Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Atlantic Whitefish

1. Recovery

 For Atlantic whitefish, survival and recovery have specific meanings that are clearly defined as follows:

Survival is ensuring that Atlantic whitefish continue to exist in the wild in Nova Scotia.  This includes continued existence within their current known habitat, but also elsewhere in established populations.  Additional populations are required for survival purposes to reduce the risk of extinction should some accidental or random event result in the extirpation of the existing population in the Petite Rivière Lakes.

Recovery requires enabling anadromy, and range extension outside the Petite Rivière lakes.  Recovery also inherently requires that survival is achieved. Options for achieving anadromy include the repatriation of the anadromous run to the Tusket River, the promotion of anadromy on the Petite Rivière, or the promotion of anadromy elsewhere.  Range extension also requires additional freshwater resident populations.

1.1 Recovery Feasibility

The recovery of Atlantic whitefish is both biologically and technically feasible. 

1.1.1 Biological Feasibility

The underlying basis for their decline in geographic range, and the concurrent loss of anadromy of the Atlantic whitefish was most likely past human interference, particularly with migration. For the past 20 years, federal fisheries regulations have prohibited fishing of Atlantic whitefish, however before this, there was minimal protection aimed specifically at this species.  Despite these factors, the species has survived.  Atlantic whitefish are therefore likely to respond positively to recovery efforts aimed at mitigating and correcting past human interference, including fish passage improvements to encourage anadromy, and recent fisheries regulations that provide added protection for this species. 

The Recovery Team has confidence that the Atlantic whitefish is biologically capable of survival in areas beyond its current range including estuarine and marine habitats. Atlantic whitefish can adapt to new freshwater and marine environments: they naturally colonized Minamkeak Lake and there is historical evidence of their presence in estuaries.  This, along with recent field and laboratory research that indicates the species can tolerate full sea water from an early stage of development (DFO unpublished data), supports that restoration of anadromy is feasible.  Atlantic whitefish can tolerate capture and removal from the wild, and transportation to facilities where they survive for several years in captivity.  Atlantic whitefish can also be cultured.  This species is expected to respond relatively rapidly to recovery actions given that their approximate age at first maturity is 3 years.

The biological feasibility of Atlantic whitefish recovery also depends upon their continued survival within their current environment.  The Petite Rivière drainage is naturally buffered from acid rain, and the lakes receive added protection as a municipal water supply.  Water quality is not considered to pose either a current or future threat to the survival of Atlantic whitefish in the Petite Rivière, provided current water management practices continue.

1.1.2 Technical Feasibility

Recovery of the species requires stability in the current population (i.e., survival), reestablishment of the anadromous form, and expansion beyond the current range. To achieve these aspects of recovery, it must be technically feasible to move Atlantic whitefish from one area to another, and to grow and reproduce the species in captivity.  Wild Atlantic whitefish have been successfully moved into captive breeding facilities indicating that moving the species into areas beyond its current range is technically possible.  The facilities and expertise also exist to grow Atlantic whitefish in captivity.  Captive breeding techniques have been developed at the Mersey Biodiversity Facility that allows the species to be spawned and reared in abundance in captivity.  It is also possible to effectively mimic the spawning practice in the wild by reconditioning wild-caught fish to spawn more than once. 

Recovery is also technically feasible because the known human induced threats that impact Atlantic whitefish have the potential to be mitigated (e.g., see Allowable Activities section 2.7).  These activities are also subject to regulation by federal, provincial and municipal governments.  For example, more recent federal fisheries regulations offer added protection to Atlantic whitefish by providing greater flexibility to adjust seasons and gear types in fisheries directed at other species.  This flexibility will benefit Atlantic whitefish by reducing their vulnerability to incidental catch and it is expected they will respond well to this added protection.

A support network to implement and adhere to recovery measures is also required for recovery to be technically feasible. Local non-government organizations and community groups, industries that operate in Atlantic whitefish habitat, as well as provincial and municipal governments support the recovery of Atlantic whitefish and are members of the Recovery Team.  The Atlantic whitefish is also listed as an endangered species under the Nova Scotia Endangered Species Act. This listing should facilitate the implementation of recovery actions between federal and provincial governments.

