Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Common Nighthawk in Canada

Biology

Reproduction

The age of sexual maturity for this species is one year (Poulin et al. 1996). The two eggs are laid directly on soil, sand, gravel or bare rock (Dexter, 1952; Weller, 1958; Peck and James, 1983; Poulin et al. 1996; Sinclair et al. 2003). The species generally has one brood per year, but a second clutch may be produced in the southern part of its range (Weller, 1958). The eggs are generally laid from the second week of May to mid-August (Gauthier and Aubry, 1996; Poulin et al. 1996). Only the female incubates the eggs, for an incubation period of 16 to 20 days, depending on the region (Rust, 1947; Foyle, 1946; Campbell et al. 1990). Nestlings generally remain in the nest from mid-June to late August (Poulin et al. 1996). During this period, the female broods the nestlings continually and the male feeds the female and the nestlings in the nest (Granza, 1967; Brigham, 1989). The nestlings are semi-precocial and are able to move short distances in search of shade within the first few days (Gross, 1940). The young begin to fly after 18 days and can capture their first insects near the ground after 25 to 30 days, (Gross, 1940; Rust, 1947). The nestlings reach full development at between 45 and 52 days (Gross, 1940; Rust, 1947). In Quebec, the period of dependency after leaving the nest has been estimated to be from the second week of June to the last week of July (Gauthier and Aubry, 1996). In the Yukon, juveniles still dependent on adults and not yet able to sustain flight over large distances were reported as late as 22nd August (Sinclair et al. 2003).


Survival

Very little information is available on annual adult survival rates on breeding or wintering grounds. Moreover, no studies have been conducted on reproductive success or fledgling survival rates (Poulin et al. 1996). The life span of the Common Nighthawk is generally 4-5 years (Poulin et al. 1996), although banded birds aged 9 years have been reported (Dexter, 1961). Similarly, extremely high temperatures on roof surfaces in summer (i.e. 60 °C) can cause nestling mortality (Gross, 1940).


Dispersal/Migration

The Common Nighthawk has one of the longest north-south migration distances of any species in North America (Poulin et al. 1996). Nighthawks arrive in Canada from early May to the beginning of June (Weir, 1989; Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003) and migration to South America occurs from mid-August to mid-September (Ouellet, 1974; Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003). These autumnal migratory flights are often associated with the emergence of flying ants (hymenoptera) in August (Poulin et al. 1996) and involve flocks ranging from 10 to an estimated 16 000 individuals (Ouellet, 1974; Tuft, 1986; Weir, 1989; Poulin et al. 1996).

Factors affecting dispersal from the natal site are unknown (Poulin et al. 1996).  Studies involving banded birds have found that female nighthawks exhibit nest site fidelity (Dexter, 1961; Poulin et al. 1996). No data are available for males (Poulin et al. 1996).


Diet and Feeding Habits

The Common Nighthawk is an aerial insectivore that feeds primarily at dusk and dawn (Poulin et al. 1996) at heights varying from 1 m to more than 80 m (Brigham, 1990; Poulin et al. 1996). Unlike other species of nightjar which use echolocation, the Common Nighthawk visually detects its prey, aided by a highly developed tapetum lucidum, which improves its vision in low-light environments (Poulin et al. 1996). Where insect densities are high, the species can feed in groups ranging from a few dozen to several hundred individuals (Brigham and Fenton, 1991; Brigham and Barclay, 1995). In urban areas, nighthawks often forage near street and building lights, where they capture insects attracted by the light (Poulin et al. 1996). During breeding and migration periods, the species is regularly seen feeding on trichoptera over water (Montreal, Ouellet, 1974; Okanagan Valley, Firman et al. 1993; northwestern Saskatchewan, C. Savignac, pers. obs. 2005).

The diet of the Common Nighthawk includes a wide variety of insects (over 50 species), with the species showing a preference for homoptera, coleoptera, hymenoptera, diptera and orthoptera (Gross, 1940; Blem, 1972; Caccamise, 1974; Brigham, 1990; Brigham and Fenton, 1991; Firman et al. 1993; Todd et al. 1998). Analyses of stomach contents have shown that flying ants and coleoptera represent 25% (i.e. 200 to 1800 ants/stomach) and 20% of the total food eaten, respectively (n = 87 individuals, Gross, 1940).


Interspecific Interactions

The Common Nighthawk is aggressive toward other similar species, such as the Antillean Nighthawk and the Chuck-will’s-widow (Bjorklund and Bjorklund, 1983). However, it is subordinate to bats at some feeding sites (Shields and Bildstein, 1979). The Lesser Nighthawk excludes the Common Nighthawk from its territory in certain desert regions of the southern United States where insect densities are low (Caccamise, 1974).

