Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Atlantic Whitefish

1.6 Threats and Limiting Factors

Modification of the Tusket River and Petite Rivière watersheds through human activities has altered their physical habitat, hydrography and water chemistry. Species abundance has also been affected by past over-harvesting.  Past and present significant threats, limiting factors, and habitat alterations include (in no particular order) (Bradford et al. 2004b; DFO 2004b):

  • construction and operation of hydroelectric dams and water supply impoundments;
  • acidification of habitat resulting from acid rain;
  • land use practices, in particular agriculture and forestry;
  • Historical fishing activities, and;
  • introduction and spread of non-native fish species which may pose competitive or predation risks (e.g., smallmouth bass, chain pickerel).

While the threats faced by Atlantic whitefish in the two watersheds (Tusket and Petite) exhibit common traits, the significance of the threats varies between the two systems (DFO 2004b). In the Tusket, habitat alteration and inadequate fish passage due to hydroelectric dam construction and operation, acidification, chain pickerel and smallmouth bass predation, and over-harvesting are identified as the most significant threats. By contrast, the Petite Rivière is better buffered and thus less affected by acidification; however the construction and operation of water supply facilities and predation by smallmouth bass are identified as the most significant factors threatening the population.

These threats have been recently reviewed during a DFO Regional Advisory Process meeting to evaluate the level of mortality that would not jeopardize the survival or recovery of Atlantic whitefish and to identify the potential sources of human-induced harm. In support of this review, factors potentially resulting in mortality of Atlantic whitefish as a result of human activities were considered (Bradford et al. 2004b). The conclusions of this meeting are summarized in a Status Report (DFO 2004a) and in section 2.7 of this document. The scope for the harm assessment documented in the Status Report (DFO 2004a) was limited to the area of known occupancy (i.e., the three Petite Rivière lakes). 

1.6.1 Hydroelectric Development and Water Supply Impoundment

The construction and operation of hydroelectric dams and water supply impoundments have transformed lake and riverine habitat to reservoir habitat; the resulting fluctuating water level regimes have altered the original habitat and the dams have either blocked or impeded fish passage. A chronology of hydroelectric generation on the Tusket and Petite rivers in relation to fish passage and habitat requirements can be found in Bradford et al. 2004b.

Atlantic whitefish migration in the Tusket River is thought to have been limited by the Tusket River dams and past seasonal closures of the fish ladders (Edge and Gilhen 2001). The fish ladders were closed annually in the fall interrupting or preventing the Atlantic whitefish fall spawning migration. The damming of the Tusket River at Tusket Falls (Figure 2) in 1929 interfered with the migratory movement of the Atlantic whitefish for many years.  Although a fishway, originally constructed of timber, was built in 1930, and rebuilt in 1941 due to decay, the structure was considered unsatisfactory and a new fishway was constructed in 1949.  Additional improvements and changes were made to the fishways at both the Main Diversion Dam (Lake Vaughn) and the Powerhouse Dam (Tusket Falls) in the 1960s and 70s to facilitate downstream passage for diadromous species (e.g., salmon and gaspereau), improve the overall efficiency of the fishways for fish migration, and reduce mortality associated with fish passing through the turbines. In the 1980s and 90s ongoing studies with DFO and other stakeholders on the Tusket River focused on manipulation of operation schedules and maintenance flows to coincide with migratory movements of fish. Changes were mostly associated with attempts to improve upstream and downstream passage for Atlantic salmon and gaspereau. Since 2003 the Powerhouse fish ladder operating period has been extended to the end of December to accommodate any possible remnant Atlantic whitefish spawning migrations.Monitoring devices were also installed in an attempt to confirm the presence or absence of Atlantic whitefish in the Tusket River system. No Atlantic whitefish have been observed migrating through this monitoring device (NSPI 2003), and the species is now considered extirpated from the Tusket River system.  Were Atlantic whitefish re-established on the Tusket River, the existing fishway should be suitable providing operations accommodated its migration times.

