Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Carmine Shiner in Canada

Update
COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Carmine Shiner
Notropis percobromus
in Canada
2006

Species Information

The taxon was first reviewed by COSEWIC as rosyface shiner (Notropis rubellus) (Houston 1996), but the Manitoba populations are now believed to be the carmine shiner (N. percobromus) (Wood et al. 2002; Stewart and Watkinson 2004; Nelson et al. 2004). The initial review by Houston (1996) summarized knowledge of both shiners, without differentiating between them. This update addresses only the carmine shiner.

Name and Classification

Class:
Actinopterygii
Order:
Cypriniformes
Family:
Cyprinidae
Genus:
Notropis
Species*:
Notropis percobromus (Cope, 1871)
Common name:
English* -- carmine shiner
French -- tête carminée

*Nelson et al. (2004).

The carmine shiner is a small minnow (F. Cyprinidae) of the genus Notropis, the second largest genus of freshwater fishes in North America. Many species in this genus are difficult to distinguish from one another and phylogenetic relationships1 among them are largely unresolved (Dowling and Brown 1989). Recent allozyme2 studies support the existence of at least five species that had hitherto been recognized only as “rosyface shiners”, including the rosyface shiner, highland shiner (N. micropteryx), rocky shiner (N. suttkusi), carmine shiner, and a species that has not yet been described (Wood et al. 2002).

Stewart and Watkinson (2004) accepted the carmine shiner as the identity of the Manitoba population(s) on the basis of the biogeographic information in Wood et al. (2002) and in conformity with Nelson et al. (2004). Ongoing morphometric (K.W. Stewart and D. Watkinson) and genetic studies (DNA; C. Wilson) have confirmed that Manitoba representatives of this “species complex” are carmine shiners, and that rosyface and carmine shiners are distinct species (W. Franzin, pers. comm. 2005).


Morphological Description

Carmine shiners are slender, elongate minnows that can be distinguished from other minnows in Manitoba by the following features: 1) the origin of the dorsal fin is located behind a line drawn vertically from the insertion of the pelvic fins, 2) absence of a fleshy keel on the abdomen and of a strongly decurved lateral line, and 3) a narrowly conical snout that is equal in length, or nearly so, to their eye diameter, 4) 5-7 short gill rakers on the lower limb of the first gill arch, 5) the longest being about as long as the width of its base, and 6) 4 slender, hooked, main row pharyngeal teeth (Stewart and Watkinson 2004; K.W. Stewart, pers. comm. 2005) (Figure 1). The last four characters distinguish the carmine shiner from the emerald shiner (N. atherinoides), with which it is often confused. The emerald shiner has a more blunt, rounded snout, usually only about 3/4 the length of the eye diameter; 8-12 gill rakers on the lower limb of the first arch, the length of longest being twice the width of its base; and four stouter, and only slightly hooked, pharyngeal teeth in the main row on each side (K.W. Stewart, pers. comm. 2005).


Figure 1: Carmine Shiner from the Whitemouth River Watershed in Manitoba

Figure 1: Carmine shiner from the Whitemouth River watershed in Manitoba.

Photo courtesy of D. Watkinson, DFO, Winnipeg.

Outside of the breeding season, carmine shiners are olive green dorsally, silvery on the sides and silvery white on the belly (Scott and Crossman 1973). They have black pigment outlining the scale pockets dorsally, and freshly caught adult specimens often retain pinkish or rosy pigment on the opercula and cheek, which becomes more vivid and extensive during spawning. Fins are transparent. Breeding males develop fine, sandpaper-like nuptial tubercles on the head, on some predorsal scales, and on the upper surface of the pectoral fin rays.

Full development of spawning colour in the carmine shiner is ephemeral, and the colours also fade quickly after death and preservation. Males and females are both brilliantly marked when they are actively spawning. The following description is based on the spawning female in the photograph of Figure 2. Spawning fish of both sexes are olive dorsally and silvery laterally, with reddish colour on the snout, brilliant crimson on the upper portions of the operculum and the cheek, along all of the pectoral girdle and sides around the base of the pectoral fins, the lateral line back to the anal fin, and the bases of the pectoral, pelvic and caudal fins.


Figure 2: Spawning Female Carmine Shiner Collected 7 July 2005 from Below Old Pinawa Dam, Pinawa Channel, Winnipeg River, Manitoba

Figure 2: Spawning female carmine shiner collected 7 July 2005 from below Old Pinawa Dam, Pinawa Channel, Winnipeg River, Manitoba.

Collection and photo by D.A. Watkinson.


