Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Atlantic Whitefish

1.1 Performance Indicators

Measurable performance indicators will be a critical component of the recovery action plan for the Atlantic whitefish to gauge the extent to which recovery activities are successful in contributing to the stated recovery goal for the species. An ongoing assessment of the efficacy of actions undertaken within a recovery initiative as part of the action planning process will be critical to ensuring both intelligent use of resources as well as the greatest likelihood of species recovery.

1.2 Identification of Knowledge Gaps

Significant progress has been achieved since the formation of the Recovery Team in 1999 in addressing knowledge gaps of importance to recovery planning and recovery strategy implementation. Information is now available or forthcoming from current activities for the following:

  • phylogenetic status, historic and current range and status of the species;
  • genetic health of the remaining members of the species;
  • accurate field identification of living specimens using external characters;
  • genetic markers to support enforcement efforts and future assessments of species distribution;
  • captive breeding and rearing protocols;
  • life-history stage specific assessments of susceptibility to acid (rain) toxicity; thermal preferences, and salinity tolerance;
  • trophic position of Atlantic whitefish residing in lakes;
  • degree of threat to survival and recovery posed by invasive species;
  • effects of current human activities on Atlantic whitefish survival;
  • fish passage requirements around dams, and;
  • feasibility of establishing additional freshwater resident populations using seed stock reared in captivity.

Although the above acquired information will possibly improve the likelihood that the recovery actions will be successful, the adequacy of the existing information base is uncertain. Recovery of the species can only be realized through range extension into the marine realm (i.e., anadromy), and into freshwater habitat not currently occupied by the species. There is no existing information on the life history of Atlantic whitefish anywhere other than within the Petite Rivière lakes. As new information is acquired, the Recovery Team must use an adaptive management approach to ensure survival of the species within existing habitat, and to ensure the success of range expansion into the marine realm and additional freshwater sites. Knowledge gaps that must be addressed as recovery implementation continues to unfold include:

Monitoring

  • quantitative assessment of populationsize, age composition and age at maturity, and growth and mortality;
  • effects of current human activities on Atlantic whitefish survival, and;
  •  fish passage requirements. 

Captive Rearing

  • nutritional, husbandry, and space requirements to maintain Atlantic whitefish in captivity, and;
  • likelihood that domestication selection will occur within Atlantic whitefish spawned and reared in captivity.

Habitat

  • determination of specific habitat requirements as they relate to spawning, incubation, rearing and thermal refugial requirements;
  • seasonal area of occupancy of Atlantic whitefish;
  • identification and mapping of residences and critical habitat, and;
  • assessment of habitat suitability within candidate stocking sites.

For details on specific activities that target the key knowledge gaps in the habitat requirements and identification of critical habitat for Atlantic whitefish view the ‘Schedule of Studies’ to identify critical habitat in Appendix II.

1.3 Development of Action Plans

Recovery action plans are the documents that lay out how recovery strategies are to be implemented. Action plans take recommendations from the recovery strategy, either individually or collectively, and chart out who needs to be involved and to what extent in carrying out the proposed activities.

Following the approval of this recovery strategy under SARA and posting on the Public Registry, a recovery Action Plan for the Atlantic whitefish will be developed within two years. In the interim, many of the strategies in this document can be acted on and therefore, recovery implementation will be an ongoing activity that can occur in the absence of any formal action plan. Furthermore, the Strategy recognizes the need for adaptive management; as new information becomes available, the actions for recovery may be modified.

1.4 Allowable Activities

The prohibitions associated with the Species at Risk Act (SARA) came into force on June 1, 2004 and subsequently, Atlantic whitefish were legally protected from activities that contravene these prohibitions. Subsection 83(4) of SARA however, enables recovery strategies, action plans and management plans to exempt certain activities from certain prohibitions under SARA. In order for this provision to apply, the activities must be authorized under another Act of Parliament.