As mentioned above with respect to the biological feasibility of recovery, the remaining population of Atlantic whitefish may have survived due to the refuge provided by the dams on the Petite Rivière. There are some concerns that restoring open migration routes on this system could actually pose a risk to recovery.  The Recovery Team maintains that restoring free access to the ocean on the Petite Rivière is key to promoting anadromy which is a positive outcome both within the context of survival and recovery.  Although a precautionary approach to providing fish passage is required, this approach is technically feasible.  Implementation of fish passage would have to include controls to exclude undesirable species (e.g., non-native fish), security to prevent poaching, and monitoring facilities to study and respond to the movements of Atlantic whitefish, and the abundance, movements and ecological effects of the other species in this system.    

 1.2 Recovery Goal

The goal of the Atlantic whitefish recovery strategy is to: Achieve stability in the current population of Atlantic whitefish in Nova Scotia, reestablishment of the anadromous form, and expansion beyond its current range.

 1.3 Recovery Objectives

 Creating and maintaining the necessary conditions to achieve a viable population of Atlantic whitefish in Nova Scotia will be accomplished by implementing the following prioritized recovery objectives:

Objective 1: Conserve, protect and manage the species and its habitat.

Objective 2: Increase the number and range of viable populations.

Objective 3: Increase understanding of the species and its habitat.

Objective 4: Increase public involvement and acceptance.

Following each objective is a set of non-prioritized strategies that, when implemented, will contribute to the fulfillment of their corresponding objective. These strategies are designed to provide sufficient detail to facilitate the application of SARA, and to assist the next step of recovery planning, which is the development of recovery action plans.

The four recovery objectives and their respective strategies are as follows:

Objective 1: Conserve, protect and manage the species and its habitat.

Rationale:  The Atlantic whitefish in the Petite Rivière system are all that remains of this species in the wild.  The survival of this species depends on the protection of remaining wild fish, and the habitat that they occupy (i.e., three semi-natural lakes in the Petite Rivière watershed).  Conservation, protection and management of the species and its habitat will also be required in any range extension to ensure the species survival and progress towards recovery.

Strategies:

  1. Address emergent threats to survival.
    • initiate contingency planning to deal effectively with these threats, and;
    • develop and implement mitigation measures to reduce, control or eliminate emergent threats (e.g., measures to control invasion of non-indigenous species).
  2. Develop and implement mitigation measures to minimize human-induced harm to the species and its habitat.
  3. Ensure regulatory compliance.
    • enforcement of regulations to protect whitefish and their habitat;
    • report instances of non compliance, and;
    • assess adequacy of enforcement (i.e., are regulations being adequately applied to protect whitefish and their habitat, and adjust as appropriate).
  4. Develop and implement watershed and site specific habitat quality management and protection.

Objective 2: Increase the number and range of viable populations

 Rationale: In the wild, Atlantic whitefish currently exist only in the Petite Rivière.  Recovery of this species must entail more than simply the survival of what remains in the Petite Rivière.  The recovery of this species requires enabling anadromy, and range extension outside the Petite Rivière lakes.  Recovery also inherently requires that survival is achieved. Options for achieving anadromy include the repatriation of the anadromous run to the Tusket River, promotion of anadromy on the Petite Rivière, or promotion of anadromy elsewhere.  Range extension also requires additional freshwater resident populations. Any change in their current habitat could seriously threaten the survival of Atlantic whitefish (e.g., random event, accidental spill, etc.); therefore, the survival of this species also depends on the establishment of viable populations in locations beyond its current range.

Strategies:

  1. a)    Work toward establishing viable anadromous runs.  Assess the feasibility of the following options.
    • repatriation of an anadromous run to the Tusket system, and;
    • establishment of anadromous populations elsewhere including the Petite Rivière.
  2. b)    Maintain the infrastructure and expertise to support captive rearing and re-introduction.
  3. c)     Develop a decision support tool to direct fish releases into available and appropriate habitat (balance biological and socio-economic considerations).
  4. d)    Plan and execute fish releases in selected watersheds and/or lakes (select donor stock - transplanted wild fish vs. captive reared) in accordance with Introduction and Transfer Guidelines.

e)    Plan and support habitat conservation, protection, and possibly restoration in areas selected for releases.  In areas with sea access, this will involve protection and management measures from the location of release, and into estuarine and coastal areas.

Objective 3: Increase understanding of the species and its habitat. 