Potential predators of adult nighthawks include domestic cats (Felix catus), American Kestrels (Falco sparverius) and Peregrine Falcons (Falco peregrinus) (Poulin et al. 1996). Predation of eggs and nestlings by the American Crow (Corvus brachyrhynchos), Common Raven (Corvus corax), gulls, owls, coyotes (Canis latrans), striped skunks (Mephitis mephitis), dogs, foxes and snakes is regularly reported (Marzilli, 1989; Wedgwood, 1991).


Home Range and Territory

The Common Nighthawk is highly territorial and males seldom cross territorial boundaries (Wedgwood, 1973). Average territory size varies according to habitat and is estimated at approximately 10 ha in urban areas (Rust, 1947; Armstrong, 1965; Wedgwood, 1973) and 28.3 ha in natural areas (Wedgwood, 1973). Territory size can also vary according to the availability of suitable nest sites, as demonstrated by a study carried out in Florida, where the average distance between 16 nests was only 73 m (Sutherland, 1963). In Saskatchewan, the density of Common Nighthawk territories is higher in urban areas (1 male/18.6 ha) than in suburban areas (1 male/36.6 ha, n = 48, Wedgwood, 1973).


Behaviour and Adaptability

Since the middle of the 19th century, the Common Nighthawk has adapted well to urban areas in which buildings with flat gravel roofs provide suitable nest sites (Poulin et al. 1996). The species has also benefited from the abundance of insects around city lights and artificial habitats, such as treatment ponds.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’Engoulevent d'Amérique au Canada

Biologie

Reproduction

L’Engoulevent d’Amérique atteint sa maturité sexuelle à un an (Poulin et al. 1996). Il pond généralement deux œufs, directement sur le sol, le sable, le gravier ou la roche nue (Dexter, 1952; Weller, 1958; Peck et James, 1983; Poulin et al. 1996; Sinclair et al. 2003). L’espèce a généralement une couvée par année, mais elle peut produire une deuxième couvée dans le sud de son aire de répartition (Weller, 1958). La ponte a habituellement lieu de la deuxième semaine de mai à la mi-août (Gauthier et Aubry, 1996; Poulin et al. 1996). Seule la femelle s’occupe de l’incubation, qui dure de 16 à 20 jours, selon la région (Rust, 1947; Foyle, 1946; Campbell et al. 1990). Les oisillons demeurent dans le nid de la mi-juin à la fin août (Poulin et al. 1996). Au cours de cette période, la femelle couve continuellement les oisillons tandis que le mâle nourrit la femelle et les oisillons au nid (Granza, 1967; Brigham, 1989). Les oisillons sont semi-précoces et sont en mesure de parcourir de courtes distances à la recherche d’ombre au cours des premiers jours (Gross, 1940). Les jeunes prennent leur premier envol après 18 jours et peuvent capturer leur premier insecte près du sol après 25 ou 30 jours (Gross, 1940; Rust, 1947). Ils ont atteints leur plein développement à l’âge de 45 à 52 jours (Gross, 1940; Rust, 1947). Au Québec, la période de dépendance après le départ du nid aurait lieu de la deuxième semaine de juin à la dernière semaine de juillet (Gauthier et Aubry, 1996). Au Yukon, des juvéniles dépendant des adultes et n’étant pas encore en mesure de voler sur de longues distances ont été signalés aussi tardivement que le 22 août (Sinclair et al. 2003).


Survie

Il existe très peu de données sur les taux annuels de survie chez les adultes dans les aires de reproduction et d’hivernage. En outre, aucune étude n’a été menée sur le succès de reproduction ou les taux de survie des oisillons après l’envol (Poulin et al. 1996). La durée de vie moyenne de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique est de quatre à cinq ans (Poulin et al. 1996), bien que des oiseaux bagués de neuf ans aient déjà été signalés (Dexter, 1961). De même, des températures extrêmement élevées sur les surfaces de toit en été (c.-à-d. 60 °C) peuvent provoquer la mort des oisillons (Gross, 1940).


Déplacements et dispersion

L’Engoulevent d’Amérique est l’une des espèces d’Amérique du Nord parcourant la plus grande distance nord-sud pendant la migration (Poulin et al. 1996). Il arrive au Canada du début mai au début juin (Weir, 1989; Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003) et migre vers l’Amérique du Sud de la mi-août à la mi-septembre (Ouellet, 1974; Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003). Les vols de migration automnaux sont souvent associés à l’émergence de fourmis volantes (hyménoptères) en août (Poulin et al. 1996) et comptent des volées de 10 à 16 000 individus (Ouellet, 1974; Tuft, 1986; Weir, 1989; Poulin et al. 1996).

