Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Atlantic Whitefish

1. Background

1.1 Status

1.1.1 Canadian Status

COSEWIC Assessment Summary

Common name : Atlantic whitefish

Scientific name: Coregonus huntsmani

Status: Endangered

Occurrence: Nova Scotia.

Reason for Designation : This species, endemic to Nova Scotia, is found only in the Tusket 1 and Petite Rivière watersheds. It continues to decline because of habitat loss and degradation caused by acidification, hydroelectric dams, introductions of exotic species, and incidental fishing.
 
Status History: Designated Endangered in April 1984. Status re-examined and confirmed in November 2000. Last assessment based on an updated status report.

1 subsequently considered extirpated from the Tusket River (Bradford et al. 2004a)

1.1.2 Global Status

In 1996 the Atlantic whitefish was globally assessed as Vulnerable by the World Conservation Union (IUCN). It is listed in the IUCN Red Book with the designation VU D2, which implies the species is not endangered but facing a high risk of extinction in the wild in the medium-term future [1]. The 1996 designation indicated that the population is very small and is characterized by an acute restriction in its area of occupancy.

1.2 Distribution

1.2.1 Global Range

The Atlantic whitefish is endemic to Nova Scotia, meaning that it is found nowhere else in the world. In Nova Scotia it was historically found only in the Tusket and Petite Rivière watersheds, and their adjacent estuaries and bays (Figure 1). This species was extirpated from the Tusket River system sometime after 1982 (Bradford et al. 2004a).

Figure 1. Map showing the historical Canadian watershed distribution of Atlantic whitefish.

Figure 1. Map showing the historical Canadian watershed distribution of Atlantic whitefish. [2]

Despite extensive commercial and recreational fisheries in fresh and coastal waters throughout Nova Scotia, as well as extensive province-wide fish surveys, Atlantic whitefish populations have not been reported outside these two watersheds. Isolated captures of specimens identified as Atlantic whitefish were reported at the mouth of the Sissiboo River in southwestern Nova Scotia in 1919 (Scott and Scott 1988), at Halls Harbour on the Minas Channel in 1958 (Edge and Gilhen 2001) and in the LaHave Estuary in 1995 and 1997 (Edge and Gilhen 2001). These specimens may have been members of the Tusket or Petite populations.

1.2.2 TusketRiverWatershed

The Tusket River population of Atlantic whitefish appears to have been entirely anadromous. They have not been recorded in the watershed since 1982. The population is now considered to be extirpated (Bradford et al. 2004a).

Figure 2. Tusket-Annis rivers watershed and estuary.

Figure 2. Tusket-Annis rivers watershed and estuary.

 Occurrences were recorded in the non-tidal lower portions of both the Tusket River and the Annis River, as well as in the estuary that these two rivers share. Individuals have also been reported in Yarmouth Harbour located several kilometers to the west of the Tusket River (Figure 2). There is no information concerning the distance ascended by Atlantic whitefish in either the Tusket or Annis rivers (Bradford et al. 2004a; Figure 2).

1.2.3 Petite Rivière Whatershed   

The Petite Rivière system supports a significant resident Atlantic whitefish population distributed among three lakes: Minamkeak, Milipsigate and Hebb (Edge and Gilhen 2001; Figure 3).  The lakes, which collectively cover a surface area of barely more than 16.0 km2, cannot be accessed from the sea since the dam at Hebbville (Figure 3) is a complete barrier to upstream fish passage.  The first confirmed specimen of Atlantic whitefish was found at the outlet from Milipsigate Lake in 1923 (Piers 1927). 

There is no documented record of an anadromous run of Atlantic whitefish on the Petite Rivière prior to or after the construction of the dams on the Petite system.  Since the construction of the dams, there have been reported occurrences of Atlantic whitefish below the lakes in Fancy Lake, and in the tidal portions of the Petite Rivière (Figure 3).  As resident populations were not found in any recent surveys of the lakes below the dams (Bradford et al. 2004a), it is presumed that these fish somehow passed or were swept over the Hebbville dam and moved from there into downstream areas.  There is no evidence to document this movement over the dam, including when or at what age Atlantic whitefish might pass over it.  Specimens, that are also likely strays from the lake-resident population (Bradford et al. 2004a), have been captured in the LaHave River estuary (Edge and Gilhen 2001) which lies to the east of the Petite Rivière (Figure 3).

