Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Carmine Shiner in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

Limiting Factors

Too little is known of the carmine shiner’s physiology or ability to adapt to different conditions to identify factors that might limit its survival. The species appears to occupy a relatively narrow ecological niche, which suggests limited adaptive ability. If the carmine shiner’s responses are similar to those of the closely related rosyface shiner, it may show long-term avoidance of pollutants (Cherry et al. 1977) and avoid water temperatures that exceed 27.2 °C (Stauffer et al. 1975). Some other factors that may be important include: the availability of key prey species, predation by other species, competition with other minnows for preferred habitat, diseases and parasites, and hybridization with other shiner species.

Manitoba Aquatic Ecosystem biologists, who are familiar with the carmine shiner, indicate that some or all of the limiting factors/threats listed below are occurring throughout the carmine shiner range (Whitemouth River, Bird River and Pinawa Channel, including the Birch River), and have been documented by Schneider-Vieira and MacDonell (1993) and Clarke (1998). Dams, weirs, and natural falls are also impacts found in the range. The actual severity of the impacts is hard to determine as specific studies have not been done, but the extent of occurrence of these impacts (in the carmine shiner range) is considered to be in the high to medium range (M. Erickson, Manitoba Water Stewardship, Winnipeg, Manitoba, pers. comm. 2006).


Threats

Carmine shiners spawn in relatively warm, clear water and frequent shallow flowing water with clean rocky substrates. They may be limited to habitats that offer these conditions, and threatened by activities that alter the turbidity or flow. The closely related rosyface shiner has a narrow range of habitat requirements and responds quickly to changes in habitat and water quality (Smith 1979; Trautman 1981; Humphries and Cashner 1994; Houston 1996). The carmine shiner may show a similar response. Flow impoundment, farmland drainage that increases sediment loads, streambed gravel removal, and stream channelization are examples of activities that have been implicated in the decline or disappearance of the rosyface shiner from streams. Increased bank erosion and consequent siltation probably have negative effects on their eggs, fry, and food supply.

The Carmine Shiner Recovery Team (2005) undertook a detailed threats assessment for each waterbody where the species is known to occur. Four primary categories of threat were identified: habitat loss/degradation, overexploitation, species introductions, and pollution.


Habitat Loss/Degradation

Habitat loss and/or degradation associated with flow regulation, shoreline development, landscape changes and climate change is likely in some reaches of the rivers inhabited by carmine shiners, and may pose a threat to the species. At present it is probably the most significant threat to survival of the carmine shiners, but is difficult to assess given the uncertainties in the species’ distribution and life history requirements.

Because carmine shiners frequent shallow riffles with clear water in summer, flow alterations that affect these conditions may pose a threat to their existence. Hydroelectric development has altered flow in the Winnipeg River. Development on the river mainstem began in 1909 at Pointe du bois, and ended in 1955 with the completion of the station at McArthur Falls (Manitoba Hydro). These stations are still in operation and are unlikely to be removed in the foreseeable future. Another station on the Pinawa Channel was completed in 1906. It was retired in 1951 and has been partially razed. These developments impounded reaches of the river creating forebays, flooding vegetation, and eliminating rapids. Whether these changes increased turbidity and decreased riffle habitat sufficiently to cause a decline in the abundance of carmine shiners in the system is unknown. Over time the turbidity will decrease as flooded shorelines naturalize.

Other activities such as land drainage for farming, highways, and peat extraction; the installation of weirs and river crossings; and removal of nearby vegetation for forestry or agriculture may also affect drainage and thereby flow patterns. The effects of many of these activities on shorelines and runoff can be mitigated. Water removal for domestic use, lawn or agricultural irrigation and for watering livestock can also reduce flow, particularly during dry years.

