Skip booklet index and go to page content

Background

Recovery Strategy for the Contorted-pod Evening-primrose (Camissonia contorta) in Canada

1. COSEWIC Species Assessment Information

Date of Assessment: April 2006

Common Name (population): Contorted-pod Evening-primrose

Scientific Name: Camissonia contorta

COSEWIC Status: Endangered

Reason for Designation: An annual herb restricted to several dry, open and sandy coastal habitats of very small size. The small fragmented populations are impacted by ongoing habitat loss, high recreational use and competition with several invasive exotic plants.

Canadian Occurrence: British Columbia

COSEWIC Status History: Designated Endangered in April 2006.

Top of page

2. Species Status Information

Contorted-pod Evening-primrose is ranked globally secure (G5; NatureServe 1988), but critically imperiled in Canada (N1; NatureServe 1988) and in British Columbia (S1; B.C. Conservation Data Centre 2011). Its status in Washington, Oregon, California, Nevada and Idaho has not been ranked (NatureServe 1988). It was ranked critically-imperiled in Vermont but this was based on a misidentification and should be rejected as the species does not occur in that jurisdiction (NatureServe 1988). There is no estimate of global abundance, but the Province of British Columbia considers the species to have less than 10% of its global abundance in the province (B.C. Conservation Framework 2010).

Top of page

3. Species Information

3.1 Species Description

Contorted-pod Evening-primrose (Figure 1) is a slender, annual herb, occasionally growing to 40 cm long, arising from a slender taproot. Its stem is wiry, usually branched, peeling below and often sprawling. Its leaves are linear to narrowly elliptic, 5-30 mm long and entirely to remotely toothed. The flowers are borne on a short stalk or are unstalked. Each flower consists of four sepals and four petals. The petals are 3-5 mm long and yellow, fading to red. The stems, leaves and capsules are often deep red, particularly in unshaded environments.

Figure 1. Illustration of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose (from Vascular Plants of the Pacific Northwest, by L.C. Hitchcock, A. Cronquist and M. Ownbey, with illustration by J.R. Janish), published by the University of Washington Press (1969); and photo by Matt Fairbarns. Both images used with permission.

Illustration and photo of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose
© Illustration - University of Washington Press (1969); and photo - Matt Fairbarns

Top of page

3.2 Population and Distribution

Contorted-pod Evening-primrose ranges from British Columbia (B.C.) to California, east to Idaho and western Nevada (see COSEWIC 2006 for additional details). In Canada, it is at the northern edge of its global range (Natureserve 1988).

In Canada, populations of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose occur in an approximately 750 km2 extent of occurrence near the coast on southeast Vancouver Island and the Gulf Islands of B.C. (Figure 2). There are records of nine populations in Canada (Figure 2, Table 1), one of which has been extirpated (Population 9 was last observed in 1893). Due to loss and degradation of sandy habitats on the coast of B.C., the historical number of populations might have been higher than nine. Thirty sites with sandy habitats that appear suitable for this species were surveyed between 2004 and 2006 to confirm that no undetected populations were present in the region (COSEWIC 2006).

Figure 2. Distribution of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose in Canada (from COSEWIC 2006). Extant populations are shown by solid stars and the one extirpated population is shown by a solid square. Due to the scale used for this map, Northern Gulf Island Populations 3 and 4 are shown as a single symbol. The open star shows location of nearest U.S. population.

Distribution of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose in Canada
© Matt Fairbarns

In the status report (COSEWIC 2006), the Canadian population was estimated at 3,500 – 4,500 individuals with an area of occupancy of 7.84 ha (surveys conducted in 2004). In 2005, Population 7 expanded slightly into areas unoccupied in 2004 and increased in abundance. Surveys in 2006 (after the last status assessment by COSEWIC) revealed that all plants at Population 6 had been destroyed during a land development project, but in 2007 a small number of plants were observed in or near the original location (Table 1). The exact location of these plants is not known, and it is not clear if they were in the same location as the extirpated population or at a different location nearby. Similarly, as described in COSEWIC (2006) Population 8 was destroyed by off road vehicle use, but that threat has been at least partially mitigated through the use of barriers and the population has since naturally re-colonized the site (Table 1).

Revising population totals since the field work was completed for the COSEWIC assessment, the total Canadian population was estimated to have declined overall from 2004 to 2006 to about 2,250-2,850 individuals (due primarily to destruction at one site), occupying about 38.1 ha. This constitutes an estimated decline in total population size of approximately 36% (following COSEWIC standard of using the lowest population numbers when provided with a range of values), with a possible range from 19-50%. The reason why the area of occupancy has risen while population numbers have fallen is because a small number of new plants have been discovered over a relatively large area, so this small discovery of individuals has greatly expanded the known area of occupancy. Thus, area of occupancy is currently a poor measure of overall population trend for this species.

Table 1. Summary of Populations of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose in Canada.
Population number and name[1]StatusRecent recordsLand Tenure
Last year observedLast population census (year)
1. MetchosinExtant2006253 (2004)Capital Regional District Park
2. Saanich AExtant2006500-1,000 (2004)Capital Regional District Park
3. Savary Island AExtant2006190 (2004)B.C. Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure
4. Savary Island BExtant2004700 (2010)Private
5. Saanich BExtant2006500-600 (2004)Private (James Island)
6. Saanich CExtant2007100 (2007)Private (James Island)
7. Saanich DExtant2005114 (2005)Gulf Islands National Park Reserve and Canadian Coast Guard
8. Saanich EExtant2007200-250 (2007)Cordova Spit Municipal Park
9. Cedar HillExtirpated18930 (2005)Exact location unknown

Top of page

3.3 Needs of the Contorted-pod Evening-primrose

For a detailed description of the biology of the species, see COSEWIC (2006). Contorted-pod Evening-primrose does not reproduce asexually (i.e., from cuttings or pieces of the plant). Thus, reproduction and dispersal of the species is dependent on seeds. It is an annual species so populations are replenished either by recruitment from a local seed bank and/or by dispersal from other populations. It is not known if Contorted-pod Evening-primrose is capable of banking dormant seeds in the substrate for two or more years and there are no studies on its population processes that might advise on its ability to bank seeds. Dispersal between populations is probably an uncommon event.

In Canada, Contorted-pod Evening-primrose inhabits sandy backshore[1] habitats in the Southern Gulf Islands and Strait of Georgia Ecosections, where it occurs in the Coastal Douglas-fir Biogeoclimatic Zone (B.C. Ministry of Environment n.d., B.C. Ministry of Forests 2003). Key site characteristics are listed in Table 2.

Table 2. Key habitat attributes of sites where Contorted-pod Evening-primrose is found in Canada.
AttributeDescription
Elevation (m)0-20
Aspect (degrees)Various, usually 145-270 if slope > 5%
Slope Angle (%)0-50
Meso-slope PositionLower slope or level
ExposureModerately exposed to wind and salt spray
DrainageVery rapidly
Mineral Soil TextureSandy
Surface Organic Horizon< 0.5 cm
Root-restricting LayerNone
Coarse Fragments< 1%
Terrainsandy aeolian blanket or thick veneer

Contorted-pod Evening-primrose appears to tolerate light levels of sand erosion and deposition and may require such disturbances in order to escape competition (Fairbarns, pers. obs.). In Canada, it is absent from more active areas of sand dunes and other sites with unvegetated sand. In the nearby San Juan Islands of Washington State, however, it sometimes occurs in slightly more active dune blow-outs, where individual plants may develop a spreading patch up to one metre in diameter.

Contorted-pod Evening-primrose is restricted to sites that have negligible tree or shrub cover, although the non-native and invasive Scotch Broom (Cytisus scoparius) sometimes grows nearby. Herbs, mosses and lichens tend to be sparse. The cover of herbaceous plants usually varies from 1-20% but may be as high as 50%. Native herbaceous species such as Tall Pepper-grass (Lepidium virginicum), Native Red Fescue (Festuca rubra), Sea-blush (Plectritis congesta) and Blue-eyed Mary (Collinsia parviflora) are often present. Contorted-pod Evening-primrose often grows with mosses (primarily Roadside Rock Moss, Racomitrium canescens, and Awned Haircap Moss, Polytrichum piliferum) but it is usually absent from microsites where the moss cover exceeds 30%.

Demographic collapse constitutes a probable, moderate and ongoing issue because all populations of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose are threatened simply by their small size. Annual species, such as Contorted-pod Evening-primrose, that do not produce offshoots and which survive because they can tolerate levels of stress too high for most species tend to be particularly prone to extirpation and thus have comparatively high Minimum Viable Population (MVP) sizes (Pavlik 1996, Traill et al. 2007). Pavlik (1996) reviewed three studies and reported that a reasonable working definition of MVP size for plant reintroduction projects would range from about 50–2500 individuals, depending on the life history of the species in question. Based on a review of 22 papers, Traill et al. (2007) reports for plants (annual and perennial) a median MVP size of about 4,824 individuals. For Contorted-pod Evening-primrose, several life history traits would predispose it to having a relatively large MVP compared to most plants (e.g., annual, herbaceous, occurring in habitat with high environmental variation, etc), so MVP likely will fall at the higher end of the range for plants (i.e., towards 5,000 individuals). The specific MVP size for Contorted-pod Evening-primrose has not been determined, but determining it is a recommended action for research (see Table 4).

Top of page



1 Defined as the coastal zone lying between the beach berm and the backshore slope, affected by waves only during severe storms.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Contexte

Programme de rétablissement de l'onagre à fruits tordus (Camissonia contorta) au Canada

1. Évaluation de l’espèce par le COSEPAC

Date de l’évaluation : Avril 2006

 Nom commun (population) : Onagre à fruits tordus

 Nom scientifique : Camissonia contorta

 Statut selon le COSEPAC : En voie de disparition

 Justification de la désignation : Une plante herbacée annuelle restreinte à plusieurs habitats côtiers sablonneux, secs et ouverts, de très petite taille. Les petites populations fragmentées sont touchées par la perte continue d’habitat, l’utilisation intense à des fins récréatives et la compétition avec plusieurs plantes exotiques envahissantes.

 Présence au Canada : Colombie-Britannique

 Historique du statut selon le COSEPAC : Espèce désignée « en voie de disparition » en avril 2006.

2. Information sur le statut de l’espèce

L’onagre à fruits tordus est classée non en péril à l’échelle mondiale (globally secure) (G5; NatureServe, 1988), mais gravement en péril (critically imperiled) au Canada (N1; NatureServe, 1988) et en Colombie-Britannique (S1; Conservation Data Centre de la Colombie-Britannique, 2011). Aucune cote de conservation ne lui a été attribuée dans l’État de Washington, en Oregon, en Californie, au Nevada et en Idaho (NatureServe, 1988). Elle a été classée gravement en péril au Vermont, mais cette désignation résulte d’une erreur d’identification et n’est pas valide, l’espèce n’étant pas présente dans cet État (NatureServe, 1988). La taille de la population mondiale est inconnue, mais le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique estime que les effectifs provinciaux de l’espèce représentent moins de 10 % de son abondance mondiale (B.C. Conservation Framework, 2010).

Haut de la page

3. Information sur l’espèce

3.1 Description de l’espèce

L’onagre à fruits tordus est (figure 1) est une herbacée annuelle grêle qui peut atteindre occasionnellement 40 cm de longueur et est dotée d’une étroite racine pivotante. La tige est mince et flexible, habituellement ramifiée, pelée dans sa portion inférieure et souvent étalée. Les feuilles sont linéaires, étroitement elliptiques, entières ou à dents très espacées et mesurent 5 à 30 mm de longueur. Les fleurs, constituées de quatre sépales et de quatre pétales, sont sessiles ou portées sur un court pédoncule. Les pétales mesurent 3 à 5 mm de longueur et sont d’abord jaunes mais virent au rouge avec le temps. Les tiges, les feuilles et les capsules sont souvent d’un rouge profond, en particulier chez les sujets qui poussent en milieu découvert.

Figure 1. Onagre à fruits tordus. À gauche, illustration par J.R. Janish (tirée de Vascular Plants of the Pacific Northwest, par L.C. Hitchcock, A. Cronquist et M. Ownbey, publié par l’University of Washington Press (1969)); à droite, photo par Matt Fairbarns. Reproduction des deux images autorisée.

Illustration et photo d'une onagre à fruits tordus
© Illustration - University of Washington Press (1969); photo - Matt Fairbarns

3.2 Population et répartition

L’onagre à fruits tordus se rencontre de la Colombie-Britannique à la Californie et, vers l’est, jusqu’en Idaho et dans l’ouest du Nevada (pour une description plus détaillée de la répartition de l’espèce, voir COSEPAC, 2006)). L’espèce atteint au Canada la limite septentrionale de son aire de répartition (NatureServe, 1988).

Au Canada, les populations occupent une zone d’occurrence d’environ 750 km2 bordant la côte du sud-est de l’île de Vancouver et les îles Gulf, en Colombie-Britannique (figure 2). Neuf populations ont été trouvées au Canada (figure 2, tableau 1), mais la population 9 est aujourd’hui considérée comme disparue (observée pour la dernière fois en 1893). L’espèce pourrait avoir compté historiquement plus de neuf populations en Colombie-Britannique, car de nombreux milieux côtiers sableux ont disparu ou ont été dégradés. Des relevés visant à vérifier la présence éventuelle de populations non détectées dans la région ont été effectués entre 2004 et 2006 dans trente sites comportant des parcelles d’habitat sableux en apparence propice à l’espèce (COSEPAC, 2006).

Figure 2. Répartition de l’onagre à fruits tordus au Canada (tirée de COSEPAC, 2006). L’emplacement des populations existantes est indiqué par une étoile noire, et celui de la population disparue, par un carré noir. En raison de l’échelle de cette carte, l’emplacement des populations 3 et 4 sur les îles Gulf du Nord est indiqué par un même symbole. L’étoile blanche désigne l’emplacement de la population la plus proche aux États-Unis.

Répartition de l'onagre à fruits tordus au Canada
© Matt Fairbarns

Selon des estimations tirées du rapport de situation consacrée à l’espèce (COSEPAC, 2006), la population canadienne comptait entre 3 500 et 4 500 individus, et sa zone d’occupation s’établissait à 7,84 ha (relevés effectués en 2004). En 2005, la population 7 a connu une légère expansion et a augmenté. Des relevés réalisés en 2006 (soit après la dernière évaluation de la situation de l’espèce par le COSEPAC) ont indiqué qu’un projet d’aménagement du territoire avait entraîné la disparition de la totalité de la population 6; quelques individus ont cependant été découverts à l’emplacement original ou à proximité en 2007 (tableau 1). On ignore toutefois si ces individus occupaient le même emplacement que la population disparue ou un milieu voisin. Par ailleurs, tel qu’indiqué dans COSEPAC (2006), la population 8 a été détruite par des véhicules hors route. L’installation de barrières a toutefois permis d’atténuer partiellement cette menace, et l’espèce a depuis recolonisé naturellement ce site (tableau 1).

Une nouvelle évaluation de la taille des populations effectuée depuis l’achèvement des travaux de terrain réalisés aux fins de l’évaluation du COSEPAC a montré que la population canadienne totale a décliné à environ 2 250 à 2 850 individus entre 2004 et 2006 (principalement par suite de la destruction d’une population). La zone d’occupation s’est par contre accrue, passant à environ 38,1 ha. Le déclin de la population totale est estimé à environ 36% (conformément aux normes du COSEPAC, la plus faible valeur d’effectifs a été retenue parmi l’intervalle des valeurs disponibles), pour un intervalle possible de 19 à 50 %. La découverte de quelques nouveaux individus répartis sur un plus vaste territoire explique pourquoi la zone d’occupation a considérablement augmenté alors que les effectifs de l’espèce ont chuté. Les fluctuations de la zone d’occupation constituent donc présentement une piètre mesure de la tendance de la population totale pour cette espèce.

Tableau 1. Sommaire des populations d’onagre à fruits tordus au Canada.
Numéro et nom de la population1StatutMentions récentesRégime foncier
Année de la dernière observationNombre d’individus au dernier recensement (année)
1. MetchosinExistante2006253 (2004)Parc du district régional de la capitale
2. Saanich AExistante2006500 à 1 000 (2004)Parc du district régional de la capitale
3. Île Savary AExistante2006190 (2004)Ministère des Transports et des Infrastructures (Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure) de la Colombie-Britannique
4. Île Savary BExistante2004700 (2010)Terres privées
5. Saanich BExistante2006500 à 600 (2004)Terres privées (île James)
6. Saanich CExistante2007100 (2007)Terres privées (île James)
7. Saanich DExistante2005114 (2005)Réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf et Garde côtière canadienne
8. Saanich EExistante2007200 à 250 (2007)Parc municipal Cordova Spit (Cordova Spit Municipal Park)
9. Cedar HillDisparue18930 (2005)Emplacement exact inconnu

3.3 Besoins de l’onagre à fruits tordus

Une description détaillée de la biologie de l’espèce est présentée dans COSEPAC (2006). L’onagre à fruits tordus ne se reproduit pas par voie asexuée (p. ex. par bouturage) et dépend entièrement de ses graines pour sa reproduction et sa dispersion. L’onagre à fruits tordus étant une annuelle, ses populations se reconstituent chaque année par recrutement à partir des réservoirs de semences locaux et/ou par dispersion d’individus provenant d’autres populations. On ignore si les graines de l’onagre à fruits tordus peuvent demeurer viables à l’état dormant dans le sol pendant deux ou plusieurs années, et aucune étude n’a été consacrée à ce jour aux éventuels processus démographiques conférant à l’espèce la capacité de constituer de tels réservoirs de semences dans le sol. La dispersion entre les populations est probablement peu fréquente.

Au Canada, l’onagre à fruits tordus pousse sur un certain nombre d’arrière-plages sableuses[1] comprises dans les écosections des îles Gulf du Sud et du détroit de Géorgie, dans la zone biogéoclimatique côtière à douglas (Ministry of Environment de la Colombie-Britannique, n.d.; Ministry of Forests de la Colombie-Britannique, 2003). Le tableau 2 ci-dessous présente les principaux attributs de l’habitat de l’onagre à fruits tordus au Canada.

Tableau 2. Principales caractéristiques de l’habitat de l’onagre à fruits tordus au Canada.
CaractéristiqueDescription
Altitude0 à 20 m
OrientationVariable, mais habituellement entre 145 et 270 degrés dans le cas des pentes présentant une inclinaison de plus de 5 %
Valeur de la pente0 à 50 %
Position mésotopographiqueBas de la pente
ExpositionExposition modérée au vent et aux embruns salés
DrainageTrès rapide
Texture du sol minéralSableux
Épaisseur de l’horizon organique superficiel< 0,5 cm
Couche bloquant le passage aux racinesAucune
Fragments grossiers< 1 %
TerrainCouverture éolienne sableuse ou placage de sédiments épais

L’onagre à fruits tordus semble tolérer de faibles niveaux d’érosion et de dépôt et pourrait avoir besoin de ces perturbations pour échapper à la compétition exercée par les autres plantes (Fairbarns, obs. pers.). Au Canada, elle est absente des portions plus actives des dunes et d’autres zones de sable dénudées. Toutefois, dans les îles San Juan voisines, dans l’État de Washington, elle colonise parfois les creux de déflation plus actifs, y adoptant un port rampant et couvrant une superficie pouvant atteindre un mètre de diamètre.

L’onagre à fruits tordus est confinée aux sites à couvert arborescent ou arbustif presque inexistant, bien que le genêt à balais (Cytisus scoparius), une espèce exotique envahissante, pousse parfois à proximité. Le couvert d’herbacées, de mousses et de lichens est généralement clairsemé. Le tapis herbacé oscille habituellement entre 1 et 20 %, mais il peut atteindre 50 %. Diverses herbacées indigènes comme la lépidie de Virginie (Lepidium virginicum), la fétuque rouge (Festuca rubra), le plectritis rosé (Plectritis congesta) et la collinsie à petites fleurs (Collinsia parviflora) sont souvent présentes. L’onagre à fruits tordus pousse souvent en compagnie de mousses (principalement le Racomitrium canescens et le Polytrichum piliferum), mais elle est habituellement absente des microsites présentant un couvert de mousses supérieur à 30 %.

L’effondrement démographique constitue une menace probable, modérée et continue parce que toutes les populations de l’onagre à fruits tordus sont menacées du seul fait de leur faible taille. Les espèces annuelles comme l’onagre à fruits tordus qui ne produisent pas de ramets et qui survivent parce qu’elles peuvent tolérer des niveaux de stress trop intenses pour la plupart des autres espèces sont généralement particulièrement susceptibles de disparaître et présentent donc une taille minimale de population viable (TMPV) relativement élevée (Pavlik, 1996; Traill et al., 2007). Pavlik (1996) a examiné trois études et a conclu qu’une définition de travail appropriée de la TMPV aux fins de la réintroduction d’espèces végétales pourrait osciller entre 50 et 2 500 individus, selon le cycle vital de l’espèce considérée. S’appuyant sur l’analyse de 22 publications, Traill et al. (2007) ont proposé une valeur médiane de TMPV de 4 824 individus pour diverses espèces végétales (annuelles et vivaces). Plusieurs caractéristiques du cycle vital de l’onagre à fruits tordus contribuent à l’établissement d’une valeur de TMPV élevée pour cette espèce en comparaison des autres espèces végétales (p. ex. annuelle, herbacée, espèce vivant dans un environnement très variable, etc.). En conséquence, la valeur de TMPV devrait se situer à l’extrémité supérieure (autour de 5 000 individus) de l’intervalle établi pour les plantes. La valeur précise de la TMPV n’a encore été déterminée pour l’onagre à fruits tordus, mais son établissement fait partie des activités de recherche recommandées (voir le tableau 4).

Haut de la page


1 Zone côtière comprise entre la terrasse de plage et la pente de l’arrière-plage soumise à l’impact des vagues uniquement durant les fortes tempêtes.