Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Round Hickorynut (Obovaria Subrotunda)

Biographical Summary of Contractors

David T. Zanatta received a B.Sc. (Hons.) in Biology from Laurentian University (1998) and a M.Sc. (Zoology) from the University of Guelph (2000). His M.Sc. supervisor, Dr. Gerald L. Mackie, is currently chair of the Mollusc Species Subgroup Group of the Lepidoptera and Mollusca Subcommittee of COSEWIC. Mr. Zanatta’s thesis was entitled “Biotic and abiotic factors relating to distribution of unionid mussel species in Lake St. Clair.” Part of his thesis research, which documented the discovery of native mussel refuge sites in Lake St. Clair, will be published shortly in the Journal of Great Lakes Research. He has also studied Lake Trout populations in Northwestern Ontario lakes and analyzed Walleye index netting data for the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources. He is a member of the North American Benthological Society and the Freshwater Mollusk Conservation Society. David is currently a research technologist with the National Water Research Institute of Environment Canada in Burlington, Ontario.

Janice L. Metcalfe-Smith is an aquatic research biologist with the National Water Research Institute of Environment Canada in Burlington, Ontario. She has a B.Sc. (Hons.) in Zoology from the University of Manitoba (1973), and 29 years of experience as a technologist (1973-1978) and biologist (1978-present) with the departments of Fisheries and Oceans (Winnipeg, Manitoba and St. Andrews, New Brunswick) and Environment (Burlington, Ontario). She has conducted research in several areas, including the effects of forestry practices and acid rain on Atlantic salmon, the use of benthic macroinvertebrate communities in water quality assessment, and the development of biological monitoring techniques for measuring contaminant trends in freshwater ecosystems. Since 1995, her research has focused on the assessment and conservation of freshwater mussels in Ontario. She has authored or co-authored over 60 scientific papers and reports, including 15 on biodiversity issues. She is a member of the North American Benthological Society, the Freshwater Mollusk Conservation Society, and the Mollusc working group of the Lepidopterans and Molluscs Specialist Subcommittee of COSEWIC. She co-authored five previous status reports on mussel species at risk for COSEWIC.


Authorities Consulted

Badra, P. September 2001. Aquatic Zoologist, Michigan Natural Features Inventory, Michigan State University Extension, Stevens T. Mason Building, PO Box 30444, Lansing, MI 48909-7944.

Cicerello, R. August 2001. Kentucky State Nature Preserves Commission, 801 Schenkel Lane, Frankfort, KY 40601.

Clayton, J. August 2001. West Virginia Division of Natural Resources, PO Box 67 Elkins, WV 26241.

Cummings, K. August 2001. Illinois Natural History Survey, 607 E. Peabody Dr., Champaign, IL 61820.

Dextrase, A. November 2001. Ontario Parks, Species at Risk Section, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, Box 7000 Peterborough, ON K9J 8M5.

Fowler, B.T. August 2002. Co-chair, Lepidopterans and Molluscs Specialist Subcommittee, COSEWIC. Canadian Wildlife Service, Hull, Quebec K1A 0H3.

Garner, J. October 2001. Malacologist, Alabama Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries, 350 County Rd. 275, Florence, AL 35633.

Hartfield P. July 2001. U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, 6578 Dogwood View Parkway, Jackson MS 39213.

Jacobs, C. October 2001. Walpole Island Heritage Centre, Walpole Island First Nation, R.R. 3, Wallaceburg, ON, N8A 4K9.

Jones, R. October 2001. Conservation Biology Section, Museum of Natural Science, Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks, 2418 Riverside Drive, Jackson, MS 39202-1353.

Maffei, J. May 2001. Lake Erie Management Unit, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources. 

Marangelo, P. July 2001. Planning Ecologist, The Nature Conservancy, Michigan Chapter, 2840 E. Grand River Ave. #5, East Lansing, MI 48823.

Masteller, E. September 2001. Emeritus Professor of Biology, Penn State Erie, The Behrend College, Erie, PA 16563.

Shiels, A. September 2001. Pennsylvania Nongame and Endangered Species Unit, Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission, Bellefonte PA 16823.

Strayer, D.L. September 2001. Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Box AB, Millbrook, NY 12545-0129.

Sutherland, D. September 1999. Ontario Natural Heritage Information Centre, Ministry of Natural Resources, 300 Water Street, 2nd Floor, North Tower, Peterborough, Ontario K9J8M5.

