiferana), qui ont été menés au Nouveau-Brunswick de 1952 à 1993 et qui pourraient avoir entraîné une réduction des populations d’insectes aériens et affecté les populations de Martinets ramoneurs dans la province.

De plus, les insectes qui survivent aux pulvérisations de pesticides deviennent contaminés et sont ensuite consommés par les martinets, qui se contaminent à leur tour. Selon certaines observations, les Martinets ramoneurs pourraient accumuler des concentrations dangereuses de pesticides de la même façon que les oiseaux de proie. Chantler (1999) mentionne que des concentrations élevées de DDE, composé issu de la dégradation du DDT, ont été trouvées chez la Salangane de Guam (Aerodramus bartschi), espèce de la famille des martinets. Chantler (1999) ajoute qu’étant donné la position des martinets dans la chaîne alimentaire et leur longévité élevée, il est évident que les pesticides présentent un risque pour cette famille d’oiseaux. Selon Sick (1993), différentes espèces de martinets sont en déclin au Brésil, tout comme le sont des hirondelles et des engoulevents, tous victimes de la libre utilisation des pesticides. En Ontario, des tendances analogues ont été observées chez d’autres oiseaux qui s’alimentent en vol tels que les hirondelles et les engoulevents, ce qui laisse penser que leur nourriture, constituée d’insectes, est peut-être affectée (M. Cadman, comm. pers.).

Les taux de fécondité et de survie des martinets qui ont été calculés récemment au Québec (Garneau et Gauthier, SCF-Québec, données inédites) et au Texas (Kyle et Kyle, données inédites) sont comparables à ceux qui ont été calculés entre 1930 et 1950, ce qui indiquerait que le DDT et ses produits de dégradation n’auraient pas réduit de manière significative la fécondité des Martinets ramoneurs, comme ils l’ont fait pour d’autres espèces.


Compétition

Il existe une compétition intraspécifique et interspécifique chez les martinets, qui peut être importante chez les espèces nichant dans des cavités (Lack et Collins, 1985). Des conflits liés à l’occupation des sites de nidification ont été rapportés entre des Martinets noirs (Apus apus) et des Étourneaux sansonnets (Sturnus vulgaris). Dans le cas du Martinet ramoneur, la compétition entre les adultes pourrait prendre davantage d’importance étant donné la disponibilité de plus en plus limitée des sites de nidification adéquats pour l’espèce. Une compétition intense pourrait empêcher des oiseaux de nicher, du fait d’un manque de sites, et elle pourrait aussi réduire le succès de nidification des quelques couples privilégiés à cause du temps supplémentaire nécessaire pour défendre et maintenir le territoire.


Aire d’hivernage

Comme le Martinet ramoneur utilise beaucoup les arbres creux dans son aire d’hivernage sud-américaine, l’espèce est menacée par les coupes intensives et la destruction par le feu de la forêt amazonienne. La découverte de son aire d’hivernage en 1944 a révélé que le martinet utilise les arbres creux comme dortoirs en Amérique du Sud (Brackbill, 1950). De plus, après la destruction de la forêt pour faire place aux cultures, il arrive souvent que des pesticides soient utilisés en grande quantité pour lutter contre les insectes nuisibles aux récoltes et aux humains. Dans certains pays, on se sert encore de pesticides très dommageables interdits en Amérique du Nord, comme le DDT. Or, ces produits ont peut-être un impact important sur le Martinet ramoneur, mais il n’existe aucune donnée à ce sujet.


Accidents

Il arrive que des martinets rassemblés dans une cheminée meurent d’asphyxie ou soient brûlés lorsque le chauffage est mis en fonction par temps froid (Deane, 1908). Cette situation peut causer la mort d’un grand nombre d’oiseaux dans un dortoir. Musselman (1931) a rapporté la mort de 3 000 à 5 000 Martinets ramoneurs en octobre dans une cheminée en Illinois. Au lac Springfield, dans le même État, Bohlen (1989) a trouvé une centaine de martinets morts qui avaient été frappés par des voitures par une journée froide et pluvieuse de printemps alors que les oiseaux volaient très bas pour capturer des insectes.


Prédation

Comme les martinets passent la plus grande partie de leur temps en vol et nichent et se reposent dans des endroits difficiles d’accès comme les cheminées ou les arbres creux, ils sont pratiquement hors d’atteinte des prédateurs. Cependant, les Faucons émerillons ont envahi des centres-villes du Canada au cours des dernières années, et on a remarqué au Québec que le prédateur avait multiplié les attaques contre les martinets. Un faucon a attaqué des martinets à un dortoir situé dans l’église de Saint-Jovite en 1999 (M. Renaud, comm. pers.); durant la période où l’oiseau de proie a été présent, les martinets ont presque complètement abandonné le dortoir.