Peat moss mining occurs in reaches of the watershed upstream from the area known to have carmine shiners. The concern is what effect peat moss removal will have on the hydrography and turbidity of the river. How extensive can peat moss removal be before water storage capacity in the peat is sufficiently reduced so that the stream, or some of its tributaries, become at risk for flash-floods as a result of heavy rainfalls? Similarly, how much can the storage capacity be reduced before the stream is at risk from low flows during dry years? How important is winter water discharge from peatlands in maintaining sufficient flows to keep some open water in rapid or riffle sections, and hence, keep enough oxygen in the water for winter survival? The present operations may not constitute a threat to the biota of the Whitemouth River, but, as "the thin edge of the wedge", they do present a potential future threat, for which more information is needed to assess its importance.

In the past (up to the middle 1990s) water has been drawn from the Whitemouth and other southeastern Manitoba rivers during the winter for pressure testing of sections of newly constructed or repaired pipelines which transect them. The threat, in this case may arise from two areas. First is the abrupt, and large in relation to typical winter natural discharge, change in flows in the affected stream. Increased flow in a recipient stream may break up ice cover, scour the stream bottom, and erode banks, all of which would lead to large increases in turbidity that fish could not avoid under winter conditions. Decreased flow in a donor stream could be so great over the span of a week or more, that instream flow could be interrupted, or nearly so, resulting in shallow areas freezing to the bottom and pools in which fish might survive. Finally, since the water used in these tests is not treated or filtered, the recipient stream could be colonized by exotics, if any occur in the source area. There have been proposals that would involve transfer of water from the Great Lakes to the Brokenhead River; the risk of transfer of exotics is a real hazard (K.W. Stewart, pers. comm. 2006).

Development of the shoreline in areas that provide spawning habitat for carmine shiners, or immediately upstream, could adversely affect spawning habitats by causing physical disturbances or changes in water quality. Clearing of riparian forest to the water’s edge for cottage or agricultural development, for example, can destabilize banks and increase erosion. Allowing livestock access to the river’s edge can also disturb habitats and increase silt and nutrient loading, as can ditching and drainage for local highways. Indeed, most of these effects have been documented along the lower Birch River (Schneider-Vieira and MacDonell 1993; Clarke 1998).

Forestry, agriculture, peat extraction, and highway development all have the potential to change landscapes in ways that alter the patterns and quality of runoff entering waters that support carmine shiners. These changes include, in particular, the removal of vegetation, grading of overburden, drainage of wetlands, and the construction of barriers (e.g., roads) and ditches.

The effects of climate change on carmine shiners are unpredictable. These effects may be positive or negative depending on the direction, extent, and timing of any changes in water temperature and hydrology that affect the species’ habitats. Areas like the Birch River, where low flow and low oxygen conditions already occur in summer and winter (Clarke 1998), may be the most vulnerable to any changes.


Overexploitation

Bait fishing operations may harvest some carmine shiners, but currently the degree of threat to this species is not known. Commercial bait fishing operations are regulated and require a licence. To prevent the spread of undesirable aquatic species, Manitoba Water Stewardship must approve waters for live bait harvest. There are commercial bait fishing allocations in most areas where carmine shiners have been found, but the harvest from specific waters is unknown (B. Scaife, pers. comm. 2004). Licensed commercial bait fishermen may harvest fish for dead bait use from any Crown water on their allocation. Licensed anglers may harvest baitfish for their own use from any Crown water, although live baitfish may be harvested only where live bait use is permitted. Anglers may not transport live baitfish away from the waters in which they were caught.

Most of the commercial baitfish harvest in southeastern Manitoba is directed at collecting fish for sale as live bait (B. Scaife, pers. comm. 2004). The Whitemouth and Bird rivers are both approved for live baitfish harvest. However, most live bait harvest is directed at non‑shiner species, which are hardier, have a higher survival rate, and frequent different habitat from shiners. While the use of live traps allows for sorting and release, carmine shiners are difficult for fishermen to identify and easily damaged by handling. Bait fishermen with allocations in the Whitemouth and Bird rivers have not indicated any frozen production on their annual production report forms.

