Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Round Hickorynut (Obovaria Subrotunda)

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

The round hickorynut is typically found in medium-sized to large rivers (van der Schalie 1938; Strayer 1983; Parmalee and Bogan 1998), but also occurs in Lake Erie and Lake St. Clair (Clarke 1981; Strayer and Jirka 1997). During his study of the mussel fauna of the Huron River in southeastern Michigan, van der Schalie (1938) found O. subrotunda only near the mouth of the river and described it, as well as Quadrula pustulosa and Ligumia nasuta, as “invaders from Lake Erie.” Ortmann (1919) reported collecting this species in “smaller branches” of the Ohio River. The preferred habitat of the round hickorynut is generally described as sand and gravel substrates with steady, moderate flows at depths of up to 2 m (Ortmann 1919; Gordon and Layzer 1989; Parmalee and Bogan 1998). In southeastern Michigan, however, it has mainly been found in turbid, low-gradient, hydrologically unstable rivers with clay/sand or clay/gravel substrates (van der Schalie 1938; Strayer 1983). In Lake St. Clair, O. subrotunda currently occupies shallow (<1 m) nearshore areas with firm, sandy substrates (Zanatta et al. 2002).


Figure 3: Historical (1890-1990) and Current (1991-2001) Distributions of Obovaria subrotunda in Ontario (based on records from the Lower Great Lakes Unionid Database)

Figure 3: Historical (1890-1990) and current (1991-2001) distributions of Obovaria subrotunda in Ontario(based on records from the Lower Great Lakes Unionid Database).

The habitat preferences of juvenile mussels are believed to be different from those of adults, but there have been few studies on this topic (Gordon and Layzer 1989). The juvenile life stage is certainly more vulnerable than the adult stage, because juveniles have no control over the habitat into which they are released by their host and may die quickly in unsuitable habitats. The glochidial (larval) stage is the most vulnerable and specialized life stage, because the glochidia must successfully attach to an appropriate host in order to complete their metamorphosis to the juvenile stage. The extent and quality of habitat in the Sydenham River is probably insufficient to maintain viable populations of O. subrotunda, and it is not known at present if the St. Clair “refuge” will persist (see section on Population Sizes and Trends).


Trends

Habitats for O. subrotunda and other unionids in Lake Erie and Lake St. Clair have been largely destroyed by the zebra mussel. Native mussel communities were virtually extirpated from the offshore waters of western Lake Erie by 1990 (Schloesser and Nalepa 1994) and the offshore waters of Lake St. Clair by 1994 (Nalepa et al. 1996). The mussel communities of Lake Erie were already in decline, probably due to a general decline in water quality over the past 40 years (Nalepa et al. 1991), but Lake St. Clair still supported an abundant and diverse mussel assemblage as recently as 1986 (Nalepa and Gauvin 1988). Unionids continue to survive in some nearshore areas with very shallow water, a high degree of connectivity to the lake (which ensures access to host fishes), and harsh conditions for zebra mussels (high water temperatures and considerable wave action in summer; ice scour in winter). However, such “refugia” are rare, and most of the unionid habitat in the Great Lakes has been permanently lost.

The round hickorynut has apparently been lost from the Thames and Grand rivers, and has declined significantly in the Sydenham River. It has also declined throughout most of its range in the United States, particularly in the Tennessee River system (Parmalee and Bogan 1998). Agriculture is believed to be the main cause of the destruction of mussel habitat across North America (Strayer and Fetterman 1999). Since agriculture accounts for 75-85% of land use in the Grand, Thames and Sydenham River basins, it is likely that agricultural impacts (e.g., runoff of sediment, nutrients and pesticides, increased water temperatures due to loss of riparian vegetation, destruction of habitat by tractor crossings and cattle) are primarily responsible for the loss of mussel habitat in these rivers.


Protection/Ownership

Most land along the reach of the East Sydenham River where a few live specimens of O. subrotunda have been found in recent years is privately owned and in agricultural use. Only two small properties, the 7 ha Shetland Conservation Area and the 20 ha Mosa Township forest, are publicly owned and thus somewhat protected. It should be noted, however, that a recovery strategy has been developed for the aquatic ecosystem of the Sydenham River, and a number of landowners are participating in riparian rehabilitation projects and improved land use practices that will benefit O. subrotunda and other aquatic species at risk in the Sydenham River (Staton et al. 2002).

The most significant population of O. subrotunda left in Canada is located in the Canadian waters of the St. Clair delta, within the territory of the Walpole Island First Nation. The area is largely undisturbed and is likely to remain so in the future. The Walpole Island Heritage Centre is aware of the presence of O. subrotunda within their territory, and of the national significance of the population.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l'obovarie ronde (Obovaria subrotunda) au Canada - 2003

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

L’obovarie ronde fréquente en général des rivières de moyenne à grande taille (van der Schalie, 1938; Strayer, 1983; Parmalee et Bogan, 1998), mais on la trouve aussi dans les lacs Érié et Sainte-Claire (Clarke, 1981; Strayer et Jirka, 1997). Pendant son étude de la mytilifaune de la rivière Huron dans le Sud-Est du Michigan, van der Schalie (1938) a trouvé l’O. subrotunda uniquement près de l’embouchure de la rivière et a estimé, tout comme pour le Quadrula pustulosa et le Ligumia nasuta, qu’il provenait du lac Érié. Ortmann (1919) a signalé avoir récolté cette espèce dans de petites branches de la rivière Ohio. L’obovarie ronde vit en général dans des substrats constitués de sable et de gravier dans des eaux à débit modéré et régulier, à une profondeur allant jusqu’à 2 m (Ortmann, 1919; Gordon et Layzer, 1989; Parmalee et Bogan, 1998). Toutefois, dans le Sud-Est du Michigan, on la trouve surtout dans des rivières de faible pente aux eaux troubles, instables sur le plan hydrologique et dont le substrat est composé d’argile et de sable ou d’argile et de gravier (van der Schalie, 1938; Strayer, 1983). Dans le lac Sainte-Claire, l’O. subrotunda est présent actuellement dans des zones riveraines peu profondes (<1 m) où le substrat est sableux et ferme (Zanatta et al., 2002).