In the Petite Rivière system, waterbodies have been impounded and diverted for various reasons since the late 1790s; those in the upper watershed now constitute the Town of Bridgewater water supply. The construction of a hydroelectric dam at the foot of Hebb Lake as early as 1901 effectively blocked any upstream migration of fishes beyond this point.  Dams without fish ladders presently obstruct the Petite Rivière at the outlets of Minamkeak, Milipsigate and Hebb lakes (Figure 3). While it is not known if adult anadromous Atlantic whitefish migrated to these lakes to spawn prior to the existence of the dams, the Hebbville dam now eliminates any likelihood of upstream migration to the lakes, including any individuals attempting to rejoin the population after having fallen over the dam.  Fish passage is also impeded at the former dam site at Conquerall Mills, around an existing dam at Crousetown; and, is impeded or blocked at the dams at Milipsigate and Minamkeak lakes (Figure 3).  A brief description of each barrier to fish passage on the Petite Rivière is provided in Table 1 below.

Table 1: Descriptions of barriers to fish passage in the Petite Rivière (adapted from Conrad 2005).

Dam Description
Crousetown A 2.4 m high timber dam located at a former sawmill site. The dam includes a run-around type of fishway constructed from loose native stone that is considered to be inefficient for fish passage.
ConquerallThe dam at the former Conquerall Mills hydro site was partially dismantled, allowing a 9 m space between the remaining concrete abutments.  The resulting short series of rapids constitutes a 1.2 m drop which may present a small in-stream barrier to Atlantic whitefish passage upstream.
HebbvilleThe Town of Bridgewater water supply storage dam at Hebb Lake consists of a concrete flow-control structure and a long rock and earth fill berm.  This berm is several hundred meters long and ends at a large pond.  The pond is supplied by steady seepage through the berm and is drained by way of a meandering outlet channel and 1.5 m diameter culvert, finally emptying into the main channel of the river about 60 m downstream of the main concrete flow control structure.  Other than the spillway, no fish passage is provided at this dam.
MilipsigateA concrete dam structure operated by the Town of Bridgewater for flow regulation purposes.  Other than the spillway, no fish passage is provided at this dam.
MinamkeakThe uppermost storage dam for the Town of Bridgewater and is used for flow regulation purposes.  Other than the spillway, no fish passage is provided at this concrete dam structure.

1.6.2 Acidification

Acidification may be another limiting factor for Atlantic whitefish. The rivers most affected by acidification in Nova Scotia are in the Southern Upland Region, which include the Petite and Tusket, where a combination of hard-rock geology, inadequately buffered soils and prevailing weather patterns have resulted in severe acidification of the rivers and lakes. The Tusket is more affected by acid rain than the Petite. While research on the effect of low pH on various life stages of Atlantic whitefish is underway, the impacts may be comparable to those of other salmonids. Acid toxicity has been identified as a major factor in low wild salmon abundance in Southern Upland rivers (DFO 2000), for example. Data from Clair et al. (2004) indicate that the Petite Rivière as well as portions of the Tusket River possess sufficient buffering capacity for Atlantic whitefish survival (Bradford et al. 2004b).

1.6.3 Land Use Practices

Land use practices can contribute to aquatic habitat degradation. Sectors such as agriculture, residential development and forestry undertake land-based activities in the Petite and Tusket watersheds.  While there are no studies linking these activities specifically to effects on Atlantic whitefish, it can be inferred that should common activities not be properly mitigated, they could result in effects to fish and fish habitat.

