Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Update Status Report on the Roseate Tern in Canada 1999

Population Size and Trend

 

Canada represents the northern limit of the Roseate Tern’s range in northeastern North America.  Determining trends in size and distribution of this population therefore requires a review of data from both the U.S. and Canada.

 

United States

The numbers of “peak period” and “total season” breeding pairs in the U.S. have been increasing slowly since 1988, except between 1991 and 1992 when they dropped by 17% (Table 1).  In 1997, 3382 pairs bred in the U. S. during the peak period.  “Total season” pairs, estimated at 3980 in 1997, are generally 10-20% higher than peak period pairs (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1998), and probably include failed and late breeders.

Roseate Terns have bred in 44 colonies from Maine to New York since 1988 (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1998).  In any given year, however, only 16-20 of these colonies are used by Roseate Terns. Some colonies are occupied annually, while others are used occasionally by small numbers of Roseate Terns.  Since 1988, some historic colonies in the U.S. have been recolonized (e.g. Eastern Egg Rock, ME; Kress 1983; Ram Island, MA; Nisbet and Spendelow 1998) while others have declined (e.g. Nauset-New Island, MA) or been completely abandoned (e.g. East Inlet Island, NY and Cedar Beach, NY). Currently the five largest colonies in the United States are Great Gull Island, NY (1455 pairs in 1997), Bird Island, MA (1179 pairs in 1997), Ram Island, MA (253 pairs in 1997), Eastern Egg Rock, ME (138 pairs in 1997) and Falkner Island, CT (136 pairs in 1997).  The population has declined at Bird and Falkner Islands, but has remained stable at Great Gull Island, and increased at Eastern Egg Rock and Ram Island over the last ten years (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1998).

Ninety-three per cent of the U.S. population currently nests in the five largest colonies, and 78% nests in the two largest colonies (Table 1).  This concentration makes the species extremely vulnerable to disturbance and was the primary reason for the designation of this population as endangered (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1987, 1998).

Table 1.  1988-1997 estimates of “peak period” nesting pairs of Roseate Terns in the northeastern U.S.by state (reprinted from U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1998).
See text for the names and locations of the five largest colonies. The “total season” numbers are generally 10-20% higher than “peak period” numbers, and can be found in U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (1998)
State1988198919901991199219931994199519961997
Maine6877102123119141142152161237
Massachusetts1656157615851778141313551341148017431454
Connecticut149106150149107130124125135136
New York1122107411591380110411491265134511311555
Total Pairs2995283329963430274327752872310231703382
Total colonies in use19201618161917181720
Concentration in largest colonies
      % in 2 colonies86868685858583746578
      % in 5 colonies96949695949492909693

Canada

Estimates of breeding pairs in 1996 and 1997 place the Canadian Roseate Tern population between 88 and 137 pairs breeding in six locations (Table 2).  These estimates are based on a combination of “total season” numbers for The Brothers Islands and Country Island, and primarily “single-visit” numbers for all other sites.  This estimate is similar to Kirkham and Nettleship’s (1985) estimate of 101-125 pairs breeding in nine locations.  Roseate Terns have therefore remained stable in Canada since 1985 (Table 2).  Three per cent of the northeastern population currently nests in Canada. 

The distribution of Roseate Terns in Canada has changed since the early 1980s (Table 2, Fig. 1).  Roseates currently nest in only three of nine sites noted in the original status report.  These are Sable Island, NS, The Brothers Islands, NS, and the Magdalen Islands, QC (Table 2).  Several new sites have also been colonized (Table 2).  Changes in distribution by province are described below.

Table 2.  Estimated number of Roseate Tern pairs breeding inCanadain 1982-85 (from Kirkham and Nettleship 1985) and 1997 (see Table 3 for sources)
The presence or absence of nesting gulls at each site is also indicated
Site1982-85 estimate1997 estimateGulls nests
Several colonies on the Magdalen Islands, QC1 - 51 - 5yes
Machias Seal Island, NB01 - 2no; gulls are discouraged
Peter’s Island, NS10yes
The Brother’s. NS55 - 6054no; nests are destroyed
Mud Island, NS20yes
Tusket Island, NS15 - 200?
Westhaver Island, NS80?
Grassy Island, NS012 - 30no
Wedge Island, NS60yes
Sambros Island, NS30?
Country Island complex*, NS018 - 45yes
Sable Island, NS10 - 201yes
TOTAL101 - 12587 - 137 
*includes birds breeding on Country Island, Charlos Cover, Fisherman’s Harbour and Inner West Bird Island in 1997 (see text)

