Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Common Nighthawk in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

The breeding habitat of the Common Nighthawk includes open habitats, such as sand dunes, beaches, recently logged areas, recently burned-over areas, forest clearings, short-grass prairies, pastures, open forests, peatbogs, marshes, lakeshores, gravel roads, river banks, rocky outcrops, rock barrens, railways, mine tailings, quarries, urban parks, military bases, airports, mines and commercial blueberry fields (Peck and James, 1983; Gauthier and Aubry, 1996; Poulin et al. 1996; Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003). The species is also present in mixed and coniferous forests, as well as in pine stands (Gauthier and Aubry, 1996). In Alberta and Saskatchewan, canyons, grassy plains and dune complexes are also favoured habitats for the Common Nighthawk (Dale et al. 1999; A.R. Smith, pers. comm. 2005). At the beginning of the 20th century, the species also nested in cultivated fields, corn and potato fields, orchards, parks and gardens in residential areas and railways (Gross, 1940). Since the end of the 1870s, it has also used flat gravel-covered roofs in urban areas for nesting (Gross, 1940). Although nighthawks may have benefited from the new habitats provided by urban areas, they generally prefer natural sites (Brigham, 1989). It is not clear, however, what proportion of the Canadian population breeds in poorly surveyed areas, such as the boreal forest.


Habitat Trends

Little is known about the habitat trends of the Common Nighthawk in Canada (Poulin et al. 1996). In the early days of European settlement, the Common Nighthawk probably took advantage of newly opened habitat created by extensive deforestation in the eastern United States and parts of Canada (Poulin et al. 1996). The appearance of gravel rooftops on urban buildings in the second half of the 19th century further contributed to the expansion of Common Nighthawk habitat in North America (Weir, 1989; Gauthier and Aubry, 1996) to the point that, at the beginning of the 1990s, the species bred almost exclusively on the roofs of buildings in urban areas in Ohio and Pennsylvania (Peterjohn and Rice, 1991; Brauning, 1992). 

Since the beginning of the 20th century, however, forest fire suppression and changes in forest harvesting practices that reduce the number of open areas, along with extensive reforestation and intensive use of agricultural land, have all contributed to the decline in the quantity and quality of Common Nighthawk habitat (Gauthier and Cyr, 1996; R.M. Brigham pers. comm. 2007). Similarly, gravel rooftops are gradually being replaced by tar-covered roofs, which further reduce the amount of available breeding habitat in urban areas (Poulin et al. 1996). Habitat does not appear to be declining in some areas. For instance, in the Maritimes logged-over areas, commercial blueberry fields, coal mines and gravel quarries, which provide suitable breeding habitat, are constantly being created (S. Blaney, pers. comm. 2005).


Habitat Protection/Ownership

In Canada, the quantity of habitat available to the Common Nighthawk or the degree of habitat protection on public lands is unknown. Some habitat on public lands will undoubtedly be protected by the creation of protected areas, although these areas account for less than 8% of the total area of Canada (Natural Resources Canada, 2005). There are no programs for the protection of Common Nighthawk habitat within Canada’s protected areas. Nevertheless, controlled burning programs in specific national parks could increase the species’ habitat (Campbell et al. 1990; R.M. Brigham, pers. comm. 2005). In managed forests, there are no specific programs for Common Nighthawk habitat protection.

Data are equally lacking on the level of habitat protection for this species in private areas (i.e. urban and agricultural areas).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’Engoulevent d'Amérique au Canada