In the upper reaches of the Petite Rivière watershed, agricultural activities have introduced bacterial contaminants and silt into watercourses. The majority of farming in the area occurs in the upper reaches of the natural watershed boundary of the Petite Rivière lakes and accounts for 2.5% of the land in the natural watershed (Kendall and Llewellyn 2001). Although farming in the area is on the decline and lands formerly used for farming are growing over, common farming practices involve raising livestock in small numbers and using manure to fertilize hay fields (Kendall and Llewellyn 2001). No large scale pesticide or herbicide application is known to occur, however concerns were raised by Kendall and Llewellyn (2001) about the application of manure on fields near watercourses, and the practice of watering livestock directly in watercourses.  Manure in waterways is a concern since it can increase bacterial counts and decrease pH levels; however, in the Petite Rivière watershed levels are not thought to pose significant detrimental effect on the water supply (Llewellyn et al. 2000).

With respect to forestry, Sayah (1999, cited by Llewellyn et al. 2000) noted overlaps between clear cut areas and waterbodies within the natural watershed boundary of the Petite Rivière drainage.  Forestryactivities including roads, skidding trails, and clear cuts can cause accelerated soil erosion and siltation that can lead to a reduction in the productivity of the aquatic ecosystem and affect the rate and quantity of water runoff.  All these factors can be harmful to fish habitat and lethal to fish (Birtwell 1999). Clear cutting has not, however, been reported directly surrounding the three lakes where Atlantic whitefish are found (Kendall & Llewellyn 2001).  Under the Nova Scotia Forest Act (1989), there are Wildlife Habitat and Watercourses Protection Regulations which specify various requirements to protect watercourses that fall within forested areas (e.g., leaving buffer zones around watercourses).  It is not known whether Atlantic whitefish have any particular sensitivity that would not accommodate forestry activities when undertaken according to the provincial guidelines and regulations.  Generally, there is no indication of non-compliance in current forestry practices around the three lakes where Atlantic whitefish are currently found.

1.6.4 Historical Fishing Activities

Past harvesting practices, including poaching and incidental captures, may have been a factor in the decline of Atlantic whitefish populations. Atlantic whitefish were reportedly fished in the Tusket system prior to the 1960s and in the Petite Rivière until recently. Captured primarily by gill and dip nets, and occasionally by angling, the fish were used for human consumption, reportedly supporting a minor sport fishery and yielding a good food fish of fine flavour.  They may also have been utilized for other purposes including bait for lobster traps and fertilizer (Scott and Scott 1988 and P. Longue, DFO 2001 personal communication).

Atlantic whitefish were once very abundant in the Tusket and Annis Rivers. Prior to 1940, it was reportedly not uncommon to catch 200 in a net when fishing for gaspereau on the Tusket River (Bradford et al. 2004a). The accumulation of Atlantic whitefish in the upper pools of the Tusket hydro facility fish ladders facilitated poaching in the 1950s. (Gilhen 1977; Scott and Scott 1988).  Similarly, on the Annis River, incidental catches of 50 to 100 individuals during the gaspereau fishery was common as late as 1970.

In the Petite Rivière system, a small angling fishery around Milipsigate and Hebb lakes may have existed as early as 1870s (Edge and Gilhen 2001). Atlantic whitefish were reported as occasional bycatch in the May-June gaspereau fishery in the Petite estuary. There have been no legal directed or bycatch fisheries for the species, since at least 1978. Section 6 of the Maritime Provinces Fishery Regulations which specifically prohibits the retention or possession of Atlantic whitefish came into effect in 1993.

1.6.5 Interactions with Non-native Fish Species

Non-indigenous fish predators threaten Atlantic whitefish. Smallmouth bass (Micropterus dolomieu) and chain pickerel (Esox niger) have been identified as possible threats to Atlantic whitefish (Edge and Gilhen 2001). Smallmouth bass has been introduced into both systems, and chain pickerel are found in the Tusket system. The introduction and increasing range of smallmouth bass in both watersheds is also of concern, in particular the presence of this species in Minamkeak Lake, one of the three upper lakes of the Petite watershed which collectively support the only significant remaining population of Atlantic whitefish. The relationship of these introduced species to Atlantic whitefish is not well understood, but may pose competitive and predation risks (Bradford et al. 2004b).

