Skip booklet index and go to page content

Bashful Bulrush (Trichophorum Planifolium)

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Bashful Bulrush
Trichophorum Planifolium

Description

Bashful Bulrush (Trichophorum planifolium = Scirpus verecundus) is a member of the sedge family. It forms small clumps of short, erect, grass-like leaves. In the spring, each clump produces from several to several dozen delicate flowering stalks (culms) that are triangular in cross-section and generally only 10-20 cm high. A small solitary spike develops at the end of each culm. The spike consists of several petal-less flowers, each of which is partly enclosed by an awn-tipped bract. Bashful Bulrush generally occurs as loosely-associated patches of from a few to several hundred clumps. Later in the season, the leaves and culms tend to fall over and become matted on the forest floor.

 

Distribution

The species has a rather limited range in northeastern North America. It occurs in the United States from southern Maine south to northern Virginia and west to Indiana and eastern Missouri. Its only Canadian occurrence is in southern Ontario in the eastern region of Metropolitan Toronto and at the Hamilton Botanical Gardens.

 

Habitat

In Canada, Bashful Bulrush is found in open-canopied forest with little shrub cover and excellent drainage. It is found on semi-open south- or west-facing slopes in deciduous and mixed woods.

 

General Biology

It is a perennial species and, like other members of the sedge family, is wind-pollinated. Its Ontario sites are confined to the western Lake Ontario shoreline that has one of the warmest climates and longest growing seasons in the province.

 

Population Sizes and Trends

In 1986, this species was known from two areas: the Rouge River valley in Toronto (two populations) and the Royal Botanical Gardens in Hamilton (five sub-populations). Most populations in 1986 consisted of from several hundred culms to several hundred clumps.

Three of the seven populations and sub-populations could not be found in 1999 despite searches by several people. Three other populations were relocated in the present study but they have declined by at least 50%. A seventh population has not been searched for since 1986. Bashful Bulrush has been specifically searched for in a number of other areas by several experienced field botanists, however, no new sites have been found since 1986.

 

Limiting Factors and Threats

The main limiting factor for Bashful Bulrush appears to be the lack of suitable habitat. The Ontario range of the plant coincides with one of the most highly urbanized parts of the province. The Toronto sites are vulnerable to the digging of coyote or fox dens. Trampling by hikers and shading by canopy closure and shrub growth, such as from the alien honeysuckles (Lonicera tatarica and L. morrowii) at some sites, are ongoing threats.

 

Existing Protection

No formal protection exists.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Scirpe timide (Trichophorum planifolium)

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Scirpe timide
Trichophorum planifolium

Description

Le scirpe timide (Trichophorum planifolium = Scirpus verecundus) appartient à la famille des Cypéracées. Il forme de petites touffes de feuilles graminoïdes, courtes et dressées. Au printemps, la plante produit un nombre variable (quelques-unes à plusieurs douzaines) de tiges florifères délicates, à section triangulaire, généralement hautes de seulement 10 à 20 cm. Chacune de ces tiges produit un petit épi terminal constitué de plusieurs fleurs apétales. Chaque fleur est partiellement enveloppée par une bractée se terminant en une arête. L’espèce pousse habituellement en groupes lâches formés de quelques touffes à plusieurs centaines de touffes. Plus tard durant la saison, les feuilles et les tiges tendent à se coucher et à former un tapis entremêlé sur le sol forestier.

 

Répartition

L’espèce a une répartition plutôt restreinte, limitée au nord-est de l’Amérique du Nord. Aux États-Unis, elle est présente depuis le sud du Maine jusque dans le nord de la Virginie, à l’Indiana et dans l’est du Missouri. Au Canada, elle n’est présente que dans deux secteurs du sud de l’Ontario, soit dans la partie est de la communauté urbaine de Toronto dans les Jardins botaniques royaux, à Hamilton.

 

Habitat

Au Canada, on trouve le scirpe timide dans des forêts claires qui possèdent peu de couverture arbustive et jouissent d’un drainage excellent. Il pousse sur des pentes partiellement dégagées orientées vers le sud ou vers l’ouest, en forêt décidue ou mixte.

 

Biologie générale

Le scirpe timide est une plante vivace. Comme les autres espèces de la famille des Cypéracées, il est pollinisé par le vent. Tous les sites ontariens se trouvent près du littoral ouest du lac Ontario, région possédant un des climats les plus chauds et une des saisons de végétation les plus longues de la province.

 

Taille et tendances des populations

En 1986, l’espèce n’avait été signalée que dans deux secteurs, soit la vallée de la rivière Rouge, à Toronto (deux populations), et les Jardins botaniques royaux, à Hamilton (cinq sous‑populations). La plupart des populations comprenaient alors entre plusieurs centaines de tiges et plusieurs centaines de touffes.

Trois des sept populations et sous-populations n’ont pu être repérées en 1999, malgré les recherches menées par plusieurs personnes. Trois autres ont été retrouvées dans le cadre de la présente étude, mais elles avaient connu un déclin d’au moins 50 p. 100. La septième n’a pas été recherchée depuis 1986. Le scirpe timide a fait l’objet de recherches dans nombre d’autres secteurs par plusieurs botanistes expérimentés sur le terrain, mais aucun nouveau site n’a été découvert depuis 1986.

 

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Le principal facteur limitant les chances de survie du scirpe timide semble être le manque de milieux adéquats. En effet, la répartition ontarienne de l’espèce coïncide avec une des régions les plus urbanisées de la province. Les sites dans la région de Toronto sont menacés par l’aménagement de tanières par les coyotes ou les renards. Parmi les autres menaces auxquelles est actuellement exposée l’espèce, mentionnons le piétinement par les marcheurs, la densification du couvert forestier et la croissance d’arbustes, notamment de chèvrefeuilles exotiques (Lonicera tatarica et L. morrowii) dans certains sites.

 

Protection actuelle

L’espèce ne fait l’objet d’aucune protection officielle.