Watters, G.T. July 2001. Curator of Molluscs, Department of Evolution, Ecology and Organismal Biology, Museum of Biological Diversity, The Ohio State University, 1315 Kinnear Road, Columbus, OH 43212.


Collections Examined

In 1996, all available historical and recent data on the occurrences of freshwater mussel species throughout the lower Great Lakes drainage basin were compiled into a computerized, GIS-linked database referred to as the Lower Great Lakes Unionid Database. Data sources included the primary literature, natural history museums, federal, provincial, and municipal government agencies (and some American agencies), conservation authorities, Remedial Action Plans for the Great Lakes Areas of Concern, university theses, and environmental consulting firms. Mussel collections held by six natural history museums in the Great Lakes region (Canadian Museum of Nature, Ohio State University Museum of Zoology, Royal Ontario Museum, University of Michigan Museum of Zoology, Rochester Museum and Science Center, and Buffalo Museum of Science) were the primary sources of information, accounting for over two-thirds of the data acquired. The database continues to be updated and now has over 6000 records of unionids from the lower Great Lakes drainage. One of us (J.L. Metcalfe-Smith) personally examined the collections held by the Royal Ontario Museum, University of Michigan Museum of Zoology and Buffalo Museum of Science, as well as smaller collections held by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.

Page 16

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l'obovarie ronde (Obovaria subrotunda) au Canada - 2003

Sommaire biographique des contractuels

David T. Zanatta est titulaire d’un baccalauréat spécialisé en biologie de l’Université Laurentienne (1998) et d’une maîtrise en zoologie de la University of Guelph (2000). Son directeur de mémoire de maîtrise, Gerald L. Mackie, est actuellement président du Groupe de travail sur les mollusques du Sous-comité de spécialistes des lépidoptères et mollusques du COSEPAC. Le mémoire de M. Zanatta s’intitulait « Biotic and abiotic factors relating to distribution of unionid mussel species in Lake St. Clair ». Une partie de son mémoire, qui fait état de nouveaux refuges de mulettes indigènes dans le lac Sainte-Claire, va être bientôt publiée dans le Journal of Great Lakes Research. Il a également étudié des populations de touladi dans des lacs du Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario et analysé les indices de capture au filet du doré jaune pour le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario. Il est membre de la North American Benthological Society et de la Freshwater Mollusk Conservation Society. M. Zanetta est actuellement technicien de recherche à l’Institut national de recherche sur les eaux d’Environnement Canada, à Burlington (Ontario).

Janice L. Metcalfe-Smith est chercheure en biologie aquatique à l’Institut national de recherche sur les eaux d’Environnement Canada, à Burlington (Ontario). Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat spécialisé en zoologie de l’Université du Manitoba (1973) et a acquis 29 années d’expérience comme technologue (1973-1978) et biologiste (depuis 1978) auprès de Pêches et Océans Canada (Winnipeg [Manitoba] et St. Andrews [Nouveau-Brunswick]) et d’Environnement Canada (Burlington [Ontario]). Elle a mené des recherches diversifiées, notamment sur les effets des pratiques forestières et des pluies acides sur le saumon atlantique, sur l’utilisation des communautés de macro-invertébrés benthiques dans l’évaluation de la qualité de l’eau et sur l’élaboration de techniques de surveillance biologique pour la mesure des tendances de la contamination dans les écosystèmes d’eau douce. Depuis 1995, ses recherches se concentrent sur l’évaluation et la conservation des mulettes en Ontario. Elle a rédigé ou co-rédigé plus de 60 articles et rapports scientifiques, dont 15 sur des questions relatives à la biodiversité. Elle est membre de la North American Benthological Society, de la Freshwater Mollusk Conservation Society et du Groupe de travail sur les mollusques du Sous-comité de spécialistes des lépidoptères et mollusques du COSEPAC. Elle a déjà co-rédigé cinq autres rapports de situation sur des espèces de moules en péril pour le COSEPAC.


Autorités consultées

Badra, P. Septembre 2001. Zoologiste - espèces aquatiques, Michigan Natural Features Inventory, Michigan State University Extension, Stevens T. Mason Building, PO Box 30444, Lansing, MI, États-Unis  48909-7944.

Cicerello, R. Août 2001. Kentucky State Nature Preserves Commission, 801 Schenkel Lane, Frankfort, KY, États-Unis  40601.