1.7 Critical Habitat

Critical habitat as defined under section 2 of SARA is the “habitat necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species’ critical habitat in the recovery strategy or in an action plan for the species”.

While the state of knowledge on habitat requirements of Atlantic whitefish is increasing as new scientific evidence becomes available, it is currently not possible to identify critical habitat for this species and thus critical habitat for Atlantic whitefish is not identified in this recovery strategy and will wait to be designated at a later stage in an action plan. As set out in SARA, if information is inadequate to identify critical habitat within the recovery strategy, a schedule of studies must be prepared. Such a schedule, when implemented, will yield new information to enable the species’ critical habitat to be described.

Appendix II includes a list of research and monitoring activities that collectively, constitute a schedule of studies. This schedule of studies describes the activities that are needed to define the critical habitat for this species.  Despite not being able to identify critical habitat for Atlantic whitefish at this time, the following description of the habitat fundamental to the survival of the species may be useful in a future description of its critical habitat.

Atlantic whitefish, known historically to occur in the Tusket and Petite rivers, no longer exist outside of the Petite Rivière drainage.  Life-cycle closure is achieved by fish resident within Hebb, Milipsigate and Minamkeak lakes (Figure 3). Species survival, and ultimately recovery, is therefore wholly contingent on the continued viability of this population whose global area of occupancy is now confined to approximately 16km2 of semi-natural lake habitat.  While there are no indications that current human activities pose a threat to the survival of Atlantic whitefish, or that habitat quality within the lakes is inadequate, there is no scope for a further decline in either the abundance or the distribution of this species and the habitat it occupies (DFO 2004a).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du corégone de l'Atlantique

1.6 Menaces et facteurs limitatifs

Les activités humaines dans les bassins hydrographiques de la rivière Tusket et de la Petite Rivière ont altéré les habitats physiques, l’hydrographie et les caractéristiques chimiques de l’eau. La surpêche pratiquée par le passé a également eu des incidences sur l’abondance de l’espèce. Voici les principaux facteurs limitatifs, menaces et altérations de l’habitat passés et actuels (dans aucun ordre particulier) (Bradford et al., 2004b; MPO, 2004b):

  • construction et exploitation de barrages à des fins de production d’électricité et d’approvisionnement en eau;
  • acidification de l’habitat par les précipitations acides;
  • utilisations des terres, en particulier l’agriculture et la foresterie;
  • activités de pêche du passé;
  • introduction et propagation d’espèces exotiques qui peuvent poser des risques de compétition ou de prédation (p. ex. achigan à petite bouche et brochet maillé).

Bien que les menaces qui pèsent sur le corégone de l’Atlantique dans les deux réseaux hydrographiques (Tusket et Petite Rivière) présentent des similitudes, l’importance des menaces varie entre les deux réseaux (MPO, 2004b). Dans le réseau de la rivière Tusket, les principales menaces sont l’altération de l’habitat, l’entrave au passage du poisson que constituent les barrages hydroélectriques, l’acidification, la prédation par le brochet maillé et l’achigan à petite bouche, ainsi que la surpêche. La Petite Rivière est moins touchée par l’acidification parce que son eau a un plus grand pouvoir tampon; les principaux facteurs qui menacent sa population de corégones de l’Atlantique sont la construction et l’exploitation d’ouvrages d’approvisionnement en eau et la prédation par l’achigan à petite bouche.

Les participants à une réunion récente du processus de consultation régionale du MPO ont examiné ces menaces pour évaluer le niveau de mortalité qui ne compromettrait pas la survie ou le rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique et pour relever les causes anthropiques possibles de dommages. Ainsi, les facteurs liés aux activités humaines qui pourraient entraîner la mortalité de corégones de l’Atlantique ont été étudiés (Bradford et al., 2004b). Les conclusions de la réunion sont résumées dans un rapport sur l’état des stocks (MPO, 2004a) et dans la section 2.7 du présent document. L’évaluation des dommages présentée dans le rapport sur l’état des stocks (MPO, 2004a) s’est limitée à la zone d’occupation connue de l’espèce, soit les trois lacs de la  Petite Rivière. 