Genetic Description

The phylogeny of the rosyface shiner species complex, which includes the carmine shiner, is unresolved. Mayden and Matson (1988) and Dowling and Brown (1989) argued, on the basis of allozyme and mitochondrial DNA variation, respectively, for monophyly of the N. rubellus species group. Woods et al. (2002), who studied the population genetics and phylogenetics of 37 presumptive gene loci in 33 populations throughout the range of the N. rubellus species complex, disagreed. They still recognized a monophyletic N. rubellus species complex but analysis of their data suggested that the taxonomy then employed for N. rubellus did not reflect the patterns of genetic divergence, cladogenesis and phylogenetic affinity within the species group, or between members of this group and other closely related species. Instead, it supported the existence of at least five species that had hitherto been recognized under N. rubellus, including a species that has not yet been described, recently described N. suttkusi (rocky shiner), and three allopatrically distributed species. The latter include N. rubellus (rosyface shiner), N. micropteryx (highland shiner), and N. percobromus (carmine shiner). 

Ongoing studies have confirmed that the carmine and rosyface shiners are separate taxa, as is the emerald shiner, based on both mitochondrial (ATPase 6 and 8 genes) and nuclear (rRNA ITS-1) DNA sequences (C. Wilson, pers. comm. 2005). Research is continuing to identify sequence differences that can be easily detected with restriction enzymes. These studies show that the fish in Manitoba are carmine shiners, like those to the south, and not rosyface shiners like those in eastern Canada.


Designatable Units

Populations of carmine shiner described herein represent the only known occurrence of this taxon in Canada, they occupy a single ecoregion as recognized by COSEWIC, and there is no evidence of relevant differentiation below the species level. Thus, there are no designatable units within this species in Canada.




Footnotes

1 Phylogenetic relationships describe the evolutionary or genealogical history of species relative to one another.
2 Allozymes are forms of an enzyme that differ in their chemistry.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Tête carminée au Canada

Mise à jour
Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur la
Tête carminée
Notropis percobromus
au Canada
2006

Information sur l'espèce

Lorsqu’il a examiné le taxon pour la première fois, le COSEPAC le considérait comme une tête rose (Notropis rubellus) (Houston, 1996). Cependant, plusieurs chercheurs sont maintenant d’avis que les populations du Manitoba sont des têtes carminées (N. percobromus) (Wood et al., 2002; Stewart et Watkinson, 2004; Nelson et al., 2004). Lors de son premier examen, Houston (1996) a résumé les données connues sur les deux espèces de ménés, sans faire de distinction entre les deux. La présente mise à jour porte uniquement sur la tête carminée.


Nom et classification

Classe :
Actinopterygii
Ordre :
Cypriniformes
Famille :
Cyprinidés
Genre :
Notropis
Espèce* :
Notropis percobromus (Cope, 1871)
Nom commun :
Français – tête carminée
Anglais* – carmine shiner

* Nelson et al. (2004).

La tête carminée est un petit méné (F. Cyprinidae) du genre Notropis, le deuxième genre en importance chez les poissons d’eau douce de l’Amérique du Nord. De nombreuses espèces appartenant à ce genre sont difficiles à distinguer les unes des autres, et leurs relations phylogéniques1 demeurent essentiellement inconnues (Dowling et Brown, 1989). De récentes études sur les alloenzymes2 étayent l’hypothèse voulant qu’il existe au moins cinq espèces jusqu’ici considérées comme des têtes roses, à savoir la tête rose, le N. micropteryx, le N. suttkusi, la tête carminée et une espèce encore non décrite (Wood et al., 2002).

À la lumière de l’information biogéographique trouvée dans Wood et al. (2002) et dans Nelson et al. (2004), Stewart et Watkinson (2004) considèrent que la ou les populations du Manitoba sont des têtes carminées. Des études morphométriques (K.W. Stewart et D. Watkinson) et génétiques (ADN; C. Wilson) en cours confirment que les représentants manitobains de ce complexe spécifique sont des têtes carminées et que la tête rose et la tête carminée sont des espèces distinctes (W. Franzin, comm. pers., 2005).


Description morphologique

La tête carminée est un méné au corps mince et allongé qui se distingue des autres ménés du Manitoba par les caractéristiques suivantes : 1) la nageoire dorsale prend naissance en arrière d’une ligne verticale tracée depuis l’insertion des nageoires pelviennes; 2) l’abdomen est dépourvu de carène charnue, et le corps ne porte aucune ligne latérale fortement incurvée; 3) le museau, étroit et de forme conique, fait à peu près la longueur du diamètre de l’œil; 4) la partie inférieure du premier arc branchial compte de cinq à sept branchicténies courtes; 5) la plus longue de ces branchicténies est à peu près aussi longue que la largeur de sa base; 6)  la bouche compte une rangée principale de quatre dents pharyngiennes minces et recourbées (Stewart et Watkinson, 2004; K.W. Stewart, comm. pers., 2005) (figure 1). Ces quatre dernières caractéristiques distinguent la tête carminée du méné émeraude (N. atherinoides ), avec lequel elle est souvent confondue. Le méné émeraude se reconnaît aux caractéristiques suivantes : un museau plus arrondi, qui fait habituellement les trois quarts de la longueur du diamètre de l’œil, de huit à douze branchicténies sur la partie inférieure du premier arc branchial, la plus longue faisant deux fois la largeur de sa base, et quatre dents pharyngiennes plus grosses et légèrement recourbées de chaque côté de la rangée principale (K.W. Stewart, comm. pers., 2005).


