Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Carmine Shiner in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

The rosyface shiner species complex is distributed widely throughout highland and glaciated regions of eastern North America (Wood et al. 2002). The distributions of species that comprise the complex are shown in Figure 3. It was suggested that only one species of the complex, N. percobromus, occurs west of Lake Michigan and south of Lake Superior, contrary to Wood et al. (2002), who suggested some N. rubellus occur west of Lake Michigan (W. Franzin, pers. comm. 2005). Recent genetic results (C. Wilson, pers. comm. 2005) show that N. rubellus is present in the Lake Michigan watershed in Wisconsin, as is N. percobromus (Little Wolf River). N. rubellus is also present in the Fox River basin – Mississippi River drainage location.


Figure 3: Hypothesized Geographical Distributions of Species in the Notropis rubellus Species Complex Based on Geographical Variation of Allozyme Products

Figure 3: Hypothesized geographical distributions of species in the Notropis rubellus species complex based on geographical variation of allozyme products.

Modified from Wood et al. 2002.

The existence of various distinct forms within N. percobromus supported by morphological and allozyme characters and phylogenetic analyses of allozyme data may eventually warrant taxonomic recognition (Wood et al. 2002). Since populations in the Whitemouth and Winnipeg rivers are apparently disjunct from those in the Red River and elsewhere, and were likely isolated there by isostatic rebound elevations, thereby breaching drainage connections with the Whitemouth watershed and the Red lakes watershed in Minnesota, taxonomic revision could affect Manitoba populations.

When the rosyface shiner was first reviewed for COSEWIC, Canadian representatives of this complex were identified as N. rubellus, and the Manitoba population was thought to be isolated in the Whitemouth River system (Houston 1996). New information suggests that neither of these assessments is valid. Genetic studies have identified the Manitoba fish as N. percobromus, and those to the east of Lake Superior in southwestern Ontario as N. rubellus (Wood et al. 2002; W. Franzin, pers. comm. 2005). Recent collecting efforts have also extended the known distribution of the Manitoba population to include the Old Pinawa Channel, a branch of the Winnipeg River, and the Bird River, a tributary to the Winnipeg River. Both of these, like the Whitemouth River, join the Winnipeg River in the reach bounded by Seven Sisters Falls upstream and MacArthur Falls downstream (Stewart and Watkinson 2004; K. Stewart pers. comm. 2006).


Canadian Range

Within Canada, the carmine shiner has only recently been reported from the Province of Manitoba, where it is at the northwestern limit of the species’ range (Figure 4). The species’ presence in the Winnipeg River upstream of insurmountable barriers, and its apparent absence from the lower Red River and Lake Winnipeg, suggest that colonization may have been via a post-glacial connection with the headwaters of the Red Lake River in Minnesota, a dispersal track that is shared with the hornyhead chub (Nocomis biguttatus) and the fluted shell mussel (Lasmigona costata) (Clarke 1981; K.W. Stewart, pers. comm. 2004). Alternatively, colonization may have been via dispersal into the Rainy River watershed from Upper Mississippi headwaters in northwestern Minnesota, a dispersal track shared by five other fish species in southern Manitoba.


Figure 4: Distribution of the Carmine Shiner in Manitoba

Figure 4: Distribution of the carmine shiner in Manitoba

Courtesy of D. Watkinson, DFO, Winnipeg.

Houston (1996) reported the distribution of the carmine shiner only from the Whitemouth River and its tributary the Birch River (J.J. Keleher ROM 17539; Smart 1979; Houston 1996). More recent sampling (Figure 5) has extended that range with additional specimens collected from the Whitemouth River, from its tributaries the Birch and Little Birch rivers, and from the Winnipeg River immediately below Whitemouth Falls (Clarke 1998; Stewart and Watkinson 2004; D. Watkinson, pers. comm. 2004). Specimens were also collected from the Winnipeg River in the Pinawa Channel immediately below the Old Pinawa Dam, from the Bird River at the first set of rapids upstream from Lac du Bonnet (Winnipeg River mainstem lake) and at the mouth of Peterson Creek, a Bird River tributary. All of these new reports are from reaches of the Winnipeg River system downstream of the Whitemouth River outlet. An historical report of carmine shiners further upstream on the Winnipeg River system, in Lake of the Woods (Evermann and Goldsborough 1907), has not been verified. The nearest known Notropis percobromus population to the Whitemouth River watershed in Manitoba is found in the Lost River tributary of the Red Lakes River watershed (Red River drainage) in northwestern Minnesota.

