Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Round Hickorynut (Obovaria Subrotunda)

Biology

General

The basic life history of the freshwater mussel is applicable to the round hickorynut, and is described briefly as follows (adapted from Kat 1984, Watters 1999, and Nedeau et al. 2000): during spawning, males release sperm into the water and females living downstream filter the sperm out of the water with their gills. Ova are fertilized in a specialized region of the female gills, called marsupia, where they are held until they reach an intermediate larval stage termed the glochidium. The female mussel then releases the glochidia, which must attach to an appropriate host and become encapsulated. The glochidia remain attached and are nourished by the host’s body fluids until they metamorphose into juveniles. The juveniles then break free of the capsule and fall to the substrate to begin life as free-living mussels. The proportion of glochidia surviving to the juvenile stage is estimated to be as low as 0.000001%. Mussels overcome the extremely high mortality associated with this life cycle by producing large numbers of glochidia.


Reproduction

The round hickorynut, like most freshwater mussels, is considered to be dioecious. Hermaphroditism has not been observed in this species. The lifespan of O. subrotunda is not known, but members of the subfamily Lampsilinae generally grow more rapidly and have shorter life spans than members of the Ambleminae, which can live for over 40 years (Stansbery 1967). For comparison, life spans of three other COSEWIC-listed lampsilines are: 10-20 years for L. fasciola (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2000c), more than 15 years for Epioblasma torulosa rangiana (Staton et al. 2000), and up to 11 years for V. fabalis (Woolnough and Mackie 2002).

Obovaria subrotunda is a long-term brooder (bradytictic). Gravid females have been observed in every month except July in the Huron River, Michigan (van der Schalie 1938), and in all months of the year in the Cumberland River system of Tennessee and Kentucky (Gordon and Layzer 1989). According to Clarke (1981), the gravid period extends from about September to June in Canada. Clarke (1981) describes the glochidia as ovate in shape with a nearly straight hinge line, without hooks, and measuring 180 mm long and 200 mm high (200 mm long and 230 mm high, according to Hoggarth 1993). The lack of hooks suggests that they are gill parasites. The host fish is unknown; however, Clark (1977) noticed an association between the eastern sand darter (Ammocrypta pellucida) and the round hickorynut in the St. Joseph River system, a tributary to the Maumee River in the Lake Erie drainage. The eastern sand darter was designated as threatened in Canada in 1994, and many Canadian populations have declined or been extirpated. However, it still occurs in the East Sydenham River and Canadian waters of the St. Clair delta (Holm and Mandrak 1996), providing additional support for a possible host/parasite relationship with O. subrotunda. Furthermore, two other darter species, the naked sand darter (Ammocrypta beani) and southern sand darter (Ammocrypta meridiana), are known hosts of the Alabama hickorynut, Obovaria unicolor (Haag and Warren 2001).


Movements/Dispersal

In the adult form, freshwater mussels are basically sessile; movement is limited to a few metres of the lake or river bottom. The only time that significant dispersal can take place is during the parasitic phase. Infected host fishes can transport the larval unionids into new habitats, and can replenish depleted populations with new individuals. Dispersal is particularly important for genetic exchange between populations (Nedeau et al. 2000). The Sydenham River population of the round hickorynut is isolated and may be close to extirpation. The remaining population in Lake St. Clair is located entirely within Canadian waters. Thus, there is no natural means by which individuals from American populations could bolster the Canadian populations or repopulate the Canadian range if the Canadian populations should disappear.


Nutrition and Interspecific Interactions

Round hickorynuts, like all species of freshwater mussels, are filter feeders as adults. Their primary food sources are bacteria, algae, particles of organic detritus, and some protozoans (Nedeau et al. 2000). Food availability may be a limiting factor for the Lake St. Clair population due to the presence of high densities of zebra mussels, which are extremely efficient filter feeders. During the parasitic larval stage, glochidia feed on the body fluids of the host.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

L’obovarie ronde (Obovaria subrotunda)

Biologie

Généralités

Le cycle biologique de l’obovarie ronde, décrit ci-dessous (sur la base des travaux de Kat, 1984; Watters, 1999; Nedeau et al., 2000), est fondamentalement le même que celui des autres mulettes. Durant la fraye, les mâles libèrent leur sperme dans l’eau et les femelles se trouvant en aval le captent par filtration avec leurs branchies. Les œufs sont fécondés dans une région spécialisée des branchies de la femelle appelée marsupium, où ils demeurent jusqu’à ce qu’ils atteignent un stade larvaire intermédiaire, celui de glochidium. La femelle relâche alors les glochidiums, qui doivent se fixer à un hôte approprié et s’encapsuler. Les glochidiums demeurent fixés à l’hôte et se nourrissent de ses fluides corporels, jusqu’à leur métamorphose en juvéniles. Ceux-ci se libèrent ensuite de leur capsule et tombent sur le fond pour commencer à vivre de façon autonome. On estime que la proportion de glochidiums qui survivent jusqu’au stade juvénile n’est que de 0,000001 p. 100. Les mulettes compensent cette mortalité extrême en produisant une grande quantité de glochidiums.