Rationale: The current state of knowledge about the basic biology and ecology of Atlantic whitefish and its habitat requirements is limited.  Pressing research concerns include the lack of a quantitative population estimate for this species, the potential impacts of introduced species on the remaining wild population of Atlantic whitefish, and the paucity of basic information on habitat use and preferences by life stage.  More understanding is required to support survival and recovery efforts, threat assessments, and the application of the SARA prohibitions that protect the species and its habitat (including any potential residence and/or critical habitat identified). 

Strategies:

  1. Implement scheduled quantitative assessments of species status (information is required to assess threats, manage broodstock, evaluate effectiveness of actions).
  2. Develop and undertake research programs to identify habitat requirements (freshwater, estuarine and coastal), including studies to define critical habitat (see section 1.7), and to determine if the residence concept applies to Atlantic whitefish.
  3. Continue research to address knowledge gaps including, but not limited to, genetics, health (including disease and parasites), nutrition, life cycle history, behavior, and physiology.
  4. Assess the degree of risk posed by current and emergent threats.

Objective 4: Increase public involvement and acceptance.

Rationale:  Unlike many other endangered species, the Atlantic whitefish does not currently have a high level of charismatic appeal, and is not particularly well known among the general public.  Increasing the level of stakeholder concern and sense of responsibility for the survival and recovery of this species is critical to ensuring the success of recovery efforts.  This will be a particular challenge when considering the repatriation or introduction of this endangered species into water bodies. Communication and education are important tools for promoting recovery efforts with both stakeholders and the general public.

Strategies:

  1. Develop a general communications plan.
  2. Develop a strategy to encourage public support for survival and recovery actions.
  3. Encourage stewardship initiatives aimed at conserving, protecting and managing the species and its habitat.  Involve local groups to the extent possible (e.g., Aboriginal, recreational and commercial fishers, shoreline property owners, volunteer-based and non-government organizations, industry, the community at large) that have interest in the aquatic resources in the watersheds and estuaries.
  4. Promote Recovery Team meetings as opportunity for communication and collaborations among all team members.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du corégone de l'Atlantique

1. Rétablissement

Dans le cas du corégone de l’Atlantique, la survie et le rétablissement prennent les significations précises suivantes.

La survie consiste à maintenir l’existence du corégone de l’Atlantique à l’état sauvage en Nouvelle-Écosse, non seulement dans son habitat actuel connu, mais aussi ailleurs en populations établies. En effet, d’autres populations sont nécessaires à la survie de l’espèce afin de réduire le risque d’extinction au cas où une catastrophe anéantirait la population des lacs de la Petite Rivière.

Le rétablissement consiste à rétablir la forme anadrome de l’espèce et à étendre son aire de répartition hors des lacs de la Petite Rivière. Le rétablissement implique nécessairement la survie. Voici des options pour rétablir le caractère anadrome de l’espèce : rétablir la remonte anadrome qui existait dans la rivière Tusket, favoriser les migrations anadromes dans la Petite Rivière ou ailleurs. L’expansion de l’aire nécessitera d’autres populations résidentes d’eau douce.

1.1 Faisabilité du rétablissement[1]

Le rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique est réalisable tant sur le plan biologique que sur le plan technique.

1.1.1 Faisabilité biologique

La cause fondamentale de la réduction de l’aire de répartition et de la perte de la forme anadrome du corégone de l’Atlantique a sans doute été les perturbations anthropiques passées, particulièrement celles qui ont touché la migration. Les autorités fédérales interdisent la pêche au corégone de l’Atlantique depuis 20 ans, mais auparavant cette espèce n’était visée par aucune mesure de protection particulière. L’espèce a survécu malgré tout, et elle est donc susceptible de réagir favorablement à des mesures de rétablissement consistant à atténuer ou à corriger les perturbations anthropiques du passé (notamment en améliorant le passage du poisson pour encourager la migration anadrome) et aux récentes dispositions réglementaires qui la protègent davantage. 