Bait harvesting is of greater concern in areas where baitfish can be harvested only for use as dead bait (e.g., Winnipeg River), since shiners are generally the targeted species. The gear used for these harvests (e.g., seines) is more likely to kill or harm the bait fish than that used for live-capture, but these methods are seldom used in the medium to small stream habitats where carmine shiners are found (K.W. Stewart, pers. comm. 2004). 

Despite the regulations, carmine shiners may be inadvertently collected along with other species for bait. Even in cases where the collector is able to identify the species, released individuals are not liable to survive. However, the extent of such collecting is not currently known.


Species Introductions

Species introductions could pose a threat to carmine shiner populations through predation, competition and food chain disruption. They might also carry diseases and parasites that are new to carmine shiner populations and could adversely affect them.

Possible sources of introductions are in water released from the hydrostatic testing of pipelines in the Whitemouth watershed, as live-bait used by anglers, and through the introduction of game fish. The import of live bait into Canada is illegal and should be strictly enforced by Canada Customs. Walleye (Sander vitreus) have been stocked in Whitemouth Lake since 1960, and brook trout (Salvelinus fontinalis) were stocked there in 1961-62 (D. Leroux, pers. comm. 2005; see also Manitoba Fisheries' mandate). The Birch River has been stocked with rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss), brown trout (Salmo trutta), and walleye with poor survival (Clarke 1998). Brown trout have been stocked in the Pinawa Channel. Smallmouth bass and rainbow smelt (Osmerus mordax) have been introduced to the Winnipeg River system. The effects of these piscivores on carmine shiner populations are unknown, although elsewhere smallmouth bass and carmine shiners do coexist. The potential for transfer of species from the Lake of the Woods watershed via overland drainage exists but is limited at present by beaver dams and bogs.


Pollution

Some pollutants that could affect the species include farm fertilizers, herbicides, and pesticides. Nutrient enrichment by runoff from barnyards or intensive livestock operations is an ongoing problem that is being addressed by the Province of Manitoba and the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration. Clarke (1998) found elevated levels of phosphorus (0.2 mg/L TDP) and nitrogen (0.99 mg/L nitrate/nitrite) in the lower Birch River in April 1996, but not at other times of the year. These levels are probably elevated through mobilization of agricultural chemicals by spring runoff. Before leaks were repaired, the Birch River also received chlorinated water leaking from the Winnipeg Aqueduct (Clarke 1998).


Other Threats

Scientific sampling may also pose a threat to the carmine shiner. However, there has been no evidence of reduction in range or abundance of carmine shiners in Manitoba over the past twenty years, during which there has been regular sampling of the Whitemouth River populations.

Natural hybridization may occur between carmine shiners and other shiners in Manitoba. A substantial decline in the proportion of carmine shiners on the spawning grounds might lead to decreases in reproductive success or complete assimilation of the carmine shiner populations. Given the genetic separation now demonstrated between the Notropis rubellus species complex and other cyprinids this is unlikely (K.W. Stewart, pers. comm. 2006).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Tête carminée au Canada

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Facteurs limitatifs

Nous ignorons encore trop de choses sur la physiologie de la tête carminée ou sur sa capacité d’adaptation pour être en mesure de cerner les facteurs susceptibles de limiter ses chances de survie. L’espèce semble occuper une niche écologique relativement restreinte, ce qui pourrait indiquer qu’elle a une capacité d’adaptation limitée. Si la tête carminée réagit de la même façon que son proche parent, la tête rose, il se peut qu’elle évite les polluants sur une base continue (Cherry et al., 1977), de même que les eaux dont la température dépasse 27,2 °C (Stauffer et al., 1975). Certains autres facteurs pourraient entrer en ligne de compte : l’abondance des proies, la prédation par d’autres espèces, la compétition avec d’autres ménés pour l’habitat de prédilection, les maladies et les parasites ainsi que l’hybridation avec d’autres espèces de ménés.

