Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Common Nighthawk in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

Search Effort

Breeding Bird Survey (BBS)

The BBS is a large-scale monitoring program that surveys North American bird populations during the breeding season (Sauer et al. 2005). Bird abundance data are collected by volunteers, who record all birds seen and heard within a 400 m radius circle at stops positioned every 800 m along roads (Downes et al. 2005). Although the BBS can track Common Nighthawks because the species is highly visible (Poulin et al. 1996; Sauer et al. 2005), it is considered to have only Fair accuracy for establishing population indices (Rich et al. 2004). One limitation of this method for tracking Common Nighthawks in Canada is that regions, such as the boreal forest, will not be as well represented as the more southerly and populated parts of the breeding range. Additionally, because the birds are crepuscular they tend to be detected only on the first stops of a BBS route on a given day.This limitation is somewhat countered by the fact that the species is detected on a large number of routes, providing a good sample size for trends (P. Blancher pers. comm. 2006).

Étude des populations des oiseaux du Québec (EPOQ)

In Quebec, the EPOQ database, which manages ornithological checklist data provided by thousands of volunteers since 1969, is the tool of choice for examining bird population trends in Quebec (Cyr and Larivée, 1995). The EPOQ database primarily covers regions (i.e. St. Lawrence lowlands) south of the 52nd parallel and includes all seasons (Cyr and Larivée, 1995). The main disadvantage of this method is that it tends to cover mostly inhabited areas where access is easier.

Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas

The Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas surveyed breeding bird populations in Ontario during the periods of 1981-1985 and 2001-2005. It provides information on changes in the distribution of Common Nighthawks in the province in the 20 years between surveys (Cadman et al. 1987; Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas, 2006). Population trends are determined by comparing the percentage of 10 X 10 km squares reporting Common Nighthawks between the two time periods and also by comparing the number of squares per 100 km x 100 km block divided by the total number of squares/block surveyed.

Additional Surveys

In British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba, information on Common Nighthawk trends comes mostly from local ornithological knowledge (i.e. notes and observations from amateur ornithologists, see Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003) and includes counts of migrating birds as they pass fixed stations in Manitoba (Taylor, 1996) and mapping of breeding bird territories in Saskatchewan (Wedgwood, 1973).


Abundance

According to BBS abundance estimates (after Rich et al. 2004), the current population of Common Nighthawks in Canada, is approximately 400,000 breeding adults or 200 000 breeding pairs (P. Blancher, pers. comm. 2007). 

Other than the estimates provided by the BBS, very few studies exist which assess the abundance of the Common Nighthawk in Canada. Data on the density of the species are only available for the Saskatoon and Cluff Lake areas in Saskatchewan. Reported densities range from a minimum of 0.03 male/ha in urban areas around Saskatoon (Wedgwood, 1973) to 0.11 male/ha (33 males/24 stops) in boreal forest dominated by a 25 year old burn in the Cluff Lake area (C. Savignac, unpubl. data 2005).


Fluctuations and Trends

Breeding Bird Survey

In the United States, where most of the breeding population of Common Nighthawks occurs, the long-term BBS data show a significant decline of 1.83% per year (n = 1498 routes, P < 0.00) between 1968 and 2005 and, on the short-term, a significant decline of 1.58% per year (n = 995, P = 0.02) between 1995 and 2005 (Sauer et al. 2005). 

 In Canada, long-term BBS data show a significant decline of 4.2% per year (n = 312 routes, P < 0.05) between 1968 and 2005, which corresponds to an 80% decline in population over this time period (Downes et al. 2005; Figure 2). In the most recent 10-year period (1995-2005), BBS data show a significant decline of 6.6% per year (n = 164 routes, P < 0.05), which amounts to a 49.5% decrease in the population (Downes et al. 2005). BBS routes in parts of the boreal forest also show declines on both the long and short-term (Boreal Taiga Plains: 1968-2005: -13.7%/year, n = 47 routes, P <0.05; 1995-2006: -17.5%/year, n = 23 routes, P > 0.05; Boreal Hardwood: 1968-2005: -6.8%/year, n = 40 routes, P <0.05). 

Étude des populations des oiseaux du Québec

The EPOQ database for Quebec shows a significant long-term decline of 0.24% per year (Y = -0.0024x + 4.9, P £0.01) between 1970 and 2004 (Larivée, 2005; Figure 3) and a non-significant short-term decline of 0.20% per year (Y = -0.002x + 4.6, =  0.25) between 1991 and 2004 (Larivée, 2005).

Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas

A comparison of data from the first (1981-1985) to the second (2001-2005) atlas period shows a decrease in the number of squares reporting a Common Nighthawk between the two survey periods (1981-1985: 38% of squares, 2001-2005: 21%, Cadman et al. 1987; A. Darwin unpubl. data 2005). Similarly, the number of 100 x 100 km blocks where there were fewer squares with Common Nighthawks in the second atlas than the first (n = 115) was greater than the number of blocks where the squares with nighthawks had increased (n = 14) or stayed the same (n = 1) (Wilcoxon Sign test 2-tailed = -8.8, P £0.001; A. Darwin, unpubl. data 2005).


Figure 2: Annual Index of Abundance for the Common Nighthawk in Canada Between 1968 and 2005 According to BBS Data

Figure 2: Annual index of abundance for the Common Nighthawk in Canada between 1968 and 2005 according to Breeding Bird Survey data.

From Downes et al. 2005.


Figure 3: Annual Index of Abundance for the Common Nighthawk in Quebec Between 1970 and 2004 According to the EPOQ Database

Figure 3: Annual index of abundance for the Common Nighthawk in Quebec between 1970 and 2004 according to the EPOQ database.

Larivée, 2005.

Recent results show significant declines between the two atlas periods in the Southern Shield Region, one of the population strongholds for this species in Ontario, of 31% and declines in the Carolinian (14%), Simcoe-Rideau (21%), and Northern Shield (20%) Regions (L. Friesen, pers. comm. 2007). The only region that did not report a significant decline was the Hudson Bay Lowlands, lying at the extreme northern edge of the species’ range (L. Friesen, pers. comm. 2007).


Additional Surveys

Manitoba

Although the species is still relatively abundant and widely distributed throughout the province, data coming primarily from the ornithological community of Manitoba indicate that the species has declined in several urban centres, including Winnipeg (Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003; P. Taylor pers. comm. 2005). Visual counts of migrating birds (probably from the boreal forest) in the Pinawa area suggest that the species declined by 75% between the periods 1976-1981 and 1992-1997 (Taylor, 1996; P. Taylor pers. comm. 2005; Figure 4).  However, counts increased during the 2000-2005 period (P. Taylor pers. comm. 2005).

Saskatchewan

The comparison of an exhaustive Common Nighthawk survey in Saskatoon from 1971 to 1990 suggested a decline in breeding populations of 58% (i.e. 68 territories in 1971 vs. 28 in 1990, Wedgwood, 1991).


Figure 4: Distribution of Sunset Count Totals of Common Nighthawks (usually feeding flocks) During the Fall Migration Peak (11-25 August) at Pinawa, MB Sewage Lagoons for Three 6-year Periods

Figure 4: Distribution of sunset count totals of Common Nighthawks (usually feeding flocks) during the fall migration peak (11-25 August) at Pinawa, Manitoba sewage lagoons for three 6-year periods.

Counts during the periods 1992-1997 (n=51) and 2000-2005 (n=24) were more frequent and systematic than in 1976-1981 (n=19). The values on the x axis are individual counts assigned a percentile ranking between 0 and 100 to normalize the x-axis and allow comparisons across the three time periods (P. Taylor, unpubl. data).


Historical

Historical references to Common Nighthawk abundance are also consistent with the decline suggested by the above survey data. For instance, in the mid-1800s in the Montreal area, the species was considered a common resident that nested on the gravel rooftops of city houses (Wintle, 1882, 1896 in Ouellet, 1974). In the 1970s, the species was also considered a common summer resident in the Montreal and Montérégie areas and nested in small numbers in all cities and towns, although the species was not as common as in the 1800s (Ouellet, 1974). More recently, a significant decline in the species has been reported in these areas and in several other towns of the St. Lawrence Valley, notably Rimouski, Quebec City and Gatineau (J. Larivée pers. comm. 2005; J. Gauthier pers. comm. 2005).

In the early 1900s in Ontario, the species was considered abundant by Macoun and Macoun (1909). A decline was first reported in the early 1970s (Goodwin and Rosche, 1970, 1974).

In summary, both long and short-term BBS data, including routes in the boreal forest, show significant declines in the abundance of Common Nighthawk populations. Further, counts from Manitoba, which likely sample birds on migration from the boreal forest, have also shown long-term declines. These results are consistent with provincial surveys (e.g. Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas) that also show declines in nighthawk abundance. Although it is not clear what portion of the population occurs outside the populated areas (e.g. the boreal forest), the evidence suggests) that the observed declines are widespread across the breeding range.


Rescue Effect

BBS data for the United States, the potential source of immigrants for Canada, also show significant long and short-term declines in nighthawks (see above).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’Engoulevent d'Amérique au Canada

Taille et tendances des populations

Activités de recherche

Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs (BBS)

Le BBS est un programme de surveillance à grande échelle qui étudie les populations d’oiseaux d’Amérique du Nord au cours de la saison de reproduction (Sauer et al. 2005). Les données sur l’abondance des oiseaux sont recueillies par des bénévoles, qui consignent tous les oiseaux aperçus et entendus dans un rayon de 400 m à des arrêts situés tous les 800 m le long de parcours (Downes et al. 2005). Bien que les observateurs du BBS puissent suivre les Engoulevents d’Amérique en raison de la grande visibilité de l’espèce (Poulin et al. 1996; Sauer et al. 2005), la précision de ce relevé n’est considérée que comme modérée pour l’établissement d’indices de populations (Rich et al. 2004). Une des limites de cette méthode de suivi est que  certaines régions , telles que la forêt boréale, ne seront pas aussi bien représentées que les parties plus au sud et plus peuplées de l’aire de reproduction. En outre, puisqu’il s’agit d’une espèce crépusculaire, elle tend à n’être détectée qu’aux premiers arrêts d’un parcours du BBS au cours d’une journée donnée. Cette limite est toutefois contrée par le fait que l’espèce est détectée dans bon nombre de parcours, ce qui offre une taille d’échantillon permettant de dégager des tendances (P. Blancher, comm. pers., 2006).

Étude des populations des oiseaux du Québec (ÉPOQ)

Au Québec, la base de données de l’ÉPOQ, qui contient des renseignements de feuillets d’observations de milliers de bénévoles depuis 1969, représente l’outil de choix pour l’examen des tendances de populations d’oiseaux au Québec (Cyr et Larivée, 1995). La base de données de l’ÉPOQ couvre essentiellement les régions situées au sud du 52e parallèle (c.-à-d. les basses terres du Saint-Laurent) et inclut toutes les saisons (Cyr et Larivée, 1995). Cependant, la méthode couvre surtout les zones habitées faciles d’accès, ce qui constitue son principal inconvénient.

Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario

L’Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario contient des données sur les relevés des populations d’oiseaux nicheurs de cette province effectués entre 1981 et 1985 et entre 2001 et 2005. Il fournit des renseignements sur les changements de la répartition ontarienne des Engoulevents d’Amérique au cours des 20 années séparant les deux périodes de relevés (Cadman et al. 1987; Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario, 2006). Les tendances de populations sont établies par la comparaison du pourcentage de carrés de 10 km x 10 km dans lesquels des Engoulevents d’Amérique ont été signalés entre les deux périodes ainsi que par la comparaison du nombre de carrés par blocs de 100 km x 100 km, divisé par le nombre de carrés/bloc inventoriés.

Autres relevés

En Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba, les données sur les tendances de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique proviennent en majorité du savoir ornithologique local (c.-à-d. des notes et des observations des ornithologues amateurs, voir Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003) et comprennent des dénombrements d’oiseaux migrateurs effectués au moment où ceux-ci passent par des stations fixes, au Manitoba (Taylor, 1996), ainsi que la cartographie des territoires de reproduction des oiseaux, en Saskatchewan (Wedgwood, 1973).


Abondance

Selon les estimations d’abondance du BBS (d’après Rich et al. 2004), la population actuelle d’Engoulevents d’Amérique au Canada compte quelque 400 000 adultes reproducteurs ou 200 000 couples reproducteurs (P. Blancher, comm. pers., 2007).