The presence of Atlantic whitefish in Minamkeak Lake has particular significance in light of the 1903 diversion of this lake from the Medway River (Figure 3) to the Petite Rivière (Edge and Gilhen 2001).  Recent surveys showed that Atlantic whitefish are not resident within the Medway River, including the sub-drainage into which Minamkeak once drained (Bradford et al. 2004a). Presence of Atlantic whitefish in Minamkeak Lake is likely a consequence of colonization from Milipsigate and Hebb lakes sometime after the diversion (Bradford et al. 2004a).

1.3 Legal Protection

Atlantic whitefish are listed under Schedule 1, Part 2 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) and therefore, the SARA provisions against the killing, harming, harassing, capturing or taking of individuals (SARA Section 32), and the damage or destruction of residence (SARA Section 33) applies directly to this species. Information on Atlantic whitefish life history and habitat use are insufficient at this time to provide a rationale for a residence description.  

Figure 3. Petite Rivière watershed and Green Bay estuary.

Figure 3. Petite Rivière watershed and Green Bay estuary.

Once the species’ critical habitat is legally identified, the prohibitions against its destruction will apply (SARA Section 58).

In addition to SARA, the Fisheries Act and its supporting regulations have direct and/or indirect application to Atlantic whitefish.  The Fisheries Act protects fish and fish habitat, whilst its supporting regulations (the Fishery (General) Regulations (F(G)R’s), the Maritime Provinces Fishery Regulations (MPFR’s), the Atlantic Fishery Regulations, 1985 (AFR’s), and the Aboriginal Communal Fishing Licences Regulations (ACFLR’s))  provide the tools to protect, conserve and manage fisheries.

With respect to fisheries, three of the most important regulatory provisions are;

  1. section 6 of the MPFR’s which prohibits the retention or possession of Atlantic whitefish,
  2. section 6 of the F(G)R’s which provides for the issue of variation orders to close any fishing season set out in regulations, and;
  3. section 22 of the F(G)R’s which provides for the issue of licence conditions.

After discussions with stakeholders, DFO and the Province have agreed to implement additional management measures on the Petite Rivière to protect Atlantic whitefish, primarily from incidental capture.  By variation order, all angling is now prohibited annually from April 1 to June 30 in the inland waters of Minamkeak, Milipsigate and Hebb lakes (Figure 3), including the thoroughfares joining them.  Commencing in 2005, only unbaited lures and artificial flies (no bait) are permitted during the open angling season from July 1 to September 30. One commercial gaspereau gill net licence holder in the estuary of the Petite Rivière was required, by licence condition, to relocate his fishing gear.

With respect to the protection of fish and fish habitat, some important regulatory provisions of the Fisheries Act include:

  1. section 20 - 22 which deal with requirements for fish passage and the construction of fish-ways;
  2. section 32 which prohibits the destruction of fish by means other than fishing unless authorized by the Minister;
  3. section 35(2) which prohibits the harmful alteration, disruption or destruction of fish habitat unless authorized by the Minister, and;
  4. section 36(3) which prohibits the deposition of deleterious substances into waters frequented by fish.

These sections of the Fisheries Act are administered by DFO, with the exception of section 36 which is administered by Environment Canada.

The Atlantic whitefish and its habitat are also protected by provincial legislation including the 1998 Nova Scotia Endangered Species Act and the 1994-95 Nova Scotia Environment Act.   Minamkeak, Milipsigate and Hebb lakes form the water supply for the town of Bridgewater, and as such they will receive environmental protection as a designated ‘Protected Water Area’ under the provincial Environment Act . This type of designation involves a combination of regulations and best management practices which are rolled-out through a ‘Source Water Protection Plan’ and will address all activities in the watershed that could impact water quality (e.g., forestry, agriculture, road construction, recreational use, mining, etc.). The only fishery known to or likely to capture Atlantic whitefish in these three lakes is the recreational angling fishery which has either been closed or significantly modified to eliminate the likelihood of harm.