Nova Scotia 

At least 95% (86-130 pairs) of the Canadian Roseate Tern population nests in Nova Scotia. Roseate Terns breed at four sites in this province, two of which (Sable Island and The Brothers) were noted by Kirkham and Nettleship in 1985 (Table 2). Roseates have nearly disappeared at Sable Island, whereas the number currently breeding on The Brothers is almost the same as the 1982 estimate (Table 3).  This makes The Brothers the only large colony (i.e. greater than 20 pairs) in Canada known to have maintained a stable population of Roseate Terns for the last 15 years (Table 3).

Two new relatively large Roseate Tern colonies, Country Island and Grassy Island, were discovered in 1987 and 1993, respectively (Field notes from Erskine 1992, Boates et al., 1993).  Each colony has been known to support one-third of the Canadian Roseate Tern population (Table 3).  Grassy Island may prove to be a stable breeding site, but more information on both population size and productivity of terns at this site needs to be collected.  Numbers on Country Island have fluctuated considerably since the colony was discovered, as illustrated by the drop from 25 pairs in 1987 to one pair in 1997 (Table 3).  Some of the birds that abandoned Country Island in 1997 are believed to have moved to three sites that were previously not confirmed as Roseate breeding sites.  These were Charlos Cove, Fisherman’s Harbour, and Inner West Bird Island (Whittam 1997).  I have not included these sites as current Roseate Tern colonies (i.e., in Table 2) because it remains to be seen whether Roseate Terns will continue to use them, or whether the birds will instead return to Country Island.  These three sites, along with Country Island, are referred to as the “Country Island complex” (Table 2) because of the likelihood that birds at these sites came from the same large colony on Country Island (Whittam 1997).  Interestingly, in 1987 several pairs of Roseate Terns were suspected nesting at one of the Bird Islands, and at two sites in Tor Bay (Cooks Island and Hog Island; Table 3, Fig. 1), suggesting that the “Country Island complex” has been in existence for some time.

 

Figure 1.  The locations of recent Roseate Tern colonies inCanada, including sites occupied in 1997 (filled circles) and sites occupied at least once in the 1980s or 1990s (open circles). Details, including colony names, are given in Table 3.  See Kirkham and Nettleship (1985, Fig 2) for colonies occupied prior to 1980.

Figure 1.  The locations of recent Roseate Tern colonies inCanada, including sites occupied in 1997 (filled circles) and sites occupied at least once in the 1980s or 1990s (open circles). Details, including colony names, are given in Table 3.  See Kirkham and Nettleship (1985, Fig 2) for colonies occupied prior to 1980.

Peter’s, Mud, Wedge, and Sambro Islands were noted as Roseate Tern breeding sites by Kirkham and Nettleship (1985), but have since been abandoned by all species of terns (Lock et al. 1993, Boates and Sam 1996, D. Currie - Nova Scotia Bird Society - pers. comm.).  Westhaver Island, also in Nova Scotia, was reported to have 8 pairs of Roseates in 1985 (Kirkham and Nettleship 1985), but none have bred since. Approximately 168 pairs of Arctic and Common Terns nested at this site in 1997 (Gregoire 1998), and Roseate Terns were observed foraging in the area, but nesting was not confirmed (D. Currie pers. comm.).  Grassy Island is only 16 km from Westhaver Island, so terns seen foraging near Westhaver may have been breeding at Grassy Island.

New Brunswick

Machias Seal Island is the only known breeding site for Roseate Terns in New Brunswick, and only 1-2 pairs breed in this colony annually.  Roseates were first discovered breeding in 1979 and again in 1982, but they did not breed in 1983-85 (Kirkham and Nettleship 1985).  A single pair was observed in 1988, and a nest was identified in 1994. In 1995-97 two nests were suspected based on courtship feeding and flying displays, but breeding was not confirmed (K. Amey pers. comm.).

