Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Chimney Swift in Canada

Biology

General

Chimney Swifts spend most of the day on the wing. They are extremely gregarious, feeding and roosting in large flocks (Chantler and Driessens 2000; Snow and Perrins 1998). During migration, they congregate in flocks of thousands at roosting sites along their migration route (Groskin 1945; Michael and Chao 1973). Roosts are also used in the summer, before and after nesting by breeding birds and during all of the summer by most of the non-breeding birds and failed breeders.


Reproduction

The reproductive information in this section comes primarily from the work of Ralph Dexter (1944-83) at Kent State University in Ohio and of Richard B. Fischer (1939-53) in New York State.

The Chimney Swift is a solitary breeder and only one nest is built per nesting site (chimney, tree hollow, air shaft, etc.; Fischer 1958; Dexter 1969, 1974, 1991). Although several pairs may nest close together on the roof of a building with a number of chimneys (Dexter 1969), it is not a true colonial species (Fischer 1958). Chimney Swifts can form loose colonies in which each pair uses and defends a different site. Dexter (1969) even noted that swifts tended not to nest in air shafts that were adjacent to one already occupied by another pair. The only exception reported in the literature is of two nests inside the same barn (Fischer 1958). In that case, the building’s large size in comparison to a chimney doubtless explains the presence of two pairs in one location. It is difficult to believe that there could be more than one nest in a given chimney given the aggressiveness that nesting pairs show to neighbouring swifts when nesting is advanced (C. Garneau, pers. comm.).

Chimney Swifts normally mate for life and are monogamous (Dexter 1992). Adults have a very strong tendency to return to the previous year’s nesting site (Fischer 1958; Dexter 1992). Swifts retain the same mate as long as both return to the nesting site each year (Dexter 1971). However, if one of the birds does not appear, the remaining one will mate with another individual. Dexter (1992) recorded a mate fidelity rate of 84% (294 pairs) and 96% of these pairs occupied the same air shaft that they had used the previous year. Pairs typically build their nest in the same spot on the wall from one year to the next (Dexter 1969).

Chimney Swifts do not generally breed before their second year (Dexter 1981a), but some individuals can breed during their first summer (Dexter 1952a, 1981b, 1985; Fischer 1958; Kyle and Kyle unpublished data). Courtship takes place primarily in the air and consists of chasing and flying by the pair, with the birds engaging in “V-ing” and gliding for short distances (Fischer 1958). It was long believed that swifts copulate while in flight but in fact they copulate on the vertical surface inside the nesting site (Dexter 1950; Fischer 1958) or in the nest (C. Garneau, pers. comm.). Chimney Swifts are generally single-brooded in northern latitudes (Baicich and Harrison 1997), although there have been reports of 2 broods per year for some pairs in Texas (Kyle and Kyle unpublished data).

The nest is made of small dead twigs glued to the vertical surface and to each other to form a half-saucer (MacNamara 1918; Shelley 1929; Fischer 1958; Zammuto and Franks 1981). Dexter (1969) observed that the average depth from the chimney top was 6.1 m in 400 nests studied in Ohio. Most of the time, they were attached to the chimney’s south and west walls. Swifts do not normally reuse nests built the previous year as most fall down over the fall or winter (Dexter 1969), but some nests built in sheltered locations are in good enough condition to be renovated and reused (Amadon 1936; Fischer 1958; Dexter 1978, 1981a; Cink and Collins 2002; C. Garneau, pers. comm.).

Two to six (normally four or five) eggs are laid and the young hatch after 19 to 21 days of incubation (Fischer 1958), which is done by both parents. Hatching success is high; Fischer (1958) obtained a figure of 90.7%. These results are similar to those obtained from an artificial chimney in Lévis between 1998 and 2003 (Garneau and Gauthier, CWS-QC unpublished data) and in Texas between 1989 and 2002 (Kyle and Kyle unpublished data). Fledging success is also high (86%) and three to six young are produced (Fischer 1958). All existing data seems to show that reproductive potential is similar across the different regions and in time suggesting that when individuals reproduce, they perform well. The decline is therefore potentially caused by some other problem.