[1]This assessment was based on IUCN criteria, which differs from the criteria used by COSEWIC; and inaccurately identifies the distribution of the species as being the Great Lakes region of North America.

[2]All map images derived from the Nova Scotia Topographic Database (NSTDB) and used by permission of Service Nova Scotia.  Maps intended for illustrative purposes only.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du corégone de l'Atlantique

1. Contexte

1.1 Situation

1.1.1 Situation au Canada

Résumé d’évaluation du COSEPAC

Nom commun : Corégone de l’Atlantique

Nom scientifique : Coregonus huntsmani

Désignation : en voie de disparition

Présence : Nouvelle-Écosse

Raison de la désignation: Cette espèce endémique à la Nouvelle‑Écosse n’est présente que dans les réseaux fluviaux de la rivière Tusket1 et de la Petite Rivière. L’espèce continue de décliner en raison de la perte d’habitat, de la dégradation de l’habitat par l’acidification, de barrages hydroélectriques, d’introductions d’espèces exotiques et de sa capture accidentelle.
 
Historique de la désignation : Espèce désignée en voie de disparition  en avril 1984. Situation de l’espèce réexaminée et confirmée en novembre 2000. Dernière évaluation fondée sur un rapport de situation mis à jour.

1 L’espèce est maintenant considérée comme disparue de la rivière Tusket (Bradford et al., 2004a).

 1.1.2 Situation à l’échelle mondiale

En 1996, l’Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN) a désigné le corégone de l’Atlantique comme une espèce vulnérable. Dans sa liste rouge, l’UICN lui attribue le code VU D2, ce qui indique que l’espèce n’est pas en danger, mais qu’elle court un risque élevé extinction à l’état sauvage à moyen terme[1]. La désignation de 1996 indique que la population est très petite et que sa zone d’occupation est très réduite.

1.2 Répartition

1.2.1 Aire de répartition mondiale

Le corégone de l’Atlantique est endémique à la Nouvelle‑Écosse, c’est‑à‑dire qu’on ne le trouve nulle part ailleurs au monde.  En Nouvelle-Écosse, l’espèce n’était présente  que dans les réseaux hydrographiques de la rivière Tusket et de la Petite Rivière et dans les baies et estuaires adjacents (figure 1). Elle est disparue du réseau hydrographique de la rivière Tusket après 1982 (Bradford et al., 2004a).

Figure 1. Carte de la répartition historique du corégone de l’Atlantique[2]

Figure 1. Carte de la répartition historique du corégone de l’Atlantique[2]

Malgré d’importantes pêches commerciales et récréatives dans les eaux douces et les eaux côtières de toute la Nouvelle-Écosse et de vastes relevés de poissons effectués à la grandeur de la province, aucune population de corégone de l’Atlantique n’a été signalée ailleurs que dans ces deux réseaux hydrographiques. On a signalé des captures isolées de spécimens identifiés comme des corégones de l’Atlantique à l’embouchure de la rivière Sissiboo, dans le sud‑ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1919 (Scott et Scott 1988), à Halls Harbour, sur le chenal Minas, en 1958 (Edge et Gilhen, 2001) et dans l’estuaire de la rivière LaHave en 1995 et en 1997 (Edge et Gilhen, 2001). Ces spécimens appartenaient peut-être à la population de la rivière Tusket ou à celle de la Petite Rivière.

1.2.2 Réseau hydrographique de la rivièreTusket

La population de corégones de l’Atlantique de la rivière Tusket semble avoir été entièrement anadrome. On n’a pas signalé la présence de l’espèce dans ce réseau hydrographique depuis 1982, et cette population est maintenant considérée disparue (Bradford et al., 2004a).

 La présence du corégone de l’Atlantique a été signalée dans le cours inférieur non soumis aux marées des rivières Tusket et Annis, dans l’estuaire que se partagent ces deux rivières, ainsi que dans le havre de Yarmouth, situé plusieurs kilomètres à l’ouest de la rivière Tusket (figure 2). Il n’existe aucun renseignement concernant la distance sur laquelle le corégone de l’Atlantique remontait les rivières Tusket et Annis (Bradford et al., 2004a; figure 2).