Quebec

The Magdalen Islands is the only known breeding location for Roseate Terns in Quebec. Fewer than five pairs of Roseate Terns breed in this area annually (Shaffer and LaPorte 1996).  Roseates were first reported on the islets off Pointe-aux-Loups, then at the tip of Dune du Sud and on Baie du Havre aux Basques, although the latter two sites have not been occupied since the early 1970s and 1980s, respectively (Shaffer and Robert 1996).  Since 1987 Roseate Terns have been confirmed breeding in small numbers (1 to 3 pairs) at three colonies, one on île aux Cochons, one on the islets off Pointe-aux-Loups (Deuxieme îlot), and one on an artificial islet (îlot C) off Grande-Entrée.  Not every colony is occupied annually (Shaffer and Robert 1996, Shaffer and LaPorte 1996).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Mise à jour Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Sterne de Dougall au Canada 1999

Taille et tendances de la population

 

Au Canada, la Sterne de Dougall se trouve à la limite septentrionale de son aire de répartition dans le Nord-Est de l’Amérique du Nord. Pour déterminer les tendances de la taille et de la répartition de cette population, il faut donc examiner, en plus des données canadiennes, celles recueillies aux États-Unis.

États‑Unis

Le nombre de couples nicheurs dans la période de pointe et pour la saison entière a lentement augmenté aux États-Unis depuis 1988, sauf entre 1991 et 1992, où il a chuté de 17 p. 100 (tableau 1). En 1997, 3 382 couples ont niché aux États-Unis durant la période de pointe. Le nombre de couples pour la saison entière, estimé à 3 980 en 1997, est généralement supérieur de 10 à 20 p. 100 à celui des couples présents dans la période de pointe (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1998), et comprend probablement les cas d’échec de la nidification et de nidification tardive.

Depuis 1988, la Sterne de Dougall a niché dans 44 colonies réparties du Maine jusqu’à New York (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service,1998). Cependant, seulement de 16 à 20 de ces sites sont utilisés d’une année à l’autre par la Sterne de Dougall. Certains sites sont fréquentés chaque année, tandis que d’autres ne sont utilisés qu’occasionnellement par de petits nombres de Sternes de Dougall. Depuis 1988, certains anciens sites des États-Unis ont été recolonisés (p. ex. rocher Eastern Egg, ME; Kress, 1983; île Ram, MA; Nisbet et Spendelow, 1998), tandis que d’autres sont moins fréquentés (p. ex. Nauset‑île New, MA) ou ont été complètement abandonnés (p. ex. île East Inlet, NY; plage Cedar, NY). Actuellement, les cinq plus grosses colonies américaines sont celles de l’île Great Gull, NY (1 455 couples en 1997), de l’île Bird, MA (1 179 couples en 1997), de l’île Ram, MA (253 couples en 1997), du rocher Eastern Egg, ME (138 couples en 1997) et de l’île Falkner, CT (136 couples en 1997). Les effectifs ont diminué aux îles Bird et Falkner, sont demeurés stables à l’île Great Gull et ont augmenté au rocher Eastern Egg et à l’île Ram au cours des dix dernières années (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1998).

À l’heure actuelle, 93 p. 100 de la population américaine niche dans les cinq plus grandes colonies, et 78 p. 100 niche dans les deux plus grandes (tableau 1). Cette concentration rend l’espèce très vulnérable aux perturbations; il s’agit là de la principale raison pour laquelle la Sterne de Dougall a été déclarée en voie de disparition (endangered) aux États-Unis (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1987, 1998).

 

Tableau 1. Estimations du nombre de couples nicheurs de Sterne de Dougall dans la période de pointe dans le Nord-Est des États-Unis par État, de 1988 à 1997 (tiré de U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1998).
Voir le texte pour les noms et les emplacements des cinq plus grosses colonies. Les effectifs pour l’ensemble de la saison sont généralement de 10 à 20 p. 100 supérieurs à ceux de la période de pointe; ils sont indiqués dans U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (1998).
État1988198919901991199219931994199519961997
Maine6877102123119141142152161237
Massachusetts1656157615851778141313551341148017431454
Connecticut149106150149107130124125135136
New York1122107411591380110411491265134511311555
Nbre total de couples2995283329963430274327752872310231703382
Nbre total de sites utilisés19201618161917181720
Concentration dans les plus grosses colonies
% dans 2 colonies86868685858583746578
% dans 5 colonies96949695949492909693

 

