Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Update Status Report on the Roseate Tern in Canada 1999

Introduction

Summary of information from original status report (Kirkham and Nettleship 1985)

The Roseate Tern (Sterna dougallii) occurs on six continents where it breeds colonially on small marine islands that are generally free from terrestrial predators (Gochfeld 1983).  In North America, Roseate Terns breed on the Atlantic coast in two distinct locations.  The northeastern population breeds from the Magdalen Islands in the Gulf of St. Lawrence south to New York.  These birds always nest in association with other tern species, especially Common Terns (S. hirundo, Nisbet 1981).  The second population breeds from Florida and the Bahamas to the Lesser Antilles (Cramp 1985). Both populations winter in South America, from Colombia to eastern Brazil (Nisbet 1984, Hays et al., 1997). 

Roseate Terns were listed as threatened by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) in 1986. This designation was a result of the decline in the northeastern population, from approximately 8,500 pairs in the 1930s to 2,600 pairs in 1976 (Kress et al., 1983).  This decline was accompanied by a contraction of the species’ range, a decrease in the number of breeding sites, and a concentration of more than 90% of the population into a small area between Long Island, NY and Cape Cod, MA (Nisbet 1981).

The Canadian population of Roseate Terns was formerly estimated at 101-125 pairs between 1982-1985 breeding almost exclusively in Nova Scotia (Kirkham and Nettleship 1985).  This constituted 3% of the northeastern population (~ 3100 pairs; Kress et al., 1983).  While the number of Roseate Terns in Canada had probably always been small, it appeared as though the population had declined since the 1930s, based on historical observations of numbers breeding on Sable Island, Nova Scotia (Kirkham and Nettleship 1985).  The most rapid period of decline on Sable Island occurred between 1971 (130 pairs) and 1976 (18 birds).  This corresponded to a major period of decline in the U.S. from 4800 pairs in 1972 to 2600 pairs in 1976 (Kress et al., 1983). The largest Roseate Tern colony in Canada at the time of the original status report was located on The Brothers Islands, NS, with 55-60 pairs breeding in association with several hundred Arctic and Common Terns (Kirkham and Nettleship 1985).

The two most important factors limiting the distribution and abundance of Roseate Terns in northeastern North America were thought to be trapping of adults on the wintering grounds for sale at local markets (Hamilton 1981), and predation and displacement by gulls on the breeding grounds (Nisbet 1981).  Increases in the numbers of Herring (Larus argentatus) and Great Black-backed (L. marinus) Gulls in North America (Kadlec and Drury 1968) were closely associated with declines in tern numbers (Kress et al., 1983).  Gulls are known to prey on tern eggs, chicks, and occasionally adults (e.g. Hatch 1970), and to displace terns from traditional breeding sites (Nisbet 1981).  Little, however, was known about the effects of gulls on the breeding biology or success of Roseate Terns in Canada.

 

Purpose of revised status report

After the species was designated threatened in Canada in 1986, the Roseate Tern Recovery Team and RENEW (Recovery of Nationally Endangered Wildlife) developed a Roseate Tern Recovery Plan (Lock et al. 1993).  The two objectives of this plan were: 1) to increase the Canadian population of Roseate Terns to 200 pairs by the year 2010; and 2) to maintain colony productivity at greater than one fledgling per pair per year. These goals would be met by providing a sufficient number of predator-free sites for Roseate, Arctic, and Common Terns, protection for Roseate Terns on their wintering grounds, and long-term reductions in gull populations.

Since the original COSEWIC designation, a number of studies (e.g. D’Eon 1991-1997, Boates et al., 1993, Boates and Sam 1996 and Whittam 1997) have provided new information on Roseate Terns in Canada.  In the U.S., the “Cooperative Long-Term Roseate Tern Metapopulation Project”, with co-investigators from Massachusetts, Connecticut and New York (see appendix), was begun in 1987.  Co-investigators have coordinated comprehensive studies of chick growth, productivity, dispersal, recruitment, survival, feeding, and behaviour of this species in the northeastern U.S. over the last 10 years (reviewed in Nisbet and Spendelow 1998).  In addition, the American portion of the northeastern population was designated endangered in 1987 (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1987).

In this report I review recent information on the population size, distribution, and habitat of Roseate Terns in northeastern North America.  I also review any progress that has been made toward fulfilling the goals of the Canadian Roseate Tern Recovery Plan, and re-evaluate the threatened status of this species in Canada.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Mise à jour Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Sterne de Dougall au Canada 1999

Introduction

Résumé du premier rapport sur la situation de la Sterne de Dougall (Kirkham et Nettleship, 1985)

La Sterne de Dougall (Sterna dougallii) se reproduit sur six continents et niche en colonies sur de petites îles marines généralement dépourvues de prédateurs terrestres (Gochfeld, 1983). En Amérique du Nord, la Sterne de Dougall niche sur la côte atlantique dans deux régions. La population du Nord‑Est du continent niche depuis les îles de la Madeleine, dans le golfe du Saint‑Laurent, jusqu’à New York. Les membres de cette population nichent toujours en association avec d’autres espèces de sternes, particulièrement la Sterne pierregarin (S. hirundo; Nisbet, 1981). L’autre population niche depuis la Floride et les Bahamas jusqu’aux Petites Antilles (Cramp, 1985). Les deux populations hivernent en Amérique du Sud, depuis la Colombie jusque dans l’Est du Brésil (Nisbet, 1984; Hays et al., 1997).