Figure 2. Bassin hydrographique et estuaire des rivières Tusket et Annis.

Figure 2. Bassin hydrographique et estuaire des rivières Tusket et Annis.

Tusket Falls Dam = Barrage des chutes Tusket

Watersheds = Bassins hydrographiques

Annis River Watershed = Bassin hydrographique de la rivière Annis

Tusket River Watershed = Bassin hydrographique de la rivière Tusket

1.2.3 Réseau hydrographique de la Petite Rivière

Le réseau de la Petite Rivière contient une bonne population résidente de corégones de l’Atlantique répartie dans les lacs Minamkeak, Milipsigate et Hebb (Edge et Gilhen, 2001; figure 3). Les poissons ne peuvent accéder à ces lacs (qui couvrent ensemble une superficie d’à peine plus de 16,0 km2) à partir de la mer, car le barrage situé à Hebbville (figure 3) bloque complètement le passage des poissons vers l’amont. Le premier spécimen confirmé de corégone de l’Atlantique a été capturé à la décharge du lac Milipsigate en 1923 (Piers, 1927). 

Il n’existe aucune mention d’une remonte anadrome du corégone de l’Atlantique dans la Petite Rivière avant ou après la construction des barrages sur cette rivière. Depuis la construction des barrages, on a observé des corégones de l’Atlantique dans le lac Fancy, en aval des trois lacs susmentionnés, et dans les eaux à marée de la Petite Rivière (figure 3). Comme aucune population résidente n’a été trouvée dans les récents relevés effectués dans les lacs situés en aval des barrages (Bradford et al., 2004a), on présume que ces poissons sont parvenu, d’une façon ou d’une autre, à franchir le barrage Hebbville vers l’aval (sans doute ont‑ils été emportés par le courant au-dessus du barrage). Il n’existe aucune information sur ce franchissement du barrage, et on ignore à quel moment et à quel âge le corégone de l’Atlantique pourrait le franchir. D’autres spécimens, sans doute aussi des membres égarés de la population lacustre résidente (Bradford et al., 2004a), ont été capturés dans l’estuaire de la rivière LaHave (Edge et Gilhen, 2001), qui se trouve à l’est de la Petite Rivière (figure 3).

La présence du corégone de l’Atlantique dans le lac Minamkeak revêt une importance particulière parce que les eaux du lac ont été détournées de la rivière Medway (figure 3) vers la Petite Rivière (Edge et Gilhen, 2001). De récents relevés ont montré que le  corégone de l’Atlantique n’est pas résident dans la rivière Medway et son affluent qui recevait auparavant les eaux du lac Minamkeak (Bradford et al., 2004a). La présence du corégone de l’Atlantique dans le lac Minamkeak résulte sans doute de sa colonisation à partir des lacs Milipsigate et Hebb après le détournement (Bradford et al. 2004a).

1.3 Protection légale

Comme le corégone de l’Atlantique est inscrit à l’annexe 1, partie 2, de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), les dispositions des articles 32 (interdiction de tuer un individu d’une espèce sauvage inscrite comme espèce disparue du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacée, de lui nuire, de le harceler, de le capturer ou de le prendre) et 33 (interdiction d’endommager ou de détruire la résidence) de la LEP s’appliquent directement à cette espèce. On dispose de trop peu d’information sur le cycle de vie du corégone de l’Atlantique et son utilisation de l’habitat pour décrire sa résidence. 

Figure 3. Bassin hydrographique de la Petite Rivière et estuaire de la baie Green

Figure 3. Bassin hydrographique de la Petite Rivière et estuaire de la baie Green

Features within ... = Légende

Current known range... = Aire de répartition actuelle connue du corégone de l’Atlantique

Petite Rivière watershed = Bassin hydrographique de la Petite Rivière

  1. Canal de trop-plein relié à la rivière Medway lorsque les eaux sont hautes
  2. Ancienne connexion avec le réseau de la rivière Medway
  3. Prise d’eau de la municipalité de Bridgewater

Fish  Passage barriers = Obstacles au passage du poisson

  1. Barrage Crousetown
  2. Conquerall Mills
  3. Barrage Hebbville
  4. Barrage Milipsigate
  5. Barrage Minamkeak

Lorsque l’habitat essentiel sera légalement déterminé, l’interdiction de sa destruction s’appliquera (article 58 de la LEP).