Les biologistes de l’écosystème aquatique du Manitoba, qui connaissent bien la tête carminée, mentionnent que certains ou tous les facteurs limitatifs et certaines ou toutes les menaces indiqués ci-dessous se produisent dans toute l’aire de répartition de la tête carminée (la rivière Whitemouth, la rivière Bird et le chenal Pinawa, y compris la rivière Birch, et ces renseignements ont été recueillis par Schneider-Vieira et MacDonell [1993] ainsi que par Clarke [1998]). Les barrages, les déversoirs et les chutes naturelles ont également des incidences observées sur l’aire de répartition. La gravité réelle de ces  incidences est difficile à déterminer, étant donné qu’aucune étude spécifique n’a été menée, mais la zone d’occurrence de ces incidences (sur l’aire de répartition de la tête carminée) semble se situer entre les parties centrale et supérieure de l’aire de répartition (M. Erickson, Gestion des ressources hydriques du Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba, comm. pers. 2006). 


Menaces

La tête carminée fraye dans des eaux relativement chaudes et claires, et elle fréquente des eaux vives peu profondes où les substrats rocheux sont propres. Il se peut que l’espèce soit limitée à un habitat réunissant ces conditions et qu’elle soit menacée par des activités qui modifient le degré de turbidité ou le débit de l’eau. L’habitat de la tête rose, un proche parent, est moins restreint, et l’espèce réagit rapidement aux changements qui surviennent dans son habitat et dans la qualité de l’eau (Smith, 1979; Trautman, 1981; Humphries et Cashner, 1994; Houston, 1996). Il est possible que la tête carminée ait un comportement semblable. La retenue du débit, l’accroissement des charges solides par le drainage agricole, l’enlèvement du gravier des ruisseaux et la canalisation des cours d’eau sont autant d’activités qui concourent au déclin ou à la disparition de la tête rose. L’érosion accrue des berges et la sédimentation qui en résulte ont probablement des effets négatifs sur les œufs, les alevins et les sources d’alimentation.

L’Équipe de rétablissement de la tête carminée (2005) a entrepris une évaluation détaillée des menaces dans chaque plan d’eau où l’espèce a été recensée. Quatre grandes catégories de menaces ont été cernées : la perte ou la dégradation de l’habitat, la surexploitation, l’introduction d’espèces et la pollution.


Perte ou dégradation de l’habitat

La régulation du débit, l’aménagement des berges, la modification du paysage et les changements climatiques entraînent probablement la perte ou la dégradation de l’habitat dans certains tronçons des rivières peuplées par la tête carminée, ce qui pourrait menacer la survie de l’espèce. À l’heure actuelle, il s’agit probablement de la menace la plus grave, mais il est difficile d’en évaluer l’ampleur, compte tenu du peu de données qui existent sur la répartition de l’espèce et ses besoins aux différentes étapes de son cycle biologique.

Comme la tête carminée fréquente des eaux limpides entourant des seuils peu profonds en été, les modifications de débit pourraient représenter une menace. Les projets hydroélectriques ont modifié le débit de la rivière Winnipeg. L’aménagement de l’axe fluvial de la rivière a débuté en 1909 à Pointe du Bois et s’est terminé en 1955 par l’achèvement de la centrale des chutes McArthur (Manitoba Hydro (en anglais seulement)). Ces installations sont encore en service et risquent peu d’être désaffectées dans un avenir prévisible. Une autre centrale a été construite sur le chenal Pinawa en 1906. Elle a été mise au rancart en 1951 et est en partie démolie. Ces installations ont endigué des tronçons de la rivière, créant des réservoirs, inondant la végétation et éliminant des rapides. Il est impossible de déterminer si ces changements ont modifié suffisamment le degré de turbidité de l’eau et l’habitat des seuils pour réduire l’effectif des populations de têtes carminées dans le réseau hydrographique. Avec le temps, l’eau gagnera en limpidité à mesure que les berges inondées seront naturalisées.