Figure 1 : Tête carminée du bassin hydrographique de la rivière Whitemouth, au Manitoba

Figure 1 : Tête carminée du bassin hydrographique de la rivière Whitemouth, au Manitoba

Photo reproduite avec la permission de D. Watkinson, du MPO, à Winnipeg.

Entre les périodes de fraye, la tête carminée a le dos olive, les flancs argentés et le ventre blanc argenté (Scott et Crossman, 1973). Des pigments noirs délimitent les contours des poches écailleuses dorsales. Les spécimens adultes fraîchement capturés ont souvent, sur les opercules et les joues, des pigments rosâtres qui s’agrandissent et prennent des teintes plus vives pendant la fraye. Les nageoires sont transparentes. Sur la tête, sur certaines écailles prédorsales et sur la surface supérieure des rayons des nageoires pectorales, les mâles reproducteurs portent des tubercules nuptiaux fins qui ont la texture du papier sablé.

La pigmentation qui apparaît pendant la fraye est éphémère, et le poisson se décolore rapidement après la mort et la préservation. Mâles et femelles portent tous deux des marques de couleur vive pendant la fraye. La description qui suit est fondée sur la femelle prête à frayer de la figure 2. Pendant la fraye, les spécimens des deux sexes ont le dos olive, les flancs argentés et le museau rougeâtre. Tous deux portent des taches de cramoisi vif sur les parties supérieures des opercules et des joues, tout le long de la ceinture scapulaire et autour de la base des nageoires pectorales, le long de la ligne latérale jusqu’à la nageoire anale et autour de la base des nageoires pectorales, pelviennes et caudale.


Figure 2 : Tête carminée femelle prête à frayer, prélevée le 7 juillet 2005 en aval du vieux barrage de Pinawa, dans le chenal Pinawa (rivière Winnipeg), au Manitoba

Figure 2 : Tête carminée femelle prête à frayer, prélevée le 7 juillet 2005 en aval du vieux barrage de Pinawa, dans le chenal Pinawa (rivière Winnipeg), au Manitoba.

Collection et photo de D.A. Watkinson.


Description génétique

La phylogenèse du complexe spécifique N. rubellus, dont fait partie la tête carminée, demeure inconnue. En se basant respectivement sur les variations des alloenzymes et de l’ADN mitochondrial, Mayden et Matson (1988) ainsi que Dowling et Brown (1989) ont conclu à la monophylie du groupe d’espèces N. rubellus. Woods et al. (2002), qui ont étudié la génétique démographique et la phylogenèse de 37 présumés locus de gènes chez 33 populations disséminées un peu partout dans l’aire de répartition du complexe spécifique N. rubellus, sont arrivés à une autre conclusion. Ils ont reconnu l’existence du complexe spécifique N. rubellus, mais les résultats de leurs analyses semblent indiquer que la taxinomie employée pour le N. rubellus ne reflétait pas les profils de la divergence génétique, de la cladogenèse et de l’affinité phylogénique au sein du groupe d’espèces ou entre les membres de ce groupe et d’autres espèces étroitement apparentées. À la lumière de leur analyse, ils ont conclu à l’existence d’au moins cinq espèces considérées jusqu’ici comme des N. rubellus : une espèce qui n’a encore jamais été décrite, le N. suttkusi, qui a récemment été décrit, et trois espèces soumises à une spéciation allopatrique, à savoir le N. rubellus (tête rose), le N. micropteryx et le N. percobromus (tête carminée). 

Des études en cours sur les séquences d’ADN mitochondrial (ATPase 6 et 8) et d’ADN nucléaire (ITS-1 de l’ARNr) confirment que la tête carminée et la tête rose sont des taxons distincts, tout comme le méné émeraude (C. Wilson, comm. pers., 2005). Les recherches se poursuivent pour identifier les différences de séquences qui se détectent facilement avec des enzymes de restriction. Ces études révèlent que les poissons des eaux du Manitoba sont des têtes carminées, comme ceux qui vivent plus au sud, et non des têtes roses, comme ceux qui peuplent les eaux de l’est du Canada.    


Unités désignables

Les populations de têtes carmins décrites dans le présent rapport représentent la seule occurrence connue de ce taxon au Canada. Elles occupent une seule écorégion reconnue par le COSEPAC, et il n’existe aucune donnée indiquant une différenciation sous le niveau de l’espèce. Par conséquent, il n’y a aucune unité désignable au Canada.




Notes de bas de page

1 Relations phylogéniques – Évolution ou histoire généalogique des espèces les unes par rapport aux autres.
2 Alloenzymes – Formes d’une enzyme qui diffèrent par leur chimie.