Les facteurs ayant une incidence sur la dispersion du site natal sont inconnus (Poulin et al. 1996). Selon des études sur des oiseaux bagués, les femelles sont fidèles au site de nidification (Dexter, 1961; Poulin et al. 1996). Il n’existe aucune donnée sur les mâles (Poulin et al. 1996).


Alimentation et habitudes alimentaires

L’Engoulevent d’Amérique est un insectivore aérien se nourrissant principalement à l’aube et au crépuscule (Poulin et al. 1996), à des hauteurs variant de 1 à 80 m (Brigham, 1990; Poulin et al. 1996). Contrairement à d’autres espèces d’engoulevents qui ont recours à l’écholocalisation, l’Engoulevent d’Amérique détecte visuellement ses proies, à l’aide de son tapis choroïdien très développé, qui améliore sa vision dans les milieux à faible luminosité (Poulin et al. 1996). Si la densité des insectes est élevée, l’espèce peut se nourrir en groupes allant de quelques dizaines à plusieurs centaines d’individus (Brigham et Fenton, 1991; Brigham et Barclay, 1995). En milieu urbain, les engoulevents se nourrissent souvent près des réverbères et des lumières des immeubles, où ils capturent des insectes attirés par la lumière (Poulin et al. 1996). Au cours des périodes de reproduction et de migration, l’espèce est fréquemment observée se nourrissant de trichoptères au-dessus de l’eau (Montréal, Ouellet, 1974; vallée de l’Okanagan, Firman et al. 1993; nord-ouest de la Saskatchewan, C. Savignac, obs. pers., 2005).

L’Engoulevent d’Amérique se nourrit d’une grande variété d’insectes (plus de 50 espèces), mais il préfère les homoptères, les coléoptères, les hyménoptères, les diptères et les orthoptères (Gross, 1940; Blem, 1972; Caccamise, 1974; Brigham, 1990; Brigham et Fenton, 1991; Firman et al. 1993; Todd et al. 1998). Des analyses de contenu stomacal ont montré que les fourmis volantes et les coléoptères représentaient respectivement 25 p. 100 (c.-à-d. de 200 à 1 800 fourmis/estomac) et 20 p. 100 de la nourriture totale ingérée (n = 87 individus, Gross, 1940).


Relations interspécifiques

L’Engoulevent d’Amérique est agressif envers les autres espèces semblables, telles que l’Engoulevent piramidig et l’Engoulevent de Caroline (Bjorklund et Bjorklund, 1983). Toutefois, il est subordonné aux chauves-souris à certains sites d’alimentation (Shields et Bildstein, 1979). L’Engoulevent minime exclut l’Engoulevent d’Amérique de son territoire dans certaines régions désertiques du sud des États-Unis, où les densités d’insectes sont faibles (Caccamise, 1974).

Parmi les prédateurs potentiels des engoulevents adultes, il y a le chat domestique (Felix catus), la Crécerelle d’Amérique (Falco sparverius) et le Faucon pèlerin (Falco peregrinus) (Poulin et al. 1996). Les œufs et les nids sont fréquemment la proie de la Corneille d’Amérique (Corvus brachyrhynchos), du Grand Corbeau (Corvus corax), des mouettes et goélands, des strigidés, du coyote (Canis latrans), de la mouffette rayée (Mephitis mephitis), des chiens, des renards et des serpents (Marzilli, 1989; Wedgwood, 1991).


Domaine vital et territoire

L’Engoulevent d’Amérique a un comportement extrêmement territorial, et les mâles franchissent rarement les limites territoriales (Wedgwood, 1973). La taille moyenne du territoire varie selon l’habitat; en milieu urbain, il est estimé à 10 ha (Rust, 1947; Armstrong, 1965; Wedgwood, 1973) et à 28,3 ha dans les zones naturelles (Wedgwood, 1973). En outre, la taille du territoire peut varier selon l’existence de sites de nidification propices, tel que l’a montré une étude menée en Floride, où la distance moyenne entre 16 nids n’était que de 73 m (Sutherland, 1963). En Saskatchewan, la densité des territoires de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique est plus élevée en milieu urbain (1 mâle/18,6 ha) qu’en banlieue (1 mâle/36,6 ha, n = 48, Wedgwood, 1973).


Comportement et adaptabilité

Depuis le milieu du XIXe siècle, l’Engoulevent d’Amérique s’est bien adapté aux milieux urbains où les immeubles aux toits couverts de gravier fournissent des sites de nidification propices (Poulin et al. 1996). L’espèce a également tiré profit de l’abondance d’insectes près des réverbères et des habitats artificiels, tels que les bassins de traitement.