L’équipe de rétablissement a confiance que le corégone de l’Atlantique est biologiquement capable de survivre hors de son aire actuelle, y compris dans des habitats estuariens et marins. Le corégone de l’Atlantique peut s’adapter à de nouveaux milieux dulcicoles et marins : il a colonisé naturellement le lac Minamkeak et on sait qu’il fréquentait jadis des estuaires. Ce dernier fait et les récentes études de terrain et de laboratoire qui montrent que l’espèce tolère l’eau de mer déjà à un jeune stade (MPO, données non publiées) appuient la faisabilité du rétablissement de la forme anadrome. Le corégone de l’Atlantique tolère la capture et survit plusieurs années en captivité : on peut donc en faire l’élevage. Comme il atteint la maturité vers trois ans, on s’attend à ce qu’il réagisse assez rapidement aux mesures de rétablissement. 

La faisabilité biologique du rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique dépend aussi de sa survie dans le milieu qu’il occupe actuellement. Le bassin versant de la Petite Rivière est naturellement tamponné contre les précipitations acides, et les lacs jouissent d’une protection supplémentaire à titre de réserves d’eau municipale. On estime que la qualité de l’eau ne menace pas, ni ne menacera, la survie du corégone de l’Atlantique dans la Petite Rivière, pourvu que l’on maintienne les pratiques actuelles de gestion de l’eau.

1.1.2 Faisabilité technique

Le rétablissement de l’espèce nécessite la stabilité de la population existante (c.-à-d. sa survie), le rétablissement de la forme anadrome et l’expansion hors de l’aire de répartition actuelle. Pour réaliser ces aspects du rétablissement, il faut que cela soit techniquement faisable de déplacer des corégones de l’Atlantique d’un endroit à un autre et d’en élever et de les faire se reproduire en captivité. Comme on a réussi à garder en captivité des individus sauvages, il devrait être techniquement possible d’en déplacer hors de leur aire actuelle. Le centre de biodiversité Mersey a mis au point des techniques de reproduction en captivité qui permettent la fraie et l’élevage de grands nombres d’individus. Il est aussi possible, en imitant les pratiques de fraie à l’état sauvage, de reconditionner les poissons capturés en milieu naturel pour qu’ils fraient plus d’une fois.

Le rétablissement est aussi réalisable sur le plan technique parce qu’il est possible d’atténuer les impacts anthropiques sur le corégone de l’Atlantique (p. ex. voir la section 2.7, Activités admissibles). Les administrations fédérale, provinciale et municipales peuvent réglementer ces activités. Par exemple, de nouvelles dispositions  réglementaires fédérales assurent une protection supplémentaire du corégone de l’Atlantique en permettant de modifier les saisons et les types d’engins des pêches visant d’autres espèces, de façon à réduire la vulnérabilité du corégone de l’Atlantique à la capture accidentelle. On s’attend à que l’espèce réagisse bien à cette protection accrue.

La faisabilité technique du rétablissement nécessite aussi un réseau de soutien pour appliquer et respecter les mesures de rétablissement. Des organismes non gouvernementaux locaux, des groupes communautaires, des industries qui mènent des activités dans l’habitat du corégone de l’Atlantique ainsi que les administrations provinciale et municipales concernées appuient le rétablissement de l’espèce et sont membres de l’Équipe de rétablissement. Le corégone de l’Atlantique est aussi désigné espèce en voie de disparition en vertu de l'Endangered Species Act de la Nouvelle-Écosse, ce qui devrait faciliter la mise en œuvre de mesures de rétablissement par les gouvernements fédéral et provincial.

Comme mentionné plus haut concernant la faisabilité biologique du rétablissement, la population existante de corégones de l’Atlantique pourrait avoir survécu en raison du refuge offert par les barrages sur la Petite Rivière. Certains craignent que la réouverture des voies de migration dans ce réseau hydrographique puisse en fait poser un risque pour le rétablissement de l’espèce. L’Équipe de rétablissement soutient que le rétablissement du libre accès vers la mer sur la Petite Rivière est essentiel à la migration anadrome, qui serait un résultat positif dans le contexte de la survie et du rétablissement. Bien qu’il faille assurer le passage du poisson selon une approche de précaution, cette approche est réalisable sur le plan technique. Le rétablissement du passage du poisson devrait comprendre des mesures d’exclusion des espèces indésirables (p. ex. poissons non indigènes), des mesures de sécurité pour prévenir le braconnage et des installations de surveillance pour étudier les déplacements du corégone de l’Atlantique, ainsi que l’abondance, les déplacements et les effets écologiques des autres espèces, et y réagir au besoin.