Based on numerous banding data collected across North America, between 1920 and 1950, the annual adult survival rate for Chimney Swift was about 63% (Henny 1972). This rate is similar to the 73 ± 7 % calculated from banding data from Paul and Georgean Kyle’s Chimney Swift project in Texas between 1989 and 2002 (CWS-QC Unpublished data). Mortality is highest in the first year after hatching for most swift species studied (Chantler and Driessens 2000), but data from Kyle and Kyle permitted an estimation of the survival rate for juvenile Chimney Swifts (78.8 ± 21.9%), which was not significantly different from the adults. This is particularly high considering that the Chimney Swift makes long transcontinental migrations. With such a high survival rate, it is not surprising that swifts live to an old age for birds of such a small size. The record for known Chimney Swift longevity is 14 years (Dexter 1979); the average is 4.6 years (Dexter 1969).


Movements/Dispersal

Swifts arrive in southern Ontario at the end of April and in mid-May in the more northern areas (Cink and Collins 2002). Most Chimney Swifts arrive in Quebec in the last two weeks of May (David 1996). They leave Quebec early, most of them by the end of August (David 1996). In New Brunswick, swifts have been reported from 22 April and 10 November, but most are gone by 18 September (Squires 1976, Tufts 1986).

The Chimney Swift migrates diurnally in flocks (Coffey 1936; Tyler 1940; Whittemore 1981; Chantler 1999). During the fall migration, the birds converge on the Mississippi Valley from the northern United States and Canada (Lowery 1943; Ganier 1944; Bowman 1952). The number of birds increases as they get farther south, reaching thousands of individuals in the Gulf States (Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi). Most of the swifts then cross directly over the Gulf of Mexico (Lowery 1943), passing over the Yucatan Peninsula and following the Atlantic coast of Central America (Howell and Webb 1995), reaching Peru in early November (Plenge et al. 1989). In spring, Chimney Swifts essentially repeat this route in reverse, arriving in the southern United States in mid-March.


Feeding Habits

Chimney Swifts feed on insects and spiders, taken almost exclusively in the air (Chantler 1999). Main insects taken are caddisflies (Trichoptera); mayflies (Ephemeroptera); crane flies (Diptera; Tipulidae); various other flies (Diptera); beetles (Coleoptera); wasps, ants, bees (Hymenoptera); and true bugs (Hemiptera) (Cink and Collins 2002). To drink, they skim close to the water, touching the surface lightly with their bills (Whittemore 1981; Godfrey 1986).


Physiology

Chimney Swifts can enter a torpid state when exposed to cold temperatures (Ramsey 1970). They do not exhibit any movement and their body temperature drops, rising quickly when the ambient temperature rises (Ramsey 1970).


Adaptability

Since the settlement of North America, the Chimney Swift has quickly adapted to new artificial habitats provided by man-made structures (chimneys, shafts, silos, etc.). However, the species seems to be declining as the habitats for which it is adapted (hollow trees, chimneys) are rapidly disappearing. This situation will be addressed in the section on Limiting Factors and Threats.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Martinet ramoneur au Canada

Biologie

Généralités

Les Martinets ramoneurs passent la plus grande partie de leur journée en vol. Ce sont des oiseaux extrêmement grégaires, qui se nourrissent et se reposent en grosses bandes (Chantler et Driessens, 2000; Snow et Perrins, 1998). Durant la migration, ils se rassemblent en groupes qui peuvent atteindre des milliers d’oiseaux dans leurs sites de repos le long de leur voie migratoire (Groskin, 1945; Michael et Chao, 1973). Les dortoirs sont aussi utilisés pendant l’été, avant et après la nidification, par les oiseaux nicheurs et durant tout l’été par la plupart des non-reproducteurs et des reproducteurs en échec.


Reproduction

L’information sur la reproduction présentée ici provient principalement des travaux menés par Ralph Dexter (de 1944 à 1983) à la Kent State University (Ohio) et par Richard B. Fischer (de 1939 à 1953) dans l’État de New York.

