Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Update Status Report on the Roseate Tern in Canada 1999

Limiting Factors

 

Predation during the breeding season

Predation at breeding colonies appears to be the most important factor limiting the distribution and productivity of Roseate Terns in Canada.  Red foxes (Vulpes vulpes) are major predators of tern eggs on the Magdalen Islands (Shaffer and LaPorte 1996), and Northern Ravens (Corvus corax) and American Crows (Corvus brachyrhynchos) have been known to take tern eggs (including Roseate eggs) at several Nova Scotian colonies (Whittam 1997, D’Eon 1997).  Great Horned Owls (Bubo virginianus) are major predators of Roseate Tern adults, chicks, and fledglings in the U.S. (reviewed in Nisbet and Spendelow 1998).  Hunting owls cause adult terns to abandon their nests at night, leading to exposure of embryos and chicks, and greater predation by nocturnal species such as Black-crowned Night-Herons (Nycticorax nycticorax) and ants (Nisbet and Spendelow 1998).  Great Horned Owl predation on adult Common Terns has been reported in Pubnico Harbour, Nova Scotia (D’Eon 1997), but it is not known whether Roseate Terns are also affected.  Nothing is known about potential Black-crowned Night-Heron or ant predation on Roseate Terns in Canada.  There are few Black-crowned Night-Heron colonies in Atlantic Canada, none of which are located near Roseate Tern colonies (D. Amirault pers. comm.).

The major predators at Canadian tern colonies are Herring (Larus argentatus) and Great Black-backed (L. marinus) Gulls.  These species prey on tern eggs, chicks, and adults (Hatch 1970, Nisbet 1981).  A recent study of the Country Island tern colony provides in-depth information on gull predation at this site (Whittam 1997).  Country Island supported almost half of the Canadian Roseate Tern population in 1996 (i.e. 45 pairs; Table 3).  Only one pair nested in 1997, however, and they abandoned their egg after 10 days of incubation.  The combined number of breeding Arctic and Common Terns also dropped by more than half between 1996 (500 pairs) and 1997 (220 pairs).

The reason for this large-scale abandonment was thought to be predation by corvids on tern eggs, and gulls on tern adults, chicks, and eggs.  A Great Black-backed Gull was observed depredating an adult Roseate Tern, and gulls took more than half of all tern chicks hatched from this colony in 1996 (i.e. about 600 chicks).  Only 0.08 Roseate chicks per nest, or about five chicks in total, survived to fledge in 1996.  This level of productivity is well below the level needed to maintain the colony at its current size (Whittam 1997).

 

Adult overwintering survival

Adult mortality during migration or at wintering grounds is probably the main factor limiting population size in the U.S., where predators are controlled at most breeding colonies (Nisbet and Spendelow 1998).  The average annual survival rate for adult Roseate Terns from four major U.S. colonies is approximately 81-84%, which is low relative to other seabirds (Spendelow and Nichols 1989, Spendelow et al., 1995).  In the 1980s only Bird Island and Great Gull Island produced enough chicks to offset adult mortality (Ratcliffe 1997).  Because adult mortality is rarely observed at breeding colonies, Roseate Terns are probably dying during migration or at their wintering grounds.  Roseate Terns were trapped intensively between 1968-1981 in Guyana for sale at local markets, but this practice has since reportedly stopped (Nisbet 1984).  More information is required to determine the causes of winter mortality (Spendelow et al. 1995).

 

Extreme weather

Major storms, such as Hurricane “Bob” which passed through the principal staging area for Roseate Terns in August of 1991, may hinder population recovery (Nisbet and Spendelow 1998).  Circumstantial evidence suggests that “Bob” was responsible for the crash in the U.S. Roseate Tern population between 1991 and 1992 (Table 1).  Adult mortality increased from 17% to 33% in 1991-1992.  Furthermore, 80% of fledgings raised in 1991 were lost (Nisbet and Spendelow 1998).  Hurricane “Bob” is the only storm for which tern demographic data are available.  More cases need to be documented to clarify the role of extreme weather in population crashes (Nisbet and Spendelow 1998).