Stewart and Watkinson (2004) reported carmine shiners from Forbes Creek, a tributary of George Lake, and from Tie Creek, the outlet to George Lake, which discharges into the Winnipeg River upstream from the confluence of the Whitemouth and Winnipeg rivers. On re-examination, these fish proved to be emerald shiners (K.W. Stewart, pers. comm. 2005).


Figure 5: The Distribution of Fish Collection Sites (Circles) and Sites where Carmine Shiners were Captured (Squares) in 2002-2005 in the Whitemouth and Winnipeg River Watersheds within Manitoba and Northwestern Ontario

Figure 5: The distribution of fish collection sites and sites where carmine shiners were captured in 2002-2005 in the Whitemouth and Winnipeg river watersheds within Manitoba and northwestern Ontario.

Over 326 locations in the Winnipeg River and Lake of the Woods watersheds have been sampled, not including repeat sampling in the same location at different dates from 2002-2005. A further 36 locations that are Lake Winnipeg watersheds separate from the Winnipeg River have been sampled in an attempt to expand their known distribution with no success (2002-2004). The majority of this sampling has been conducted with boat electroshocker equipment.

The extent of occurrence and area of occupancy of the carmine shiner in Canada are estimated at 120 km2 and 3.4 km2, respectively (Table 1). These area estimates are for the surface of the waterbodies, and are rough approximations sincethere has been very little directed sampling for these fish, and they are difficult to differentiate from emerald shiners.

Table 1: Area of Occupancy
AreaLength (m)Width (m)Area (km2)
Whitemouth River (lower course)21 000561.176
Whitemouth River (middle course)74 000271.998
Birch River19 000140.266
Total:  3.44

Area of Occupancy (based on data in Smart 1979 and Schneider Vieira and MacDonell 1993).

 

Table 1 (continued): Extent of Occurrence (area integrated on Manitoba Agriculture, Food and Rural Initiatives)
AreaAcresArea (km2)
Area of Occupancy 3.44
Winnipeg River (Seven Sisters to PR 313)3 691.514.94
Lac du Bonnet (bounded by PR 313, McArthur Falls, Bird River, Rice Creek, Old Pinawa Dam)25 275.0102.28
Total: 120.66

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Tête carminée au Canada

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord, le complexe spécifique N. rubellus occupe un vaste territoire dans les hautes terres et les régions érodées par la glaciation (Wood et al., 2002). La répartition des espèces qui font partie de ce complexe est illustrée à la figure 3. On croyait auparavant qu’une seule d’entre elles, le N. percobromus, se rencontrait à l’ouest du lac Michigan et au sud du lac Supérieur. Cette hypothèse est contestée par Wood et al. (2002), qui sont d’avis que certains spécimens de N. rubellus vivent à l’ouest du lac Michigan (W. Franzin, comm. pers., 2005). Les résultats de récentes analyses génétiques (C. Wilson, comm. pers., 2005) révèlent que le N. rubellus est présent dans le bassin hydrographique du lac Michigan, au Wisconsin, tout comme le N. percobromus (rivière Little Wolf). Le N. rubellus a également été relevé dans une localité du bassin de la rivière Fox et du fleuve Mississippi.


Figure 3 : Répartition géographique hypothétique des espèces du complexe spécifique Notropis rubellus, d’après les variations géographiques des alloenzymes

Figure 3 : Répartition géographique hypothétique des espèces du complexe spécifique Notropis rubellus, d’après les variations géographiques des alloenzymes.

