Skip booklet index and go to page content

Threats

Recovery Strategy for the Contorted-pod Evening-primrose (Camissonia contorta) in Canada

4. Threats

4.1 Threat Assessment

Table 3. Threat Assessment Table.
ThreatLevel of ConcernExtentOccurrenceFrequencySeverityCausal Certainty
Habitat Loss and Degradation
Land developmentHighWidespreadCurrent / anticipatedRecurrentHighHigh
Recreation –vehiclesHighWidespreadCurrent / anticipatedRecurrentHighHigh
Recreation – foot trafficMediumWidespreadCurrent / anticipatedContinuousMediumHigh
Road maintenanceLowLocalizedAnticipatedUnknownMediumLow
Exotic or Invasive Species
Non-native plants - competitionHighWidespreadCurrent / anticipatedContinuousHighHigh
Non-native animals - herbivoryLowWidespreadAnticipatedUnknownUnknownLow
Climate
Climate ChangeLowWidespreadUnknownContinuousUnknownLow

Top of page

4.2 Description of Threats

The following section is adapted from the species description provided in the status report (COSEWIC 2006).

Habitat destruction and degradation
Although several sites are currently protected in parks, land development constitutes a demonstrated, severe and ongoing threat at several sites across the species range. All plants at Population 6 were destroyed during the development of a golf course on private land, though a small number of plants have since recolonized the area (Table 1). Population 3 is on a Crown land right-of-way belonging to the B.C. Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure. At this time, there are no development plans for this site (C. Wheeler, pers. comm.).

Recreational use (by pedestrians and vehicles such as all terrain vehicles) constitutes a demonstrated, severe, extensive and ongoing threat to sandy backshore habitats at almost all sites within the Canadian range of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose. There is heavy trampling associated with visitors to some of the sandy backshore habitats where this species occurs (e.g., from hiking, dog-walking, sunbathing and picnicking). Trampling is especially pronounced at Populations 1, 2, 4, 7 and 8. The site that Population 8 occupies has suffered from heavy use by off-road vehicles. Less severe off-road vehicle impacts were also observed at Populations 5 and 6, and there is the potential for damage from off-road vehicles at Population 2 due to its proximity to Population 8, although barriers have recently been erected that are at least partially mitigating the threat from off road vehicles.

Exotic and invasive species: plants
Exotic and invasive plant species constitute a demonstrated, severe and ongoing threat. A number of exotic and invasive species have invaded habitats favoured by Contorted-pod Evening-primrose, especially at Populations 5 and 7.

The exotic and invasive Scotch Broom (Cytisus scoparius) is present immediately adjacent to or within all eight extant populations. It competes for space with Contorted-pod Evening-primrose. It also shades sites during part of the day and may gradually stabilize semi-active sand areas by forming dense thickets. This will facilitate succession and eliminate open habitats.

Other exotic and invasive species that pose a serious threat at one or more sites include Crow Garlic (Allium vineale), an aggressive onion, which is spreading rapidly in areas where it has become established (especially at Population 5), and European Beachgrass (Ammophila arenaria), which tends to stabilize dunes and thereby alter substrate dynamics, especially at Population 7. A portion of Population 7 appears to have been lost, likely as a result of invasion by Scotch Broom and European Beachgrass (M. Fairbarns, pers. obs.). This population is already at low numbers, so further loss is a significant threat to its persistence. Other exotic species that occur in the vicinity of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose and pose a potential threat include grasses such as Early Hairgrass (Aira praecox), Silver Hairgrass (A. caryophyllea), Cheatgrass (Bromus tectorum), Soft Brome (B. hordeaceus), Ripgut Brome (B. rigidus), Rattail Fescue (Vulpia myurus) and Barren Fescue (Vulpia bromoides). Frequent non-native forbs include Sheep Sorrel (Rumex acetosella), Sticky Chickweed (Cerastium glomeratum), Hairy Hawkbit (Leontodon taraxacoides), Hairy Cat’s-ear (Hypochaeris radicata) and Stork’s-bill (Erodium cicutarium).

Exotic and invasive species: animals
Herbivory by non-native animals constitutes a possible, minor and ongoing threat. Plants in Populations 1, 2, 5 and 7 have experienced light to moderate levels of herbivory (M. Fairbarns, pers. obs.). It is assumed that this herbivory is from Eastern Cottontails (Sylvilagus floridanus), as rabbit droppings are abundant at most of these sites as well as in the location that Population 8 occupies. However, the impact of rabbit grazing on competing vegetation, which is quite evident, may offset the minor impacts of grazing on Contorted-pod Evening-primrose.