1.6.1 Travaux- production hydroélectrique ou d’approvisionnement en eau

La construction et les travaux à des fins de production d’électricité et d’approvisionnement en eau ont transformé des habitats lacustres et fluviaux en habitats de réservoir; les fluctuations des niveaux d’eau qui en résultent ont altéré l’habitat d’origine, et les barrages ont bloqué ou entravé le passage des poissons.  Bradford et al. (2004b) ont établi la chronologie de la construction des aménagements hydroélectriques sur la rivière Tusket et la Petite Rivière en relation avec leurs effets sur le passage des poissons et leurs besoins en matière d’habitat.

On croit que la migration du corégone de l’Atlantique dans la rivière Tusket a été restreinte par les barrages et les fermetures saisonnières passées des passes migratoires (Edge et Gilhen, 2001). En effet, ces passes étaient fermées chaque année à l’automne, ce qui interrompait ou empêchait la migration de fraie du corégone de l’Atlantique. La construction du barrage aux chutes Tusket (figure 2) en 1929 a nui à la migration du corégone de l’Atlantique durant de nombreuses années. Une passe migratoire a été construite, d’abord en bois, en 1930. Sa dégradation a nécessité sa reconstruction en 1941, mais la nouvelle structure n’a pas été jugée satisfaisante, et on a construit une autre passe en 1949. On a apporté d’autres améliorations et changements aux passes migratoires du barrage de dérivation principal (lac Vaughn) et du barrage de la centrale électrique (chutes Tusket) dans les années 1960 et 1970 pour faciliter le passage vers l’aval des espèces diadromes comme le saumon et le gaspareau, améliorer l’efficacité globale des passes pour la migration du poisson et réduire la mortalité causée par le passage de poissons dans les turbines. Durant les années 1980 et 1990, les études menées par le MPO et les parties intéressées à la rivière visaient surtout à adapter les horaires d’exploitation et les débits réservés aux migrations des poissons. On cherchait surtout à améliorer le passage vers l’amont comme vers l’aval du saumon atlantique et du gaspareau. Depuis 2003, la période d’exploitation de l’échelle à poissons à la centrale est prolongée jusqu’à la fin de décembre pour permettre toute remonte de corégones de l’Atlantique qui pourrait subsister. On a aussi installé des dispositifs de surveillance pour confirmer la présence ou l’absence du corégone de l’Atlantique dans le réseau de la Rivière, mais aucun individu n’a ainsi été observé (NSPI, 2003), et on considère maintenant l’espèce comme disparue du réseau de la rivière Tusket. Si le corégone de l’Atlantique réussissait à s’y rétablir, la passe migratoire existante devrait convenir pourvu qu’on la mette en service durant ses migrations.

Dans le réseau de la Petite Rivière, on a harnaché et dérivé des plans d’eau à des fins diverses depuis la fin des années 1790, et ceux situés en amont alimentent la ville de Bridgewater en eau. La construction d’un barrage hydroélectrique à la décharge du lac Hebb Lake en 1901 a bloqué toute remonte de poisson. Il y a actuellement des barrages sans passe migratoire aux décharges des lacs Minamkeak, Milipsigate et Hebb (Figure 3). Bien qu’on ignore si du corégone de l’Atlantique anadrome adulte migrait vers ces lacs pour frayer avant la construction des barrages, le barrage Hebbville élimine maintenant toute possibilité de remonte jusqu’aux lacs, notamment pour les individus de la population non anadrome qui tenteraient de rejoindre la population après avoir été emportés au‑dessus du barrage. De plus, le passage du poisson est entravé au site de l’ancien barrage de Conquerall Mills et à un barrage existant à Crousetown et est également entravé ou bloqué aux barrages des lacs Milipsigate et Minamkeak (figure 3). Le tableau 1 ci-dessous décrit brièvement chaque obstacle au passage du poisson sur la Petite Rivière.