Modifié à partir de la carte de Wood et al., 2002.

L’analyse des caractères morphologiques et alloenzymatiques et l’analyse phylogénique des données alloenzymatiques ont permis de déceler l’existence de diverses formes distinctes du N. percobromus. Ces découvertes pourraient un jour mener à une reconnaissance taxinomique (Wood et al., 2002). Tout semble indiquer que les populations des rivières Whitemouth et Winnipeg sont séparées de celles de la rivière Rouge et d’ailleurs et qu’elles ont été isolées par suite de relèvements isostatiques qui ont coupé toute communication entre le bassin hydrographique de la rivière Whitemouth et celui des lacs Red, au Minnesota. Une révision taxinomique pourrait donc toucher les populations qui vivent au Manitoba.

Lorsqu’il a évalué la situation de la tête rose pour la première fois, le COSEPAC a réuni sous l’appellation N. rubellus plusieurs espèces canadiennes du complexe spécifique. Les ménés vivant au Manitoba étaient alors considérés comme une population isolée dans le réseau hydrographique de la rivière Whitemouth (Houston, 1996). De nouvelles données permettent aujourd’hui de conclure que ces évaluations étaient erronées. En effet, à l’issue d’études génétiques récentes, les poissons du Manitoba ont été assimilés à des N. percobromus, et ceux de l’est du lac Supérieur, dans le sud‑ouest de l’Ontario, à des N. rubellus (Wood et al., 2002; W. Franzin, comm. pers., 2005). De récents travaux d’échantillonnage ont également permis d’élargir l’aire de répartition connue de la population du Manitoba afin d’englober le chenal Pinawa, branche de la rivière Winnipeg, et la rivière Bird, tributaire de la rivière Winnipeg. Tout comme la rivière Whitemouth, ces deux cours d’eau rejoignent la rivière Winnipeg dans un tronçon délimité en amont par les chutes Seven Sisters et en aval par les chutes MacArthur (Stewart et Watkinson, 2004; K. Stewart, comm. pers., 2006).


Aire de répartition canadienne

Au Canada, la tête carminée n’a été relevée que récemment au Manitoba, où elle occupe la limite nord-ouest de son aire de répartition (figure 4). L’espèce est présente dans la rivière Winnipeg en amont d’obstacles insurmontables et elle semble être absente du lac Winnipeg et du cours inférieur de la rivière Rouge, ce qui donne à penser que la colonisation se serait faite par un embranchement postglaciaire relié au cours supérieur de la rivière Red Lake, au Minnesota, une voie de dispersion que la tête carminée aurait empruntée avec la tête à taches rouges (Nocomis biguttatus) et la lasmigone cannelée (Lasmigona costata) (Clarke, 1981; K.W. Stewart, comm. pers., 2004). Il se peut également que l’espèce se soit dispersée par le bassin hydrographique de la rivière à la Pluie à partir du haut Mississippi, dans le nord-ouest du Minnesota, comme l’ont fait cinq autres espèces de poissons qui vivent actuellement dans le sud du Manitoba.


Figure 4 : Répartition de la tête carminée au Manitoba

Figure 4 : Répartition de la tête carminée au Manitoba.

Reproduit avec la permission de D. Watkinson, du MPO, à Winnipeg.


Figure 5 : La répartition des sites de collecte de poissons (cercles) et des sites où les têtes carminées ont été capturées (carrés) de 2002 à 2005 dans les bassins hydrographiques des rivières Whitemouth et Winnipeg au Manitoba et dans le nord-ouest de l’Ontario

Figure 5 : La répartition des sites de collecte de poissons et des sites où les têtes carminées ont été capturées de 2002 à 2005 dans les bassins hydrographiques des rivières Whitemouth et Winnipeg au Manitoba et dans le nord-ouest de l’Ontario.