Clayton, J. Août 2001. West Virginia Division of Natural Resources, PO Box 67 Elkins, WV, États-Unis  26241.

Cummings, K. Août 2001. Illinois Natural History Survey, 607 E. Peabody Dr., Champaign, IL, États-Unis  61820.

Dextrase, A. Novembre 2001. Parcs Ontario, Section des espèces en péril, ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario, C.P. 7000, Peterborough (Ontario) K9J 8M5.

Fowler, B.T. Août 2002. Coprésident, Sous-comité de spécialistes des lépidoptères et mollusques, COSEPAC. Service canadien de la faune, Hull (Québec) K1A 0H3.

Garner, J. Octobre 2001. Malacologue, Alabama Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries, 350 County Rd. 275, Florence, AL, États-Unis  35633.

Hartfield, P. Juillet 2001. U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, 6578 Dogwood View Parkway, Jackson, MS  39213.

Jacobs, C. Octobre 2001. Walpole Island Heritage Centre, Première nation de Walpole Island, R.R. 3, Wallaceburg (Ontario)  N8A 4K9; téléc. : (519) 627-1530.

Jones, R. Octobre 2001. Conservation Biology Section, Museum of Natural Science, Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks, 2418 Riverside Drive, Jackson, MS, États-Unis  39202-1353. Tél. : (601) 354-7303, poste 113; téléc. : (601) 354-7227.

Maffei, J. Mai 2001. Unité de gestion des ressources du lac Érié, ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario. Tél. : (519) 873-4524.

Marangelo, P. Juillet 2001. Écologiste de l’aménagement, The Nature Conservancy, Michigan Chapter, 2840 E. Grand River Ave. #5, East Lansing, MI, États-Unis  48823. Tél. : (517) 332-1741, poste 12; téléc. : (517) 332-8382.

Masteller, E. Septembre 2001. Professeur émérite de biologie, Penn State Erie, The Behrend College, Erie, PA, États-Unis  16563. Tél. : (814) 898-6404.

Shiels, A. Septembre 2001. Pennsylvania Nongame and Endangered Species Unit, Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission, Bellefonte PA, États-Unis  16823. Tél. : (814) 359-5113.

Strayer, D.L. Septembre 2001. Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Box AB, Millbrook, NY, États-Unis  12545-0129. Tél. : (914) 677-5343.

Sutherland, D. Septembre 1999. Centre d’information sur le patrimoine naturel de l’Ontario, ministère des Richesses naturelles, 300, rue Water, 2e étage, Tour Nord, Peterborough (Ontario)  K9J 8M5. Tél. : (705) 755-2159; téléc. : (705) 755-2168.

Watters, G.T. Juillet 2001. Conservateur des mollusques, Department of Evolution, Ecology and Organismal Biology, Museum of Biological Diversity, The Ohio State University, 1315 Kinnear Road, Columbus, OH, États-Unis  43212.Tél. : (614) 292-6170; téléc. : (614) 292-7774.


Collections examinées

En 1996, toutes les données récentes et historiques disponibles sur les occurrences de mulettes dans le bassin versant des Grands Lacs inférieurs ont été compilées dans une base de données informatisée associée à un SIG, la Lower Great Lakes Unionid Database (base de données sur les Unionidés des Grands Lacs inférieurs). Les sources de données comprenaient les publications scientifiques primaires, les musées d’histoire naturelle, les organismes fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux (ainsi que certains organismes américains), les offices de protection de la nature, les plans d’assainissement pour les secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs, les thèses et mémoires universitaires et les cabinets d’experts-conseils dans le domaine de l’environnement. Les collections de mulettes de six musées d’histoire naturelle de la région des Grands Lacs (Musée canadien de la nature, Ohio State University Museum of Zoology, Musée royal de l’Ontario, University of Michigan Museum of Zoology, Rochester Museum and Science Center et Buffalo Museum of Science) ont été les principales sources d’information, ayant fourni plus des deux tiers des données. La base de données, régulièrement mise à jour, comporte aujourd’hui plus de 6 000 mentions d’unionidés provenant du bassin versant des Grands Lacs inférieurs. Un des auteurs du présent rapport (J.L. Metcalfe-Smith) a examiné sur place les collections du Musée royal de l’Ontario, du University of Michigan Museum of Zoology et du Buffalo Museum of Science, ainsi que des collections plus petites du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario.