Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Atlantic Whitefish

1.4 General Biology and Description

1.4.1 Physical Description

The Atlantic whitefish is a member of the salmon and trout family (Salmonidae) (Scott and Scott 1988) and belongs to the whitefish subfamily Coregoninae. It appears salmon-like, with silvery sides, a silvery white underbelly, and a back that is dark bluish-black or dark green (Figure 4). There are no spots or upper body markings. It has a deeply forked caudal (tail) fin and an adipose fin (small, fleshy fin between dorsal and caudal fins, typical of salmonids).

Scott and Scott (1988) describe Atlantic whitefish as having between 91 and 100 scales along the lateral line, a terminal mouth (lower and upper jaws equal) and small but well developed teeth.

Figure 4. Schematic depicting an adult Atlantic whitefish.

Figure 4. Schematic depicting an adult Atlantic whitefish.

While growth of the species in the wild has not been studied, anadromous specimens from the Tusket River are known to have been larger than the landlocked Petite Rivière individuals.  Records suggest adults can reach 50 cm (20 in) in length and up to 3.63 kg (8 lb.) in weight (Edge and Gilhen 2001). However, anadromous adults typically average 38 cm (15 in) while the smaller landlocked individuals range 20 to 25 cm (8-10 in) (Bradford 2000).

1.4.2 Common and Scientific Name

The common name Atlantic whitefish was employed by Scott (1967) and Scott and Crossman (1973) in reference to its regular occurrence in salt water off Yarmouth County, Nova Scotia, and its upstream fall migration in the Tusket River (Scott 1987).  Originally described as Coregonus canadensis by Scott (1967) the species name canadensis was found to be already in use. Hence the name Coregonus huntsmani was recommended by Scott in 1987 in honour of the late Dr. A.G. Huntsman, noted Canadian marine biologist, who was aware of the presence of an unusual whitefish in Nova Scotia waters at least as early as 1921 (Huntsman 1922).  The species was also referred to in the past as Acadian whitefish, Sault whitefish, round whitefish, and common whitefish.

 1.4.3 Distinguishing Traits

Atlantic whitefish can be recognized on the basis of their external appearance. The species can be distinguished from most other salmonids by its larger scales.  Additional features are used to distinguish Atlantic whitefish from the lake whitefish, C. clupeaformis, which is a common species in Nova Scotian lakes.  The number of lateral line scales differs (average of 93.8 in Atlantic whitefish versus an average of 76.6 in lake whitefish), as does the number of vertebrae (average of 65.3 in Atlantic whitefish versus 60.6 in lake whitefish), the mouth shape (near- terminal for Atlantic whitefish, sub-terminal for lake whitefish), and Atlantic whitefish have small teeth while lake whitefish do not (Edge et al. 1991; Hasselman 2003). Genetically, Atlantic whitefish differ from both lake whitefish and cisco (Bernatchez et al. 1991; Murray 2005).

The distinguishing external traits of the Atlantic whitefish are published annually in the Nova Scotia Angler’s Handbook, along with a request for members of the public to contact authorities with suspected sightings of the species. Additionally, habitat stewardship initiatives within the Petite Rivière area have included production and distribution of a handbook and brochure which provides information on the Petite Rivière watershed and the endangered Atlantic whitefish.

1.4.4 Life History

Little is known about the life history of Atlantic whitefish and what is known relates primarily to adults.

Anadromous population

The Atlantic whitefish was anadromous (sea-going) in the Tusket River (Figure 2); and, despite the lack of recorded evidence, they likely occurred historically in Petite Rivière as well (Figure 3).  Individuals on the Tusket were known to occur in the estuary and sea waters in the summer, migrate into freshwater in the early fall (around September), move upstream in October and November with spawning probably occurring in the late fall or winter, overwinter, and return to the sea in the spring (Edge and Gilhen 2001).  Specimens captured in the Tusket River during October and November had well developed gonads but had not yet spawned while specimens collected in May and June had poorly developed gonads (Edge and Gilhen 2001). Neither specific locations nor characteristics of the spawning habitat of the anadromous Atlantic whitefish population that once existed in the Tusket watershed are known (Bradford et al. 2004a).

Atlantic whitefish specimens captured in the marine environment contained shrimp, amphipods, fish and marine worms (Edge 1987).