A Regional Advisory Process (RAP) meeting was convened in November 2004 to assess the level of mortality that would not jeopardize the survival or recovery of the species.  Participants included DFO scientists and fisheries managers, the provincial departments of Agriculture and Fisheries, and Natural Resources, scientists from academia and representatives from the Recovery Team. The products of this review are formal documents which provide the conclusions of the meeting (DFO 2004a), along with the Proceedings which provide details of the discussions generated in review of the working papers (DFO 2004b).These documents are available on the Department of Fisheries and Oceans website, under the Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat (CSAS) at:

http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas/Csas/status/2004/SSR2004_052_e.pdf

Discussions during the review indicate that there are no estimates of abundance for Atlantic whitefish; status and trends is limited to an analysis of relative indicators of spatial occupancy (i.e., change in geographic distribution over time). Potential sources of mortality and aggregate harm, their relative rank effect by activity, alternatives to current human activities, and feasible measures to minimize impact of activities on Atlantic whitefish are presented in DFO 2004b and included fishing activities, habitat effects due to barriers to fish passage, water extraction, urbanization, eutrophication, and scientific collections.  

The conclusion from the meeting was that there are no indications that current human activities (as above) within the Petite Rivière drainage pose a threat to the survival of Atlantic whitefish, however there may not be scope for further harm arising from new activities or proposed changes to existing activities because they may jeopardize the survival and recovery of the species (DFO 2004a).A scientific review of activities and any new information will be undertaken every 5 years to ensure that the survival or recovery of the species is not jeopardized. In accordance with subsection 83(4) of SARA, the recovery strategy permits the operation of the Hebb Lake Dam that is authorized pursuant to subsection 6(4) of the Navigable Waters Protection Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. N-22. 

Should new activities or changes to existing activities be anticipated, an assessment of their impact on the survival and recovery of Atlantic whitefish will be undertaken.

The allowable harm assessment could not address whether current activities jeopardize the recovery of Atlantic whitefish as recovery for this species is defined as an increase in area of occupancy.  Consequently, the lack of prior knowledge concerning the threats to the species outside its current area of known occupancy precludes that assessment at this time.  This recovery strategy accordingly presents several options to achieve recovery (range extension); the feasibility of each option has not been determined (see Objective 2; page 27).

1.5 Recovery Effort Underway: Fish releases into Anderson Lake

 The Recovery Team identified the need to establish back-up populations of Atlantic whitefish to minimize its risk of extinction.  In 2004, a DFO Science workshop was held to examine decision criteria for introducing this species into a watercourse beyond its existing range, and to develop a “decision support tool” to guide the decision making process (DFO 2004c).  This decision support tool was subsequently screened by a technical committee of the Recovery Team.  Anderson Lake,near Burnside, in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, was considered an acceptable candidate site according to the criteria of the tool. 

On November 4, 2005, 1500 Atlantic whitefish reared at DFO’s Mersey Biodiversity Facility were released into Anderson Lake as part of a three-year trial project.  A second release of 750 fish occurred on April 24, 2006 and a third release of another 750 fish is scheduled to occur during the fall of 2006. In addition, a number of young-of-the-year fish was also released in April and May of 2006. DFO staff will monitor the whitefish in Anderson Lake to determine the success of the introductions.

With respect to legal protection, the SARA legislation discussed in Section 1.3 applies to the Atlantic whitefish found in Anderson Lake, as does the Fisheries Act.  Section 6 of the Maritime Provides Fishery Regulations (MPFRs) also applies, however no additional protection measures (e.g., variation orders) were deemed necessary in this lake.  DFO held consultations with the owners of the land surrounding Anderson Lake (see Appendix III) prior to the releases.  As well, DFO signed Working Agreements with the land owners to facilitate a cooperative approach to avoiding or mitigating any potential negative effects potentially resulting from possible future development activities around the lake.

1.6 Anticipated Conflicts or Challenges

 As has been illustrated throughout this document, a major challenge facing the recovery of Atlantic whitefish is the lack of general knowledge about the species biology, its abundance and habitat requirements, as well as assessing the impact of identified threats and appropriate measures to mitigate these threats (Section 2.5).

Some of the anticipated conflicts or challenges facing the recovery of Atlantic whitefish include the following dependant on recovery actions taken:

  • (re)-introduction of the species into watersheds other than the Tusket and Petite rivers could be ecologically and socially problematic.  From both ecological and management perspectives, there could be negative consequences to other recreational fisheries or resource values;
  • water control changes could impact stakeholders;
  • fishery regulatory changes could impact stakeholders, particularly recreational fishers;
  • predators and competitors such as smallmouth bass and chain pickerel may be difficult to control.  The implications of the introduction of these species are not well understood and effective methods of control have not been identified.  Furthermore, smallmouth bass are a popular sport fish and their presence in a watershed is not necessarily viewed by all interest groups as negative, and;
  • obtaining the financial resources and technical and scientific expertise required for timely implementation of all aspects of the recovery initiative may be problematic.  It is acknowledged that there is significant demand from a wide variety of interests in our society for public and private sector funding for initiatives. Furthermore, the existing workload for many of the key contributors to this initiative is substantial.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du corégone de l'Atlantique

1.1 Indicateurs de performance

Des indicateurs de performance mesurables constitueront un élément essentiel du plan d’action pour le rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique; ils permettront de déterminerle succès obtenu dans l’atteinte des objectifs de rétablissement énoncés. L’évaluation continue de l’efficacité des mesures prises dans le cadre du programme de rétablissement sera essentielle pour assurer l’utilisation intelligente des ressources et les plus grandes chances de rétablissement de l’espèce.

1.2 Lacunes dans nos connaissances

Depuis la formation de l’Équipe de rétablissement en 1999, de bons progrès ont été accomplis pour combler des lacunes dans les connaissances importantes pour la planification et la réalisation du programme de rétablissement. Des données ont été obtenues ou le seront bientôt sur les aspects suivants du corégone de l’Atlantique :

  • identité phylogénétique, situation et répartition actuelles et passées de l’espèce;
  • santé génétique des individus qui forment maintenant l’espèce;
  • identification sur le terrain de spécimens vivants selon leurs caractères externes;
  • marqueurs génétiques pour soutenir l’application des règlements et l’évaluation future de la répartition de l’espèce;
  • protocoles de reproduction et d’élevage en captivité;
  • évaluation de la susceptibilité des différents stades de vie de l’espèce à l’acidification, de leurs préférences thermiques et de leur tolérance à la salinité;
  • niveau trophique du corégone de l’Atlantique résident des lacs;
  • ampleur de la menace que posent les espèces envahissantes pour la survie et le rétablissement;
  • effets des activités humaines actuelles sur la survie du corégone de l’Atlantique;
  • besoins en matière de passage du poisson aux barrages;
  • faisabilité d’établir d’autres populations résidentes d’eau douce par l’ensemencement de poissons élevés en captivité.

Bien que toute cette information puisse accroître les chances de succès des mesures de rétablissement, il n’est pas sûr que nous en sachions assez. Le corégone de l’Atlantique ne peut se rétablir que s’il étend son aire de répartition au milieu marin (forme anadrome) et dans d’autres milieux dulcicoles. On ignore tout de son cycle vital ailleurs que dans les lacs de la Petite Rivière. À mesure que l’Équipe de rétablissement obtient de nouvelles informations, elle doit appliquer une approche de gestion adaptée pour assurer la survie de l’espèce dans son habitat actuel et l’expansion de son aire de répartition en eau douce et en mer. Voici des lacunes dans nos connaissances qui devront être comblées au cours de la mise en oeuvre des mesures de rétablissement : 

Surveillance

  • évaluation quantitative de la taille, de la composition par âge et de la mortalité de la population, ainsi que de l’âge à maturité et de la croissance des individus;
  • effets des activités humaines actuelles sur la survie du corégone de l’Atlantique;
  • besoins en matière de passage du poisson. 

Élevage en captivité

  • besoins en matière de nutrition, de conditions d’élevage et d’espace pour l’élevage du corégone de l’Atlantique en captivité;
  •  probabilité qu’une sélection de domestication s’exercera sur le corégone de l’Atlantique reproduit et élevé en captivité.

Habitat

  • détermination des besoins précis en matière d’habitats de fraie, d’incubation, d’alevinage et de refuge thermique; 
  • détermination des habitats occupés par le corégone de l’Atlantique selon les saisons;
  •  identification et cartographie des résidences et des habitats essentiels;
  • évaluation de la qualité de l’habitat des sites candidats à l’ensemencement.

L’annexe II présente les détails des activités qui visent à combler les principales lacunes dans nos connaissances sur les besoins en matière d’habitat et la désignation de l’habitat essentiel du corégone de l’Atlantique.

1.3 Élaboration du plan d’action[1]

Le plan d’action est le document qui établit comment le programme de rétablissement sera mis en oeuvre. À partir des recommandations du programme de rétablissement, les plans d’action précisent qui doit participer, et dans quelle mesure, à la réalisation des activités proposées.

