Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Round Hickorynut (Obovaria Subrotunda)

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Round Hickorynut
Obovaria subrotunda

Species Information

The round hickorynut, Obovaria subrotunda (Rafinesque, 1820), is a small freshwater mussel (maximum length in Canada ~ 60 mm) that is easily distinguished from other Canadian species by its almost perfectly round shape. The shell is thick, solid, and dark brown in colour, with a band of lighter colouration along the posterior dorsal surface.

Distribution

The round hickorynut was found throughout the Tennessee, Cumberland, and Ohio river systems in the United States, and also occurred in Lake Erie, Lake St. Clair, and some of their tributaries. In Canada, it was known from the western basin of Lake Erie, Lake St. Clair, and the Welland, Grand, Detroit, Thames and Sydenham rivers. The species is declining throughout its North American range, and has been extirpated from New York. In Canada, it is still extant in the Sydenham River and Lake St. Clair.

Habitat

The round hickorynut is typically found in medium-sized to large rivers, but also occurs in Lake Erie and Lake St. Clair. Its preferred habitat is generally described as rivers with steady, moderate flows, and sand and gravel substrates at depths of up to 2 m. In southeastern Michigan and southwestern Ontario, however, it has mainly been found in murky, low-gradient rivers with clay/sand or clay/gravel substrates. In Lake St. Clair, it currently occupies shallow (<1 m) nearshore areas with firm, sandy substrates.

Biology

The round hickorynut has separate sexes, with females smaller than males. The lifespan is probably at least 10 years. Like other freshwater mussels, O. subrotunda is parasitic on fish during its larval stage. Spawning occurs in the summer, and the female mussel holds the embryos over winter until they reach the larval stage the following June. The larvae are then released into the water where they attach to the gills of an appropriate fish host and form a cyst. After a period of time, the larvae transform into juveniles that drop off the fish and fall to the substrate to begin life as free-living mussels. The host fish for the round hickorynut is unknown, but may be the eastern sand darter (Ammocrypta pellucida). Round Hickorynuts, like all freshwater mussels, feed on bacteria and algae that they filter from the water with their gills.

Population Sizes and Trends

Obovaria subrotunda is a very uncommon species that is clearly declining throughout most of its North American range. In Canada, It has been lost from Lake Erie, the Detroit River, and the offshore waters of Lake St. Clair. It has also been lost from the Grand and Thames rivers, and has significantly declined in the Sydenham River. The only significant population of O. subrotunda left in Canada occurs in the shallow waters of the St. Clair delta, but it is not known if the population will continue to survive. The round hickorynut has been lost from ~ 90% of its former range in Canada.

Limiting Factors and Threats

The round hickorynut has been lost from most of its former range in the Great Lakes due to impacts of the zebra mussel, and the remaining population in the St. Clair delta may be at risk. Populations in the Grand and Thames rivers were likely extirpated due to the combined effects of sewage pollution and agricultural impacts in these heavily populated watersheds. The decline of the Sydenham River population is likely due to agricultural impacts. Predation by muskrats or raccoons may also play a role. If the eastern sand darter is the host of the round hickorynut, then the decline of this threatened fish would affect the mussel’s survival.

Special Significance of the Species

There are six species in the genus Obovaria, but only the hickorynut (O. olivaria) and round hickorynut (O. subrotunda) have ranges extending into Canada. The ring pink (O. retusa) is listed as federally endangered in the United States. The American Fisheries Society also considers the round ebonyshell (O. rotulata) to be endangered, and three other species, including the round hickorynut, to be of special concern. Thus, most members of this genus appear to be sensitive to environmental degradation.

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

The round hickorynut is listed as endangered in Illinois, Michigan and Alabama, threatened in Tennessee, and special concern in Indiana, and is therefore afforded some protection in these states. There is currently no protection for the round hickorynut in Canada.

Summary of Status Report

Obovaria subrotunda historically occurred in 12 states and the province of Ontario.  Most populations in the United States are in decline. The round hickorynut has been lost from approximately 90% of its historical range in Canada due to impacts of the zebra mussel and poor land use practices. The Sydenham River population is probably close to extirpation, with only scattered individuals still found alive in the system. The only significant population left in Canada is located in a shallow area of Lake St. Clair near Walpole Island. It is not clear at present if this population is successfully reproducing.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l'obovarie ronde (Obovaria subrotunda) au Canada - 2003

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Obovarie ronde
Obovaria subrotunda

Information sur l’espèce

L’obovarie ronde (Obovaria subrotunda) (Rafinesque, 1820), est une petite mulette (longueur maximale au Canada ~ 60 mm) qui se distingue facilement des autres espèces canadiennes à sa forme presque parfaitement ronde. Elle possède une coquille épaisse et forte brun foncé, caractérisée par une bande plus pâle sur la partie dorsale postérieure.