Lakeresident population

Spawning of the landlocked population in the Petite Rivière lakes also probably occurs in early winter. Neither specific locations nor characteristics of the spawning habitat of the land-locked Atlantic whitefish are known. Fish occurring in Minamkeak, Milipsigate and Hebb lakes are genetically identical (Murray 2005).  No eggs or larvae have been collected from the wild.  A single juvenile was sampled from an aggregation of Atlantic whitefish of similar size on one occasion in June 2000 in Hebb Lake (Hasselman 2003). The paucity of information on these life stages precludes any understanding of age structure and mortality rates.

Adults feed on a wide variety of aquatic organisms. Stomach analyses of specimens from the landlocked Petite Rivière population indicated a diet that includes aquatic insects and small fish but not benthic organisms (Edge and Gilhen 2001).

As mentioned previously, it is possible that Atlantic whitefish are swept over the Hebbville dam since there is nothing to prevent their downstream passage.  However, these fish that do pass over this dam, are not able to re-join the lake resident population since there is no upstream fish passage provided.  Furthermore, while there have been records of Atlantic whitefish below the Hebbville dam, there is no evidence to indicate that these fish represent a viable population (Bradford et al. 2004a).

1.4.5 Habitat Requirements

Little is known of the habitat requirements of Atlantic whitefish.  Spawning, nursery, and rearing ground locations and preferences are not known, and migration areas are not understood. In the Tusket population, adults were frequently caught in the estuary. Lake resident Atlantic whitefish appear to be more prevalent in warmer surface waters than are lake whitefish.  Recent field and laboratory research indicates that the species can tolerate full sea water from an early stage of development (DFO unpublished data).

1.5   Population Size and Trends

While there is insufficient information available at this time to enable accurate quantitative estimates of the Atlantic whitefish populations’ sizes and trends in the Tusket and Petite watersheds, the following general qualitative comments can be made.

1.5.1   TusketRiverPopulation

Once abundant, the Tusket River population apparently declined rapidly in the 1940s and 1950s, likely a result of the combined effects of construction and operation of the Tusket hydro-electric facility, poaching, and river acidification (Gilhen 1977; Bradford et al. 2004a). The decline continued; by the 1970s it was a novelty for one specimen to be taken in a season by a gaspereau fisherman.  The last confirmed specimen captured on the Tusket River was in 1964 (Edge et al. 1991; Bradford et al. 2004a). No individuals have been observed or captured in any of the years of fishway monitoring since 1995 (Bradford et al. 2004a). It is believed that this population no longer exists (Edge and Gilhen 2001; Bradford et al. 2004a).

On the adjacent Annis River, catch also decreased over time, to the point that by the late 1970s a combined catch of fewer than ten individuals per year in the gaspereau fishery was typical (Edge and Gilhen 2001). There are no reports of Atlantic whitefish being captured in the Annis River since 1982 (Edge and Gilhen 2001; Bradford et al. 2004a).

1.5.2  Petite Rivière Population

There are anecdotal reports of Atlantic whitefish in the Petite Rivière watershed as early as the 1870s (Edge and Gilhen 2001). The recent trend for the Petite Rivière lake resident population is uncertain as there is no population estimate for the lakes.  There have been records of Atlantic whitefish occurring below the Hebbville dam since its construction; however, a research trapnet set in the estuary during autumn 1999 and spring 2000 failed to capture a single Atlantic whitefish (Bradford et al. 2004a).  Therefore, the presence of a viable anadromous population of Atlantic whitefish below the Hebbville dam is unlikely, or it exists below the level of detection currently possible.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du corégone de l'Atlantique

1.4 Description et biologie générale

1.4.1 Description physique

Le corégone de l’Atlantique appartient à la sous-famille Coregoninae de la famille des saumons et des truites (Salmonidae) (Scott et Scott, 1988). Il ressemble à un saumon, avec des flancs argentés, un ventre blanc argenté et un dos bleu foncé-noir ou vert foncé (figure 4). Il ne porte aucune tache ou marque sur le haut du corps. Il a une nageoire caudale (queue) distinctement fourchue et une nageoire adipeuse (petite nageoire charnue, caractéristique des salmonidés, entre les nageoires dorsale et caudale).

Selon Scott et Scott (1988), le corégone de l’Atlantique possède de 91 à 100 écailles le long de la ligne latérale, une bouche terminale (mâchoires inférieure et supérieure d’égale longueur) et de petites dents bien développées.

Figure 4. Illustration d’un corégone de l’Atlantique adulte.

Figure 4. Illustration d’un corégone de l’Atlantique adulte.