Outre les estimations du BBS, il existe très peu d’études évaluant l’abondance de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique au Canada. On connaît des données sur la densité de l’espèce uniquement pour les régions de Saskatoon et du lac Cluff, en Saskatchewan. Les densités signalées s’étendent de 0,03 mâle/ha dans les milieux urbains près de Saskatoon (Wedgwood, 1973) à 0,11 mâle/ha (33 mâles/24 arrêts) dans la forêt boréale dominée par un brûlis de 25 ans dans la région du lac Cluff (C. Savignac, données inédites, 2005).


Fluctuations et tendances

Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs

Aux États-Unis, où se trouve la majeure partie de la population reproductrice d’Engoulevents d’Amérique, les données à long terme du BBS montrent un déclin significatif de 1,83 p. 100 par année (n = 1 498 parcours, P < 0,00) de 1968 à 2005 et, à court terme, de 1,58 p. 100 par année (n = 995, P = 0,02) de 1995 à 2005 (Sauer et al. 2005).

Au Canada, les données à long terme du BBS montrent un déclin significatif de 4,2 p. 100 par année (n = 312 parcours, P < 0,05) entre 1968 et 2005, ce qui correspond à un déclin de 80 p. 100 de la population au cours de cette période (Downes et al. 2005; figure 2). Au cours de la période de 10 ans la plus récente (de 1995 à 2005), les données du BBS indiquent un déclin significatif de 6,6 p. 100 par année (n = 164 parcours, P < 0,05), ce qui correspond à une diminution de 49,5 p. 100 de la population (Downes et al. 2005). Les parcours du BBS dans certaines parties de la forêt boréale indiquent également des déclins à court et à long terme (plaines de la taïga boréale : de 1968 à 2005 : - 13,7 p. 100/année, n = 47 parcours, P < 0,05; de 1995 à 2006 : - 17,5 p. 100/année, n = 23 parcours, P > 0,05; forêt mixte boréale : de 1968 à 2005 : - 6,8 p. 100/année, n = 40 parcours, P < 0,05).

Étude des populations des oiseaux du Québec

La base de données de l’ÉPOQ indique une diminution significative à long terme au Québec de 0,24 p. 100 par année (Y = -0,0024x + 4,9, P £0,01) de 1970 à 2004 (Larivée, 2005; figure 3) et un déclin non significatif à court terme de 0,20 p. 100 par année (Y = -0,002x + 4,6, P = 0,25) de 1991 à 2004 (Larivée, 2005).

Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario

La comparaison entre les données du premier (de 1981 à 1985) et du deuxième (de 2001 à 2005) atlas indique un déclin du nombre de carrés dans lesquels un Engoulevent d’Amérique a été signalé (de 1981 à 1985 : 38 p. 100 des carrés; de 2001 à 2005 : 21 p. 100, Cadman et al. 1987; A. Darwin, données inédites, 2005). De même, il y avait plus de blocs de 100 x 100 km dans lesquels le nombre de carrés comptant des Engoulevents d’Amérique avait diminué entre le deuxième et le premier atlas (n = 115) que de blocs dans lesquels le nombre de carrés en comptant avait augmenté (n = 14) ou était resté stable (n = 1) (test bilatéral de Wilcoxon Sign test 2-tailed = -8,8, P £0,001; A. Darwin, données inédites, 2005).


Figure 2 : Indice annuel de l’abondance de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique au Canada de 1968 à 2005 selon les données du BBS

Figure 2 : Indice annuel de l’abondance de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique au Canada de 1968 à 2005 selon les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs.

Tiré de Downes et al. 2005.


Figure 3 : Indice annuel de l’abondance de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique au Québec de 1970 à 2004 selon la base de données de l’ÉPOQ

Figure 3 : Indice annuel de l’abondance de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique au Québec de 1970 à 2004 selon la base de données de l'Étude des populations des oiseaux du Québec.

Larivée, 2005.

Des résultats récents indiquent des déclins significatifs de 31 p. 100 entre les deux atlas dans le sud du Bouclier, l’un des châteaux forts de l’espèce en Ontario, de même que dans les régions carolinienne (14 p. 100), de Simcoe-Rideau (21 p. 100) et du nord du Bouclier (20 p. 100) (L. Friesen, comm. pers., 2007). Les basses terres de la baie d’Hudson, à l’extrémité septentrionale de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce, forment la seule région où des déclins significatifs n’ont pas été signalés (L. Friesen, comm. pers., 2007).


