Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Common Nighthawk in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

The breeding range of the Common Nighthawk includes most of North America, and disconnectedly, Central America (Figure 1). In Canada, the species is distributed in all provinces and territories except Nunavut. In the United States, it breeds in all continental states. However, it is absent from eastern California, southern Nevada and southwestern Arizona (Poulin et al. 1996).

Although the Common Nighthawk winters throughout the whole of South America, it is most abundant in eastern Peru, eastern Ecuador and southern Brazil (Poulin et al. 1996). In most South American countries, its distribution is still poorly known, because of the difficulty in distinguishing this species from the Lesser Nighthawk (C. acutipennis), the difficulty in differentiating migrants from resident birds, and the general lack of information on the species (Poulin et al. 1996).


Canadian Range

In Canada, the Common Nighthawk breeds in all provinces and territories except Nunavut (Figure 1). Breeding Bird Survey (BBS) data indicate that about 37% of the breeding range of this species is in Canada, although only 10% of the total world population is believed to breed in Canada (P. Blancher, unpubl. data).

In eastern Canada, the species breeds only in the southern part of Labrador and is considered a rare visitor to the island of Newfoundland (Todd, 1963; Godfrey, 1986). The species is generally common and widely distributed in all of the Maritime provinces, with the exception of Prince Edward Island (Erskine, 1992; NatureServe, 2005; S. Blaney, pers. comm. 2005).

In Quebec, the range of the species includes regions south of the 54th parallel, including the south coast of James Bay, Fermont, Lake Mistassini and Waskaganish (Todd, 1963; Godfrey, 1986; Gauthier and Aubry, 1996; J. Gauthier, pers. comm. 2005). There is no confirmation of this species breeding on the Magdalen Islands and Anticosti Island (Cyr and Larivée, 1995; Gauthier and Aubry, 1996). In Ontario, the species occurs throughout the province except for the coastal regions of James Bay and Hudson Bay (Cadman et al. 1987).


Figure 1: Breeding (red), Wintering (blue) and Migratory (yellow) Locations of the Common Nighthawk

Figure 1: Map showing the breeding, wintering and migratory locations of the Common Nighthawk.

From Ridgely et al. 2003).

In western Canada, the species breeds throughout Alberta and Saskatchewan and south of the tree line in Manitoba (Semenchuk, 1992; Smith, 1996; Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003). In British Columbia, it occurs throughout the province, including Vancouver Island, but is absent from the Coast Mountains and from the Queen Charlotte Islands (Campbell et al. 1990; Poulin et al. 1996). In the Yukon, the species breeds in the southern part of the territory, up to the Dawson region (Sinclair et al. 2003). In the Northwest Territories, the species occurs along the border with Alberta and Saskatchewan and extends north along the Mackenzie River Valley to Norman Wells (Poulin et al. 1996; R. Popko, pers. comm. 2005). The species is considered an accidental visitor in Nunavut (M. Setterington, pers. comm. 2005).

The Extent of Occurrence (EO) for the species in Canada is estimated at 4 817 780 km2 (Bird Studies Canada, unpubl. data.), while the Area of Occupancy (AO) is approximately 54 000 km2. The latter assumes a population estimate of 200 000 breeding pairs (see below), each with an average territory area of 0.27 km2 (Wedgwood, 1973).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’Engoulevent d'Amérique au Canada

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

L’aire de reproduction de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique couvre la majeure partie de l’Amérique du Nord, et, de façon discontinue, de l’Amérique centrale (figure 1). L’espèce est présente dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires du Canada, à l’exception du Nunavut. Aux États-Unis, elle se reproduit dans tous les États continentaux; cependant, elle n’est pas présente dans l’est de la Californie, dans le sud du Nevada ni dans le sud-ouest de l’Arizona (Poulin et al. 1996).

Bien que l’Engoulevent d’Amérique hiverne dans toute l’Amérique du Sud, il est surtout présent dans l’est du Pérou et de l’Équateur ainsi que dans le sud du Brésil (Poulin et al. 1996). Son aire de répartition sud-américaine est toujours peu connue, en raison de la difficulté à le distinguer de l’Engoulevent minime (C. acutipennis), de la difficulté à différencier les migrateurs des résidents et du manque d’information générale sur l’espèce (Poulin et al. 1996).


Aire de répartition canadienne

L’Engoulevent d’Amérique se reproduit dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires du Canada, à l’exception du Nunavut (figure 1). Selon les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs (BBS), environ 37 p. 100 de l’aire de reproduction de l’espèce se situe au Canada, même si seulement 10 p. 100 de la population mondiale semble se reproduire au pays (P. Blancher, données inédites).


Figure 1 : Aire de reproduction (rouge), d’hivernage (bleu) et de migration (jaune) de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique

Figure 1 : Aire de reproduction (rouge), d’hivernage (bleu) et de migration (jaune) de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique.

Tiré de Ridgely et al. 2003.

Dans l’est du Canada, l’espèce se reproduit uniquement dans le sud du Labrador et elle est considérée comme une visiteuse rare de l’île de Terre-Neuve (Todd, 1963; Godfrey, 1986). Elle est généralement commune et largement répandue dans toutes les provinces maritimes, à l’exception de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard (Erskine, 1992; NatureServe, 2005; S. Blaney, comm. pers., 2005).

Au Québec, l’aire de répartition de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique comprend des régions situées au sud du 54e parallèle, y compris la côte sud de la baie James, Fermont, le lac Mistassini et Waskaganish (Todd, 1963; Godfrey, 1986; Gauthier et Aubry, 1996; J. Gauthier, comm. pers., 2005). Aucune donnée ne permet de confirmer que l’espèce se reproduit dans les îles de la Madeleine et l’île d’Anticosti (Cyr et Larivée, 1995; Gauthier et Aubry, 1996). En Ontario, l’espèce est présente dans toute la province, à l’exception des régions côtières de la baie James et de la baie d’Hudson (Cadman et al. 1987).

Dans l’ouest du Canada, l’espèce se reproduit dans toute l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan ainsi qu’au sud de la limite forestière au Manitoba (Semenchuk, 1992; Smith, 1996; Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003). En Colombie-Britannique, elle est présente dans toute la province, y compris l’île de Vancouver, mais elle est absente de la chaîne Côtière et des îles de la Reine-Charlotte (Campbell et al. 1990; Poulin et al. 1996). Au Yukon, l’Engoulevent d’Amérique se reproduit dans le sud du territoire, jusqu’à la région de Dawson (Sinclair et al. 2003). Dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, il est présent le long de la frontière avec l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan et s’étend vers le nord le long de la vallée du Mackenzie jusqu’à Norman Wells (Poulin et al. 1996; R. Popko, comm. pers., 2005). L’espèce est considérée comme visiteur accidentel au Nunavut (M. Setterington, comm. pers., 2005).

Au Canada, la zone d’occurrence de l’espèce est estimée à 4 817 780 km2 (Études d’Oiseaux Canada, données inédites), et la zone d’occupation, à environ 54 000 km2, ce qui représenterait une population de quelque 200 000 couples reproducteurs (voir ci-dessous) possédant chacun un territoire moyen de 0,27 km2 (Wedgwood, 1973).