Figure 3 : Répartition historique (de 1890 à 1990) et actuelle (de 1991 à 2001) de l’Obovaria subrotunda en Ontario (d’après les mentions figurant dans la base de données sur les Unionidés des Grands Lacs inférieurs)

Figure 3 : Répartition historique (de 1890 à 1990) et actuelle (de 1991 à 2001) de l’Obovaria subrotunda en Ontario (d’après les mentions figurant dans la base de données sur les Unionidés des Grands Lacs inférieurs).

On pense que les préférences des mulettes juvéniles en matière d’habitat sont différentes de celles des adultes, mais il y a eu peu d’études à ce sujet (Gordon et Layzer, 1989). Les individus du stade juvénile sont certainement plus vulnérables que les adultes, parce qu’ils n’ont aucune possibilité de choisir l’habitat où leur hôte les dépose et peuvent mourir rapidement dans un habitat inadéquat. Le stade larvaire (glochidium) est le stade où l’animal est le plus vulnérable et le plus spécialisé, parce qu’il doit réussir à se fixer à un hôte approprié pour terminer sa métamorphose jusqu’au stade juvénile. L’étendue et la qualité de l’habitat dans la rivière Sydenham sont probablement insuffisants pour le maintien de populations viables d’O. subrotunda, et l’on ne sait pas pour le moment si les populations du « refuge » du delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire persisteront (voir la section Taille et tendances des populations).


Tendances

Les habitats convenant à l’O. subrotunda et aux autres Unionidés dans les lacs Érié et Sainte-Claire ont été en grande partie détruits par la moule zébrée. Les communautés de mulettes indigènes étaient pratiquement disparues des eaux du large dans l’Ouest du lac Érié vers 1990 (Schloesser et Nalepa, 1994) et des eaux du large du lac Sainte-Claire vers 1994 (Nalepa et al., 1996). Les communautés de mulettes du lac Érié étaient en déclin depuis un certain temps, probablement à cause d’une dégradation générale de la qualité de l’eau au cours des 40 dernières années (Nalepa et al., 1991), mais le lac Sainte-Claire abritait encore des communautés de mulettes abondantes et diversifiées jusqu’à une époque aussi récente que 1986 (Nalepa et Gauvin, 1988). Des Unionidés sont encore présents dans certains secteurs riverains aux eaux très peu profondes qui communiquent très bien avec le lac (assurant ainsi l’accès aux poissons hôtes), et où les conditions sont difficiles pour la moule zébrée (température de l’eau élevée et action considérable des vagues en été; affouillement glaciel en hiver). Cependant, ce type de « refuge » est rare et la plus grande partie de l’habitat propice aux Unionidés dans les Grands Lacs est définitivement perdu.

L’obovarie ronde a apparemment disparu dans les rivières Thames et Grand, et ses effectifs ont diminué de façon importante dans la rivière Sydenham. Elle est également en déclin dans la plus grande partie de son aire de répartition aux États-Unis, en particulier dans le réseau de la rivière Tennessee (Parmalee et Bogan, 1998). On pense que l’agriculture est la principale cause de la destruction de l’habitat des mulettes en Amérique du Nord (Strayer et Fetterman, 1999). Étant donné que l’agriculture représente entre 75 et 85 p. 100 de l’utilisation des terres dans les bassins des rivières Grand, Thames et Sydenham, il est probable que les incidences des activités agricoles (p. ex. apport de sédiments, d’éléments nutritifs et de pesticides par les eaux de ruissellement; augmentation de la température de l’eau due à la perte de végétation riveraine; destruction de l’habitat par les tracteurs qui traversent les cours d’eau et par le bétail) soient les principales responsables de la perte d’habitat pour les mulettes dans ces rivières.


Protection et propriété

La plus grande partie des terres longeant le tronçon de la rivière Sydenham Est où quelques O. subrotunda vivants ont été trouvés ces dernières années sont des propriétés privées utilisées à des fins agricoles. Seules deux petites propriétés, les 7 ha de l’aire de conservation Shetland et les 20 ha de forêt du canton géographique de Mosa, sont publiques et jouissent donc d’une certaine protection. Toutefois, il convient de noter qu’une stratégie de rétablissement de l’écosystème aquatique de la rivière Sydenham a été élaborée et qu’un certain nombre de propriétaires participent à des projets de restauration des berges et d’amélioration des pratiques d’utilisation des terres, qui auront des effets bénéfiques pour l’O. subrotunda et d’autres espèces aquatiques en péril de la rivière Sydenham (Staton et al., 2002).

La population la plus importante d’O. subrotunda existant encore au Canada se trouve dans les eaux canadiennes du delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire, dans le territoire de la Première nation de Walpole Island. Une grande partie de ce secteur n’est pas perturbée et cette situation devrait se maintenir. Le centre du patrimoine de Walpole Island est conscient de la présence de l’O. subrotunda dans son territoire et de l’importance de l’espèce à l’échelle nationale.