 

Skewed sex ratio

A shortage of males may limit the productivity of Roseate Terns at some colonies in northeastern North America (Nisbet and Hatch in press).  The sex-ratio of breeders on Bird Island, MA is 127 females: 100 males.  Twenty per cent of breeding females do not obtain male mates, and instead pair together to produce supernormal clutches of three to four eggs.  Fertilization is achieved through extra-pair copulations.  Female-female pairs produce 75% fewer fledgings per female than male-female pairs.  As a result, average colony productivity at Bird Island is reduced by about 16%, compared to the value expected if all females had male mates (Nisbet and Hatch in press).  It is not known whether the sex ratio is skewed at hatching or fledging, or is due to subsequent sex-specific mortality (Nisbet and Hatch in press).

 

Synopsis

While the population of Roseate Terns in northeastern North America has been increasing slowly since 1987, more than 90% of the population is concentrated into five predator-controlled sites in the United States.  Three to four per cent of the northeastern population nests in Canada, where there are currently only three large colonies supporting up to 94% of the Canadian population.  These are The Brothers Islands, Grassy Island and the Country Island complex (Table 2, Fig. 1).  Only The Brothers is known to be a stable breeding colony.  The concentration of the population into few sites is cause for concern, because any disturbance at these sites due to environmental contamination, human interference, a major storm, or an increase in predation pressure could lead to the extirpation of Roseate Terns from Canada.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Mise à jour Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Sterne de Dougall au Canada 1999

Facteurs limitatifs

 

Prédation pendant la saison de nidification

La prédation au sein des colonies de nidification semble être le principal facteur limitant la répartition et la productivité de la Sterne de Dougall au Canada. Le renard roux (Vulpes vulpes) est un important prédateur d’œufs de sternes aux îles de la Madeleine (Shaffer et Laporte, 1996), alors que le Grand Corbeau (Corvus corax) et la Corneille d’Amérique (Corvus brachyrhynchos) sont reconnus pour détruire des œufs de sternes (dont ceux des Sternes de Dougall) dans plusieurs colonies de la Nouvelle-Écosse (Whittam, 1997; D’Eon, 1997). Aux États-Unis, le Grand-duc d'Amérique (Bubo virginianus) constitue une menace importante pour les Sternes de Dougall adultes, les oisillons et les juvéniles (revue de la documentation dans Nisbet et Spendelow, 1998). En chassant, les hiboux forcent les sternes adultes à abandonner leur nid pendant la nuit, exposant ainsi les œufs et les oisillons à divers dangers, notamment à une plus forte prédation par des espèces nocturnes, telles que le Bihoreau gris (Nycticorax nycticorax) et les fourmis (Nisbet et Spendelow, 1998). À la baie Pubnico, en Nouvelle-Écosse, on a signalé la prédation de Sternes pierregarins adultes par le Grand-duc d’Amérique (D’Eon, 1997), mais on ignore si ce rapace attaque aussi les Sternes de Dougall. On ignore aussi le risque de prédation par le Bihoreau gris ou les fourmis pour la Sterne de Dougall au Canada. Il y a peu de colonies de Bihoreaux gris au Canada atlantique, et aucune ne se trouve à proximité des colonies de Sterne de Dougall (D. Amirault, comm. pers.).

Dans les colonies canadiennes, les principaux prédateurs de sternes sont le Goéland argenté (Larus argentatus) et le Goéland marin ( L. marinus). Ces espèces s’attaquent aux œufs des Sternes de Dougall, aux oisillons et aux adultes (Hatch, 1970; Nisbet, 1981). Dans une étude récente sur la colonie de sternes de l’île Country, on présente de l’information détaillée sur la prédation par les goélands à cet endroit (Whittam, 1997). En 1996, l’île Country abritait près de la moitié de la population canadienne de Sterne de Dougall (c.‑à‑d. 45 couples; tableau 3). En 1997, un seul couple y faisait son nid, et l’œuf a été abandonné après dix jours d’incubation. Les Sternes arctiques et les Sternes pierregarins ont aussi vu leur nombre combiné diminuer de plus de la moitié de 1996 (500 couples) à 1997
(220 couples).

On attribue cet abandon massif de l’île Country à la prédation des œufs de sternes par les corvidés, et à la prédation des adultes, des jeunes et des œufs par les goélands. On a observé un Goéland marin qui s’attaquait à une Sterne de Dougall adulte, et les goélands ont pris plus de la moitié des oisillons des sternes éclos dans cette colonie en 1996 (c.-à-d. environ 600 oisillons). Cette année-là, chez les Sternes de Dougall, seulement 0,08 oisillon par nid, soit environ cinq oisillons au total, ont survécu jusqu’à l’envol. Ce taux de reproduction est bien inférieur au taux nécessaire pour maintenir la colonie à sa taille actuelle (Whittam, 1997).