Plus de 326 endroits dans les bassins hydrographiques de la rivière Winnipeg et du lac des Bois ont été échantillonnés, sans compter les échantillonnages répétés dans ces mêmes endroits à des dates différentes entre 2002 et 2005. Un autre groupe de 36 endroits des bassins hydrographiques du lac Winnipeg, distinct de la rivière Winnipeg, a été échantillonné en vue d’accroître la répartition connue, mais l’expérience est restée sans succès entre 2002 et 2004. La majorité de cet échantillonnage a été menée à l’aide d’un appareil à électrochocs monté sur bateau.

Houston (1996) n’avait recensé la tête carminée que dans la rivière Whitemouth et dans un de ses affluents, la rivière Birch (J.J. Keleher, ROM 17539; Smart, 1979; Houston, 1996). À la suite de travaux d’échantillonnage plus récents (figure 5), il a été possible d’élargir cette aire de répartition. En effet, des spécimens ont été capturés dans la rivière Whitemouth, dans deux de ses affluents, la rivière Birch et la rivière Little Birch, et dans la rivière Winnipeg, immédiatement en aval des chutes Whitemouth (Clarke, 1998; Stewart et Watkinson, 2004; D. Watkinson, comm. pers., 2004). Des spécimens ont également été prélevés dans le chenal Pinawa de la rivière Winnipeg, immédiatement en aval du vieux barrage de Pinawa, dans la rivière Bird à la première série de rapides en amont du lac du Bonnet (lac de l’axe fluvial de la rivière Winnipeg) et à l’embouchure du ruisseau Peterson, tributaire de la rivière Bird. Ces nouvelles mentions proviennent toutes de tronçons du réseau de la rivière Winnipeg qui se trouvent en aval de la décharge de la rivière Whitemouth. Une mention historique concernant la présence de spécimens de têtes carminées plus en amont, dans le réseau de la rivière Winnipeg, au lac des Bois (Evermann et Goldsborough, 1907), n’a pas été avérée. La population connue de Notropis percobromus la plus proche du bassin hydrographique de la rivière Whitemouth, au Manitoba, se trouve dans la rivière Lost, cours d’eau du bassin hydrographique de la rivière Red Lakes (bassin de la rivière Rouge), dans le nord-ouest du Minnesota.

Stewart et Watkinson (2004) ont relevé des têtes carminées dans le ruisseau Forbes, affluent du lac George, et dans le ruisseau Tie, décharge du lac George, qui se jette dans la rivière Winnipeg, en amont du confluent des rivières Whitemouth et Winnipeg. Un second examen a révélé qu’il s’agissait plutôt de ménés émeraude (K.W. Stewart, comm. pers., 2005).

Au Canada, la superficie de la zone d’occurrence et celle de la zone d’occupation sont estimées à 120 km2 et à 3,4 km2 respectivement (tableau 1). Ces chiffres, qui visent la surface des plans d’eau, sont le résultat de calculs très approximatifs, en raison du nombre très limité d’échantillonnages dirigés et du fait que ces poissons sont très difficiles à distinguer des ménés émeraude.

Table 1: Zone d’occupation
ZoneLongueur (m)Largeur (m) Superficie (km2)
Rivière Whitemouth (cours inférieur)21 000561,176
Rivière Whitemouth (cours moyen)74 000271,998
Rivière Birch19 000140,266
Total:  3,44

Zone d’occurrence (d’après des données tirées de Smart, 1979, ainsi que de Schneider-Vieira et MacDonell, 1993).

 

Tableau 1 (continuation) : Zone d’occupation (superficie intégrée à Manitoba Agriculture, Food and Rural Initiatives (en anglais seulement))
ZoneAcresSuperficie (km2)
Zone d’occupation 3,44
Rivière Winnipeg (des chutes Seven Sisters à la route provinciale 313)3 691,514,94
Lac du Bonnet (délimité par la route provinciale 313, les chutes McArthur, la rivière Bird, le ruisseau Rice et le vieux barrage de Pinawa)25 275,0102,28
Total: 120,66