Conditions météorologiques

Selon Walker (1944), les mauvaises conditions météorologiques sont le pire ennemi du Martinet ramoneur. Le froid peut en effet se révéler très néfaste pour cet insectivore. Ainsi, 109 oiseaux ont été trouvés morts dans l’âtre de la cheminée du musée François-Pilote, à La Pocatière, le 23 mai 1990, apparemment en raison des basses températures et de la neige; (Aubry et al., 1990). Entre 1999 et 2003, on a observé les oiseaux au moyen d’une caméra vidéo installée dans un site de nidification artificiel de la région de Québec (Lévis). Durant plusieurs journées consécutives de pluie et de froid, Garneau et Gauthier (SCF-Québec, données inédites) ont observé que les martinets ne sortaient pas pour aller s’alimenter. De plus, chaque fois que la température à l’intérieur de la cheminée descendait sous un certain seuil, les martinets quittaient la cheminée, peut-être pour chercher un site plus propice même si les conditions météorologiques demeuraient défavorables.

Les précipitations peuvent également causer indirectement la mort des oiseaux. De fortes pluies durant 2 ou 3 jours éliminent les insectes aériens, et les martinets sont alors susceptibles de mourir de faim (Walker, 1944). Le temps froid et pluvieux dans le nord de l’Europe est reconnu pour causer une forte mortalité dans les populations de martinets et d’hirondelles (Elkins, 1988). Ces mauvaises conditions météorologiques, qui réduisent le nombre d’insectes aériens, causent indirectement la mort des oiseaux. Chantler (1999) mentionne que la température et les précipitations ont aussi un impact important sur le succès de nidification des martinets.

De plus, les pluies fortes font parfois se détacher les nids des parois des cheminées, ce qui entraîne souvent la destruction des œufs et des oisillons (Dexter, 1952b; 1960; 1981a). Il arrive cependant que des jeunes survivent et remontent la paroi, où les parents continuent de les nourrir (Dexter, 1952b; 1960; 1985).

Les changements climatiques auront sans aucun doute des conséquences sur les oiseaux. Dans une évaluation de la vulnérabilité des oiseaux nicheurs du Québec aux changements climatiques, Morneau et al. (1998) ont constaté que des 13 espèces les plus sensibles au climat, la plupart étaient des espèces migratrices néotropicales insectivores. Le Martinet ramoneur fait partie des 71 espèces vulnérables retenues. Les espèces se nourrissant d’insectes en vol sont plus sensibles aux variations de température puisque ce facteur influe directement sur l’abondance des insectes. Avec le réchauffement, des espèces d’insectes tropicales pourraient étendre leur aire de répartition vers le nord, mais les changements climatiques pourraient aussi se révéler très dommageables pour certaines espèces en affectant l’abondance et la répartition des insectes (Chantler, 1999). Certaines données indiquent également qu’un réchauffement climatique ferait augmenter les fluctuations du climat, ce qui se traduirait par une augmentation des extrêmes de température. De tels extrêmes, par exemple des printemps ou des étés très froids, pourraient se révéler catastrophiques pour des oiseaux qui s’alimentent en vol, comme les martinets. Ils pourraient aussi accélérer la dégradation des dernières cheminées classiques qui restent. En effet, le temps chaud et pluvieux durant l’hiver suivi de températures extrêmement basses peut entraîner des dommages considérables aux structures en pierre ou en brique. L’eau qui s’infiltre dans le ciment et les briques peut causer l’érosion de la structure lorsqu’elle gèle de nouveau.

Les changements climatiques pourraient aussi avoir un impact sur la fréquence, l’intensité et les trajectoires des ouragans, qui sont particulièrement dommageables pour les populations de martinets. Les ouragans surviennent habituellement durant la période de migration automnale, et certains, comme l’ouragan Wilma d’octobre 2005, ont forcé plus de 2 000 Martinets ramoneurs à quitter leurs haltes migratoires pour se diriger vers le nord. Après le passage de cet ouragan, on a trouvé au moins 700 Martinets ramoneurs morts dans les Maritimes (D. Busby, données inédites). D’après la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA, 2005), le nombre moyen de tempêtes depuis 1995 a augmenté par rapport à la période précédente (de 1970 à 1994).


Virus du Nil occidental

Le Martinet ramoneur figure sur la liste des oiseaux qui ont été trouvés morts et dont les résultats d’analyse étaient positifs pour le virus du Nil occidental aux États-Unis (Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Vector-Born Infectious Diseases, 2003). Au Canada, aucun cas d’infection n’a été signalé, et l’espèce ne figure pas sur la liste des oiseaux qui ont été retenus pour analyse. L’augmentation de la pulvérisation d’insecticides pour lutter contre cette maladie pourrait nuire aux oiseaux insectivores, y compris le Martinet ramoneur (voir sous « Pesticides » plus haut).