D’autres activités – le drainage des terres pour l’agriculture, la construction de routes et l’extraction de la tourbe, l’installation de déversoirs et de passages de cours d’eau ainsi que l’enlèvement de la végétation environnante à des fins d’exploitation forestière ou agricole – peuvent avoir des incidences sur le drainage et, par conséquent, sur les profils d’écoulement. Il est possible d’atténuer les effets de bon nombre de ces activités sur les berges et le ruissellement. L’extraction d’eau pour l’usage domestique, pour l’irrigation des pelouses ou des terres agricoles et pour l’abreuvement du bétail peut également réduire le débit des cours d’eau, surtout pendant les années de sécheresse.

L’extraction de la tourbe se pratique près de certains tronçons du bassin hydrographique, en amont des eaux peuplées par la tête carminée. Les chercheurs ignorent les effets de cette activité sur l’hydrogramme et la turbidité de la rivière. On sait que les activités d’extraction de la tourbe réduisent la capacité de stockage d’eau du sol. Au-delà de quelle limite le ruisseau ou certains de ses affluents deviendront-ils sujets à des crues soudaines en période de fortes pluies? De même, à quel point la capacité de stockage d’eau peut-elle être réduite avant que le ruisseau ne soit sujet à de fortes baisses de débit en période de sécheresse? Dans quelle mesure l’eau qui s’écoule de la tourbe en hiver contribue-t-elle à maintenir des débits suffisants pour assurer un certain volume d’eau libre dans les rapides et les seuils et, par conséquent, une quantité d’oxygène suffisante pour permettre la survie des poissons en hiver? Le niveau d’exploitation actuel ne nuit peut-être pas à la biote de la rivière Whitemouth, mais, à titre de « premier empiètement », cette activité pourrait représenter une menace pour l’avenir. Il faudra recueillir plus de renseignements pour en évaluer l’importance.

Par le passé (jusqu’au milieu des années 1990), on extrayait de l’eau de la rivière Whitemouth et d’autres rivières du sud-est du Manitoba en hiver pour réaliser des essais sous pression sur des tronçons nouvellement construits ou réparés de pipelines croisant ces cours d’eau. Ces activités créent une double menace. D’une part, le changement de débit dans les cours d’eau touchés est abrupt et appréciable par rapport à l’écoulement hivernal naturel. Dans le cours d’eau récepteur, le débit accru risque de rompre la couverture de glace, qui pourrait avoir pour effet d’affouiller le lit du cours d’eau et d’éroder les berges, entraînant ainsi une forte hausse de turbidité que les poissons ne pourraient pas éviter dans des conditions hivernales. Dans le ruisseau donneur, la réduction du débit pourrait être si grande en l’espace d’environ une semaine que l’écoulement pourrait être interrompu à toutes fins utiles, provoquant ainsi le gel de tout le chenal dans les tronçons peu profonds, y compris des mouilles où vivent les poissons. D’autre part, comme l’eau servant à ces essais n’est ni traitée ni filtrée, le ruisseau récepteur risque d’être colonisé par des espèces exotiques, s’il en existe dans le ruisseau donneur. Certaines propositions visent le transfert d’eau des Grands Lacs à la rivière Brokenhead; le risque de propagation d’espèces exotiques est très réel en l’occurrence (K.W. Stewart, comm. pers., 2006).

L’aménagement des berges dans les frayères de la tête carminée ou dans les secteurs situés immédiatement en amont pourrait nuire à la fraye en perturbant le milieu physique ou en modifiant la qualité de l’eau. Le défrichage de la forêt riveraine jusqu’au bord de l’eau pour la construction de chalets ou l’agriculture, par exemple, peut déstabiliser les berges et accroître l’érosion.Le bétail qui accède au bord des rivières risque également de perturber l’habitat et d’accroître la charge de limon et de nutriments, tout comme le creusement de fossés et l’installation d’ouvrages de drainage le long des voies de circulation locales. Des renseignements sur la plupart de ces effets ont été consignés pour le cours inférieur de la rivière Birch (Schneider-Vieira et MacDonell, 1993; Clarke, 1998).