Canada 

Selon les estimations du nombre de couples nicheurs effectuées au Canada en 1996 et en 1997, la population canadienne compterait entre 88 et 137 couples nichant à six endroits (tableau 2). Ces estimations sont fondées sur une combinaison des effectifs pour la saison entière aux îles Brothers et à l’île Country, d’une part, et des effectifs dénombrés principalement lors d’une visite unique pour tous les autres sites, d’autre part. Le résultat est semblable à celui obtenu par Kirkham et Nettleship (1985), soit de 101 à 125 couples nichant à neuf endroits. Ainsi, la population canadienne de Sterne de Dougall est demeurée stable depuis 1985 (tableau 2). Actuellement, 3 p. 100 de la population du Nord-Est du continent niche au Canada.

La répartition de la Sterne de Dougall au Canada a changé depuis le début des années 1980 (tableau 2, figure 1). L’espèce niche actuellement dans seulement trois des neufs sites indiqués dans le premier rapport sur sa situation, soit dans l’île de Sable (N.‑É.), les îles Brothers (N.‑É.), et les îles de la Madeleine (Qc) (tableau 2). Plusieurs nouveaux sites ont par ailleurs été colonisés (tableau 2). Les changements dans la répartition de l’espèce sont présentés ci‑dessous par province.

 

Tableau 2. Nombre estimé de couples nicheurs de Sterne de Dougall au Canada entre 1982 et 1985 (tiré de Kirkham et Nettleship, 1985) et en 1997 (voir le tableau 3 pour les sources).
La présence ou l’absence de goélands nicheurs à chaque site est également indiquée.
SiteEstimation pour 1982-1985Estimation pour 1997Nids de goélands
Plusieurs colonies aux îles de la Madeleine, Qc1 - 51 - 5oui
Île Machias Seal, N.‑B.01 - 2non; les goélands sont chassés
Île Peter’s, N.-É.10oui
Îles Brothers, N.-É.55 - 6054non; les nids sont détruits
Île Mud, N.-É.20oui
Île Tusket, N.-É.15 - 200?
Île Westhaver, N.-É.80?
Île Grassy, N.-É.012 - 30non
Île Wedge, N.-É.60oui
Île Sambros, N.-É.30?
Complexe de l’île Country*, N.‑É.018 - 45oui
Île de Sable, N.-É.10 - 201oui
TOTAL101 - 12587 - 137 
* Comprend les oiseaux nichant sur l’île Country, à l’anse Charlos, à la baie Fisherman’s et à l’île Inner West Bird en 1997 (voir le texte).

Nouvelle‑Écosse

Au moins 95 p. 100 (de 86 à 130 couples) de la population canadienne de Sterne de Dougall niche en Nouvelle‑Écosse. L’espèce s’y reproduit à quatre endroits, dont deux (île de Sable et îles Brothers) étaient mentionnés dans le rapport de Kirkham et Nettleship de 1985 (tableau 2). La Sterne de Dougall est aujourd’hui presque disparue de l’île de Sable, tandis qu’elle niche en nombre comparable à celui estimé en 1982 aux îles Brothers (tableau 3). Ainsi, la colonie des îles Brothers est la seule grosse colonie canadienne (plus de 20 couples) dont l’effectif est demeuré stable au cours des 15 dernières années (tableau 3).

Deux nouvelles colonies relativement importantes, soit celles des îles Country et Grassy, ont été découvertes en 1987 et en 1993, respectivement (notes de terrain d’Erskine, 1992; Boates et al., 1993). On a établi que ces deux colonies abritaient chacune un tiers de la population canadienne de Sterne de Dougall (tableau 3). L’île Grassy pourrait s’avérer un site de nidification stable, mais on a besoin de plus d’information sur la taille de la population et la productivité des sternes à cet endroit. L’effectif de l’île Country a considérablement fluctué depuis la découverte de la colonie : en 1987 il comptait 25 couples, mais un seul couple a été observé en 1997 (tableau 3). On pense que certains des oiseaux ayant abandonné l’île Country en 1997 sont allés dans trois autres sites où la nidification de l’espèce n’avait jusqu'alors pas été confirmée, soit l’anse Charlos, la baie Fisherman’s et l’île Inner West Bird (Whittam, 1997). Je n’ai pas considéré ces sites comme des colonies établies (dans le tableau 2) parce qu’on ne sait pas si les oiseaux continueront de les utiliser ou retourneront plutôt à l’île Country. Ces trois sites, avec celui de l’île Country, sont désignés sous le terme de « complexe de l’île Country » (tableau 2) étant donné la probabilité que les oiseaux qui y nichent proviennent de la même grosse colonie de l’île Country (Whittam, 1997). Il est intéressant de noter qu’en 1987, plusieurs couples semblent avoir niché sur l’une des îles Bird de même que dans deux sites de la baie Tor (îles Cooks et Hog; tableau 3 et figure 1), ce qui laisse penser que le « complexe de l’île Country » pourrait exister depuis un certain temps.