Bien qu’on n’ait pas étudié la croissance de l’espèce à l’état sauvage, on sait que les spécimens anadromes de la rivière Tusket étaient plus gros que les individus non anadromes de la Petite Rivière. D’après Edge et Gilhen (2001), les adultes peuvent atteindre une longueur de 50 cm (20 po) et un poids de 3,63 kg (8 lb), mais les adultes anadromes mesurent en moyenne 38 cm (15 po), tandis que les adultes confinés aux eaux intérieures mesurent de 20 à 25 cm (8-10 po) (Bradford, 2000).

1.4.2 Noms commun et scientifique

Scott (1967) et Scott et Crossman (1973) ont employé le nom commun corégone de l’Atlantique en raison de la présence régulière de l’espèce dans les eaux salées au large du comté de Yarmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse) et de sa montaison d’automne dans la rivière Tusket (Scott, 1987). Scott (1967) l’a d’abord désigné Coregonus canadensis, mais on s’est rendu compte que ce nom d’espèce était déjà utilisé. En 1987, Scott a donc recommandé le nom Coregonus huntsmani en l’honneur du regretté A.G. Huntsman (Ph.D.), biologiste canadien renommé du milieu marin, qui déjà en 1921, sinon avant, était au courant de la présence d’un corégone inhabituel dans les eaux de la Nouvelle-Écosse (Huntsman, 1922). Par le passé, on nommait aussi l’espèce corégone d’Acadie, corégone du Sault, corégone rond ou corégone commun.

1.4.3 Caractères distinctifs

On peut reconnaître le corégone de l’Atlantique à son apparence externe. On le distingue de la plupart des autres salmonidés par ses écailles plus grandes, mais il faut examiner d’autres caractères pour distinguer le corégone de l’Atlantique du grand corégone, C. clupeaformis, espèce commune dans les lacs de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Ils diffèrent ainsi par le nombre d’écailles sur la ligne latérale (moyenne de 93,8 chez le corégone de l’Atlantique, contre 76,6 chez le grand corégone), le nombre de vertèbres (moyenne de 65,3 chez le corégone de l’Atlantique, contre 60,6 chez le grand corégone), la forme de la bouche (quasi-terminale chez le Corégone de l’Atlantique, subterminale chez le grand corégone) et la taille des dents (petites chez le corégone de l’Atlantique) (Edge et al., 1991; Hasselman, 2003). Sur le plan génétique, le corégone de l’Atlantique diffère du grand corégone et du cisco (Bernatchez et al., 1991; Murray, 2005).

Le Nova Scotia Angler’s Handbook présente chaque année les caractères externes distinctifs du corégone de l’Atlantique et demande au public de signaler aux autorités toute observation possible de l’espèce. Dans le cadre des projets d’intendance de l’habitat dans le secteur de la Petite Rivière, on a produit et distribué un guide et une brochure qui renseignent sur le réseau hydrographique de la Petite Rivière et le corégone de l’Atlantique en voie de disparition.

1.4.4 Cycle vital

Nos connaissances sur le cycle vital du corégone de l’Atlantique sont très limitées, et le peu que nous savons concerne surtout les adultes. 

Population anadrome

Le corégone de l’Atlantique était anadrome, c.-à-d. qu’il migrait à la mer, dans la rivière Tusket (figure 2), et, même s’il n’existe pas de preuve documentée, la Petite Rivière abritait probablement aussi du corégone de l’Atlantique anadrome (figure 3). On sait que les individus de la rivière Tusket occupaient l’estuaire et la mer l’été, retournaient en eau douce au début de l’automne (septembre), effectuaient leur remonte en octobre et en novembre, frayaient probablement à la fin de l’automne ou en hiver, et retournaient à la mer au printemps (Edge et Gilhen, 2001). Des spécimens capturés dans la rivière Tusket en octobre et en novembre avaient les gonades bien développées et n’avaient pas frayé encore, alors que des spécimens pris en mai et en juin les avaient peu développées (Edge et Gilhen, 2001). On ignore les endroits précis où l’ancienne population anadrome de la Tusket frayait, ni les caractéristiques de ces frayères (Bradford et al., 2004a).

L’estomac de corégones de l’Atlantique capturés en milieu marin contenait des crevettes, des amphipodes, du poisson et des vers marins (Edge, 1987).

