Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Round Hickorynut (Obovaria Subrotunda)

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Round Hickorynut
Obovaria subrotunda
in Canada
2003

Species Information

Name and Classification

Scientific name:
Obovaria subrotunda (Rafinesque, 1820)
English common name:
round hickorynut
French common name:
Obovarie


The recognized authority for the classification of aquatic molluscs in the United States and Canada is Turgeon et al. (1998). The currently accepted classification of this species is as follows:

Phylum:
Mollusca
Class:
Bivalvia
Subclass:
Palaeoheterodonta
Order:
Unionoida
Superfamily:
Unionacea
Family:
Unionidae
Subfamily:
Lampsilinae
Genus:
Obovaria
Species:
Obovaria subrotunda


Parmalee and Bogan (1998) provide a complete list of synonyms for this species. Specimens from Lake Erie were once considered by some to be a separate species, O. leibii, due to their smaller size, more regular and distinct growth rests, and lighter colour (Ortmann 1919).


Description

The round hickorynut, Obovaria subrotunda (Rafinesque, 1820) is easily recognized by its circular shape, centrally located beaks, unsculptured and unrayed periostracum, and relatively small size. It may be occasionally confused with smooth specimens of Quadrula pustulosa, which, however, have a bright golden-yellow periostracum. The type locality is "l’Ohio" (the Ohio River). The following description of the species was adapted from Clarke (1981), Strayer and Jirka (1997) and Parmalee and Bogan (1998). The shell is circular to subcircular and thick. The surface is smooth except for prominent growth rests. The periostracum is generally dark brown or olive-brown and without rays except in some very young specimens. The posterior slope is distinctly lighter than the remainder of the shell. Beaks are centrally placed, curved inward, and elevated well above the hinge line. Beak sculpture is fine and consists of 4‑6 short, slightly sinuous bars. Hinge teeth are rather heavy and strong. The left valve has two thick, roughened, triangular pseudocardinal teeth and two short, strong, slightly curved lateral teeth. The right valve has one large, triangular serrated pseudocardinal tooth, usually with two small, compressed teeth on either side, and one short, thick, roughened lateral tooth, often with a secondary inner low, incomplete lateral tooth. The interdentum is narrow or absent. Adductor scars are deeply impressed. The nacre is silvery white, with a tinge of blue or pink in some specimens. Sexual differences in the shell are obscure; in females, the posterior margin of the shell may be truncated. However, there is a distinct difference in size, with females being considerably smaller than males (Ortmann 1919). The species shows considerable ecophenotypic variation in shell inflation among specimens from large rivers, small rivers, and lakes.

The round hickorynut may grow up to 65 mm in length but seldom exceeds 60 mm in Tennessee (Parmalee and Bogan 1998) or 50 mm in New York (Strayer and Jirka 1997). According to Clarke (1981), O. subrotunda rarely exceeds 40 mm in Canada. However, the authors have observed shells (and one live individual) up to about 60 mm long in southern Ontario rivers, and live specimens up to 51 mm long in Lake St. Clair. Figure 1A shows the external features of the shell and internal features of the left valve (hinge teeth), and Figure 1B is a photograph of a live specimen collected from the Sydenham River near Alvinston, Ontario on 21 June 2001.

Figure 1A: Line Drawings of the External Features of the Shell and Internal Features of the Left Valve (hinge teeth) of Obovaria subrotunda

Figure 1A: Line drawings of the external features of the shell and internal features of the left valve (hinge teeth) of Obovaria subrotunda.

Reproduced from Burch (1973).


Figure 1B: Photograph of a Live Specimen from the Sydenham River, Ontario

Figure 1B: Photograph of a live specimen from the Sydenham River, Ontario.

Photo credit: D.T. Zanatta, NWRI.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l'obovarie ronde (Obovaria subrotunda) au Canada - 2003

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur
l’obovarie ronde
Obovaria subrotunda
au Canada
2003

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Nom scientifique :
Obovaria subrotunda (Rafinesque, 1820)
Nom commun français :
obovarie ronde
Nom commun anglais :
Round Hickorynut


Le document de référence faisant autorité en matière de classification des mollusques aquatiques des États-Unis et du Canada est Turgeon et al. (1998). La classification actuellement acceptée pour cette espèce est la suivante :

Embranchement :
Mollusques
Classe :
Bivalves
Sous-classe :
Paléohétérodontes
Ordre :
Unionoïdés
Superfamille :
Unionacés
Famille :
Unionidés
Sous-famille :
Lampsilinés
Genre :
Obovaria
Espèce :
Obovaria subrotunda


Parmalee et Bogan (1998) ont fourni la liste complète des synonymes de cette espèce. Certains ont déjà considéré des spécimens provenant du lac Érié comme appartenant à une espèce différente, l’O. leibii, à cause de leur taille plus petite, de leurs bourrelets de croissance plus réguliers et plus marqués, et de leur coloration plus pâle (Ortmann, 1919).


Description

L’obovarie ronde (Obovaria subrotunda) (Rafinesque, 1820), se reconnaît aisément à sa forme circulaire, à ses sommets (ou umbos) situés centralement, à son périostracum non sculpté et sans rayons et à sa taille relativement petite. Elle peut parfois être confondue avec certains spécimens lisses de Quadrula pustulosa, dont le périostracum présente toutefois une coloration brillante jaune doré. La localité type est la rivière Ohio. La description suivante de l’espèce est tirée de Clarke (1981), de Strayer et Jirka (1997) ainsi que de Parmalee et Bogan (1998). La coquille, circulaire à triangulaire-arrondie, est épaisse et présente une surface lisse, à part les bourrelets de croissance saillants. Le périostracum est généralement brun foncé ou brun olivâtre et dépourvu de rayons, sauf chez certains individus très jeunes. La pente postérieure est nettement plus pâle que le reste de la coquille. Les sommets, situés centralement et incurvés vers l’intérieur, s’élèvent bien au-dessus de la la ligne de charnière. La sculpture des sommets est fine et consiste en 4 à 6 bourrelets courts et légèrement sinueux. Les dents de la charnière sont plutôt épaisses et fortes. La valve gauche est pourvue de deux dents pseudo-cardinales triangulaires fortes et rugueuses et de deux dents latérales courtes, fortes et légèrement incurvées. La valve droite possède une grosse dent pseudo-cardinale triangulaire dentelée habituellement flanquée de part et d’autre d’une petite dent comprimée, ainsi qu’une courte dent latérale épaisse et rugueuse, avec souvent une dent latérale secondaire intérieure, basse et incomplète. L’interdentum est étroit ou nul. Les impressions des adducteurs sont marquées. La nacre est blanc argenté, teintée de bleu ou de rose chez certains specimens. Les différences sexuelles dans la coquille ne sont pas évidentes; chez la femelle, le bord postérieur peut être tronqué. Cependant, on observe une nette différence dans la taille, les femelles étant beaucoup plus petites que les mâles (Ortmann, 1919). On observe des variations écophénotypiques considérables dans le renflement de la coquille selon que les individus proviennent de grands cours d’eau, de petites rivières ou de lacs.

L’obovarie ronde peut atteindre jusqu’à 65 mm de longueur, mais elle dépasse rarement 60 mm au Tennessee (Parmalee et Bogan, 1998) ou 50 mm au New York (Strayer et Jirka, 1997). D’après Clarke (1981), l’O. subrotunda dépasse rarement 40 mm au Canada. Cependant, les auteurs du présent rapport ont observé des coquilles (et un individu vivant) atteignant environ 60 mm dans des rivières du Sud de l’Ontario, et des individus vivants mesurant jusqu’à 51 mm dans le lac Sainte-Claire. La figure 1A montre les caractéristiques externes de la coquille et les caractéristiques internes de la valve gauche (dents de la charnière), et la figure 1B présente une photo d’une obovarie ronde vivante récoltée dans la rivière Sydenham, près d’Alvinston (Ontario), le 21 juin 2001.

Figure 1A : Dessin au trait des caractéristiques externes de la coquille et des caractéristiques internes de la valve gauche (dents de la charnière) de l’Obovaria subrotunda

Figure 1A : Dessin au trait des caractéristiques externes de la coquille et des caractéristiques internes de la valve gauche (dents de la charnière) de l’Obovaria subrotunda.

Tiré de Burch (1973).


Figure 1B : Photographie d’un spécimen vivant provenant de la rivière Sydenham (Ontario)

Figure 1B : Photographie d’un spécimen vivant provenant de la rivière Sydenham (Ontario).

Photo de D.T. Zanatta, INRE.