Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Round Hickorynut (Obovaria Subrotunda)

Distribution

Global Range

The round hickorynut was found throughout the Tennessee and Cumberland river systems and in the Ohio River system from western Pennsylvania and peninsular Michigan west to eastern Illinois; it also occurred in Lake Erie and Lake St. Clair and their drainages in Canada and the United States (Parmalee and Bogan 1998). It was historically known from Alabama, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, West Virginia and Ontario (Figure 2).


Figure 2: North American Distribution of Obovaria subrotunda (based on information provided by jurisdictions)

Figure 2: North American distribution of Obovaria subrotunda (based on information provided by jurisdictions).


Canadian Range

In Canada, O. subrotunda is known only from southern Ontario. The National Water Research Institute’s Lower Great Lakes Unionid Database was used to identify occurrence records for O. subrotunda in Ontario. At the time of writing, the database consisted of approximately 6000 records for 40 species collected from over 2000 sites in the lower Great Lakes drainage basin since 1860 (see Metcalfe-Smith et al. 1998a for a detailed description of the database and its data sources). The earliest record of the round hickorynut in Canada is two fresh whole shells collected in 1890 from Lake Erie at Kingsville by J.T. McQueen (specimens held by the Canadian Museum of Nature; cat. no. 002448). Since then it has been found in other locations in the western basin of Lake Erie (particularly around Pelee Island), Lake St. Clair, and the Welland, Grand, Detroit, Thames and Sydenham rivers. Figure 3 shows the historical distribution of the round hickorynut in Ontario, based on 44 records collected between 1890 and 1986, and the current distribution, based on 30 records (live animals and shells) collected over the past decade (1991 - 2001). Live specimens were most recently collected from the East Sydenham River and the St. Clair delta in Lake St. Clair in the summer of 2001. Appendix I contains detailed information for all known records of the round hickorynut in Canada.

Lake Erie, Lake St. Clair and the Detroit river (and presumably also the Welland River) are now infested with the exotic zebra mussel, Dreissena polymorpha, which has nearly destroyed native freshwater mussel populations in these waters -- leaving only isolated pockets of surviving animals in some nearshore areas of the lakes (Zanatta et al. 2002). Approximately 64% of historical records for O. subrotunda are from waters now infested with zebra mussels. The round hickorynut has apparently been lost from the Grand and Thames rivers (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 1998b, 1999), and has declined dramatically in the Sydenham River (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2001). However, 53 live specimens were collected in Canadian waters of the St. Clair delta in Lake St. Clair between 1999 and 2001 (Zanatta et al. 2002). The St. Clair population appears to be the only significant population of O. subrotunda left in Canada. Overall, the round hickorynut has been lost from over 90% of its historical range in Canada. It is now restricted to the East Sydenham River and a portion of the Lake St. Clair delta. The current extent of occurrence is approximately 1750 km2and the area of occupancy is 8 km2.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l'obovarie ronde (Obovaria subrotunda) au Canada - 2003

Répartition

Répartition mondiale

L’obovarie ronde occupe les réseaux des rivières Tennessee et Cumberland et le réseau de la rivière Ohio, depuis l’Ouest de la Pennsylvanie et la péninsule méridionale du Michigan jusque dans l’Est de l’Illinois; on l’a aussi trouvée dans les lacs Érié et Sainte-Claire et leur bassin hydrographique au Canada et aux États-Unis (Parmalee et Bogan, 1998). Par le passé, on l’a déjà signalée en Alabama, en Géorgie, en Illinois, en Indiana, au Kentucky, au Michigan, au Mississippi, au New York, en Ohio, en Pennsylvanie, au Tennessee, en Virginie-Occidentale ainsi qu’en Ontario (figure 2).


Figure 2 : Répartition de l’Obovaria subrotunda en Amérique du Nord (d’après les informations fournies par les compétences)

Figure 2 : Répartition de l’Obovaria subrotunda en Amérique du Nord (d’après les informations fournies par les compétences).


Répartition canadienne

Au Canada, l’O. subrotunda n’a été répertorié que dans le Sud de l’Ontario. Les mentions ontariennes d’O. subrotunda présentées ici sont tirées de la base de données sur les Unionidés des Grands Lacs inférieurs, tenue par l’Institut national de recherche sur les eaux. Au moment d’écrire ces lignes, la base de données contenait environ 6 000 mentions se rapportant à 40 espèces récoltées à plus de 2000 endroits dans le bassin hydrographique des Grands Lacs inférieurs depuis 1860 (voir Metcalfe-Smith et al., 1998a, pour une description détaillée de la base de données et de ses sources). La mention la plus ancienne d’obovarie ronde au Canada se rapporte à deux coquilles fraîches entières récoltées en 1890 dans le lac Érié, à Kingsville, par J.T. McQueen (spécimens conservés au Musée canadien de la nature, no cat. 002448). Depuis, l’espèce a été récoltée à d’autres endroits dans la partie ouest du bassin du lac Érié (en particulier autour de l’île Pelée), dans le lac Sainte-Claire et dans les rivières Welland, Grand, Detroit, Thames et Sydenham. La figure 3 montre l’aire de répartition historique de l’obovarie ronde en Ontario, établie à partir de 44 mentions pour la période de 1890 à 1986, et l’aire de répartition actuelle, fondée sur 30 mentions (animaux vivants et coquilles) couvrant la dernière décennie (de 1991 à 2001). Les récoltes les plus récentes d’individus vivants ont été faites dans la rivière Sydenham Est et dans le delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire (dans le lac Sainte-Claire) pendant l’été 2001.

Le lac Érié, le lac Sainte-Claire et la rivière Detroit (et probablement aussi la rivière Welland) sont maintenant infestées par une espèce exotique, la moule zébrée (Dreissena polymorpha) qui a presque entièrement détruit toutes les populations indigènes de mulettes qu’abritaient ces eaux, ne laissant que des groupes isolés de survivants dans certains secteurs riverains des lacs (Zanatta et al., 2002). Environ 64 p. 100 des mentions historiques d’O. subrotunda se rapportent à des eaux maintenant infestées de moules zébrées. L’obovarie ronde est apparemment disparue des rivières Grand et Thames (Metcalfe-Smith et al., 1998b, 1999), et ses effectifs ont chuté de façon spectaculaire dans la rivière Sydenham (Metcalfe-Smith et al., 2001). Cependant, 53 individus vivants ont été récoltés dans les eaux canadiennes du delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire (dans le lac Sainte-Claire) entre 1999 et 2001 (Zanatta et al., 2002). La population du delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire semble être la seule population restante importante d’O. subrotunda au Canada. Dans l’ensemble, l’obovarie ronde a disparu de plus de 90 p. 100 de son ancienne aire de répartition au Canada. Actuellement, on ne la trouve plus que dans la rivière Sydenham Est et une portion du delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire. La zone d’occurrence actuelle de l’espèce est d’environ 1 750 km2 et sa zone d’occupation, de 8 km2.