Reproduction

L’obovarie ronde, comme la plupart des mulettes, est considérée comme une espèce dioïque. L’hermaphrodisme n’a pas été observé chez cette espèce. On ne connaît pas la longévité de l’O. subrotunda, mais les membres de la sous-famille des Lampsilinés croissent en général plus vite et vivent moins longtemps que les espèces de la famille des Ambléminés, qui peuvent vivre jusqu’à plus de 40 ans (Stansbery, 1967). Aux fins de comparaison, la longévité de trois autres espèces de Lampsilinés figurant sur les listes du COSEPAC est la suivante : de 10 à 20 ans pour le L. fasciola (Metcalfe-Smith et al., 2000c), plus de 15 ans pour l’Epioblasma torulosa rangiana (Staton et al., 2000) et jusqu’à 11 ans pour le V. fabalis (Woolnough et Mackie, 2002).

Chez l’Obovaria subrotunda, la période de gravidité est longue (bradytictic species). Des femelles gravides ont été observées tous les mois, sauf en juillet, dans la rivière Huron, au Michigan (van der Schalie, 1938), et tous les mois de l’année dans le réseau hydrographique de la rivière Cumberland au Tennessee et au Kentucky (Gordon et Layzer, 1989). D’après Clarke (1981), la période de gravidité s’étend d’environ septembre à juin au Canada. Clarke (1981) décrit les glochidiums comme des organismes ovalaires, à charnière presque droite, sans crochets et mesurant environ 180 mm de long et 200 mm de haut (200 mm de long et 230 mm de haut, selon Hoggarth, 1993). L’absence de crochets donnent à penser qu’ils sont des parasites des branchies. Le poisson hôte est inconnu; cependant, Clark (1977) a noté une association entre le dard de sable (Ammocrypta pellucida) et l’obovarie ronde dans le réseau de la rivière St. Joseph, tributaire de la rivière Maumee dans le bassin hydrographique du lac Érié. Le dard de sable a été désigné comme étant une espèce menacée au Canada en 1994, et de nombreuses populations du Canada ont diminué ou sont disparues. Cependant, ce poisson est encore présent dans la rivière Sydenham Est et les eaux canadiennes du delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire (Holm et Mandrak, 1996), ce qui renforce l’hypothèse d’une relation hôte-parasite avec l’O. subrotunda. De plus, on sait que deux autres espèces de dard, l’Ammocrypta beani et l’Ammocrypta meridiana, sont des hôtes de l’Obovaria unicolor (Haag et Warren, 2001).


Déplacements et dispersion

Sous leur forme adulte, les mulettes sont à toutes fins pratiques sessiles; leurs déplacements se limitent à quelques mètres du fond du lac ou de la rivière. La seule période où une dispersion importante peut se produire est la phase parasite. Les poissons hôtes infestés peuvent transporter les Unionidés larvaires vers de nouveaux habitats, ce qui peut permettre la reconstitution des populations réduites. La dispersion est particulièrement importante pour les échanges génétiques entre populations (Nedeau et al., 2000). La population d’obovaries rondes de la rivière Sydenham est isolée et peut-être proche de la disparition. La population restante dans le lac Sainte-Claire se trouve entièrement dans les eaux canadiennes. Ainsi, il n’existe aucun moyen naturel par lequel des individus des populations américaines pourraient venir augmenter la population canadienne ou recoloniser l’aire de répartition canadienne si les populations canadiennes venaient à disparaître.


Nutrition et interactions interspécifiques

Au stade adulte, l’obovarie ronde, comme toutes les espèces de mulettes, est un organisme filtreur. Ses principaux aliments sont des bactéries, des algues, des débris de matière organique et certains Protozoaires (Nedeau et al., 2000). La disponibilité de la nourriture peut être un facteur limitatif pour la population du lac Sainte-Claire à cause de la présence de fortes densités de moules zébrées, organismes filtreurs extrêmement efficaces. Pendant la phase larvaire parasite, les glochidiums se nourrissent des fluides corporels de leur hôte.