Tableau 1. Description des obstacles au passage du poisson dans la Petite Rivière (adapté de Conrad, 2005)

Barrage Description
Crousetown Barrage en bois de 2,4 m situé au site d’une ancienne scierie. Il y a une passe migratoire construite de pierres locales non consolidées, laquelle est jugée inefficace pour assurer le passage du poisson. 
ConquerallLe barrage de l’ancien site hydroélectrique de Conquerall Mills a été partiellement démonté, laissant un espace de 9 m entre les culées de bétons restantes. Cela crée une courte série de rapides sur un dénivelé de 1,2 m qui pourrait présenter un petit obstacle à la remonte du corégone de l’Atlantique.
HebbvilleLe barrage du lac Hebb qui sert à approvisionner la ville de Bridgewater en eau consiste en une structure de régularisation du débit en béton et une digue de roches et de terre qui s’étend plusieurs centaines de mètres jusqu’à un grand étang. L’étang est alimenté par l’infiltration constante à travers la digue et son eau se déverse dans un chenal sinueux et un ponceau de 1,5 m de diamètre avant de rejoindre le chenal principal de la rivière environ 60 m en aval de la principale structure de régulation du débit. Ce site n’offre aucun autre passage pour le poisson que la passe migratoire.
MilipsigateLa ville de Bridgewater exploite ce barrage de béton à des fins de régularisation du débit.  Ce site n’offre aucun autre passage pour le poisson que la passe migratoire.
MinamkeakCe barrage de retenue en béton est celui situé le plus en amont dont se sert la ville de Bridgewater à des fins de régularisation du débit.  Ce site n’offre aucun autre passage pour le poisson que la passe migratoire.

1.6.2 Acidification

L’acidification pourrait être un autre facteur limitatif pour le corégone de l’Atlantique. La rivière Tusket et la Petite Rivière se trouvent dans la région de la Nouvelle-Écosse la plus touchée par l’acidification, soit la régiondes hautes-terres du Sud, qui y est vulnérable en raison des caractéristiques de la roche-mère, des sols peu tamponnés et des conditions météorologiques dominantes. La rivière Tusket souffre davantage des précipitations acides que la Petite Rivière. On étudie actuellement les effets d’un faible pH sur les divers stades du corégone de l’Atlantique, mais on présume qu’ils sont comparables à ceux sur d’autres salmonidés. Par exemple, le MPO (2000) a déterminé que la toxicité due à l’acidité est un facteur important qui explique la faible abondance du saumon sauvage dans les eaux des hautes‑terres du Sud de la Nouvelle‑Écosse (MPO, 2000). Selon les données de Clair et al. (2004), le pouvoir tampon des eaux de la Petite Rivière et de certaines parties de la rivière Tusket est suffisant pour la survie du corégone de l’Atlantique (Bradford et al., 2004b).

1.6.3 Utilisations des terres

Les habitudes d’utilisation des terres peuvent contribuer à la dégradation de l’habitat aquatique. Les secteurs agricole, résidentiel et forestier notamment mènent des activités terrestres dans les bassins hydrographiques de la Petite Rivière et de la rivière Tusket. Bien qu’aucune étude n’associe ces activités de façon précise à des incidences sur le corégone de l’Atlantique, on peut présumer que bien des activités courantes peuvent avoir des incidences sur le poisson et son habitat si l’on ne les atténue pas convenablement.

Dans la partie supérieure du bassin hydrographique de la Petite Rivière, les activités agricoles ont entraîné la contamination bactérienne et l’envasement de cours d’eau. En effet, dans la région, l’agriculture est pratiquée surtout dans la partie supérieure du bassin versant naturel des lacs de la Petite Rivière, laquelle constitue 2,5 % de la superficie du bassin hydrographique naturel de la rivière (Kendall et Llewellyn, 2001). Même si l’agriculture connaît un déclin dans la région et que des champs autrefois cultivés retournent en friche, elle consiste beaucoup en de petits élevages de bétail, dont on épand le fumier sur des champs de foin (Kendall et Llewellyn, 2001). On ne connaît aucune application de pesticide ou d’herbicide à grande échelle dans la région, mais Kendall et Llewellyn (2001) ont soulevé des préoccupations concernant l’épandage de fumier sur les champs à proximité des cours d’eau et l’abreuvement du bétail dans les cours d’eau. Le fumier dans le milieu aquatique est un problème parce qu’il peut accroître l’abondance des bactéries et réduire le pH, mais on croit que la contamination par le fumier dans le bassin hydrographique de la Petite Rivière est à un niveau qui nuit peu à la qualité de l’approvisionnement en eau (Llewellyn et al., 2000).

En ce qui concerne l’exploitation forestière, Sayah (1999, cité par Llewellyn et al., 2000) a remarqué que des coupes à blanc chevauchaient des plans d’eau dans le bassin hydrographique naturel de la Petite Rivière. Les activités d’exploitation forestière, notamment la construction de chemins et de pistes de débusquage et la coupe à blanc, accélèrent souvent l’érosion du sol et l’envasement de plans d’eau, ce qui peut réduire la productivité de l’écosystème aquatique et altérer l’écoulement de l’eau (en vitesse et en quantité). Tous ces facteurs peuvent endommager l’habitat du poisson ou tuer le poisson (Birtwell, 1999). On n’a cependant pas signalé de coupe à blanc dans les environs immédiats des trois lacs abritant le corégone de l’Atlantique (Kendall et Llewellyn, 2001). Le Wildlife Habitat and Watercourses Protection Regulations (règlement sur la protection des habitats fauniques et des cours d'eau), pris en vertu de la Nova Scotia Forest Act (1989) impose diverses exigences visant à protéger les cours d’eau en milieu forestier (p. ex. zones tampons le long des cours d’eau). On ignore si le corégone de l’Atlantique a une vulnérabilité particulière à l’exploitation forestière faite selon les normes et les règlements provinciaux, mais en général rien n’indique que l’exploitation forestière actuelle autour des trois lacs abritant le corégone de l’Atlantique ne se conforme pas à ces prescriptions. 

1.6.4 Activités historiques de pêche

Les pratiques de pêche du passé, y compris le braconnage et la capture accidentelle, pourraient avoir été un facteur du déclin des populations de corégones de l’Atlantique. On aurait pêché le corégone de l’Atlantique dans le réseau hydrographique de la rivière Tusket avant les années 1960 et dans la Petite Rivière jusqu’à récemment. Il était capturé pour consommation humaine, surtout au filet maillant ou à l’épuisette et parfois à la ligne. Poisson savoureux, le corégone de l’Atlantique soutenait une petite pêche sportive, dit-on. Les captures servaient aussi peut-être à appâter les casiers à homards et à fertiliser des champs (Scott et Scott, 1988; P. Longue, MPO, 2001, communication personnelle).

Le corégone de l’Atlantique était jadis très abondant dans les rivières Tusket et Annis. On rapporte qu’avant 1940, il n’était pas rare d’en capturer 200 dans un filet lors de la pêche au gaspareau dans la rivière Tusket (Bradford et al., 2004a). L’accumulation de corégones de l’Atlantique dans les bassins amont de la passe migratoire du barrage hydroélectrique de la rivière Tusket facilitait le braconnage dans les années 1950 (Gilhen, 1977; Scott et Scott, 1988). Dans la rivière Annis aussi, la capture accidentelle de 50 à 100 individus était courante dans la pêche au gaspareau jusqu’en 1970.