Climate change
Climate change is seen as an emerging threat, but one that has unknown consequences for Contorted-pod Evening-primrose. Sea level changes and alterations to rainfall patterns could have implications for this species.

Top of page

5. Population and Distribution Objectives

The overall aim of this recovery strategy (for the period 2011 to 2020) is to attain nine[2] viable populations of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose in Canada. To meet this aim, this recovery strategy has four population and distribution objectives. Objectives are not listed in order of priority (see Table 4 for prioritization of recommended activities).

  1. Maintain the known extent of occurrence[3] for the species in Canada (by 2015).

  2. Maintain population sizes for all extant locations at current[4] or higher levels (by 2015).

  3. Ensure all eight extant populations reach, and are maintained at, no less than their minimum viable population size[5] (by 2020).

  4. Establish one additional population[6] (to replace the single known extirpated population) at a site with suitable habitat within the known range of the species in Canada, and maintain it at no less than its minimum viable population size (by 2020).

Top of page

6. Broad Strategies and General Approaches to Meet Objectives

6.1 Actions Already Completed or Currently Underway

A report on proposed management actions for Capital Regional District (CRD) Parks (Populations 1 and 2) has been prepared (Fairbarns 2004). Eighteen recommendations were made, including the following four key points:

  • Improve the conservation of the existing populations of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose in CRD Parks.
  • Encourage awareness of conservation values, with an emphasis on plant species at risk.
  • Monitor the populations of rare sand dwelling plants as well as their habitat and park use.
  • Restore degraded habitat and encourage the establishment of new subpopulations of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose or expansion of existing ones.

CRD Parks began implementation of management recommendations in 2007, with the establishment of a fence and signage to reduce traffic in the habitat occupied by Population 2. Regrettably, there is still evidence of frequent, heavy trampling by people climbing over the fence (Fairbarns, pers. obs., 2008). No recovery actions recommended for this species have been implemented for Population 1.

CRD Parks, the Municipality of Central Saanich, and the Tsawout First Nation are currently developing a management plan for an area that includes all sandy habitats stretching from Population 2 to Population 8. This project includes habitat mapping, rare species mapping and development of a coordinated access management plan both for walkers and off-road vehicle users. At Population 8, concrete barriers, fencing and signage have been utilized south of Cordova Spit Municipal Park on Tsawout First Nation lands to protect and inform visitors of this fragile ecosystem.

The private landowner whose property includes Populations 5 and 6 has instituted a conservation covenant under Sec. 219 of the B.C. Land Titles Act for all of Population 5 and part of the original location of Population 6. The covenant is monitored by the Nature Conservancy of Canada and restricts most access to the site. The Nature Conservancy of Canada is currently planning for the restoration of Population 5.

Top of page

6.2 Strategic Direction for Recovery

Table 4 outlines the detailed approaches recommended for recovery of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose. Each approach relates to one or more of the population and distribution objectives.

Table 4. Recovery Planning Table.
Threat or LimitationPriorityBroad Strategy to RecoveryGeneral Description of Research and Management Approaches
  • Habitat loss and degradation
UrgentHabitat and species conservation
  • Identify and establish effective measures for the conservation of existing known populations.
  • Ensure that conservation measures ensure the viability of each location and fully mitigate all significant threats
  • Habitat loss and degradation
  • Exotic and invasive species
UrgentStewardship / habitat management
  • Prepare Best Management Practices to mitigate threats for species in coastal sand ecosystem areas, including Contorted-pod Evening-primrose (to support landowners and managers in stewardship activities).
  • Contact landowners to inform them of the species, its needs and what they can do to help in recovery.
  • Engage all landowners and managers in habitat stewardship to ensure cooperation.
  • Species demographics
UrgentResearch
  • Determine minimum viable population size for the species in Canada, and set population targets for each location.
  • Enhance knowledge of meta-population dynamics (e.g., frequency of dispersal between locations).
  • Determine appropriate recovery and adaptive management techniques for existing populations of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose and its habitat.
  • Develop techniques and priorities to augment and establish populations.
  • Determine whether population bottlenecks are resulting in issues with pollination / reproduction, dispersal, seed production, recruitment, and recruit survival.
  • Habitat loss and degradation
  • Exotic and invasive species
NecessaryMapping, surveys and monitoring
  • Identify and prioritize areas and activities for surveys and conduct population and habitat inventories throughout the species' extent of occurrence.
  • Monitor habitat and abundance of extant populations annually, for at least five years, to determine responses to changing habitat conditions.
  • Assess sandy backshore areas throughout the extent of occurrence to prioritize for establishment of new populations and to update knowledge on the historical extent of occurrence and historical number of populations.
  • Habitat loss and degradation
  • Species demographics
  • Exotic and invasive species
NecessaryPopulation restoration
  • Develop and implement a population-level recovery plan for locations with existing populations that need to be augmented.
  • Increase the area of occupancy and abundance of existing populations that are predicted to be below minimum viable population size.
  • Conduct trials for Contorted-pod Evening-primrose population establishment.
  • Develop and implement a translocation plan and establish new populations as per the population and distribution objectives.
  • Habitat loss and degradation
  • Exotic and invasive species
BeneficialPublic education and outreach
  • Increase general public awareness of the existence and conservation value of Contorted-pod Evening-primrose and associated species at risk.
  • Develop priorities for and deliver public education and outreach concerning Contorted-pod Evening-primrose, its habitat, its management and associated species at risk and/or ecosystems.
  • Evaluate success in education/outreach every five years (preferably using a multi-species approach for coastal sand ecosystems and species).
  • Exotic and invasive species
BeneficialResearch
  • Quantify the effect of introduced herbivorous animals.