L’exploitation forestière, l’agriculture, l’extraction de la tourbe et la construction routière, toutes ces activités sont susceptibles de modifier le paysage tout en altérant les profils d’écoulement et la qualité de l’eau de ruissellement qui pénètre dans l’habitat de la tête carminée. Parmi les modifications à craindre, il faut mentionner en particulier l’extraction de la végétation, le nivellement de la roche à déblayer, le drainage des terres humides et la construction d’obstacles (des routes, par exemple) et de fossés.

Les incidences des changements climatiques sur la tête carminée sont imprévisibles. Il peut s’agir d’effets positifs ou négatifs, selon la direction et l’ampleur des changements qui surviennent dans la température et l’hydrologie de l’eau, ainsi que de la période pendant laquelle ils s’opèrent. Les secteurs comme la rivière Birch, qui sont déjà marqués par un ralentissement du débit et par une baisse du niveau d’oxygène en été et en hiver (Clarke, 1998), pourraient être les plus vulnérables à tout changement à cet égard.


Surexploitation

Il arrive que des pêcheurs de poissons-appâts capturent des têtes carminées, mais le degré de la menace qui pèse sur cette espèce est actuellement inconnu. Les activités de pêche commerciale de poissons-appâts sont réglementées et assujetties à des permis. Pour prévenir la propagation d’espèces aquatiques indésirables, les eaux dans lesquelles sera pratiquée la capture d’appâts vivants doivent être soumises à l’approbation de Gestion des ressources hydriques Manitoba. Des allocations de pêche commerciale de poissons-appâts sont attribuées pour la plupart des secteurs fréquentés par la tête carminée, mais il n’existe aucune donnée sur les prises dans des cours d’eau particuliers (B. Scaife, comm. pers., 2004). Les allocations permettent aux détenteurs de permis de pêche commerciale de poissons-appâts de capturer, dans toutes les eaux appartenant à l’État, des poissons qui serviront d’appâts morts. Les pêcheurs à la ligne qui détiennent un permis peuvent récolter des poissons-appâts pour leur propre usage dans toutes les eaux appartenant à l’État, mais les appâts vivants ne peuvent être pêchés que dans les eaux où la pêche aux appâts vivants est autorisée. Les pêcheurs à la ligne n’ont pas le droit de transporter des poissons-appâts vivants hors des cours d’eau où ils ont été capturés.

La plupart des poissons-appâts commerciaux capturés dans le sud-est du Manitoba sont destinés à la vente comme appâts vivants (B. Scaife, comm. pers., 2004). La capture des poissons-appâts vivants est autorisée dans les rivières Whitemouth et Bird. Cependant, les pêcheurs ciblent des espèces plus robustes qui ont un taux de survie plus élevé et dont l’habitat est différent de celui des ménés. Les pièges qui permettent de capturer les poissons vivants facilitent le tri et la remise à l’eau, mais la tête carminée est difficile à identifier et elle résiste mal à la manipulation. Les pêcheurs de poissons-appâts qui détiennent une allocation dans les rivières Whitemouth et Bird n’ont signalé aucun produit congelé dans leurs comptes rendus de production annuelle.

La pêche suscite plus d’inquiétudes dans les secteurs où les poissons-appâts peuvent être capturés uniquement à des fins d’utilisation comme appâts morts (sur la rivière Winnipeg, par exemple), parce que les ménés sont généralement les espèces ciblées. Les engins utilisés pour ce type de pêche (la senne, par exemple) sont plus susceptibles de tuer les poissons-appâts ou de leur nuire que ceux qui sont employés pour la capture des poissons vivants. Cependant, ces méthodes sont rarement utilisées dans les ruisseaux de petite ou de moyenne taille que fréquente la tête carminée (K.W. Stewart, comm. pers., 2004).