Population résidente d’eau douce

La population non anadrome occupant les lacs de la Petite Rivière fraie probablement aussi au début de l’hiver. On ignore les endroits précis où ces poissons fraient, ni les caractéristiques des frayères. D’après Murray 2005, les corégones de l’Atlantique peuplant les lacs Minamkeak, Milipsigate et Hebb sont génétiquement identiques. Aucun oeuf ni larve n’a été recueilli dans le milieu. Un seul juvénile a été prélevé au sein d’une concentration de corégones de l’Atlantique de tailles semblables dans le lac Hebb en juin 2000 (Hasselman, 2003). Le manque d’information sur ces stades du cycle vital nous empêche de comprendre la structure des âges et les taux de mortalité de la population.

Les adultes se nourrissent d’un large éventail d’organismes aquatiques. Selon l’analyse de contenus stomacaux, les corégones de l’Atlantiques non anadromes de la Petite Rivière se nourrissent surtout d’insectes aquatiques et de petits poissons, mais pas d’organismes benthiques (Edge et Gilhen, 2001).

Comme mentionné plus haut, il est possible que des individus soient emportés au‑dessus du barrage Hebbville puisque rien ne bloque leur passage vers l’aval. Ces individus se trouvent donc isolés de la population résidente des lacs parce qu’aucun passage vers l’amont ne leur est fourni. De plus, malgré les observations de corégones de l’Atlantique en aval du barrage Hebbville, rien n’indique que ces poissons constituent une population viable (Bradford et al., 2004a).

1.4.5 Besoins en matière d‘habitat

On en sait peu sur les besoins en matière d’habitat du corégone de l’Atlantique. On ignore ses lieux de fraie, d’alevinage et de croissance ainsi que ses préférences à ces égards, et on ne comprend pas ses migrations. On capturait fréquemment des adultes de la population de la Tusket dans l’estuaire. Le corégone de l’Atlantique résident des lacs semble se tenir davantage dans les eaux de surface chaudes que le grand corégone. De récentes études de terrain et de laboratoire indiquent que l’espèce tolère l’eau de mer déjà à un jeune stade (MPO, données non publiées).

1.5 Taille et tendances des populations

Il manque de données pour estimer quantitativement la taille et les tendances des populations de corégones de l’Atlantique des réseaux hydrographiques de la Tusket et de la Petite Rivière, mais on peut faire les commentaires qualitatifs généraux suivants.

1.5.1 Population de la rivière Tusket

Jadis abondante, la population de la rivière Tusket aurait rapidement décliné dans les années 1940 et 1950, sans doute en raison des effets combinés de la construction et de l’exploitation de la centrale hydroélectrique Tusket, du braconnage et de l’acidification de la rivière (Gilhen, 1977; Bradford et al., 2004a). Le déclin s’est poursuivi, et, dans les années 1970, il était exceptionnel pour un pêcheur de gaspareau de capturer un corégone de l’Atlantique. La dernière capture confirmée dans la rivière  Tusket remonte à 1964 (Edge et al., 1991; Bradford et al., 2004a). Aucun individu n’a été observé ou capturé dans le cadre de la surveillance des passes migratoires effectuée depuis 1995 (Bradford et al., 2004a). On croit que cette population a disparu (Edge et Gilhen, 2001; Bradford et al., 2004a).

Dans le réseau de la rivière Annis adjacent, les captures ont également diminué avec le temps, au point où, à la fin des années 1970, moins de dix individus par année étaient capturés dans la pêche au gaspareau (Edge et Gilhen, 2001). Aucune capture de corégone de l’Atlantique n’a été signalée dans la rivière Annis depuis 1982 (Edge et Gilhen, 2001; Bradford et al., 2004a).

1.5.2 Population de la Petite Rivière

Il y a des mentions anecdotiques de la présence du corégone de l’Atlantique dans le réseau de la Petite Rivière qui remontent aux années 1870 (Edge et Gilhen, 2001). On ignore la tendance récente de la population résidente des lacs de la Petite Rivière, car il n’existe aucune estimation de la population. Il y a eu des observations de corégones de l’Atlantique en aval du barrage Hebbville depuis sa construction, mais aucun individu n’a été capturé dans des pêches scientifiques au filet-trappe effectuées à l’automne 1999 et au printemps 2000 (Bradford et al., 2004a). Par conséquent, la présence d’une population anadrome viable de corégones de l’Atlantique en aval du barrage Hebbville est improbable, ou la taille de la population est inférieure au seuil de détection actuellement possible.