Figure 1. Emplacements des colonies récentes de Sterne de Dougall au Canada, incluant les sites occupés en 1997 (points noirs) et les sites occupés au moins une fois dans les années 1980 ou 1990 (cercles). Les détails, dont les noms des colonies, sont présentés au tableau 3. Voir Kirkham et Nettleship (1985, figure 2) pour les colonies occupées avant 1980.

Figure 1. Emplacements des colonies récentes de Sterne de Dougall au Canada, incluant les sites occupés en 1997 (points noirs) et les sites occupés au moins une fois dans les années 1980 ou 1990 (cercles). Les détails, dont les noms des colonies, sont présentés au tableau 3. Voir Kirkham et Nettleship (1985, figure 2) pour les colonies occupées avant 1980.


Kirkham et Nettleship (1985) avaient mentionné les îles Peter’s, Mud, Wedge et Sambro comme sites de nidification de la Sterne de Dougall, mais depuis, ces îles ont été abandonnées par toutes les espèces de sternes (Lock et al., 1993; Boates et Sam, 1996; D. Currie ‑ Nova Scotia Bird Society ‑ comm. pers.). On a signalé la présence de huit couples à l’île Westhaver, également en Nouvelle‑Écosse, en 1985 (Kirkham et Nettleship, 1985), mais aucune Sterne de Dougall n’y a niché depuis. Environ 168 couples de Sterne arctique et de Sterne pierregarin ont niché à cet endroit en 1997 (Gregoire, 1998), et des Sternes de Dougall ont été observées en train de s’alimenter dans le secteur, mais on n’a pas pu établir avec certitude si elles nichaient sur cette île (D. Currie, comm. pers.). L’île Grassy ne se trouve qu’à 16 km de l’île Westhaver, de sorte que les sternes qui s’alimentaient près de cette dernière pouvaient avoir niché à l’île Grassy.

Nouveau-Brunswick

L’île Machias Seal est le seul site de nidification connu de la Sterne de Dougall au Nouveau‑Brunswick, et seulement un ou deux couples y nichent chaque année.

La nidification de l’espèce y a été observée en 1979 pour la première fois, puis de nouveau en 1982, mais aucune Sterne de Dougall ne s’y est reproduite de 1983 à 1985 (Kirkham et Nettleship, 1985). Un seul couple a été observé en 1988, et un nid a été identifié en 1994. Dans la période de 1995 à 1997, des comportements de parade nuptiale et de vol de parade ont laissé croire que deux nidifications pourraient avoir eu lieu, mais elles n’ont pas pu être confirmées (K. Amey, comm. pers.).

Québec

Les îles de la Madeleine sont le seul lieu de nidification connu de la Sterne de Dougall au Québec. Moins de cinq couples y nichent chaque année (Shaffer et Laporte, 1996). La présence de la Sterne de Dougall a été signalée pour la première fois sur les îlots au large de Pointe‑aux‑Loups, puis au bout de la dune du Sud et à la baie du Havre‑aux‑Basques, mais ces deux derniers sites n’ont pas été occupés depuis le début des années 1970 et le début des années 1980, respectivement (Shaffer et Robert, 1996). Depuis 1987, on a confirmé la nidification de la Sterne de Dougall en petits nombres (de 1 à 3 couples) dans trois colonies, soit sur l’île aux Cochons, sur l’un des îlots au large de Pointe‑aux‑Loups (Deuxième Îlot), et sur un îlot artificiel (îlot C) au large de Grande‑Entrée. Ces colonies ne sont pas toutes occupées tous les ans (Shaffer et Robert, 1996; Shaffer et Laporte, 1996).