 

Survie des adultes en hiver

La mortalité des adultes au cours de la migration ou dans les aires d’hivernage est sans doute le principal facteur limitant la taille des populations aux États-Unis, où les prédateurs sont chassés de la plupart des colonies de nidification (Nisbet et Spendelow, 1998). Le taux de survie annuel moyen des Sternes de Dougall adultes dans quatre des principales colonies américaines est d’environ 81 p. 100 à 84 p. 100, ce qui est peu élevé par rapport aux autres oiseaux marins (Spendelow et Nichols, 1989; Spendelow et al., 1995). Dans les années 1980, seules les colonies de l’île Bird et de l’île Great Gull ont généré suffisamment d’oisillons pour compenser la mortalité des adultes (Ratcliffe, 1997). Comme la mort d’adultes est rarement observée dans les colonies de nidification, on suppose que les Sternes de Dougall meurent surtout au cours de la migration ou dans leurs aires d’hivernage. Au Guyana, de 1968 à 1981, on capturait massivement des Sternes de Dougall pour les vendre sur des marchés de la région, mais il semble que cette pratique ait cessé depuis (Nisbet, 1984). Des données supplémentaires sont nécessaires pour déterminer les causes de la mortalité hivernale (Spendelow et al., 1995).

 

Conditions météorologiques extrêmes

Les grosses tempêtes, comme l’ouragan « Bob », qui a traversé la principale halte de migration des Sternes de Dougall au cours du mois d’août 1991, peuvent freiner le rétablissement de la population (Nisbet et Spendelow, 1998). Certains indices permettent d’attribuer à « Bob » la responsabilité de la brusque diminution de la population américaine de Sterne de Dougall entre 1991 et 1992 (tableau 1). Le taux de mortalité des adultes est passé de 17 à 33 p. 100 de 1991 à 1992. De plus, 80 p. 100 des jeunes sternes élevées en 1991 n’ont pas survécu (Nisbet et Spendelow, 1998). L’ouragan « Bob » est la seule tempête pour laquelle il existe des données démographiques concernant les sternes. Pour mieux cerner le rôle joué par les conditions météorologiques extrêmes dans l’effondrement des populations, il faut documenter davantage de cas (Nisbet et Spendelow, 1998).

 

Rapport des sexes inégal 

Un nombre de mâles insuffisant pourrait limiter la productivité des Sternes de Dougall dans certaines colonies du Nord-Est du continent (Nisbet et Hatch, sous presse). La proportion des sexes des oiseaux nicheurs à l’île Bird (MA) est de 127 femelles pour 100 mâles. Vingt pour cent des femelles reproductrices ne se trouvent pas de partenaire mâle, et forment plutôt des couples de femelles, produisant des « super-couvées » de trois à quatre œufs. Les œufs sont fécondés par copulation hors-couple. Les couples de femelles produisent 75 p. 100 moins de jeunes atteignant l’âge de l’envol par femelle que les couples mâle-femelle. La productivité moyenne de la colonie de l’île Bird se trouve donc réduite d’environ 16 p. 100, si on la compare à celle attendue si toutes les femelles avaient eu un partenaire mâle (Nisbet et Hatch, sous presse). On ignore si la proportion des sexes est inégale dès l’éclosion ou à l’envol, ou bien si elle est attribuable à une mortalité ultérieure plus élevée des mâles (Nisbet et Hatch, sous presse).

Sommaire

La population de Sterne de Dougall du Nord-Est de l’Amérique du Nord augmente lentement depuis 1987, mais elle est concentrée à plus de 90 p. 100 dans cinq sites où la prédation est contrôlée aux États-Unis. De 3 à 4 p. 100 de la population du Nord-Est du continent niche au Canada, qui ne compte actuellement que trois colonies importantes regroupant jusqu’à 94 p. 100 de la population canadienne. Ces colonies sont celles des îles Brothers, de l’île Grassy et du complexe de l’île Country (tableau 2, figure 1). À notre connaissance, la seule colonie nicheuse stable est celle des îles Brothers. Une telle concentration de la population est préoccupante, car toute perturbation de ces sites, qu’elle soit due à une contamination environnementale, à l’activité humaine, à une forte tempête ou à une augmentation de la pression liée à la prédation, pourrait entraîner la disparition de la Sterne de Dougall au Canada.