Dans le réseau de la Petite Rivière, une petite pêche à la ligne se pratiquait peut-être déjà dans les années 1870 dans le secteur des lacs Milipsigate et Hebb (Edge et Gilhen, 2001). Le corégone de l’Atlantique était parfois capturé de façon accessoire dans la pêche gaspareau qui se pratiquait en mai et en juin dans l’estuaire de la Petite Rivière. Il n’existe plus de pêche dirigée ou accessoire légale de l’espèce depuis au moins 1978. L’article 6 du Règlement de pêche des provinces maritimes qui interdit expressément de prendre et de garder ou d’avoir en sa possession un corégone de l’Atlantique est entré en vigueur en 1993.

1.6.5 Espèces de poissons exotiques

Des poissons prédateurs non indigènes posent une menace pour le corégone de l’Atlantique. Selon Edge et Gilhen (2001), l’achigan à petite bouche (Micropterus dolomieu) et le brochet maillé (Esox niger) pourraient menacer le corégone de l’Atlantique. L’achigan à petite bouche a été introduit dans les deux réseaux hydrographiques, et le brochet maillé est présent dans le réseau de la Tusket. L’expansion de l’aire de répartition de l’achigan à petite bouche dans les deux réseaux est préoccupante, en particulier sa présence dans le lac Minamkeak, un des trois lacs de la partie amont de la Petite Rivière qui abritent la seule population importante de corégones de l’Atlantique qui persiste. On ne comprend pas bien la relation de ces espèces introduites avec le corégone de l’Atlantique, mais elles pourraient poser des risques de compétition et de prédation  (Bradford et al., 2004b).

1.7 Habitat essentiel[1]

L’article 2 de la LEP définit l’habitat essentiel comme « l’habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d’une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d’action élaboré à l’égard de l’espèce ».

Bien que nos connaissances sur les besoins du corégone de l’Atlantique en matière d’habitat augmentent à mesure que l’on obtient de nouvelles données scientifiques, il n’est actuellement pas possible de déterminer l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce. C’est pourquoi on n’a pas désigné l’habitat essentiel du corégone de l’Atlantique dans ce programme de rétablissement, mais il faudra le faire à une étape ultérieure dans un plan d’action. Comme le prévoit la LEP, si l’information accessible est insuffisante pour désigner l’habitat essentiel dans le programme de rétablissement, il faut établir un calendrier des études qui fourniront de nouvelles données permettant de décrire  l’habitat essentiel  de l’espèce.

L’annexe II présente une liste d’activités de recherche et de surveillance constituant un calendrier d’études visant à définir l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce. Même si l’on ne peut actuellement désigner l’habitat essentiel du corégone de l’Atlantique, la description suivante de l’habitat nécessaire pour la survie de l’espèce pourrait être utile dans une  future description de son habitat essentiel.

Jadis présent dans la rivière Tusket et la Petite Rivière, le corégone de l’Atlantique n’existe plus que dans le réseau hydrographique de la Petite Rivière. La population résidente des lacs Hebb, Milipsigate et Minamkeak (figure 3) parvient à boucler son cycle vital. La survie et le rétablissement de l’espèce dépendent donc entièrement du maintien de la viabilité de cette population qui n’occupe plus qu’environ 16 km2 d’habitat lacustre semi-naturel. Même si rien n’indique que les activités humaines actuelles menacent la survie du corégone de l’Atlantique ou que la qualité de l’habitat est insuffisante, l’espèce ne peut souffrir d’autre déclin de son abondance, de sa répartition ou de son habitat  (MPO, 2004a).



[1]Selon la LEP, le programme de rétablissement doit comprendre « la désignation de l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce dans la mesure du possible, en se fondant sur la meilleure information accessible, notamment les informations fournies par le COSEPAC » [LEP, par. 41(c)].