Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status on the round hickorynut Obovaria subrotunda in Canada - 2003

Population Sizes and Trends

United States

Obovaria subrotunda is a very uncommon species that is clearly declining throughout much of its range in the U.S. It is extremely rare in the southeastern states. The only extant population in Alabama is in the Paint Rock River (J. Garner, Alabama Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries, pers. comm. October 2001), where Ahlstedt (1995-96) found only 9 live specimens during surveys in 1991. In Georgia, it may occur over an extremely limited range in the northern parts of the state in the Tennessee River drainage (P. Hartfield, U.S. Fish and Wildlife, pers. comm. July 2001). In Mississippi, it occurs only in the Big Black and Big Sunflower rivers (B. Jones, Mississippi Museum of Natural Science, pers. comm. October 2001). According to Parmalee and Bogan (1998), O. subrotunda was historically found throughout the Tennessee and Cumberland River systems, but “has disappeared, or nearly so, from most of these rivers.” In the Cumberland system, it occurs in the Obey, Stones, Harpeth and Red rivers and in the mainstem Cumberland. In the Tennessee system, it was found in the main channel of the Tennessee River and in the Clinch, Pigeon, Little Tennessee, Sequatchie, Powell, Holston, Buffalo, Duck and Elk rivers. Ahlstedt (1983, 1991) conducted extensive surveys in the latter five rivers, plus the Nolichucky River, in 1979-80 and found a significant population of round hickorynuts in the Duck River and just a few live specimens in the Elk River. The Duck River population had also been noted in 1933 (van der Schalie 1938). Obovaria subrotunda is one of 103 species of mussels known from Kentucky. Based on a compilation of unionid records dating back to 1818, Cicerello et al. (1991) determined that O. subrotunda occurred in 12 of the 19 major river systems in the state. It is presently described as occasional in the upper Cumberland and Big Sandy rivers, sporadic in the upper Green, Kentucky and Licking rivers and Tygarts Creek, and rare in the Ohio River, lower Cumberland River and Little Sandy River.

The round hickorynut once occurred in four of the 25 drainages in Illinois, i.e., the Embarras River and Wabash River tributaries, the Vermilion and Little Vermilion River drainages, the Ohio River, and the Wabash River. It may have been fairly abundant in the past; for example, 131 live O. subrotunda were collected from the Embarras River by M.R. Matteson in 1956 (K. Cummings, Illinois Natural History Survey, pers. comm. August 2001). Since 1969, it has only been found alive in the Vermilon system (Cummings and Mayer 1997). In Indiana, O. subrotunda was most common in streams flowing to the Ohio River such as the Wabash and White rivers, and was rare in the Maumee system (Goodrich and van der Schalie 1944). Watters (1996) observed the species in Fish Creek, a tributary of the St. Joseph River in the Maumee system, in both 1988 and 1996. Although 17 live specimens were collected during surveys of the Tippecanoe River in 1987, the round hickorynut is generally quite rare in the state (K. Cummings, Illinois Natural History Survey, pers. comm. August 2001). Obovaria subrotunda is found throughout the state of Ohio, but rarely in any numbers (G.T. Watters, Ohio Biological Survey, pers. comm. July 2001). In the St. Joseph River, which seems to have received the most attention, Clark and Wilson (1912, in Clark 1977) found it to be “…fairly common in the feeder canal where 16 live specimens were secured, and in the St. Joseph River near its mouth, where we obtained 10.” Clark (1977) reported finding it at seven sites in the mainstem or tributaries during collecting trips between 1938 and 1975. Way and Shelton (1997) recorded the round hickorynut from a site in the Ohio River in 1995, and Watters (1993-94) found it alive in the Muskingham River in 1992. In West Virginia, O. subrotunda is found throughout the interior basin of the state, though never in large numbers (J. Clayton, West Virginia Department of Natural Resources, pers. comm. August 2001).

Van der Schalie (1938) studied the mussel fauna of the Huron River in southeastern Michigan in the early 1930s. He only found shells of O. subrotunda, and these were at a site near the mouth. Strayer (1980) compared the historical distribution of mussels in the Clinton River (1870-1933), a tributary to the St. Clair River just north of Detroit, with the results of his own surveys of 76 sites in 1977-78. The round hickorynut had been reported from two sites in the lower reaches of the river prior to 1935, but he did not find it during his surveys and declared it “extinct” in the Clinton. He also stated that the species has been eliminated from most of its former range in the Erie-St. Clair system. Hoeh and Trdan (1985) surveyed 27 sites in the Black, Pine and Belle rivers (also Michigan tributaries to the St. Clair River), in 1982-83 and found the round hickorynut at one site in the Pine River where it was described as “rare” (<1 mussel found per man-hour of search effort). Strayer et al. (1991) surveyed 52 sites in rivers and streams of western New York in 1987-90, and found a single subfossil shell of O. subrotunda in Conewango Creek in the Allegheny River system. According to Strayer and Jirka (1997), the species is likely extirpated from the state of New York “although it may turn up in the Allegheny or Erie-Niagara basins.” In Pennsylvania, it historically occurred in the Ohio, Beaver and Monongahela River drainages (Ortmann 1919); however, it has severely declined in recent years (A. Shiels, Pennsylvania Nongame and Endangered Species Unit, pers. comm. Sept. 2001).