Après l’approbation de ce programme de rétablissement prévu par la LEP et sa publication dans le registre public, un plan d’action pour le rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique sera élaboré dans un délai de deux ans. Entre-temps, bon nombre des stratégies exposées dans le présent document peuvent être adoptées : la mise en oeuvre du rétablissement sera une activité continue qui pourra se dérouler sans plan d’action officiel. De plus, le programme reconnaît le besoin d’une gestion adaptée qui permet de modifier les mesures de rétablissement à mesure que l’on acquiert de nouvelles connaissances.

1.4 Activités autorisées

 Depuis que les interdictions prévues par la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) sont entrées en vigueur le 1er juin 2004, le corégone de l’Atlantique est légalement protégé contre les activités qui contreviennent à ces interdictions. Toutefois, le paragraphe 83(4) de la LEP permet d’exempter de certaines interdictions générales de la LEP certaines activités. Pour que cette disposition d’exemption soit applicable, il faut que les activités soient autorisées sous le régime d’une autre loi fédérale.

Une réunion du Processus consultatif régional (PCR) s’est tenue en novembre 2004 pour évaluer le niveau de mortalité qui ne compromettrait pas la survie ou le rétablissement de l’espèce. Y ont participé des scientifiques et des gestionnaires des pêches du MPO, des représentants des ministères provinciaux de l’agriculture et des pêches ainsi que des ressources naturelles, des scientifiques universitaires et des représentants de l’Équipe de rétablissement. Ces travaux d’examen de la situation du corégone de l'Atlantique ont donné lieu à deux documents officiels : un qui présente les conclusions de la réunion (MPO, 2004a), et l’autre qui donne un compte-rendu détaillé des discussions tenues dans le cadre de l’examen des documents de travail (MPO, 2004b). Ils sont disponibles dans le site Web du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique (SCCS) du ministère des Pêches et des Océans, à l’adresse suivante :

http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas/Csas/etat/2004/SSR2004_052_f.pdf

Il ressort de ces discussions qu’il n’existe aucune estimation de l’abondance du corégone de l’Atlantique et que notre connaissance de sa situation et de ses tendances se restreint à une analyse d’indicateurs relatifs d’occupation spatiale (c.-à-d. l’évolution de sa répartition géographique). La référence « MPO, 2004b » présente les sources possibles de mortalité et de dommage global, l’appréciation de leur incidence relative, des solutions de rechange aux activités humaines actuelles et des mesures réalisables visant à limiter les incidences des activités sur le corégone de l’Atlantique. Parmi ces sources figurent les activités de pêche, les effets sur l’habitat dus aux obstacles au passage des poissons, les prélèvements d’eau, l’urbanisation, l’eutrophisation et les prélèvements à des fins scientifiques.

Voici la conclusion de la réunion : rien n’indique que les activités humaines actuelles (susmentionnées) dans le bassin hydrographique de la Petite Rivière menacent la survie du corégone de l’Atlantique, mais il n’y a peut-être pas de marge de tolérance pour d’autres dommages qui découleraient de nouvelles activités ou de changements proposés aux activités existantes, parce que ces dommages pourraient compromettre la survie et le rétablissement de l’espèce (MPO, 2004a). Un examen scientifique des activités et de toute nouvelle information sera effectué aux cinq ans pour s’assurer de ne pas compromettre la survie et le rétablissement de l’espèce. Conformément au paragraphe 83(4) de la LEP, le Programme de rétablissement permet l’exploitation du barrage du lac Hebb qui est autorisée par le paragraphe 6(4) de la Loi sur la protection des eaux navigables, L.R.C., 1985, c. N-22.

Si de nouvelles activités ou modifications aux activités existantes sont prévues, une évaluation de leurs impacts sur la survie et le rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique sera entreprise.

L’évaluation des dommages admissibles n’a pas permis de déterminer si les activités actuelles compromettent le rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique, car on a défini que le rétablissement de cette espèce passe par une augmentation de l’aire d’occupation. Par conséquent, le manque de connaissances préalables sur les menaces pour l’espèce hors de son aire d’occupation actuelle connue empêche la réalisation de cette évaluation. Le présent programme de rétablissement présente plusieurs options de rétablissement (augmentation de l’aire de répartition); la faisabilité de chacune n’a pas encore été déterminée (voir l’objectif 2, à la page 31).