En plus de la LEP, la Loi sur les pêches et ses règlements s’appliquent directement ou indirectement au corégone de l’Atlantique. Cette loi protège le poisson et son habitat, tandis que ses règlements d’application, soit le Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales) [RP(DG)], le Règlement de pêche des provinces maritimes (RPPM), le Règlement de pêche de l’Atlantique de 1985 (RPA) et le Règlement sur les permis de pêche communautaires des Autochtones (RPPCA), constituent des outils pour protéger, conserver et gérer les pêches.

En ce qui concerne les pêches, voici trois des plus importantes dispositions réglementaires :

  1. l’article 6 du RPPM qui interdit de prendre et de garder ou d'avoir en sa possession un corégone de l’Atlantique;
  2. l’article 6 du RP(DG) qui prévoit la prise d’une ordonnance de modification pour fermer une saison de pêche fixée par règlement;
  3. l’article 22 du RP(DG) qui prévoit l’établissement des conditions de permis.

Après des discussions avec les parties intéressées, le MPO et la province ont convenu de prendre d’autres mesures de gestion pour la Petite Rivière afin de protéger le corégone de l’Atlantique, surtout contre la capture accidentelle. Toute pêche à la ligne est maintenant interdite par ordonnance de variation chaque année du 1er avril au 30 juin dans les lacs Minamkeak, Milipsigate et Hebb et les eaux qui les relient (figure 3). Depuis 2005, seuls les mouches artificielles et les leurres non appâtés sont permis durant la saison de pêche à la ligne (du 1er juillet au 30 septembre). Un titulaire de permis de pêche commerciale du gaspareau au filet maillant dans l’estuaire de la Petite Rivière a dû relocaliser ses filets pour respecter une condition de permis.

En ce qui concerne la protection du poisson et de son habitat, voici quelques dispositions réglementaires importantes de la Loi sur les pêches :

  1. les articles 20 à 22 qui concernent les exigences en matière de passage du poisson et la construction de passes migratoires;
  2. l’article 32 qui interdit de causer la mort de poissons par d’autres moyens que la pêche, à moins d’avoir l’autorisation du ministre;
  3. le paragraphe 35(2) qui interdit la détérioration, la destruction ou la perturbation de l’habitat du poisson, à moins d’avoir l’autorisation du ministre;
  4. le paragraphe 36(3) qui interdit d’immerger ou de rejeter une substance nocive dans des eaux où vivent des poissons.

Le MPO administre ces dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches, à l’exception de l’article 36, qui relève d’Environnement Canada.

Le corégone de l’Atlantique et son habitat sont également protégés par la Endangered Species Act (1998) et la Environment Act (1994-1995) de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Comme les lacsMinamkeak, Milipsigate et Hebb constituent l’approvisionnement en eau de la municipalité de Bridgewater, ils sont protégés à titre de « Protected Water Area » en vertu de l’Environment Actde la province. Cette protection consiste en une combinaison de règlements et de meilleures pratiques de gestion établis dans un  « Source Water Protection Plan » et qui visent toutes les activités se déroulant dans le bassin versant qui pourrait nuire à la qualité de l’eau (p. ex. foresterie, agriculture, construction de routes, utilisation récréative, exploitation minière). La seule pêche dans laquelle du corégone de l’Atlantique est susceptible d’être capturé dans ces trois lacs est la pêche récréative à la ligne, laquelle a été fermée ou suffisamment modifiée pour éliminer toute probabilité de dommage. 



[1]Cette évaluation est fondée sur les critères de l’UICN, lesquels diffèrent de ceux utilisés par le COSEPAC, et elle indique erronément que l’espèce est présente dans la région des Grands Lacs de l’Amérique du Nord.

[2]Toutes les cartes sont tirées de la Nova Scotia Topographic Database (NSTDB) et reproduites avec la permission de Service Nova Scotia. Les cartes ne sont destinées qu’à des fins d’illustration.