Great Lakes Waters

Lake Erie

There is evidence that O. subrotunda may have been extirpated from Lake Erie by as early as 1950. The species was reported from all but one of seven surveys conducted between 1910 and 1942 but not in 1960 or 1993, nor was it found during surveys of 33 sites along the southwest shore and around the Bass Islands in 1998 (Ecological Specialists 1999). Sixteen species of unionids were collected from the western basin of Lake Erie between 1930 and 1982 (Nalepa et al. 1991). Obovaria subrotunda was present in 1930 and 1951-52, but not in 1961, 1972, 1973-74, or 1982. By 1991, the community had been virtually eliminated by the zebra mussel (Dreissena polymorpha) -- only four specimens of two species were found alive (Schloesser and Nalepa 1994). Schloesser et al. (1997) sampled 15 sites along the Michigan shoreline both before (1983) and after (1990 and 1993) the zebra mussel invasion, but did not find O. subrotunda on either occasion. The round hickorynut was also absent from the collections of Ortmann (1919) and Masteller et al. (1993) from Presque Isle Bay, Erie, PA, and was not among 20 species found alive in Metzger Marsh, near Toledo, Ohio in 1996 (Nichols and Amberg 1999). Surveys of seven other marshes near Metzger in 2000 produced few live mussels, and none were O. subrotunda (Ecological Specialists 2001).

Lake St. Clair and the Detroit River

The round hickorynut still persists in Lake St. Clair. Nalepa and Gauvin (1988) surveyed 29 sites throughout the lake in 1986 and collected 281 live unionids of 18 species, including one live specimen of O. subrotunda. Nalepa et al. (1996) re-surveyed these sites in 1990, 1992 and 1994, and reported finding two live round hickorynuts in 1990. By 1994, unionids had been virtually extirpated from the offshore waters of the lake by the zebra mussel. Similarly, Schloesser et al. (1998) sampled 17 sites in the Detroit River before (1982-83) and after (1992 and 1994) the zebra mussel invasion, and found two live O. subrotunda in 1982-83, three in 1992 and none in 1994. Near total mortality of the unionid community in the river had occurred by 1994. Gillis and Mackie (1994) sampled several nearshore sites in the southwestern portion of Lake St. Clair near Puce, Ontario, and Grosse Pointe, Michigan, between 1990 and 1992, and did not find any O. subrotunda. Richness and abundance of unionids had declined dramatically over the sampling period, due to impacts of the zebra mussel. In contrast, Zanatta et al. (2002) discovered a significant unionid community of 22 species surviving in shallow (<1 m) nearshore waters of the St. Clair delta in 1999. A total of 53 live O. subrotunda were collected from five of the 31 sites sampled between 1999 and 2001; all five sites were in Canadian waters.

Two good indicators of the overall health or “strength” of a mussel population are: (a) density, which can be compared with the densities of known healthy populations; and (b) size class frequencies of live animals, which provide a record of reproductive success. Density estimates for O. subrotunda in the St. Clair delta were found to be 0.014/m2, 0.005/m2 and 0.002/m2 at three sites sampled quantitatively in 2001 (Zanatta et al. 2002). These densities are one to two orders of magnitude lower than the densities of 0.10/m2 to 0.20/m2 reported in 1979 for the Duck River in Tennessee (Ahlstedt 1991), which may harbour the healthiest remaining populations of the round hickorynut in North America. Although current densities in Lake St. Clair are low, the area of occupancy is large (approximately 8 km2). Assuming that densities are consistent throughout the area of occupancy, an optimistic estimate of population size is 55 000 individuals. Size frequency distributions for the 53 live specimens collected from the St. Clair delta between 1999 and 2001 are presented in Figure 4. The population is dominated by animals from a few size classes, which may indicate frequent year-class failure. Mean shell length was 31.3 mm (±3.6 mm SE), which is probably typical for adult specimens in the Great Lakes. Various authors have noted that the “lake form” of O. subrotunda attains a much smaller size than the river form. For example, Ortmann (1919) reported that the largest specimen he had seen from Lake Erie was only 42 mm long.