Autres relevés 

Manitoba

Bien que l’espèce soit toujours relativement abondante et répandue dans toute la province, des données provenant essentiellement de la communauté ornithologique manitobaine indiquent qu’elle a connu un déclin dans plusieurs centres urbains, y compris Winnipeg (Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003; P. Taylor, comm. pers., 2005). Des dénombrements visuels d’oiseaux migrateurs (probablement de la forêt boréale) menés dans la région de Pinawa laissent à penser que l’espèce a connu un déclin de 75 p. 100 de 1976-1981 à 1992-1997 (Taylor, 1996; P. Taylor, comm. pers., 2005; figure 4). Cependant, les nombres ont augmenté au cours de la période de 2000 à 2005 (P. Taylor, comm. pers., 2005).


Figure 4 : Répartition des dénombrements totaux d’Engoulevents d’Amérique au coucher du soleil (se nourrissant généralement en volées) au cours du point culminant de la migration automnale (du 11 au 25 août) à Pinawa (Manitoba) observés à des étangs d’eaux usées pendant trois périodes de six ans

Figure 4 : Répartition des dénombrements totaux d’Engoulevents d’Amérique au coucher du soleil (se nourrissant généralement en volées) au cours du point culminant de la migration automnale (du 11 au 25 août) à Pinawa (Manitoba) observés à des étangs d’eaux usées pendant trois périodes de six ans.

Les dénombrements étaient plus fréquents et systématiques pendant les périodes de 1992 à 1997 (n = 51) et de 2000 à 2005 (n = 24) que pendant celle de 1976 à 1981 (n = 19). Les valeurs de l’axe des x représentent des dénombrements auxquels un centile de 0 à 100 a été attribué pour normaliser l’axe des x et ainsi permettre de comparer les trois périodes (P. Taylor, données inédites).

Saskatchewan

La comparaison d’un relevé exhaustif d’Engoulevents d’Amérique mené à Saskatoon de 1971 à 1990 laisse supposer un déclin des populations reproductrices de 58 p. 100 (c.-à-d. 68 territoires en 1971 comparativement à 28 en 1990, Wedgwood, 1991).


Données historiques

Les données historiques sur l’abondance de l’Engoulevent d’Amérique correspondent également aux déclins que les données de relevés ci-dessus semblent indiquer. Par exemple, au milieu du XIXe siècle, dans la région de Montréal, l’espèce était considérée comme une résidente commune qui nichait sur les toits couverts de gravier des immeubles de la ville (Wintle, 1882, 1896 dans Ouellet, 1974) et, dans les années 1970, comme une résidente estivale commune de la région de Montréal et de la Montérégie qui nichait en petits nombres dans toutes les villes et les municipalités, même si elle n’était pas aussi fréquente qu’au XIXe siècle (Ouellet, 1974). Récemment, un déclin important de l’espèce a été signalé dans ces régions et dans plusieurs autres villes de la vallée du Saint-Laurent, notamment Rimouski, Québec et Gatineau (J. Larivée, comm. pers., 2005; J. Gauthier, comm. pers., 2005).

En Ontario, au début du XXe siècle, Macoun et Macoun (1909) considéraient l’espèce comme abondante. Un premier déclin a été signalé au début des années 1970 (Goodwin et Rosche, 1970, 1974).

En résumé, les données du BBS à court et à long terme, y compris des parcours dans la forêt boréale, indiquent des déclins significatifs de l’abondance des populations d’Engoulevents d’Amérique. De plus, des dénombrements du Manitoba, qui inventorient vraisemblablement des oiseaux en migration provenant de la forêt boréale, indiquent également des déclins à long terme. Ces résultats correspondent aux relevés provinciaux (p. ex. Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario), qui indiquent également un déclin de l’abondance des engoulevents. Bien que la portion de la population présente à l’extérieur des zones peuplées ne soit pas claire (p. ex. forêt boréale), les données laissent entendre que les déclins observés sont très répandus dans l’ensemble de l’aire de reproduction.


Immigration de source externe

Les données du BBS aux États-Unis, qui constituent la source potentielle d’immigrants au Canada, indiquent également des déclins significatifs à court et à long terme chez les engoulevents (voir ci-dessus).