Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Common Nighthawk in Canada

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Common Nighthawk
Chordeiles minor
in Canada
2007

Species Information

Name and Classification

The common English name of Chordeiles minor (Forster, 1771) is Common Nighthawk. The common French name is “Engoulevent d’Amérique”. Its taxonomy is as follows:

Class:
Aves
Order:
Caprimulgiformes
Family:
Caprimulgidae
Genus:
Chordeiles
Species:
minor


Seven subspecies are generally recognized in North America (Poulin et al. 1996), of which three are found in Canada. C. m. minor breeds from southeastern Alaska to Vancouver Island, and from southern Canada including all Canadian provinces, to Virginia, North Carolina, Georgia, and Oklahoma. This subspecies is distinguished from the others by its darker ventral bars (Poulin et al. 1996). C. m. sennetti, occurs primarily in the Great Plains, eastern Montana, southern Saskatchewan and southern Manitoba, to North Dakota, Minnesota and Iowa, and is generally paler than the other subspecies. C. m. hesperis breeds in southwestern Canada, particularly in British Columbia and Alberta, and in the United States, in Washington, Montana, Nevada, Utah, the extreme north of Colorado and western Wyoming. The latter subspecies is similar to C. m. minor but has more grey and white. The differences between these subspecies are slight, and significant introgression zones have been noted (Salt and Wilk, 1958).

This report will cover the species as a whole.


Morphological Description

The Common Nighthawk is a medium-sized bird (i.e. 21–25 cm long, 65–98 g; Poulin et al. 1996), and is characterized by long, slender, pointed wings and by a long, slightly notched tail (Poulin et al. 1996). This species has a rather large, flattened head, large eyes, a small bill and a large mouth. The species has cryptic colouration, generally dark brown, with black, white and buff mottling on the wings and upper parts and fine buff bars on the under parts. Females can be distinguished from males by their throat band, which is buff rather than white. In flight, adults have a pronounced white patch at the base of the primaries, which are also dark brown. The tail is brown with fine buff bars and males also have a white band near the tip. Juveniles are distinguished from adults primarily by the absence of the white or buff throat band.

The Common Nighthawk resembles three other species that occur in Canada: Whip-poor-will (Caprimulgus vociferus), Common Poorwill (Phalaenoptilus nuttallii) and Chuck-will’s-widow (C. carolinensis). It can be distinguished from these species by the lack of rictal bristles (long, fine feathers surrounding the bill), the presence of white patches on the primaries, the shape of the tail and its coloration patterns, and by its long pointed wings.


Genetic Description

Few molecular or genetic studies have been conducted to distinguish the Common Nighthawk from the other species in the family. The species is considered to be closely related to the Antillean Nighthawk (C. gundlachii) of southern Florida, the Bahamas and Greater Antilles. The two species were considered conspecifics until 1982, when they were separated because of differences in their calls, size, egg colouring and juvenile plumage, as well as their allozymic differences (Poulin et al. 1996).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’Engoulevent d'Amérique au Canada

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur
l'Engoulevent d’Amérique
Chordeiles minor
au Canada
2007

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Le nom commun du Chordeiles minor (Forster, 1771) est, en français, Engoulevent d’Amérique et, en anglais, Common Nighthawk. La taxinomie est la suivante :

Classe :
Oiseaux
Ordre :
Caprimulgiformes
Famille :
Caprimulgidés
Genre :
Chordeiles
Espèce :
minor


Sept sous-espèces sont généralement reconnues en Amérique du Nord (Poulin et al. 1996), dont trois sont présentes au Canada. C. m. minor se reproduit du sud-est de l’Alaska jusqu’à l’île de Vancouver, et du sud du Canada, dans toutes les provinces, jusqu’en Virginie, en Caroline du Nord, en Géorgie et en Oklahoma. La sous-espèce se distingue des autres par ses bandes ventrales plus foncées (Poulin et al. 1996). C. m. sennetti est principalement présent dans les grandes plaines, l’est du Montana, le sud de la Saskatchewan et le sud du Manitoba, jusqu’au Dakota du Nord, au Minnesota et en Iowa; il est généralement plus pâle que les autres sous-espèces. C. m. hesperis se reproduit dans le sud‑ouest du Canada, notamment en Colombie-Britannique et en Alberta, et, aux États-Unis, dans l’État de Washington, au Montana, au Nevada, en Utah, dans l’extrême nord du Colorado et dans l’ouest du Wyoming. Cette dernière sous-espèce est similaire à C. m. minor, mais elle comporte davantage de gris et de blanc. Les différences entre ces sous-espèces sont légères, et d’importantes zones d’introgression ont été observées (Salt et Wilk, 1958). Dans le présent rapport, l’espèce sera traitée dans son ensemble.


Description morphologique

L’Engoulevent d’Amérique est un oiseau de taille moyenne (c.-à-d. de 21 à 25 cm de longueur, de 65 à 98 g; Poulin et al. 1996), et se caractérise par ses longues ailes effilées et pointues ainsi que sa longue queue légèrement encochée (Poulin et al. 1996). L’espèce possède une tête aplatie plutôt grosse, de grands yeux, un petit bec et une grande bouche. De couleur cryptique, elle est généralement brun foncé tacheté de noir, de blanc et de chamois sur les ailes ainsi que les parties supérieures et présente de fines bandes chamois sur les parties inférieures. Les femelles se distinguent des mâles par la bande de leur cou, qui est chamois plutôt que blanche. En vol, les primaires des adultes, qui sont également brun foncé, présentent une plaque blanche prononcée à la base. La queue est brune et comporte de fines bandes chamois; celle des mâles a en outre une bande blanche près de l’extrémité. Les juvéniles se distinguent des adultes principalement par l’absence de bande blanche ou chamois à la gorge.

L’Engoulevent d’Amérique ressemble aux trois autres espèces présentes au Canada, soit l’Engoulevent bois‑pourri (Caprimulgus vociferus), l’Engoulevent de Nuttall (Phalaenoptilus nuttallii) et l’Engoulevent de Caroline (C. carolinensis). Il se distingue de ces espèces par l’absence de vibrisses (longues plumes fines autour du bec), la présence de plaques blanches sur les primaires, la forme de la queue et ses motifs de couleurs de même que par ses longues ailes pointues.


Description génétique

Peu d’études moléculaires et génétiques ont été menées pour distinguer l’Engoulevent d’Amérique des autres espèces de la famille. Il est considéré comme étroitement lié à l’Engoulevent piramidig (C. gundlachii), présent dans le sud de la Floride, les Bahamas et les Grandes Antilles. Les deux espèces ont été considérées conspécifiques jusqu’en 1982, année où elles ont été séparées en raison de leur différence de chant, de taille, de couleur des œufs et du plumage des juvéniles ainsi que de différences allozymiques (Poulin et al. 1996).