Malgré la réglementation, les têtes carminées peuvent, par inadvertance, être ramassées pour appât avec d’autres espèces. Même dans les cas où celui qui a fait la cueillette est capable d’identifier l’espèce, les individus relâchés risquent de ne pas survivre. Cependant, l’ampleur d’une telle cueillette n’est pas connue à l’heure actuelle. 


Introduction d’espèces

L’introduction d’espèces pourrait menacer les populations de têtes carminées de plusieurs façons : prédation, compétition et perturbation de la chaîne alimentaire. Il se peut également que les espèces introduites soient porteuses de maladies et de parasites nouveaux qui pourraient nuire à la tête carminée.

Voici les sources d’introduction possibles : eau rejetée après les essais hydrostatiques sur des pipelines dans le bassin hydrographique de la rivière Whitemouth, appâts vivants utilisés par les pêcheurs à la ligne et introduction de poisson gibier. L’importation d’appâts vivants est illégale au Canada, et la réglementation devrait être rigoureusement appliquée par Douanes Canada. Le lac Whitemouth est ensemencé en doré jaune (Sander vitreus) depuis 1960 et en omble de fontaine (Salvelinus fontinalis) depuis 1961-1962 (D. Leroux, comm. pers., 2005; voir également Manitoba Fisheries' mandate (en anglais seulement)). La rivière Birch a été ensemencée en truite arc-en-ciel (Oncorhynchus mykiss), en truite de mer (Salmo trutta) et en doré jaune, mais le taux de survie de ces espèces est faible (Clarke, 1998). La truite de mer a également été introduite dans le chenal Pinawa. L’achigan à petite bouche et l’éperlan (Osmerus mordax) ont été introduits dans le réseau hydrographique de la rivière Winnipeg. Les effets de ces piscivores sur les populations de têtes carminées sont inconnus, mais on sait que l’achigan à petite bouche et la tête carminée partagent le même habitat ailleurs. Le transfert d’espèces du bassin hydrographique du lac des Bois par le drainage terrestre est possible, mais les déplacements des poissons sont limités pour l’instant par la présence de digues de castors et de tourbières.


Pollution

Parmi les polluants qui pourraient nuire à l’espèce, il faut citer les engrais agricoles, les herbicides et les pesticides. L’enrichissement en nutriments causé par le ruissellement de l’eau des fermes ou des exploitations d’élevage intensives représente un problème constant que tentent de régler le gouvernement du Manitoba et l’Administration du rétablissement agricole des Prairies. Clarke (1998) a découvert des niveaux élevés de phosphore (0,2 mg/L PTD) et d’azote (0,99 mg/L nitrate/nitrite) dans le cours inférieur de la rivière Birch en avril 1996, mais non à d’autres époques de l’année. Ces niveaux étaient probablement élevés en raison de la mobilisation des produits chimiques agricoles par le ruissellement printanier. Avant que les brèches ne soient colmatées, la rivière Birch a également été un cours d’eau récepteur pour de l’eau chlorée qui fuyait de l’aqueduc de Winnipeg (Clarke, 1998).


Autres menaces

Il se peut que l’échantillonnage scientifique représente une menace pour la tête carminée. Cependant, il n’existe aucune donnée permettant de conclure à une réduction de l’aire de répartition ou de l’effectif des populations au Manitoba depuis 20 ans, période pendant laquelle les populations de la rivière Whitemouth ont fait l’objet d’échantillonnages réguliers.

Il est possible que la tête carminée et d’autres ménés se reproduisent entre eux au Manitoba. Une réduction substantielle de la proportion de têtes carminées dans les frayères pourrait mener à une baisse du succès de reproduction ou à une assimilation complète des populations. Cependant, compte tenu des différences génétiques aujourd’hui connues entre le complexe spécifique Notropis rubellus et d’autres Cyprinidés, cette hypothèse risque peu de se matérialiser (K.W. Stewart, comm. pers., 2006).