Répartition

L’obovarie ronde était répandue dans tout le réseau des rivières Tennessee et Cumberland et dans celui de la rivière Ohio aux États-Unis, ainsi que dans le lac Érié, le lac Sainte-Claire et certains de leurs tributaires. Au Canada, sa présence était signalée dans le bassin ouest du lac Érié, dans le lac Sainte-Claire et dans les rivières Welland, Grand, Detroit, Thames et Sydenham. L’espèce est en déclin dans toute son aire de répartition en Amérique du Nord et disparue de l’État de New York. Au Canada, elle est encore présente dans la rivière Sydenham et le lac Sainte-Claire.

Habitat

L’obovarie ronde habite en général dans des rivières de taille moyenne à grande, mais on la trouve aussi dans les lacs Érié et Sainte-Claire. Elle préfère habituellement les rivières au débit modéré et régulier ainsi que les substrats de sable et de gravier à des profondeurs allant jusqu’à 2 m. Cependant, dans le Sud-Est du Michigan et le Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario, elle a été observée principalement dans des rivières aux eaux troubles et à faible pente, où le substrat est constitué d’argile et de sable ou d’argile et de gravier. Dans le lac Sainte-Claire, elle occupe actuellement des secteurs riverains aux eaux peu profondes (<1 m) où le substrat est ferme et sableux.

Biologie

Chez l’obovarie ronde, les sexes sont séparés et la femelle est plus petite que le mâle. L’espèce a une longévité de probablement au moins 10 ans. À l’instar des autres mulettes, l’O. subrotunda parasite des poissons durant son stade larvaire. La fraye a lieu en été et la femelle porte les embryons tout l’hiver jusqu’à ce qu’ils atteignent le stade de larve glochidium au mois de juin suivant. Les glochidiums sont alors libérés dans l’eau où ils se fixent aux branchies d’un poisson hôte approprié puis forment un kyste. Après un certain temps, les glochidiums se transforment en juvéniles qui quittent le poisson et tombent sur le substrat pour commencer à vivre de façon autonome. Le poisson hôte de l’obovarie ronde est inconnu, mais il s’agit peut-être du dard de sable (Ammocrypta pellucida). Comme toutes les mulettes, l’obovarie se nourrit de bactéries et d’algues qu’elle se procure en filtrant l’eau avec ses branchies.

Taille et tendances des populations

L’Obovaria subrotunda est une espèce très peu commune, nettement en déclin dans la plus grande partie de son aire de répartition en Amérique du Nord. Au Canada, il est disparu du lac Érié, de la rivière Détroit et des eaux du large du lac Sainte-Claire. Il est également disparu des rivières Grand et Thames et a diminué de façon importante dans la rivière Sydenham. La seule population importante d’O. subrotunda encore présente au Canada se trouve dans les eaux peu profondes du delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire, mais on ne sait pas si elle survivra. L’obovarie ronde est disparue d’environ 90 p. 100 de son ancienne aire de répartition au Canada.

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

L’obovarie ronde est disparue de la majeure partie de son ancienne aire de répartition dans les Grands Lacs à cause des effets de la moule zébrée, et la population restante dans le delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire pourrait être en péril. Les populations des rivières Grand et Thames sont probablement disparues à cause des effets combinés de la pollution par les eaux usées et de l’agriculture dans ces bassins hydrographiques très populeux. Le déclin de la population de la rivière Sydenham est probablement attribuable à l’agriculture. Il est aussi possible que la prédation par le rat musqué et le raton laveur y soit pour quelque chose. Si le dard de sable est l’hôte de l’obovarie ronde, le déclin de ce poisson menacé pourrait avoir une incidence sur la survie de cette mulette.

Importance de l’espèce

Le genre Obovaria comprend six espèces, mais seules l’obovarie olivâtre (O. olivaria) et l’obovarie ronde (O. subrotunda) ont une aire de répartition qui s’étend jusque dans le Canada. Aux États-Unis, le gouvernement fédéral a placé l’O. retusa sur la liste des espèces en voie de disparition. La American Fisheries Society considère que l’O. rotulata est également en voie de disparition, et que trois autres espèces, dont l’obovarie ronde, sont préoccupantes. La plupart des espèces de ce genre semblent donc être sensibles à la dégradation de l’environnement.

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations

L’obovarie ronde est considérée comme une espèce en voie de disparition en Illinois, au Michigan et en Alabama, une espèce menacée au Tennessee et une espèce préoccupante en Indiana, de sorte qu’elle bénéficie d’une certaine protection dans ces États. Actuellement, l’obovarie ronde ne bénéficie d’aucune protection au Canada.

Résumé du rapport de situation

L'Obovaria subrotunda a déjà été signalé dans 12 États et en Ontario. Aux États-Unis, la plupart des populations sont en déclin. L'obovarie ronde est disparue d'environ 90 p. 100 de son ancienne aire de répartition au Canada à cause de la moule zébrée et de mauvaises pratiques d'utilisation des terres. La population de la rivière Sydenham est probablement près de disparaître, étant donné qu'elle semble ne compter que quelques individus vivants dispersés. La seule population importante restant au Canada se trouve dans des eaux peu profondes du lac Sainte-Claire, près de l'île Walpole. Pour le moment, il n'est pas encore clairement établi que cette population réussit à se reproduire.