Top of page


2 Currently, there are nine known populations. The number of populations should therefore be recovered to at least this number. The actual number of populations that occurred historically cannot be determined with certainty at this time. The target of nine populations will be reconsidered at the action plan stage once further surveys and analyses of potential habitat have been completed (see research approaches listed in Table 4).

3 Known extent of occurrence = the extent of occurrence of the combined 8 known extant and 1 extirpated populations. Historical extent of occurrence is currently unknown.

4 Current population levels are defined as those listed in Table 1 of this recovery strategy.

5 Minimum viable population size cannot currently be identified with certainty, but see Section 1.4.1 for current knowledge and Table 4 for further recommendations towards development of a specific target population size that will ensure viability for each location.

6 The objective to establish only one new site may change at the action plan stage if further analyses suggest there were more than nine historical populations in Canada.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Menaces

Programme de rétablissement de l'onagre à fruits tordus (Camissonia contorta) au Canada

4. Menaces

4.1 Évaluation des menaces

Tableau 3. Tableau d’évaluation des menaces
MenaceNiveau de préoccupationÉtendueOccurrenceFréquenceGravitéCertitude causale
Destruction et dégradation de l’habitat
Aménagement du territoireÉlevéGénéraliséeActuelle / anticipéeRécurrenteÉlevéeÉlevée
Activités récréatives – véhiculesÉlevéGénéraliséeActuelle / anticipéeRécurrenteÉlevéeÉlevée
Activités récréatives –circulation pédestreMoyenGénéraliséeActuelle / anticipéeContinueMoyenneÉlevée
Entretien des routesFaibleLocaliséeAnticipéeInconnueMoyenneFaible
Espèces exotiques et envahissantes
Compétition exercée par les plantes non indigènesÉlevéGénéraliséeActuelle / anticipéeContinueÉlevéeÉlevée
Animaux non indigènes – HerbivorieFaibleGénéraliséeAnticipéeInconnueInconnueFaible
Climat
Changements climatiquesFaibleGénéraliséeInconnueContinueInconnueFaible

4.2 Description des menaces

Le contenu de la présente section est adapté de la description de l'espèce présentée dans le Rapport de situation sur l'onagre à fruits tordus (COSEPAC, 2006).

Destruction et dégradation de l’habitat
Bien que plusieurs sites soient actuellement protégés parce qu'ils se trouvent dans des parcs, l'aménagement du territoire représente une menace avérée grave et continue dans plusieurs sites répartis à l'échelle de l'aire de l'espèce. La totalité de la population 6 a été détruite durant l'aménagement d'un terrain de golf sur une propriété privée, mais quelques individus ont depuis recolonisé le secteur (tableau 1). La population 3 est établie dans une emprise appartenant au ministère des Transports et des Infrastructures de la Colombie-Britannique. À l'heure actuelle, ce site n'est menacé par aucun plan d'aménagement (C. Wheeler, comm. pers.).

L’utilisation de l’habitat de l’onagre à fruits tordus à des fins récréatives (randonnée pédestre et utilisation de véhicules tout terrain) représente une menace avérée grave, étendue et continue pour les arrière-plages sableuses à presque tous les sites compris dans l’aire de répartition de l’espèce au Canada. L’affluence occasionnée par l’utilisation de certaines arrière-plages sableuses occupées par l’espèce à des fins récréatives (randonnée pédestre, promenade de chiens, bains de soleil, pique-niques) entraîne des dommages graves liés au piétinement. Ce type de dommages touche tout particulièrement les populations 1, 2, 4, 7 et 8. Une grave altération de l’habitat due à la circulation intense de véhicules tout-terrain a été observée au site occupé par la population 8. Des dommages similaires mais de moindre ampleur ont également été signalés aux sites occupés par les populations 5 et 6. La population 2, du fait de sa proximité avec la population 8, pourrait également subir des dommages occasionnés par les véhicules tout-terrain, même si l’installation récente de clôtures a contribué à atténuer au moins partiellement cette menace.

Plantes exotiques envahissantes
Les plantes exotiques envahissantes constituent une menace avérée, grave et continue. Un certain nombre d’espèces exotiques ont envahi l’habitat de l’onagre à fruits tordus, en particulier aux sites occupés par les populations 5 et 7.

Le genêt à balais (Cytisus scoparius) pousse dans le voisinage immédiat ou à l’intérieur même de l’habitat occupé par les huit populations existantes. Cette plante exotique envahissante livre à l’onagre à fruits tordus une compétition agressive pour l’espace. Elle fait également de l’ombrage durant une partie de la journée et pourrait avec le temps causer la stabilisation des zones sableuses semi-actives en formant des fourrés denses. Elle pourrait ainsi favoriser la succession et entraîner l’élimination des zones d’habitat ouvert.

D’autres espèces exotiques et envahissantes constituent une menace grave pour au moins une des huit populations existantes de l’onagre à fruits tordus. C’est notamment le cas de l’ail des vignes (Allium vineale), une Alliacée agressive qui se propage rapidement une fois établie (en particulier au site occupé par la population 5), et de l’ammophile des sables (Ammophila arenaria), qui entraîne la stabilisation des dunes et, ce faisant, altère la dynamique des sols, en particulier au site occupé par la population 7. Une portion de cette population semble avoir disparu, vraisemblablement par suite de l’invasion de son habitat par le genêt à balais et l’ammophile des sables (M. Fairbarns, obs. pers.). Cette population est déjà très petite, et toute perte additionnelle d’individus pourrait compromettre gravement sa survie. D’autres espèces exotiques se rencontrent fréquemment à proximité de l’habitat occupé par l’onagre à fruits tordus et constituent de ce fait une menace pour l’espèce. Ces espèces incluent, chez les graminées, la canche précoce (Aira praecox), la canche caryophyllée (A. caryophyllea), le brome des toits (Bromus tectorum), le brome mou (B. hordeaceus), le brome raide (B. rigidus), la vulpie queue-de-rat (Vulpia myuros) et la vulpie faux-brome (Vulpia bromoides) et, chez les herbacées non graminoïdes, la petite oseille (Rumex acetosella), le céraiste visqueux (Cerastium glomeratum), le liondent des rochers (Leontodon taraxacoides), la porcelle enracinée (Hypochaeris radicata) et l’érodium cicutaire (Erodium cicutarium).

Animaux exotiques envahissants
Les dommages causés par les animaux herbivores non indigènes représentent une menace potentielle, faible et continue. De dommages légers à modérés ont été observés parmi les populations 1, 2, 5 et 7 (M. Fairbarns, obs. pers.). Ces dommages semblent avoir été infligés par le lapin à queue blanche (Sylvilagus floridanus), car des déjections de cette espèce ont été trouvées en abondance dans la plupart de ces sites ainsi qu’au site occupé par la population 8. Toutefois, l’impact passablement évident du broutage de la végétation concurrente par le lapin compense probablement les légers dommages infligés à l’onagre à fruits tordus.

Changements climatiques
Les changements climatiques sont considérés comme une nouvelle menace dont il est pour l'instant difficile de prévoir les effets sur l'onagre à fruits tordus. L'élévation du niveau de la mer et l'altération des régimes pluviométriques sont considérées comme des menaces potentielles pour l'espèce.

Haut de la page

5. Objectifs en matière de population et de répartition

Le but global du présent programme de rétablissement (pour la période 2011–2020) est d'assurer le maintien de neuf[2] populations viables au Canada. Le présent programme de rétablissement propose à cette fin quatre objectifs en matière de population et de répartition. Ces objectifs ne sont pas présentés ci-dessous par ordre de priorité (voir le tableau 4 pour connaître l'ordre de priorité des activités recommandées).

  1. Préserver la zone d’occurrence connue[3] de l’espèce au Canada (d’ici 2015).

  2. Faire en sorte que les populations maintiennent leur taille actuelle[4] ou augmentent à tous les sites actuellement occupés par l’espèce (d’ici 2015).

  3. Faire en sorte que les huit populations existantes atteignent et conservent au moins la taille minimale d’une population viable[5] (d’ici 2020).

  4. Établir une population additionnelle[6] (pour remplacer la population reconnue comme disparue) à un site comportant des parcelles d'habitat propice compris dans l'aire de répartition connue de l'espèce au Canada et veiller à ce que cette population conserve au moins la taille minimale d'une population viable (d'ici 2020).

Haut de la page

6.  Stratégies et approches générales pour l’atteinte des objectifs

6.1 Mesures déjà achevées ou en cours

Un rapport énonçant les mesures de gestion proposées pour les parcs du district régional de la capitale (DRC) (populations 1 et 2) a été élaboré (Fairbarns, 2004). Ce rapport énonce 18 recommandations, incluant les quatre recommandations prioritaires suivantes :

  • Resserrer les mesures de conservation ciblant les populations existantes dans les parcs du DRC.
  • Promouvoir les valeurs de conservation auprès de la population en accordant une attention spéciale aux espèces de plantes en péril.
  • Surveiller les populations de plantes rares associées aux milieux sableux et leur habitat ainsi que les utilisations du parc par les visiteurs.
  • Restaurer les parcelles d’habitat dégradé et favoriser l’établissement de nouvelles sous-populations ou l’expansion des populations existantes.

Les autorités des parcs du DRC ont commencé à appliquer les recommandations de gestion en 2007 en érigeant une clôture et des panneaux de signalisation afin de restreindre la circulation pédestre au site occupé par la population 2. Malheureusement, certaines personnes n’hésitent pas à franchir cette clôture, et des dommages graves dus au piétinement sont encore fréquemment signalés (Fairbarns, obs. pers, 2008). Aucune des mesures de rétablissement recommandées pour la population 1 n’a encore été mise en place.

Les parcs du DRC, la municipalité de Central Saanich et la Première nation Tsawout s’affairent à élaborer un plan de gestion pour un secteur qui inclut tout l’habitat sableux propice compris entre la population 2 et la population 8. Le projet prévoit la cartographie de l’habitat et des zones occupées par des espèces rares et l’élaboration d’un plan concerté de gestion de l’accès ciblant les amateurs de randonnée pédestre et les utilisateurs de véhicules hors route. Au site occupé par la population 8, des barrières en béton, des clôtures et des panneaux de signalisation ont été installés au sud du parc municipal Cordova Spit, sur les terres de la Première nation Tsawout, pour protéger cet écosystème fragile et informer les visiteurs.

Les propriétaires privés dont les terres abritent les populations 5 et 6 ont conclu un accord de conservation en vertu de l’article 219 de la Land Titles Act de la Colombie-Britannique. Cet accord vise la totalité du site occupé par la population 5 et une partie de l’emplacement original de la population 6. Conservation de la nature Canada veille au respect des dispositions de l’accord et restreint en grande partie l’accès au site. Cet organisme planifie également la restauration de la population 5.

Haut de la page

6.2 Orientation stratégique pour le rétablissement

Le tableau 4 énumère les approches détaillées recommandées pour le rétablissement de l’onagre à fruits tordus. Chaque approche vise l’atteinte d’un ou de plusieurs objectifs en matière de population et de répartition.

Tableau 4. Tableau de planification du rétablissement
Menace ou facteur limitatifPrioritéStratégie générale pour le rétablissementDescription générale des approches de recherche et de gestion
  • Destruction et dégradation de l’habitat
UrgenteConservation de l’espèce et de son habitat
  • Élaborer et appliquer des mesures efficaces pour assurer la conservation des populations existantes connues.
  • Veiller à ce que les mesures de conservation mises en place assurent la viabilité de toutes les populations et de leur habitat et réduisent substantiellement les menaces importantes.
  • Destruction et dégradation de l’habitat
  • Espèces exotiques et envahissantes
UrgenteIntendance et gestion de l’habitat
  • Élaborer des meilleures pratiques de gestion afin d'atténuer les menaces qui pèsent sur les espèces associées aux écosystèmes sableux côtiers, dont l'onagre à fruits tordus (afin d'aider les propriétaires fonciers et les gestionnaires à mener à bien leurs activités d'intendance).
  • Contacter les propriétaires fonciers afin de leur communiquer des informations sur l'espèce et ses besoins et sur les façons de contribuer à son rétablissement.
  • Obtenir la participation de tous les propriétaires fonciers et gestionnaires aux activités d'intendance de l'habitat.
  • Démographie de l’espèce
UrgenteRecherche
  • Déterminer la taille minimale d'une population viable de l'espèce au Canada et établir des cibles en matière de population pour chaque site.
  • Préciser la dynamique de la métapopulation (p. ex. fréquence de la dispersion entre chaque site).
  • Déterminer les méthodes de rétablissement et de gestion adaptative appropriées pour chacune des populations existantes et leur habitat.
  • Mettre au point des techniques et établir un ordre de priorité pour l'augmentation des populations existantes et l'établissement de nouvelles populations.
  • Déterminer si les goulots d'étranglement génétique ont une incidence sur la pollinisation et la reproduction, la dispersion, la production de graines, le recrutement et la survie du recrutement.
  • Destruction et dégradation de l’habitat
  • Espèces exotiques et envahissantes
NécessaireCartographie, inventaires et surveillance
  • Sélectionner et prioriser les secteurs et les activités en vue des relevés et réaliser des inventaires des populations et des habitats à l'échelle de le zone d'occurrence de l'espèce.
  • Surveiller annuellement l'habitat et l'abondance des populations existantes durant au moins cinq ans afin d'évaluer la réaction de l'espèce au changement des conditions de l'habitat.
  • Évaluer la qualité des zones d'arrière-plages sableuses à l'échelle de le zone d'occurrence de l'espèce afin de déterminer les meilleurs endroits pour établir de nouvelles populations et accroître les connaissances sur la zone d'occurrence historique et le nombre historique de populations.
  • Destruction et dégradation de l’habitat
  • Démographie de l’espèce
  • Espèces exotiques et envahissantes
NécessaireRestauration des populations
  • Élaborer et mettre en place un plan de rétablissement à l’échelle de la population pour les sites abritant des populations nécessitant des mesures d’augmentation.
  • Accroître la zone d’occupation et l’abondance des populations existantes dont la taille est présumée inférieure à la taille minimale d’une population viable.
  • Réaliser des essais en vue de l’établissement de populations de l’espèce.
  • Élaborer et mettre en place un plan de translocation et établir de nouvelles populations conformément aux objectifs en matière de population et de répartition.
  • Destruction et dégradation de l’habitat
  • Espèces exotiques et envahissantes
UtileÉducation du public et vulgarisation
  • Sensibiliser le public à l’existence de l’onagre à fruits tordus et à l’importance d’assurer sa conservation ainsi que celle des autres espèces en péril partageant son habitat.
  • Prioriser et mettre en place des activités d’éducation du public et de vulgarisation concernant l’onagre à fruits tordus, son habitat et sa gestion et les espèces en péril partageant le même habitat et/ou écosystème.
  • Évaluer le succès des activités d’éducation du public et de vulgarisation tous les cinq ans (en adoptant préférablement une approche plurispécifique pour les écosystèmes sableux côtiers et les espèces qui leur sont associées).
  • Espèces exotiques et envahissantes
UtileRecherche
  • Quantifier l’impact des animaux herbivores introduits.

Haut de la page


2 Neuf populations sont actuellement connues. Il faut donc rétablir au moins neuf populations. Le nombre exact de populations historiques ne peut être déterminé avec certitude à ce stade-ci. L’objectif de neuf populations sera réévalué dans un plan d’action une fois que les relevés et analyses de l’habitat potentiel auront été effectués (voir la liste des approches en matière de recherche au tableau 4).

3 Zone d'occurrence connue = zone d'occurrence cumulée des huit populations existantes et de la population disparue. La zone d'occurrence historique est inconnue.

4 La taille actuelle des populations existantes est indiquée au tableau 1 du présent document.

5 La taille minimale d'une population viable ne peut être déterminée avec certitude à ce stade-ci, mais voir la section 1.4.1 pour l'état actuel des connaissances sur la question et le tableau 4 pour les recommandations relatives à l'établissement d'une taille minimale d'une population viable visant à assurer la viabilité des populations aux sites existants.

6 L’objectif d’établir seulement un nouveau site pourrait changer à l’étape du plan d’action si de futures analyses confirment l’existence de plus de neuf populations historiques au Canada.