 1.2 But du rétablissement

Voici le but du programme de rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique : stabiliser la population actuelle de corégones de l’Atlantique en Nouvelle-Écosse, rétablir la forme anadrome de l’espèce et élargir son aire de répartition.

 1.3 Objectifs de rétablissement[2]

On créera et maintiendra les conditions nécessaires à une population viable de corégones de l’Atlantique en Nouvelle-Écosse en mettant en oeuvre les objectifs de rétablissement suivants, classés par ordre de priorité :

Objectif 1 : conserver, protéger et gérer l’espèce et son habitat.

Objectif 2 : accroître le nombre de populations viables et élargir leur aire de répartition.

Objectif 3 : améliorer les connaissances sur l’espèce et son habitat.

Objectif 4 : accroître la participation et l’acceptation du public.

Chaque objectif comprend une série de stratégies, non classées par ordre de priorité, dont la mise en oeuvre aidera à réaliser l’objectif correspondant. Ces stratégies sont suffisamment détaillées pour faciliter l’application de la LEP et l’étape suivante de planification du rétablissement, soit l’élaboration de plans d’action.

Voici les quatre objectifs de rétablissement et leurs stratégies connexes :

Objectif 1 :conserver, protéger et gérer l’espèce et son habitat.

Motifs : La population de corégones de l’Atlantique de la Petite Rivière est tout ce qui reste de cette espèce à l’état sauvage. La survie de l’espèce dépend de la protection des individus sauvages qui restent et de l’habitat qu’ils occupent (c.-à-d. les trois lacs semi-naturels dans le réseau hydrographique de la Petite Rivière). La conservation, la protection et la gestion de l’espèce et de son habitat seront aussi nécessaires à toute expansion de l’aire de répartition, afin d’assurer la survie et le rétablissement de l’espèce.

Stratégies  

  1. S’attaquer aux nouvelles menaces à la survie.
    • élaborer des plans d’urgence pour contrer efficacement ces menaces;
    • élaborer et appliquer des mesures d’atténuation pour réduire, limiter ou éliminer les nouvelles menaces (p. ex. invasion d’une espèce exotique).
  2. Élaborer et appliquer des mesures d’atténuation pour réduire au minimum les dommages causés par les activités humaines à l’espèce et à son habitat.
  3. Veiller au respect de la réglementation.
    • appliquer les règlements visant à protéger le corégone et son habitat;
    • signaler les cas de non-conformité;
    • évaluer l’application des règlements (protège-t-elle vraiment le corégone et son habitat?), et la corriger au besoin.
  4. Élaborer et appliquer des mesures de gestion et de protection de l’habitat propres au réseau hydrographique et au site.

Objectif 2: accroître le nombre de populations viables et élargir leur aire de répartition.

 Motifs : Le corégone de l’Atlantique n’existe plus à l’état sauvage que dans la Petite Rivière. Le rétablissement de l’espèce ne peut se limiter à la seule survie de la population qui persiste dans la Petite Rivière, mais doit comprendre le rétablissement de sa forme anadrome et l’expansion de l’aire de répartition hors des lacs de la Petite Rivière. Le rétablissement de l’espèce implique nécessairement sa survie. Voici des options pour rétablir la forme anadrome de l’espèce : rétablir la remonte anadrome qui existait dans la rivière Tusket, favoriser les migrations anadromes dans la Petite Rivière ou les favoriser ailleurs. L’expansion de l’aire nécessitera d’autres populations résidentes d’eau douce. Comme toute modification de son habitat actuel pourrait gravement menacer la survie du corégone de l’Atlantique (p. ex. phénomène aléatoire ou déversement accidentel), sa survie dépend de l’établissement de populations viables hors de son aire d’occupation actuelle.