Figure 4: Size Frequency Distribution for Live Specimens of Obovaria subrotunda Found in Lake St. Clairbetween 1999 and 2001 (n = 53)

Figure 4: Size frequency distribution for live specimens of Obovaria subrotunda found in Lake St. Clairbetween 1999 and 2001.

Table 1 summarizes the available information on frequency of occurrence and relative abundance of O. subrotunda in various locations in Alabama, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Tennessee and Ontario, including the Great Lakes. The round hickorynut was found at about 10% of sites surveyed (range 3-24%), representing 0.7% on average (range 0.2-8.0%) of the total number of mussels collected. It appears that the healthiest remaining populations in North America are in the Duck River, Tennessee, and the Ontario waters of the St. Clair delta in Lake St. Clair. The Paint Rock River population was significant in 1980, but has since declined rather dramatically.


Canadian Rivers

Obovaria subrotunda has been reported from the Grand, Thames, Sydenham and Welland rivers in Ontario. There is only one record for the Welland River -- from 1931. To our knowledge, this river has not been surveyed for mussels in recent years. Metcalfe-Smith et al. (1998b, 1999) surveyed 66 sites on the Grand, Thames, Sydenham, Ausable and Maitland rivers in 1997-98 to determine the conservation status of rare species of freshwater mussels in southwestern Ontario. They used the timed-search technique, which they have shown to be the most efficient method for detecting rare species (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2000a), and an intensive sampling effort of 4.5 person-hours (p-h)/site. Sites that were known to support rare species (including O. subrotunda) in the past were targeted. Results of these and other recent surveys were compared with the historical data to determine population trends for the round hickorynut. This species was not found in the Ausable or Maitland rivers in the lower Lake Huron drainage, nor did it occur there historically.

Table 1: Frequency of Occurrence and Relative Abundance of Obovaria subrotundain Various Locations in the United States and Ontario
River/LakeState/ProvinceFrequency of occurrence, as % of sites surveyed (# sites)Relative abundance, as % of communityYear of survey
Paint Rock RiverAL24% (25)3.0%1980a
Paint Rock RiverAL12% (25)0.7%1991b
Duck RiverTN18% (99)1.4%1979a
Elk RiverTN3.7% (108)0.2%1980c
Cumberland RiverTN, KY3.4% (29)0.3%1984-86d
Green RiverKY-0.1%1990-91e
St. Joseph RiverOH18% (40)-1938-75f
Muskingham RiverOH-0.3%; 0.5%1992g
Black, Pine and Belle riversMI3.7% (27)-1982-83h
Western basin Lake ErieOH, MI, ON-0.3%1951-52i
Detroit RiverMI, ON-0.2%1982-83j
Detroit RiverMI, ON-0.1%1992j
Lake St. ClairMI, ON3% (29)0.4%1986k
Lake St. ClairMI, ON16% (31)2.2%1999-2001l
a Ahlstedt (1991)
e Cochran and Layzer (1993)
i Nalepa et al. (1991)
b Ahlstedt (1995-96)
f Clark (1977)
j Schloesser et al. (1998)
c Ahlstedt (1983)
g Watters (1993-94)
k Nalepa and Gauvin (1988)
d Ahlstedt and Saylor (1995-96)
h Hoeh and Trdan (1985)
l Zanatta et al. (2002)


Small numbers of shells of the round hickorynut have appeared in several museum collections from the Grand and Thames rivers, dating back to the late 1800s. A fresh whole shell collected from the Thames River at Chatham in 1894 was most likely taken from a live animal, but the condition of another shell collected in 1930 is unknown. Metcalfe-Smith et al. (1998b and unpublished data) found a total of 13 weathered (subfossil) half shells at three sites in the middle reaches of the Thames River in 1997-98. Shells of the round hickorynut were collected from the lower Grand River in 1966 by John Oughton and in 1972 by Brian Kidd. After conducting an exhaustive search of the literature and examining many museum collections, Kidd (1973) concluded that the species had not been collected alive from the Grand River as far back as 1885. Metcalfe-Smith et al. (2000b) surveyed 95 sites throughout the Grand River and its tributaries between 1995 and 1998, and did not find a single shell of O. subrotunda. These results suggest that the Round Hickorynut may have already been extirpated from the Grand and Thames rivers by the turn of the century.

The round hickorynut has declined dramatically over time in the Sydenham River. Only three live individuals were collected over the past five years, despite at least 200 person-hours of survey effort, whereas 32 live specimens had been found at 11 different sites in the East Sydenham River between 1965 and 1991. The presence of O. subrotunda in the Sydenham River was first documented by Carol Stein and Joanne Stillwater (Ohio State University), who collected five live animals from a site near Florence in 1965. Stein and Karen Heffelfinger also collected one live specimen from a site near Alvinston in 1967. Stein revisited the Florence site in 1973, and found only two fresh whole shells; however, she also visited a site near Dawn Mills, where she found 18 live animals. Clarke (1973) surveyed 11 sites in the river in 1971 using an average sampling effort of 1.1 p-h/site and found 26 live species. He found one live Round Hickorynut at each of three sites. Mackie and Topping (1988) surveyed 22 sites in the system in 1985 using a sampling effort of 1.0 p-h/site and found only 13 species alive, not including O. subrotunda. Clarke (1992) surveyed 16 sites in 1991, using a greater sampling effort than in 1971 (mean = 2.4 p-h/site) and found five live Round Hickorynuts at four sites. Metcalfe-Smith et al. (1998b, 1999) surveyed 17 sites on the Sydenham River in 1997-98, with good coverage of the reach where O. subrotunda previously occurred, and found only 24 shells -- 70% of which were weathered, broken valves. Quantitative sampling was subsequently conducted at four of these sites (10-12 p-h search effort/site), and one live O. subrotunda was found at a site near Dawn Mills. Another live specimen was found at this site during other sampling in 2001 (Daelyn Woolnough, University of Guelph, pers. Comm..), and a third live specimen was found by the authors at a site near Alvinston in 2001 after 6.25 p-h of search effort. Since all live specimens and fresh whole shells collected in recent years were large, i.e., 48-61 mm (D.L. Strayer, Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, NY, described the 61 mm shell as “huge” for this species), this leads us to believe that they may be old, non-reproducing, remnants of the original population.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l'obovarie ronde (Obovaria subrotunda) au Canada - 2003

Taille et tendances des populations

États-Unis

L’Obovaria subrotunda est une espèce très peu commune nettement en déclin dans la majeure partie de son aire de répartition aux États-Unis. Il est extrêmement rare dans les États du Sud-Est. La seule population existante en Alabama se trouve dans la rivière Paint Rock (J. Garner, Alabama Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries, comm. pers., octobre 2001), où Ahlstedt (1995 et 1996) n’a trouvé que 9 individus vivants pendant les relevés effectués en 1991. En Géorgie, on peut le trouver dans une région très restreinte de la partie nord de l’État, dans le bassin hydrographique de la rivière Tennessee (P. Hartfield, U.S. Fish and Wildlife, comm. pers., juillet 2001). Au Mississippi, il occupe uniquement les rivières Big Black et Big Sunflower (B. Jones, Mississippi Museum of Natural Science, comm. pers., octobre 2001). Selon Parmalee et Bogan (1998), l’O. subrotunda était autrefois répandu dans les réseaux entiers des rivières Tennessee et Cumberland, mais il a disparu ou presque disparu dans la plupart des cours d’eau de ces réseaux. Dans le réseau de la rivière Cumberland, on le trouve dans les rivières Obey, Stones, Harpeth et Red ainsi que dans le cours principal de la Cumberland. Dans le réseau de la rivière Tennessee, on l’a trouvé dans le chenal principal de la rivière Tennessee et dans les rivières Clinch, Pigeon, Little Tennessee, Sequatchie, Powell, Holston, Buffalo, Duck et Elk. En 1979-1980, Ahlstedt (1983, 1991) a effectué des relevés exhaustifs dans les cinq dernières rivières mentionnées ci-dessus et dans la rivière Nolichucky et il a découvert une population importante d’obovaries rondes dans la rivière Duck ainsi que seulement quelques individus vivants dans la rivière Elk. La population de la rivière Duck avait également été signalée en 1933 (van der Schalie, 1938). L’Obovaria subrotunda est l’une des 103 espèces de mulettes connues au Kentucky. D’après une compilation de mentions d’Unionidés remontant jusqu’en 1818, Cicerello et al. (1991) ont établi que l’O. subrotunda est présent dans 12 des 19 principaux réseaux fluviaux de l’État. Cette espèce est actuellement considérée comme occasionnelle dans le cours supérieur de la rivière Cumberland et la rivière Big Sandy, sporadique dans le cours supérieur de la rivière Green, les rivières Kentucky et Licking et le ruisseau Tygarts, et rare dans la rivière Ohio, le cours inférieur de la rivière Cumberland et la rivière Little Sandy.

L’obovarie ronde a déjà été répertoriée dans quatre des 25 bassins hydrographiques de l’Illinois, soit dans les tributaires des rivières Embarras et Wabash, les bassins des rivières Vermilion et Little Vermilion, la rivière Ohio, et la rivière Wabash. Elle a peut-être été assez abondante par le passé; par exemple, 131 individus vivants ont été récoltés dans la rivière Embarras par M.R. Matteson en 1956 (K. Cummings, Illinois Natural History Survey, comm. pers., août 2001). Depuis 1969, l’espèce n’a été trouvée vivante que dans le réseau de la rivière Vermilion (Cummings et Mayer, 1997). En Indiana, l’O. subrotunda était très commun dans les cours d’eau se déversant dans la rivière Ohio comme les rivières Wabash et White et rare dans le réseau de la Maumee (Goodrich et van der Schalie, 1944). Watters (1996) a observé cette espèce dans le ruisseau Fish, un tributaire de la rivière St. Joseph faisant partie du réseau de la Maumee, en 1988 et en 1996. Bien que 17 individus vivants aient été récoltés lors des relevés effectués dans la rivière Tippecanoe en 1987, l’obovarie ronde est en général assez rare dans l’État (K. Cummings, Illinois Natural History Survey, comm. pers., août 2001). L’Obovaria subrotunda est présent dans tout l’État d’Ohio, mais rarement en nombre de quelque importance (G. T. Watters, Ohio Biological Survey, comm. pers., juillet 2001). À la rivière St. Joseph, qui semble avoir retenu davantage l’attention, Clark et Wilson (1912, dans Clark, 1977) le considèrent comme assez commun dans le chenal d’alimentation, où 16 individus vivants ont été trouvés, et près de l’embouchure de la rivière, où ils en ont trouvé 10. Clark (1977) a signalé avoir trouvé cette espèce à sept endroits dans le cours principal ou des tributaires lors de récoltes effectuées entre 1938 et 1975. Way et Shelton (1997) ont repéré l’obovarie ronde à un endroit dans la rivière Ohio en 1995, et Watters (1993 et 1994) a trouvé des individus vivants dans la rivière Muskingham en 1992. En Virginie-Occidentale, l’O. subrotunda est présent dans tout le bassin intérieur de l’État, mais jamais en grand nombre (J. Clayton, West Virginia Department of Natural Resources, comm. pers., août 2001).

Van der Schalie (1938) a étudié la communauté de mulettes de la rivière Huron dans le Sud-Est du Michigan au début des années 1930. Il a trouvé seulement des coquilles d’O. subrotunda à un endroit situé près de l’embouchure. Strayer (1980) a comparé l’aire de répartition historique des mulettes (de 1870 à 1933) dans la rivière Clinton, un tributaire de la rivière Sainte-Claire, juste au nord de Detroit, avec les résultats de relevés qu’il a effectués à 76 sites en 1977-1978. L’obovarie ronde a été observée à deux endroits dans le cours inférieur de la rivière avant 1935, mais il ne l’a pas trouvée pendant ses relevés et l’a déclarée disparue dans la rivière Clinton. Il a également affirmé que l’espèce avait disparu de la majeure partie de son ancienne aire de répartition dans le réseau Érié-Sainte-Claire. En 1982-1983, Hoeh et Trdan (1985) ont effectué des relevés à 27 sites dans les rivières Black, Pine et Belle (également des tributaires de la rivière Sainte-Claire situés au Michigan) et ont répertorié l’obovarie ronde à un endroit dans la rivière Pine, où ils l’ont considérée comme rare (<1 mulette découverte par heure-personne de recherche). Strayer et al. (1991) ont fait des relevés à 52 endroits dans les rivières et cours d’eau de l’Ouest de l’État de New York dans la période de 1987 à 1990 et n’ont trouvé qu’une seule coquille subfossile d’O. subrotunda dans le ruisseau Conewango, dans le réseau de la rivière Allegheny. D’après Strayer et Jirka (1997), l’espèce est probablement disparue de l’État de New York, mais pourrait éventuellement être trouvée dans le bassin de l’Allegheny ou le bassin Érié-Niagara. En Pennsylvanie, l’aire de répartition historique englobait les bassins hydrographiques des rivières Ohio, Beaver et Monongahela (Ortmann, 1919); cependant, les effectifs de l’espèce ont diminué considérablement ces dernières années (A. Shiels, Pennsylvania Nongame and Endangered Species Unit, comm. pers., sept. 2001).


Grands Lacs

Lac Érié

D’après certaines indications, l’O. subrotunda a peut-être disparu du lac Érié dès 1950. L’espèce a été signalée lors de six relevés sur sept effectués entre 1910 et 1942, mais pas en 1960, ni en 1993, ni pendant les relevés effectués à 33 endroits le long de la rive sud-ouest et autour des îles Bass en 1998 (Ecological Specialists, 1999). Seize espèces d’Unionidés ont été récoltées dans le bassin ouest du lac Érié entre 1930 et 1982 (Nalepa et al., 1991). On a trouvé l’Obovaria subrotunda en 1930 et en 1951 et en 1952, mais pas en 1961, ni en 1972, 1973-1974 et 1982. En 1991, la communauté avait été pratiquement éliminée par la moule zébrée (Dreissena polymorpha) – on n’a trouvé que quatre individus vivants, appartenant à deux espèces (Schloesser et Nalepa, 1994). Schloesser et al. (1997) ont fouillé 15 sites le long du rivage au Michigan avant l’invasion par la moule zébrée (1983) et après cette invasion (1990 et 1993), mais ils n’ont pas trouvé d’O. subrotunda lors de ces relevés. L’obovarie ronde était également absente dans les récoltes d’Ortmann (1919) et de Masteller et al. (1993) provenant de la baie Presque Isle, à Erie (Pennsylvanie), et elle ne faisait pas partie des 20 espèces vivantes recensées au marais Metzger, près de Toledo (Ohio), en 1996 (Nichols et Amberg, 1999). Lors de relevés effectués dans sept autres marais près du marais Metzger en 2000, on n’a trouvé que peu de mulettes vivantes, et aucune obovarie ronde (Ecological Specialists, 2001).

Lac Sainte-Claire et rivière Detroit

L’obovarie ronde est encore présente dans le lac Sainte-Claire. Nalepa et Gauvin (1988) ont effectué en 1986 un relevé à 29 sites répartis dans l’ensemble du lac et ont récolté 281 Unionidés vivants appartenant à 18 espèces, y compris une obovarie ronde vivante. Nalepa et al. (1996) ont procédé à de nouveaux relevés à ces mêmes sites en 1990, 1992 et 1994 et ils ont signalé la découverte de deux obovaries rondes vivantes en 1990. En 1994, les Unionidés du lac avaient été pratiquement éliminés par la moule zébrée dans les eaux du large. De même, Schloesser et al. (1998) ont fouillé 17 sites dans la rivière Detroit avant l’invasion par la moule zébrée (1982-1983) et après cette invasion (1992 et 1994) et ils ont trouvé deux O. subrotunda vivants en 1982-1983, trois en 1992 et aucun en 1994. En 1994, les Unionidés de la rivière étaient presque tous morts. Gillis et Mackie (1994) ont fouillé entre 1990 et 1992 plusieurs sites riverains dans la partie sud-ouest du lac Sainte-Claire, près de Puce (Ontario) et de Grosse Pointe (Michigan), et ils n’ont découvert aucun O. subrotunda. La diversité et l’abondance des Unionidés ont diminué de façon très marquée pendant la période d’échantillonnage, à cause de l’incidence de la moule zébrée. Par contre, Zanatta et al. (2002) ont découvert une importante communauté d’Unionidés vivants, comportant 22 espèces, dans les eaux riveraines peu profondes (<1 m) du delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire en 1999. Au total, 53 O. subrotunda vivants ont été récoltés à 5 des 31 sites fouillés entre 1999 et 2001; ces cinq endroits sont tous situés dans les eaux canadiennes.

Deux bons indicateurs de la santé ou de la « vigueur » générale d’une population de mulettes sont : a) la densité, qui peut être comparée aux densités de populations saines connues, et b) la fréquence des classes de taille des animaux vivants, qui fournit une indication du succès reproducteur. Les estimations de la densité de l’O. subrotunda dans le delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire ont été établies à 0,014/m2, 0,005/m2 et 0,002/m2 à trois endroits qui ont fait l’objet d’un échantillonnage quantitatif en 2001 (Zanatta et al., 2002). Ces densités sont inférieures d’un à deux ordres de grandeur à celles de 0,10/m2 à  0,20/m2 établies en 1979 pour la rivière Duck, au Tennessee (Ahlstedt, 1991), qui abrite peut-être les populations restantes d’obovaries rondes les plus saines de l’Amérique du Nord. Bien que les densités actuelles soient faibles dans le lac Sainte-Claire, la zone d’occupation est grande (approximativement 8 km2). En supposant que les densités sont uniformes dans toute la zone d’occupation, une estimation optimiste de la taille de la population se situerait à 55 000 individus. La distribution statistique des tailles des 53 individus vivants récoltés dans le delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire entre 1999 et 2001 est présentée à la figure 4. La population est dominée par des animaux de seulement quelques classes de taille, ce qui pourrait indiquer de fréquents insuccès par classe d’âge. La longueur moyenne des coquilles était de 31,3 mm (erreur-type : ± 3,6 mm), taille probablement typique pour des mulettes adultes des Grands Lacs. Divers auteurs ont constaté que la « forme lacustre » de l’O. subrotunda atteint une taille bien inférieure à celle de la forme lotique. Par exemple, le plus gros spécimen du lac Érié trouvé par Ortmann (1919) ne mesurait que 42 mm de long.


Figure 4 : Distribution statistique des tailles d’Obovaria subrotunda vivants trouvés dans le lac Sainte-Claire entre 1999 et 2001 (n = 53)

Figure 4 : Distribution statistique des tailles d’Obovaria subrotunda vivants trouvés dans le lac Sainte-Claire entre 1999 et 2001.

Le tableau 1 résume l’information disponible sur la fréquence d’occurrence et l’abondance relative de l’O. subrotunda à divers endroits en Alabama, au Kentucky, au Michigan, en Ohio, au Tennessee et en Ontario, y compris dans les Grands Lacs. L’obovarie ronde a été répertoriée à environ 10 p. 100 des sites fouillés (fourchette de 3 à 24  p. 100), et représentait en moyenne 0,7 p. 100 (fourchette de 0,2 à 8,0 p. 100) du nombre total de mulettes récoltées. Il semble que les populations restantes les plus saines de l’Amérique du Nord sont celles de la rivière Duck, au Tennessee, et des eaux ontariennes du delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire (dans le lac Sainte-Claire). La population de la rivière Paint Rock était importante en 1980, mais elle a diminué de façon plutôt marquée depuis ce temps.


Rivières canadiennes

L’Obovaria subrotunda a été signalé dans les rivières Grand, Thames, Sydenham et Welland en Ontario. On ne possède qu’une seule mention, datant de 1931, pour la rivière Welland. À notre connaissance, il n’y a pas eu de recensement des mulettes dans cette rivière ces dernières années. Metcalfe-Smith et al. (1998b, 1999) ont fouillé 66 sites dans les rivières Grand, Thames, Sydenham, Ausable et Maitland en 1997 et en 1998 afin de déterminer la situation des espèces rares de mulettes dans le Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario. Ils ont utilisé la technique d’échantillonnage selon un temps déterminé (timed-search), dont ils ont prouvé qu’elle était la méthode la plus efficace pour détecter les espèces rares (Metcalfe-Smith et al., 2000a), et un effort d’échantillonnage intensif de 4,5 heures-personnes (h-p)/site. Ils ont ciblé des sites dont ils savaient qu’ils abritaient des espèces rares (dont l’Obovaria subrotunda) dans le passé. Les résultats de ces inventaires ainsi que d’autres études récentes ont été comparés aux données historiques afin de déterminer les tendances démographiques de l’obovarie ronde. Cette espèce n’a pas été répertoriée dans les rivières Ausable ou Maitland, dans le bassin versant du lac Huron inférieur, et elle n’y a jamais été observée dans le passé.

Tableau 1 : Fréquence d’occurrence et abondance relative de l’Obovaria subrotundaà divers endroits aux États-Unis et en Ontario
Rivière/lacÉtat/
province
Fréquence d’occurrence, en % des sites fouillés
(nombre de sites)
Abondance relative,
en % de la communauté
Années des relevés
Rivière Paint RockAL24 % (25)3,0 %1980a
Rivière Paint RockAL12 % (25)0,7 %1991b
Rivière DuckTN18 % (99)1,4 %1979a
Rivière ElkTN3,7 % (108)0,2 %1980c
Rivière CumberlandTN, KY3,4 % (29)0,3 %1984-1986d
Rivière GreenKY-0,1 %1990-1991e
Rivière St. JosephOH18 % (40)-1938-1975f
Rivière MuskinghamOH-0,3 %; 0,5 %1992g
Rivières Black, Pine et BelleMI3,7 % (27)-1982-1983h
Bassin ouest du lac ÉriéOH, MI, Ont.-0,3 %1951-1952i
Rivière DetroitMI, Ont.-0,2 %1982-1983j
Rivière DetroitMI, Ont.-0,1 %1992j
Lac Sainte-ClaireMI, Ont.3 % (29)0,4 %1986k
Lac Sainte-ClaireMI, Ont.16 % (31)2,2 %1999-2001l
a Ahlstedt (1991)
e Cochran et Layzer (1993)
i Nalepa et al. (1991)
b Ahlstedt (1995-1996)
f Clark (1977)
j Schloesser et al. (1998)
c Ahlstedt (1983)
g Watters (1993-1994)
k Nalepa et Gauvin (1988)
d Ahlstedt et Saylor (1995-1996)
h Hoeh et Trdan (1985)
l Zanatta et al. (2002)


Les collections de plusieurs musées contiennent un petit nombre de coquilles d’obovarie ronde provenant des rivières Grand et Thames, remontant à la fin du 19e siècle. Il est fort probable qu’une coquille entière fraîche récoltée dans la rivière Thames, à Chatham, en 1894 avait été obtenue d’un animal vivant, mais on ne sait ce qui en est pour une autre coquille récoltée en 1930. Metcalfe-Smith et al. (1998b et données inédites) ont trouvé au total 13 vieilles valves (subfossiles) à trois endroits dans le cours moyen de la rivière Thames en 1997-1998. Des coquilles d’obovarie ronde ont été récoltées dans le cours inférieur de la rivière Grand en 1966 par John Oughton et en 1972 par Brian Kidd. Après une recherche documentaire exhaustive et un examen de nombreuses collections de musées, Kidd (1973) a conclu que cette espèce n’a pas été récoltée vivante dans la rivière Grand depuis 1885. Metcalfe-Smith et al. (2000b) ont fouillé 95 sites dans la rivière Grand et ses tributaires entre 1995 et 1998 et n’ont pas trouvé une seule coquille d’O. subrotunda. Ces résultats donnent à penser que l’obovarie ronde était peut-être disparue des rivières Grand et Thames au tournant du 20e siècle.

La population d’obovaries rondes a diminué de façon très marquée dans la rivière Sydenham. Au cours des cinq dernières années, seulement trois individus vivants y ont été récoltés, malgré un effort de recherche d’au moins 200 heures-personnes, alors que 32 individus vivants avaient été trouvés à 11 endroits différents dans la rivière Sydenham Est entre 1965 et 1991. La présence de l’O. subrotunda dans la rivière Sydenham a été documentée pour la première fois par Carol Stein et Joanne Stillwater (Ohio State University), qui ont récolté cinq animaux vivants à un site proche de Florence en 1965. Stein et Karen Heffelfinger ont également récolté un individu vivant à un site proche d’Alvinston en 1967. Stein est retournée au site de Florence en 1973 et y a trouvé seulement deux coquilles entières fraîches; cependant, elle a également visité un endroit situé près de Dawn Mills et y a trouvé 18 animaux vivants. Clarke (1973) a effectué des relevés à 11 sites dans la rivière en 1971 avec un effort d’échantillonnage moyen de 1,1 h-p/site et a trouvé 26 espèces vivantes. À trois de ces sites, il a trouvé une seule obovarie ronde. Mackie et Topping (1988) ont fouillé 22 sites dans le réseau fluvial en 1985 avec un effort d’échantillonnage de 1,0 h-p/site et ont trouvé seulement 13 espèces vivantes, mais pas d’O. subrotunda. Clarke (1992) a fouillé 16 sites en 1991 avec un effort d’échantillonnage supérieur à celui de 1971 (moyenne = 2,4 h-p/site) et a trouvé un total de cinq obovaries rondes vivantes à quatre sites. Metcalfe-Smith et al. (1998b, 1999) ont fait des relevés à 17 sites sur la rivière Sydenham en 1997-1998 en couvrant bien le tronçon où l’O. subrotunda avait déjà été observé et ils n’ont trouvé que 24 coquilles, dont 70 p. 100 étaient de vieilles valves brisées. Lors d’un échantillonnage quantitatif effectué ultérieurement à quatre de ces sites (effort de recherche de 10 à 12 h-p/site), on a trouvé un seul O. subrotunda vivant, près de Dawn Mills. Un autre individu vivant a été trouvé au même endroit lors d’un échantillonnage effectué en 2001 (Daelyn Woolnough, Université de Guelph, comm. pers.) et un troisième individu vivant a été trouvé par les auteurs du présent rapport à un site proche d’Alvinston en 2001 avec un effort de recherche de 6,25 h-p. Étant donné que tous les individus vivants et les coquilles entières fraîches récoltés ces dernières années étaient de grande taille, soit de 48 à 61 mm (selon D.L. Strayer, de l’Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, NY, une obovarie ronde de 61 mm peut être qualifiée d’« énorme »), on peut penser qu’il s’agit de vieux individus de la population originale qui ne se reproduisent pas.