Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Common Nighthawk in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

While there are no specific studies on the subject, the decline of the Common Nighthawk may be partly related to a general decline in insect populations in both the breeding and wintering grounds, due to large-scale insecticide use since the mid-1900s (Cane and Tepedino, 2001; Conrad et al. 2004). For example, it has been assumed that mosquito control programs in most urban areas in North America are probably responsible for the decrease in several species of aerial insectivores such as the Common Nighthawk (Poulin et al. 1996). Similarly, the decline in the Eurasian Nightjar (Caprimulgus europaeus) is believed to be due in part to the decrease in insect populations from large-scale pesticide spraying programs in Europe (Conrad et al. 2004; UK Forestry Commission, 2006; UK Biodiversity Action Plan, 2006).

Data from the United States suggest that factors such as the alteration and loss of habitat may also affect Common Nighthawk populations in Canada (Poulin et al. 1996). For example, fire suppression, changes in harvesting practices that reduce the number of open areas in forested regions and an increase in intensive agriculture are all believed to be responsible for the decline in several open-habitat species such as the Common Nighthawk (Askins, 1993; Degraff and Yamasaki, 2003; R.M. Brigham pers. comm. 2007). In the prairie provinces, the loss and alteration of native prairies from cultivation, fire suppression, and cattle grazing are believed to be the primary factors in the decline of the species since 1900 (Jones and Bock, 2002, Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Centre, 2005). In addition, in urban areas, the gradual replacement of gravel-covered roofs with tar-covered roofs is believed to be a primary cause of habitat loss (Poulin et al. 1996). It is also thought that the recent colonization of large roofs by Ring-billed Gulls (Larus delawarensis) in some major cities (such as Montreal) reduces the amount of habitat available to the Common Nighthawk (J. Gauthier, pers. comm. 2005). In northern Canada, where some unknown portion of the population occurs, Common Nighthawk populations may be little affected by the alteration and loss of habitat.

The increase in terrestrial predators, such as domestic cats, striped skunks and raccoons (Procyon lotor), as well as avian predators, such as American Crows and Common Ravens may play a role in the decline of the species, especially in urban areas (Poulin et al. 1996; R.M. Brigham, pers. comm. 2005).

Collisions with motor vehicles have been reported as a mortality factor for several Common Nighthawk populations in North America. Populations that use dirt roads in managed forests as roost or nest sites are affected by increased vehicle traffic (including ATVs), which collide with adults or destroy nests (Bender and Brigham, 1995; Poulin et al. 1996; J. Gauthier, pers. comm. 2005). Nighthawks can also collide with aircraft. Indeed, relatively high mortality rates have been reported during fall migration at some sites (Cumming et al. 2003).

Extreme climatic fluctuations in the spring could also affect adult survival and breeding success, although this has not been documented. Given that the Common Nighthawk does not enter into torpor as frequently as other goatsuckers (Fletcher et al. 1993), the species is more susceptible to prolonged periods of cold weather in the spring. Moreover, the increased frequency of tropical storms in the Gulf of Mexico may negatively affect nightjars during their autumn migration (e.g. Chimney Swifts, Chaetura pelagica, J. Gauthier, pers. comm. 2005). Further studies are necessary to assess the effect of climate change on the ecology of the Common Nighthawk.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’Engoulevent d'Amérique au Canada

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Il n’y a aucune étude précise sur le sujet, mais le déclin des populations d’Engoulevents d’Amérique pourrait être partiellement lié au déclin général des populations d’insectes dans les aires de reproduction et d’hivernage, en raison de l’utilisation massive d’insecticides depuis le milieu du XXe siècle (Cane et Tepedino, 2001; Conrad et al. 2004). Par exemple, on présume que les programmes de lutte contre les moustiques menés dans la plupart des milieux urbains en Amérique du Nord ont probablement entraîné un déclin de plusieurs espèces d’insectivores aériens comme l’Engoulevent d’Amérique (Poulin et al. 1996). De même, le déclin de l’Engoulevent d’Europe (Caprimulgus europaeus) serait en partie attribuable à la diminution des populations d’insectes survenue à la suite des programmes d’épandage de pesticides à vaste échelle menés en Europe (Conrad et al. 2004; UK Forestry Commission, 2006; UK Biodiversity Action Plan, 2006).

Des données recueillies aux États-Unis laissent à penser que la modification et la perte de l’habitat touchent également les populations d’Engoulevents d’Amérique au Canada (Poulin et al. 1996). Par exemple, la lutte contre les incendies de forêt, les modifications des pratiques de récolte qui réduisent le nombre de zones dans les régions boisées et l’accroissement de l’agriculture intensive seraient peut-être la cause du déclin de plusieurs espèces d’aires ouvertes telles que l’Engoulevent d’Amérique (Askins, 1993; Degraff et Yamasaki, 2003; R. M. Brigham, comm. pers., 2007). Dans les Prairies, la perte et la modification des prairies naturelles en raison des cultures, de la lutte contre les incendies et du pâturage du bétail seraient les principaux facteurs de déclin de l’espèce depuis 1900 (Jones et Bock, 2002, Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Centre, 2005). De plus, dans les milieux urbains, le remplacement graduel des toits couverts de gravier par des toits couverts de goudron constituerait la principale cause de la perte d’habitat (Poulin et al. 1996). On croit également que la récente colonisation des grands toits par les Goélands à bec cerclé (Larus delawarensis) dans certaines grandes villes (comme Montréal) réduit la quantité d’habitats disponibles pour l’Engoulevent d’Amérique (J. Gauthier, comm. pers., 2005). Dans le nord du Canada, où est présente une portion inconnue de la population, l’Engoulevent d’Amérique est peut‑être peu touché par la modification et la perte de l’habitat.

L’accroissement des prédateurs terrestres, notamment le chat domestique, la mouffette rayée et le raton laveur (Procyon lotor), et des prédateurs aviaires, par exemple, la Corneille d’Amérique et le Grand Corbeau, joue peut-être un rôle dans le déclin de l’espèce, en particulier dans les milieux urbains (Poulin et al. 1996; R. M. Brigham, comm. pers., 2005).

Les collisions avec des véhicules motorisés ont été signalées comme étant une cause de mortalité dans plusieurs populations d’Engoulevents d’Amérique en Amérique du Nord. Les populations qui gîtent ou nichent le long des chemins de terre de forêts gérées sont touchées par la hausse de la circulation de véhicules (y compris les VTT), qui heurtent des adultes ou détruisent des nids (Bender et Brigham, 1995; Poulin et al. 1996; J. Gauthier, comm. pers., 2005). Il est aussi possible que des Engoulevents entrent en collision avec des avions. En effet, des taux de mortalité relativement élevés ont été signalés à certains sites pendant la migration automnale (Cumming et al. 2003).

Les fluctuations extrêmes de températures au printemps peuvent également influer sur la survie des adultes et le succès de reproduction, bien que ce risque n’ait pas été attesté. Comme l’Engoulevent d’Amérique n’entre pas en état de léthargie aussi fréquemment que les autres engoulevents(Fletcher et al. 1993), il est plus touché par les longues périodes de froid au printemps. En outre, il n’est pas exclu que la fréquence accrue des tempêtes tropicales dans le golfe du Mexique ait un effet préjudiciable sur les engoulevents pendant la migration automnale (p. ex. Martinets ramoneurs,Chaetura pelagica, J. Gauthier, comm. pers., 2005). Il est nécessaire de mener d’autres études pour évaluer les répercussions des changements climatiques sur l’écologie de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique.