Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Chimney Swift in Canada

Biographical Summaries of Report Writers

Jean Gauthier completed a master’s degree in biology at Laval University in 1974. His masters’ work examined movement of the Common Eider (Somateria mollissima) in the St. Lawrence estuary. From 1974 to 1978, he worked as a biologist on environmental impact assessments for the government of Quebec. In 1978, he joined the Canadian Wildlife Service (Quebec region) and pursued his work on environmental assessments. Amongst other research, he studied the effects of insecticide spraying on forest birds. He was the coordinator and one of the authors for the Quebec Atlas of breeding birds. Since 1996, he has been a senior biologist for CWS. His work brought him to study forest bird populations in the boreal and southern forests of Quebec, where many of the projects were part of the Partners in Flight program. Since 1998, he has coordinated the Chimney Swift inventories in Quebec. Over the years, he developed expertise fin terrestrial bird interference with human activities.

Mark Dionne completed a bachelor’s degree at Laval University and master’s degree at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton (UNBF). His honour’s thesis looked at the behaviour of the brittle star (Ophiopholis aculeata) towards its main predator, the sea star (Asterias vulgaris). His Mmaster’s thesis studied interactions between diving ducks and cultured mussels in Prince Edward Island, Canada. Since Feburary 2004, he has been working as a biologist at the Canadian Wildlife Service, preparing the COSEWIC status report on the Chimney Swift in Canada.

Josée Potvin has a bachelor’s degree in biology from Laval University and a master’s degree in renewable resources from the University of Quebec at Chicoutimi (UQAC). Her master’s degree thesis looked at the significance and impact of predation on black spruce (Picea mariana) cones by the red squirrel (Tamiasciurus hudsonicus). She then worked for some years in forestry research, particularly on the ecology of the black spruce for the Consortium de recherche sur la forêt boréale commerciale [Commercial boreal forest research consortium] and on wildlife-related research projects in relation to forest habitat, carrying out a research project for Parks Canada on the impact of the Double-crested Cormorant (Phalacrocorax auritus) on the forest ecosystems of the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve. In 1998, she took part in a study on Alpine chamois (Rupicapra rupicapra) at a French hunting and wildlife reserve. In 1999, Ms. Potvin’s interest in birds brought her to the Canadian Wildlife Service, where she has been working on the Quebec Chimney Swift Survey since her arrival.

Mike Cadman obtained a B.Sc. in Wildlife Biology from the University of Guelph in 1976 and an M.Sc. in Ecology from the University of Toronto in 1980. His master’s thesis was on foraging strategies of the American Oystercatcher. From 1981 through 1987 he coordinated and was editor of the Atlas of the Breeding Birds of Ontario. He then coordinated the Ontario Rare Breeding Bird Program from 1988-1992. From 1992 until today he has been the Songbird Biologist for the Canadian Wildlife Service Ontario Region. During that period he wrote or co-authored COSEWIC status reports on Hooded Warbler, Loggerhead Shrike (update report), Short-eared Owl, Yellow-breasted Chat, served as Chair of the Loggerhead Shrike Recovery team and Hooded Warbler/Acadian Flycatcher recovery team, and was a member of the Henslow’s Sparrow and Prothonotary Warbler recovery teams. Since 2001, he has been on assignment with Ontario Nature – Federation of Ontario Naturalists as Coordinator of the second Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas project.

Daniel Busby received a B.Sc. (honours 1975) and an M.Sc. (1978) in ornithology from the University of Manitoba. His masters’ work examined the feeding ecology of Yellow Warblers (Dendroica petechia) at Delta Marsh, Manitoba. He worked briefly on the effects of contaminants on waterbirds in the Great Lakes under contract for the Canadian Wildlife Service. In 1978 he joined the CWS permanently, where he conducted a long-term study of the effects of forest insecticide spraying on birds in New Brunswick’s forests. He later moved into his current position as Senior Wildlife Biologist – Landbirds, where he is involved with a variety of programs including Migration Monitoring, the Breeding Bird Survey, West Nile Virus, Bicknell’s Thrush conservation, Partners in Flight and boreal forest bird science.