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

L’habitat de reproduction de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique comprend des habitats ouverts, tels que les dunes, les plages, les forêts récemment exploitées, les brûlis, les zones déboisées, les prairies à herbes courtes, les pâturages, les forêts claires, les tourbières, les marais, les rives de lacs, les routes de gravier, les bordures de rivières , les affleurements rocheux, les terrains rocheux dénudés, les chemins de fer, les parcs de résidus miniers, les carrières, les parcs urbains, les bases militaires, les aéroports, les mines ainsi que les bleuetières (Peck et James, 1983; Gauthier et Aubry, 1996; Poulin et al. 1996; Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003). L’espèce est également présente dans les peuplements mixtes ou de conifères ainsi que dans les pinèdes (Gauthier et Aubry, 1996). En Alberta et en Saskatchewan, les canyons, les plaines herbeuses et les complexes de dunes constituent des habitats favorisés par l’Engoulevent d’Amérique (Dale et al. 1999; A. R. Smith, comm. pers., 2005). Au début du XXe siècle, l’espèce nichait également dans les champs cultivés, les champs de maïs et de pommes de terre, les vergers, les parcs et les jardins de zones résidentielles ainsi que les chemins de fer (Gross, 1940). Depuis la fin des années 1870, elle nichait également sur des toits plats couverts de gravier en milieu urbain (Gross, 1940). Même si les engoulevents ont probablement tiré profit des nouveaux habitats offerts par les milieux urbains, ils préfèrent généralement les sites naturels (Brigham, 1989). Cependant, la proportion de la population canadienne se reproduisant dans des zones faisant l’objet de peu de relevés, telles que la forêt boréale, n’est pas bien connue.


Tendances en matière d’habitat

Il existe peu d’information sur les tendances de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique en matière d’habitat au Canada (Poulin et al. 1996). Au début de la colonisation, l’espèce a probablement tiré profit des habitats nouvellement ouverts à la suite de la déforestation massive dans l’est des États-Unis ainsi que dans certaines parties du Canada (Poulin et al. 1996). Dans la deuxième moitié du XIXe siècle, l’apparition de toits couverts de gravier en milieu urbain a contribué davantage à l’expansion de l’habitat de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique en Amérique du Nord (Weir, 1989; Gauthier et Aubry, 1996) au point où, au début du XXe siècle, l’espèce se reproduisait presque exclusivement sur les toits d’édifices en milieux urbains en Ohio et en Pennsylvanie (Peterjohn et Rice, 1991; Brauning, 1992).

Toutefois, à partir du début du XXe siècle, la lutte contre les incendies de forêt et les modifications de pratiques de récolte a réduit le nombre d’aires ouvertes; ces deux facteurs, de même que le reboisement extensif et l’utilisation intensive des terres agricoles, ont contribué au déclin de la quantité d’habitat et de la qualité de l’habitat de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique (Gauthier et Cyr, 1996; R. M. Brigham comm. pers., 2007). De même, le remplacement graduel des toits couverts de gravier par des toits couverts de goudron a réduit davantage la quantité d’habitats propices en milieu urbain (Poulin et al. 1996). Dans certaines zones, l’habitat ne semble pas connaître de déclin. Dans les Maritimes, par exemple, les forêts exploitées, les bleuetières, les mines de charbon et les carrières de gravier, qui offrent un habitat de reproduction propice, constituent de nouveaux habitats qui sont constamment créés (S. Blaney, comm. pers., 2005).


Protection et propriété

Au Canada, la quantité d’habitats disponibles pour l’Engoulevent d’Amérique et le niveau de protection de l’habitat dans les terres publiques sont inconnus. Il ne fait aucun doute que certains habitats se trouvant dans des terres publiques seront protégées par la création d’aires protégées, même si celles‑ci représentent moins de 8 p. 100 de l’aire totale au Canada (Ressources naturelles Canada, 2005). Il n’existe aucun programme de protection de l’habitat de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique dans les aires protégées du Canada. Néanmoins, les programmes de brûlage dirigé dans des parcs nationaux particuliers pourraient accroître l’habitat de l’espèce (Campbell et al. 1990; R. M. Brigham, comm. pers., 2005). Dans les forêts aménagées, il n’existe pas de programme destiné à la protection de l’habitat de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique.

En outre, il y a des lacunes relativement aux données sur le niveau de protection de l’habitat dans les terres privées (c.-à-d. des zones urbaines et agricoles).