En 1986, la Sterne de Dougall a été désignée « menacée » par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC, qui portait à l’époque le nom de Comité sur le statut des espèces menacées de disparition au Canada). Cette désignation reposait sur le fait que la population du Nord‑Est a chuté, passant de 8 500 couples dans les années 1930 à 2 600 couples en 1976 (Kress et al., 1983). Ce déclin a aussi été accompagné d’une réduction de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce et du nombre de sites de nidification, ainsi que de la concentration de plus de 90 p. 100 de la population dans une petite région s’étendant de Long Island (New York) à Cape Cod (Massachusetts) (Nisbet, 1981).

La population canadienne de Sterne de Dougall a été estimée à 101‑125 couples dans la période de 1982 à 1985, et niche presque entièrement en Nouvelle‑Écosse (Kirkham et Nettleship, 1985). Elle constituait alors 3 p. 100 de la population du Nord‑Est du continent (~ 3 100 couples; Kress et al., 1983). Les effectifs de la Sterne de Dougall ont probablement toujours été faibles au Canada, mais il semble qu’ils aient chuté depuis les années 1930, selon les données historiques sur le nombre d’oiseaux nicheurs à l’île de Sable, en Nouvelle-Écosse (Kirkham et Nettleship, 1985). Le déclin le plus rapide à cet endroit a été observé entre 1971 (130 couples) et 1976 (18 oiseaux). Parallèlement, on observait aussi aux États-Unis un important déclin de l’espèce, de 4 800 couples en 1972 à 2 600 couples en 1976 (Kress et al., 1983). La plus grosse colonie canadienne de Sterne de Dougall à l’époque du premier rapport sur la situation de l’espèce se trouvait aux îles Brothers (Nouvelle‑Écosse), qui comptait alors de 55 à 60 couples nichant en association avec plusieurs centaines de Sternes arctiques et de Sternes pierregarins (Kirkham et Nettleship, 1985).

Dans le premier rapport, on estimait que les deux principaux facteurs limitant la répartition et l’abondance de la Sterne de Dougall dans le Nord‑Est de l’Amérique du Nord étaient le piégeage des adultes dans les aires d’hivernage pour la vente dans des marchés locaux (Hamilton, 1981), et la prédation et le déplacement par les goélands dans les aires de nidification (Nisbet, 1981). L’accroissement des effectifs du Goéland argenté (Larus argentatus) et du Goéland marin (L. marinus) en Amérique du Nord (Kadlec et Drury, 1968) était étroitement lié au déclin des effectifs de sternes (Kress et al., 1983). Il est bien établi que les goélands se nourrissent d’œufs de sternes, ainsi que d’oisillons et parfois d’adultes (p. ex. Hatch, 1970), et qu’ils chassent les sternes de leurs sites de nidification habituels (Nisbet, 1981). Cependant, à l’époque du premier rapport, on connaissait peu les effets des goélands sur la biologie ou le succès de la reproduction de la Sterne de Dougall au Canada.

 

Raison d’être de la présente mise à jour

Après l’attribution à la Sterne de Dougall du statut d’espèce menacée au Canada en 1986, l’Équipe de rétablissement de la Sterne de Dougall et des participants au programme RESCAPÉ (Rétablissement des espèces canadiennes en péril) ont élaboré le Plan de rétablissement de la Sterne de Dougall (Lock et al., 1993), dont les deux objectifs étaient les suivants  : 1) accroître la population canadienne de Sterne de Dougall à 200 couples d’ici 2010; 2) maintenir la productivité des colonies à plus d’un jeune atteignant l’âge de l’envol par couple par année. Pour atteindre ces objectifs, on prévoyait assurer un nombre suffisant de sites de nidification dépourvus de prédateurs pour la Sterne de Dougall, la Sterne arctique et la Sterne pierregarin, protéger la Sterne de Dougall dans ses aires d’hivernage, et réduire à long terme les populations de goélands.

Depuis la première désignation attribuée par le COSEPAC, diverses études (p. ex. D’Eon, 1991-1997; Boates et al., 1993; Boates et Sam, 1996; Whittam, 1997) ont apporté de nouveaux renseignements sur la population canadienne de Sterne de Dougall. Aux États-Unis, on a entrepris en 1987 le « Cooperative Long-Term Roseate Tern Metapopulation Project », auquel participent des chercheurs du Massachusetts, du Connecticut et de l’État de New York (voir l’annexe). Ces chercheurs ont coordonné des études détaillées sur la croissance des oisillons, la productivité, la dispersion, le recrutement, la survie, l’alimentation et le comportement de l’espèce dans le Nord-Est des États-Unis au cours des dix dernières années (résultats présentés dans Nisbet et Spendelow, 1998). De plus, le segment américain de la population du Nord-Est du continent a été déclaré en voie de disparition en 1987 (U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1987).

Dans le présent rapport, j’examine l’information récente sur la taille de la population, la répartition et l’habitat de la Sterne de Dougall dans le Nord-Est de l’Amérique du Nord. Je fais également état des résultats du Plan canadien de rétablissement de la Sterne de Dougall à ce jour, et réévalue le statut d’espèce menacée attribué à cet oiseau au Canada.