1.5 Mesure de rétablissement en cours : ensemencement dans le lac Anderson

 L’Équipe de rétablissement a constaté le besoin d’établir d’autres populations de corégones de l’Atlantique pour réduire le risque d’extinction de l’espèce. En 2004, le MPO a tenu un atelier scientifique pour examiner les critères de décision concernant l’introduction du corégone de l’Atlantique dans un plan d’eau situé hors de son aire de répartition actuelle et pour mettre au point un outil d’aide à la décision à cet égard  (MPO, 2004c). Un comité technique de l’Équipe de rétablissement a par la suite évalué cet outil. Selon les critères de l’outil, le lac Anderson, situé près de Burnside, à Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse), a été jugé être un site qui convient à l’ensemencement en corégones de l’Atlantique.

Le 4 novembre 2005, dans le cadre d’un projet-pilote de trois ans, on a relâché dans le lac Anderson 1 500 corégones de l’Atlantique élevés au centre de biodiversité Mersey du MPO. On a relâché 750 autres poissons le 24 avril 2006, et on prévoit la libération d’un autre groupe de 750 poissons à l’automne de 2006. En outre, on a relâché un certain nombre de jeunes de l’année en avril et en mai 2006. Des employés du MPO surveilleront les corégones de l’Atlantique dans le lac Anderson pour déterminer le succès des introductions.

En ce qui concerne la protection légale, la LEP, abordée à la section 1.3, et la Loi sur les Pêches s’appliquent au corégone de l’Atlantique dans le lac Anderson. L’article 6 du Règlement de pêche des provinces maritimes s’y applique également, mais aucune mesure de protection supplémentaire (p. ex. ordonnance de modification) n’a été jugée nécessaire dans ce lac. Le MPO a consulté les propriétaires des terres entourant le lac Anderson (voir l’annexe III) avant les introductions et a conclu avec eux des ententes pour faciliter la collaboration afin d’éviter ou de limiter toute incidence néfaste qui pourrait résulter d’éventuelles activités de développement autour du lac.

1.6 Conflits ou difficultés prévus

 Comme il a été mentionné tout au long de ce document, le manque de connaissances générales sur la biologie, l’abondance et les besoins en matière d’habitat de l’espèce, ainsi que l’évaluation de l’incidence des menaces relevées et des mesures à prendre pour les atténuer, constituent une importante difficulté pour le rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique (section 2.5).

Voici certains des conflits ou difficultés prévus selon les mesures qui seront prises pour le rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique :

  • L’introduction de l’espèce dans des réseaux hydrographiques autres que ceux de la rivière Tusket et de la Petite Rivière pourrait poser des problèmes écologiques ou sociaux et nuire à d’autres pêches récréatives ou ressources.
  • Des modifications à la régularisation des eaux pourraient nuire à des parties intéressées. 
  • Des modifications aux règlements de pêche pourraient avoir des incidences sur des parties intéressées, en particulier les pêcheurs récréatifs.
  • Il sera peut-être difficile de lutter contre des prédateurs et des compétiteurs du corégone de l’Atlantique, comme l’achigan à petite bouche et le brochet maillé. On ne comprend pas bien les conséquences de l’introduction de ces espèces et on n’a pas trouvé de méthodes efficaces pour les combattre. En outre, comme l’achigan à petite bouche est une espèce populaire auprès des pêcheurs sportifs, les groupes d’intérêt ne considèrent pas nécessairement sa présence dans un réseau hydrographique comme un facteur négatif.
  • Il sera peut-être difficile d’obtenir les ressources financières ainsi que l’expertise scientifique et technique nécessaires pour mettre rapidement en oeuvre tous les aspects du projet de rétablissement. De nombreux groupes d’intérêt divers se livrent une intense concurrence pour faire financer leurs projets par les secteurs public et privé. En outre, bon nombre des principaux participants au projet de rétablissement ont une charge de travail considérable.



[1]Selon la LEP, le programme de rétablissement doit comporter « un exposé de l’échéancier prévu pour l’élaboration d’un ou de plusieurs plans d’action relatifs au programme de rétablissement » [LEP, par. 41(g)].