Le Martinet ramoneur est un nicheur solitaire, et un seul nid est construit par site de nidification (cheminée, arbre creux, conduit d’aération, etc.; Fischer, 1958; Dexter, 1969, 1974, 1991). Bien qu’il arrive que sur un même bâtiment pourvu de nombreuses cheminées plusieurs couples puissent nicher à proximité les uns des autres (Dexter, 1969), le Martinet ramoneur n’est pas un oiseau colonial au sens strict du terme (Fischer, 1958). Les individus forment une colonie éparse où chaque couple utilise un site différent, qu’il défend. Dexter (1969) a même mentionné que les martinets évitaient d’utiliser un conduit d’aération adjacent à un autre déjà occupé par un couple. La seule exception rapportée dans la littérature concerne la présence de deux nids à l’intérieur d’une même grange (Fisher, 1958). Dans ce cas, la taille importante du bâtiment, par rapport à celle d’une cheminée, explique sans doute la présence de deux couples dans le même endroit. Il est difficile de croire qu’il puisse y avoir plus d’un nid dans une cheminée étant donné l’agressivité que démontrent les couples nicheurs envers les autres martinets lorsque la nidification est avancée (C. Garneau, comm. pers).

Habituellement, les martinets s’apparient pour la vie et sont monogames (Dexter, 1992). Les adultes ont très fortement tendance à retourner au site de nidification de l’année précédente (Fischer, 1958; Dexter, 1992). Le même couple se reforme aussi longtemps que les deux partenaires reviennent chaque année au site de nidification (Dexter, 1971). Par contre, si un des partenaires n’est pas au rendez-vous, l’oiseau qui reste s’accouple avec un autre individu. Dexter (1992) a calculé un taux de fidélité au partenaire de 84 p. 100 (294 couples), et 96 p. 100 de ces couples avaient utilisé le même conduit d’aération que l’année précédente. Les couples construisent habituellement leur nid au même endroit sur la paroi d’une année à l’autre (Dexter, 1969).

En général, les Martinets ramoneurs ne se reproduisent pas avant leur deuxième année (Dexter, 1981a), mais il a été démontré que des individus pouvaient nicher dès leur premier été (Dexter, 1952a, 1981b, 1985; Fischer, 1958; Kyle et Kyle, données inédites). La parade nuptiale est surtout aérienne et caractérisée par des poursuites et des vols en couple durant lesquels les oiseaux remontent leurs ailes vers le haut en forme de « V » et effectuent de courts vols planés de cette façon (Fischer, 1958). On a longtemps cru que l’accouplement avait lieu en vol, mais ce n’est pas le cas. Il a lieu à l’intérieur du site de nidification, sur la paroi verticale (Dexter, 1950; Fischer, 1958) ou dans le nid (C. Garneau, comm. pers.). Sous les latitudes nord, les martinets n’ont en général qu’une seule nichée par année (Baicich etHarrison, 1997); on a observé certains couples ayant produit deux couvées par année au Texas (Kyle et Kyle, données inédites).

Le nid est fait de petites brindilles mortes que l’oiseau fixe à l’aide de sa salive adhésive à la paroi verticale et qu’il colle les unes aux autres pour construire un nid en forme de demi-soucoupe (MacNamara, 1918; Shelley, 1929; Fischer, 1958; Zammuto et Franks, 1981). Pour 400 nids étudiés en Ohio, Dexter (1969) a observé que les nids étaient situés à une profondeur moyenne de 6,1 m à partir du haut de la cheminée. Ils étaient fixés le plus souvent sur les parois sud et ouest de la cheminée. Les martinets ne réutilisent habituellement pas les nids construits l’année précédente, car, dans la plupart des cas, ceux-ci tombent durant l’automne et l’hiver (Dexter, 1969). Il arrive cependant que d’anciens nids construits dans des endroits abrités soient réutilisés lorsqu’ils sont en assez bon état pour être rénovés (Amadon, 1936; Fischer, 1958; Dexter, 1978, 1981a; Cink et Collins, 2002; C. Garneau, comm. pers.).

Le nombre d’œufs pondus est de 2 à 6 (habituellement 4 ou 5), et les jeunes éclosent après 19 à 21 jours d’incubation(Fischer, 1958). Celle-ci est effectuée par le mâle et la femelle. Chez cette espèce, le taux d’éclosion est élevé; Fischer (1958) a calculé une valeur de 90,7 p. 100. Ces résultats sont semblables à ceux qui ont été obtenus pour une cheminée artificielle à Lévis entre 1998 et 2003 (Garneau et Gauthier, SCF-Québec, données inédites) et au Texas entre 1989 et 2002 (Kyle et Kyle, données inédites). Le taux d’envol est élevé aussi (86 p. 100), et 3 à 6 jeunes sont produits (Fischer, 1958). Selon les données existantes, le potentiel reproducteur est similaire dans les différentes régions et dans le temps, ce qui laisse penser que lorsque les individus se reproduisent, ils obtiennent un bon succès. Le déclin de l’espèce est donc sans doute attribuable à un autre type de problème.

