Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Common Nighthawk in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Common Nighthawk
Chordeiles Minor

Species Information

The Common Nighthawk is a medium-sized bird, with a large flattened head, large eyes, a small bill, a large mouth, long slender pointed wings and a long, slightly notched tail. It has dark brown plumage mottled with black, white and buff. In flight, adults have a white patch across the primaries. Seven subspecies are generally recognized in North America.

 

Distribution

The breeding range of the Common Nighthawk includes all of North America, Central America and possibly southeastern Colombia. In Canada, the species occurs in all Canadian provinces and territories, except Nunavut. The Common Nighthawk winters throughout South America, primarily in regions in eastern Peru and Ecuador and in southern Brazil.

 

Habitat

The breeding habitat of the Common Nighthawk is varied and includes open habitats where the ground is devoid of vegetation, such as sand dunes, beaches, logged areas, burned-over areas, forest clearings, rocky outcrops, rock barrens, prairies, peatbogs and pastures. From the start of European settlement, the Common Nighthawk probably took advantage of newly opened habitats created by massive deforestation in the eastern United States, as well as urban areas where it used flat gravel roofs for nesting. However, since the early 1900s, the quantity of available habitat has been declining due to forest fire suppression, reforestation, the intensive use of agricultural land and the gradual replacement of gravel roofs with tar covered roofs.

 

Biology

Generally, two eggs are laid directly on the ground, from the third week of May to mid-August. Incubation is carried out by the female only, and lasts 16 to 20 days, depending on the region. The nestlings remain in the nest from mid-June to the end of August and become fully developed at between 45 and 52 days. The life span of the Common Nighthawk is usually 4 to 5 years.

 

Population Sizes and Trends

The current population size for Common Nighthawks in Canada is estimated at 400 000 breeding adults. In Canada, data from the Breeding Bird Survey (BBS) indicate a significant long-term (i.e. 1968-2005) decline of 4.2% per year. In the most recent 10 year period (1995-2005), BBS data show a significant decline of 6.6% per year. This corresponds to a 49.5% decrease in the population. Declines have also been observed along BBS routes in the boreal forest, suggesting that the declines are not limited to southern parts of the range. Declines have also been observed along BBS routes in the boreal forest, suggesting that the declines are not limited to southern parts of the range.

 

Limiting Factors and Threats

The reasons for the decline in Common Nighthawk populations have not been determined. Reductions in insect prey due to large-scale pesticide use seem likely to have contributed to the decline, given the widespread declines observed in other species of aerial insectivores. Habitat loss and alteration, in particular the reforestation of abandoned agricultural fields and harvested forests, fire suppression, intensive agriculture and the gradual reduction of buildings with flat gravel covered rooftops, may also have contributed to the observed declines.

 

Special Significance of the Species

The Common Nighthawk is one of the only species of insectivorous, crepuscular birds that uses a wide variety of habitats and is widely distributed in Canada.

 

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

In Canada, the Common Nighthawk, its nest and eggs are protected under the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994. Globally, NatureServe (2005) considers the species as secure (G5). The species has received NatureServe ranks in Newfoundland and Labrador and Prince Edward Island of S1S2B.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’Engoulevent d'Amérique au Canada

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Engoulevent d'Amérique
Chordeiles minor

Information sur l’espèce

L’Engoulevent d’Amérique est un oiseau de taille moyenne ayant une grosse tête aplatie, de grands yeux, un petit bec, une grande bouche, de longues ailes effilées et pointues ainsi qu’une longue queue légèrement encochée. Son plumage brun foncé est tacheté de noir, de blanc et de chamois. En vol, les primaires des adultes présentent une plaque blanche. Sept sous-espèces sont généralement reconnues en Amérique du Nord.

 

Répartition

L’aire de reproduction de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique couvre toute l’Amérique du Nord, l’Amérique centrale et possiblement le sud‑est de la Colombie. L’espèce est présente dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires du Canada, à l’exception du Nunavut. L’Engoulevent d’Amérique hiverne dans toute l’Amérique du Sud, principalement dans des régions dans l’est du Pérou et de l’Équateur ainsi que dans le sud du Brésil.

 

Habitat

L’habitat de reproduction de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique est varié; il comprend des habitats ouverts aux sols dépourvus de végétation, tels que les dunes, les plages, les forêts exploitées, les brûlis, les zones déboisées, les affleurements rocheux, les terrains rocheux dénudés, les prairies, les tourbières et les pâturages. Depuis la colonisation, l’Engoulevent d’Amérique a probablement tiré profit des habitats nouvellement ouverts à la suite de la déforestation massive dans l’est des États‑Unis ainsi que dans les milieux urbains, où il nichait sur les toits plats couverts de gravier. Toutefois, à partir du début du XXe siècle, l’étendue de l’habitat propice a commencé à diminuer en raison de la lutte contre les incendies de forêt, le reboisement, l’utilisation intensive des terres agricoles et le remplacement graduel des toits couverts de gravier par des toits couverts de goudron.

 

Biologie

L’Engoulevent d’Amérique pond généralement deux œufs, directement sur le sol, à partir de la troisième semaine de mai jusqu’à la mi‑août. Seule la femelle s’occupe de l’incubation, qui dure de 16 à 20 jours, selon la région. Les oisillons demeurent dans le nid de la mi‑juin à la fin août et ont atteints leur plein développement à l’âge de 45 à 52 jours. La durée de vie de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique est de quatre à cinq ans.

 

Taille et tendances des populations

Au Canada, la population actuelle d’Engoulevents d’Amérique est estimée à 400 000 adultes reproducteurs. Des données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs (BBS) indiquent un déclin important à long terme (c.-à-d. de 1968 à 2005) de 4,2 p. 100 par année au pays. Au cours de la période de 10 ans la plus récente (de 1995 à 2005), les données du BBS ont montré un déclin significatif de 6,6 p. 100 par année, ce qui correspond à une diminution de 49,5 p. 100 de la population. Des déclins ont également été observés le long de parcours du BBS dans la forêt boréale, ce qui laisse entendre que les déclins ne se limitent pas à la partie sud de l’aire de répartition.

 

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Les raisons du déclin des populations d’Engoulevents d’Amérique n’ont pas été déterminées. Les baisses d’insectes, qui constituent la proie de l’espèce, causées par l’utilisation à vaste échelle de pesticides semblent avoir contribué au déclin étant donné les déclins répandus observés chez d’autres espèces d’insectivores aériens. La perte et la modification de l’habitat, notamment le reboisement de terres agricoles abandonnées et de forêts exploitées, la lutte contre les incendies, l’agriculture intensive et la réduction graduelle du nombre d’immeubles au toit plat couvert de gravier ont peut-être également contribué aux déclins observés.

 

Importance de l’espèce

L’Engoulevent d’Amérique représente l’une des seules espèces d’oiseaux insectivore crépusculaire du Canada qui utilisent une grande variété d’habitats et qui sont très répandues.

 

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations

Au Canada, l’Engoulevent d’Amérique, ses nids et ses œufs sont protégés en vertu de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs. À l’échelle mondiale, NatureServe (2005) considère l’espèce comme non en péril (secure, G5). À Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, NatureServe a classé l’espèce S1S2B.