Stratégies

  1. Viser l’établissement de remontes anadromes viables. Évaluer la faisabilité des options suivantes.
    • rétablissement de la remonte anadrome dans le réseau de la Tusket;
    • établissement de populations anadromes ailleurs, y compris dans d’autres parties de la Petite Rivière.
  2. Maintenir les infrastructures et l’expertise en matière d’élevage en captivité et de réintroduction de l’espèce.
  3. Créer un outil d’aide à la décision pour déterminer les habitats propices à l’ensemencement de l’espèce (en conciliant les facteurs biologiques et socioéconomiques).
  4. Planifier et réaliser les ensemencements dans des cours d’eau ou des lacs choisis (choisir le stock à ensemencer : poissons sauvages transplantés ou poissons élevés en captivité) selon les normes d’introduction et de transfert d’espèces.
  5. Planifier et soutenir des mesures de conservation, de protection et éventuellement de restauration de l’habitat dans les secteurs d’ensemencement.  Là où les poissons auront accès à la mer, il faudra appliquer des mesures de protection et de gestion depuis le secteur d’ensemencement jusqu’aux milieux estuariens et côtiers en aval. 

Objectif 3: accroître les connaissances sur l’espèce et son habitat. 

Motifs : Nos connaissances sur la biologie et l’écologie de base du corégone de l’Atlantique et sur ses besoins en matière d’habitat sont limitées. ll nous faut rapidement obtenir une estimation quantitative de la population et des données de base sur son utilisation de l’habitat et ses préférences à cet égard à ses différents stades de vie, ainsi que déterminer les incidences possibles d’espèces introduites sur la population sauvage qui persiste. Il faut aussi accroître nos connaissances pour soutenir les mesures de survie et de rétablissement, l’évaluation des menaces et l’application des interdictions prévues par la LEP pour protéger l’espèce et son habitat (y compris tout habitat essentiel ou résidence éventuellement désigné). 

Stratégies

  1. Réaliser, selon un échéancier préétabli, des évaluations quantitatives de la situation de l’espèce (il faut obtenir des données pour évaluer les menaces, gérer les stocks de géniteurs et évaluer l’efficacité des mesures prises).
  2. Élaborer et réaliser des programmes de recherche visant à déterminer les besoins de l’espèce en matière d’habitat (milieux dulcicole, estuarien et marin), notamment des études pour définir son habitat essentiel (voir la section 1.7) et pour déterminer si la notion de résidence s’applique au corégone de l’Atlantique.
  3. Poursuivre les recherches visant à combler les lacunes dans nos connaissances, notamment sur la génétique, la santé (y compris les maladies et les parasites), la nutrition, le cycle vital, le comportement et la physiologie de l’espèce.
  4. Évaluer le degré de risque posé par les menaces actuelles et nouvelles.

Objectif 4 : accroître la participation et l’acceptation du public.

Motifs : Contrairement à bien d’autres espèces en voie de disparition, le corégone de l’Atlantique n’est actuellement pas une espèce qui suscite beaucoup d’intérêt et qui est bien connue du grand public. Pour assurer le succès des efforts de rétablissement, il est essentiel d’accroître l’intérêt et le sens des responsabilités des parties intéressées à l’égard de la survie et du rétablissement de l’espèce. Cela pourrait être particulièrement difficile lorsqu’il faudra décider de sa réintroduction ou de son introduction dans des plans d’eau. La communication et l’éducation sont d’importants outils de promotion des mesures de rétablissement auprès des parties intéressées et du grand public.

Stratégies

  1. Établir un plan de communication général.
  2. Élaborer une stratégie pour gagner l’appui du public aux mesures de survie et de rétablissement.
  3. Encourager des projets d’intendance visant à conserver, à protéger et à gérer  l’espèce et son habitat. Obtenir la plus grande participation possible de groupes locaux intéressés aux ressources aquatiques dans les réseaux hydrographiques et les estuaires (p. ex. pêcheurs autochtones, récréatifs et commerciaux, propriétaires riverains, organismes bénévoles, organisations non gouvernementales, l’industrie et la communauté en général).
  4. Tenir des réunions de l’Équipe de rétablissement pour favoriser la communication et la collaboration entre tous ses membres.



[1]Selon la LEP, « le ministre compétent vérifie si le rétablissement de l’espèce sauvage inscrite est réalisable au point de vue technique et biologique. » Il doit fonder sa conclusion sur la meilleure information accessible, notamment les renseignements fournis par le COSEPAC. [LEP, art. 40]

[2]Ensemble, les objectifs de rétablissement suivants constitutent les grandes lignes du plan à suivre pour faire face aux menaces relevées au préalable [LEP, alinéa 41(1)b)] et « une description générale des activités de recherche et de gestion nécessaires à l’atteinte »[LEP, alinéa 41(1)d)] du but du rétablissement.