Selon les nombreuses données de baguage recueillies en Amérique du Nord entre 1920 et 1950, le taux de survie annuel des adultes était d’environ 63 p. 100 (Henny, 1972). Ce taux est semblable au taux de 73 ± 7 p. 100 calculé à l’aide des données de baguage de Paul et Georgean Kyle recueillies au Texas entre 1989 et 2002 (SCF-Québec, données inédites). Chez la plupart des espèces de martinet étudiées, la mortalité est la plus forte dans la première année après l’éclosion (Chantler et Driessens, 2000), mais les données de Kyle et Kyle ont donné un taux de survie des jeunes Martinets ramoneurs (78,8 ± 21,9 p. 100), qui n’était pas significativement différent de celui des adultes. Un tel taux est particulièrement élevé lorsque l’on considère que le Martinet ramoneur effectue de longues migrations transcontinentales. Avec un taux de survie aussi élevé, il n’est pas étonnant que les martinets atteignent des âges avancés pour des oiseaux de si petite taille. Le record de longévité connu pour le Martinet ramoneur est de 14 ans (Dexter, 1979), et la longévité moyenne est de 4,6 ans (Dexter, 1969).


Déplacements et dispersion

Les martinets arrivent dans le sud de l’Ontario à la fin d’avril, et à la mi-mai dans les régions plus nordiques de la province (Cink et Collins, 2002). La plupart des Martinets ramoneurs arrivent au Québec au cours des deux dernières semaines de mai (David, 1996), et ont déjà quitté la province dès la fin août (David, 1996). Au Nouveau-Brunswick, on a signalé la présence de martinets du 22 avril au 10 novembre, mais la plupart ont déjà quitté la province le 18 septembre (Squires, 1976; Tufts, 1986).

Le Martinet ramoneur est une espèce qui migre en groupe, le jour (Coffey, 1936; Tyler, 1940; Whittemore, 1981; Chantler, 1999). Lors de la migration automnale, les oiseaux convergent vers la vallée du Mississippi en provenance du Canada et du nord des États-Unis (Lowery, 1943; Ganier, 1944; Bowman, 1952). Le nombre des oiseaux augmente à mesure que le groupe progresse vers le sud, pour atteindre des milliers d’individus dans les États du golfe du Mexique (Texas, Louisiane, Mississippi). La plus grande partie de la population de martinets traverse alors le golfe du Mexique (Lowery, 1943), survole la péninsule du Yucatan puis suit la côte atlantique de l’Amérique centrale (Howell et Webb, 1995) pour atteindre le Pérou au début de novembre (Plenge et al., 1989). Au printemps, les Martinets ramoneurs refont essentiellement le même trajet en sens inverse et arrivent dans le sud des États-Unis à la mi-mars.


Habitudes alimentaires

Les martinets se nourrissent d’insectes et d’araignées attrapés presque exclusivement en vol (Chantler, 1999). Les principaux insectes capturés sont des phryganes (Trichoptères), des éphémères (Épheméroptères), des tipules (Diptères; Tipulidées), des mouches (Diptères), des coléoptères (Coléoptères), des guêpes, des fourmis et des abeilles (Hyménoptères) et des punaises (Hémiptères) (Cink et Collins, 2002). Pour s’abreuver, les martinets effleurent la surface de l’eau avec leur bec (Whittemore, 1981; Godfrey, 1986).


Physiologie

Les martinets peuvent entrer dans un état de torpeur lorsqu’il fait froid (Ramsey, 1970). Les oiseaux cessent de bouger et leur température corporelle diminue, et elle remonte rapidement lorsque la température ambiante augmente (Ramsey, 1970).


Adaptabilité

Depuis la colonisation de l’Amérique du Nord, le Martinet ramoneur s’est rapidement adapté aux nouveaux habitats artificiels fournis par les constructions humaines (cheminées, conduits, silos, etc.). Cependant, l’espèce semble être en déclin; les habitats auxquels elle est adaptée (arbres creux, cheminées) disparaissant rapidement. Cette question sera abordée à la section « Facteurs limitatifs et menaces ».