 

Page 15

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Martinet ramoneur au Canada

Sommaire biographique des rédacteurs du rapport

Jean Gauthier a obtenu une maîtrise en biologie à l’Université Laval en 1974. Ses travaux de maîtrise ont porté sur les déplacements de l’Eider à duvet (Somateria mollissima) dans l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent. De 1974 à 1978, il a participé comme biologiste à des évaluations d’impact environnemental pour le gouvernement du Québec. En 1978, il entre au Service canadien de la faune (SCF) (Région du Québec) où il continue à mener des évaluations environnementales. Il a étudié notamment les effets de la pulvérisation d’insecticides sur les oiseaux forestiers. Il a été coordonnateur et un des auteurs de l’Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs du Québec méridional. Depuis 1996, il est biologiste principal au SCF. Son travail l’a amené à étudier les populations d’oiseaux forestiers dans les forêts boréales et méridionales du Québec, souvent dans le cadre des activités du programme Partenaires d’envol. Depuis 1998, il coordonne les inventaires des Martinets ramoneurs au Québec. Au fil des ans, il a développé une expertise en matière d’impact des oiseaux terrestres sur les activités humaines.

Mark Dionne a obtenu un baccalauréat à l’Université Laval et une maîtrise à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick à Fredericton (UNBF). Dans son mémoire de baccalauréat, il a examiné le comportement flexible de l’ophiure Ophiopholis aculeata vis-à-vis de son principal prédateur, l’étoile de mer Asterias vulgaris. Son mémoire de maîtrise a porté sur les interactions entre les canards plongeurs et les moules cultivées à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, au Canada. Depuis février 2004, il travaille comme biologiste au Service canadien de la faune, où il a préparé le rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Martinet ramoneur au Canada.

Josée Potvin a obtenu un baccalauréat en biologie à l’Université Laval et une maîtrise en ressources renouvelables à l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC). Son mémoire de maîtrise portait sur l’importance et l’impact de la prédation des cônes de l’épinette noire (Picea mariana) par l’écureuil roux (Tamiasciurus hudsonicus). Ensuite, elle a travaillé quelques années en recherche forestière, en particulier sur l’écologie de l’épinette noire pour le Consortium de recherche sur la forêt boréale commerciale, et elle a participé à des projets de recherche sur la faune en relation avec les habitats forestiers. Elle a ainsi effectué un projet de recherche pour Parcs Canada sur l’impact du Cormoran à aigrettes (Phalacrocorax auritus) sur les écosystèmes forestiers de la réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de-Mingan, et participé en 1998 à une étude portant sur le chamois des Alpes (Rupicapra rupicapra) dans une réserve de chasse et de faune française. En 1999, son intérêt pour les oiseaux l’a mené au Service canadien de la faune où, depuis son arrivée, elle travaille sur le projet d’inventaire du Martinet ramoneur au Québec.

Mike Cadman a obtenu un baccalauréat en biologie de la faune à l’Université de Guelph en 1976 et une maîtrise en écologie à l’Université de Toronto en 1980. Son mémoire de maîtrise portait sur les stratégies alimentaires de l’Huîtrier d'Amérique. De 1981 à 1987, il a coordonné la préparation de l’atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario et il a dirigé la publication de cet atlas. Il a ensuite coordonné l’Ontario Rare Breeding Bird Program de 1988 à 1992. De 1992 à aujourd’hui, il a été le biologiste spécialiste des oiseaux chanteurs pour le Service canadien de la faune, Région de l’Ontario. Durant cette période, il a été auteur ou coauteur des rapports de situation du COSEPAC sur la Paruline à capuchon et la Pie-grièche migratrice (mise à jour), le Hibou des marais et la Paruline polyglotte, et il a été président de l’équipe de rétablissement de la Pie-grièche migratrice et de celle de la Paruline à capuchon et du Moucherolle vert; il a aussi été membre des équipes de rétablissement du Bruant de Henslow et de la Paruline orangée. Depuis 2001, il a été affecté à Ontario Nature – Federation of Ontario Naturalists, comme coordonnateur du deuxième atlas sur les oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario.

Daniel Busby a obtenu un baccalauréat spécialisé en 1975 et une maîtrise en ornithologie en 1978 de l’Université du Manitoba. Ses travaux de maîtrise ont porté sur l’écologie de l’alimentation de la Paruline jaune (Dendroica petechia) au marais Delta, au Manitoba. Il a travaillé quelque temps sur les effets des contaminants sur les oiseaux aquatiques dans les Grands Lacs en tant que contractuel pour le Service canadien de la faune. En 1978, il est devenu employé permanent du SCF où il a dirigé une étude à long terme des effets de la pulvérisation d’insecticides sur les oiseaux des forêts du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a été nommé plus tard à son poste actuel de biologiste de la faune principal, à titre de spécialiste des oiseaux terrestres, et il participe à diverses activités : surveillances de migrations, Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs (BBS), travaux relatifs au virus du Nil occidental, conservation de la Grive de Bicknell, activités de Partenaires d’envol et études scientifiques sur les oiseaux de la forêt boréale.