Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the American Columbo in Canada

Biographical Summary of Report Writers

Tyler Smith completed a B.Sc. in Ecology at the University of Guelph. He has eleven years professional experience as a naturalist and field biologist.  He was employed as the field botanist for Royal Botanical Gardens from 1998 until 2002, where he was responsible for curating the RBG herbarium (HAM), vegetation monitoring for the Cootes Paradise wetland restoration, and development and implementation of conservation projects for species at risk. He is currently a Ph.D. candidate in the Plant Science Department at McGill University, researching the systematics and ecology of Carex section Porocystis. Tyler has published a number of articles and reports on habitat restoration, endangered species conservation, and the flora of Hamilton, including the recovery plan for few-flowered club-rush (Trichophorum planifolium). He co-authored the COSEWIC update status report for small-flowered lipocarpha (Lipocarpha micrantha), broad beech-fern (Phegopteris hexagonoptera), and green dragon (Arisaema dracontium).

Carl Rothfels graduated from McMaster University with a B.A.Sc. Combined Honours Biology. He has been a naturalist in a professional capacity since the early 1990s, including six years as an interpretive naturalist in Algonquin Provincial Park. While at Algonquin he undertook the curation of the Algonquin Museum Herbarium (APM), and updated the Checklist of the Vascular Plants of Algonquin Provincial Park. He has published several articles on the distribution and ecology of exotic species, including Lythrum hyssopifolia L. and Hesperis matronalis L., and he has contributed dozens of new plant records for Algonquin Park, York Region, and the new City of Hamilton. Carl is currently employed as the principal researcher for Royal Botanical Gardens’ rare and endangered plants program, as the curator of their herbarium (HAM), and as their natural lands steward.  In addition to his botanical experience, Carl is an avid birder and entomologist. He co-authored the COSEWIC update status reports for broad beech-fern (Phegopteris hexagonoptera) and green dragon (Arisaema dracontium).

Erica Oberndorfer graduated from McMaster University with an Honours B.A.Sc. She has worked on a number of ecological restoration and conservation projects at the Royal Botanical Gardens, including fieldwork contributions to the few-flowered club-rush (Trichophorum planifolium) recovery plan and the small-flowered lipocarpha (Lipocarpha micrantha) status report, the joint RBG and Six Nations ethnobotany project, and ecological restoration monitoring. She completed an internship in greenroof technology in Germany in 2001, and continues to be very active in green community initiatives. She was the Nature Reserves Stewardship Coordinator for the Federation of Ontario Naturalists from 2003 to 2004 and worked extensively on management planning for alvars.  Erica is currently an M.Sc. candidate in the Biology Department at St. Mary’s University in Halifax, researching plant diversity maintenance in coastal barrens.


Collections Examined

No additional herbarium material was examined in the preparation of this update report. In preparing the original status report Crins and Sharp examined specimens from the following herbaria: Canadian Museum of Nature (CAN), Ottawa, ON; Agriculture and Agri-food Canada (DAO), Ottawa, ON; University of Guelph (OAC), Guelph, ON; Royal Ontario Museum (TRT), Toronto, ON; Erindale College, University of Toronto (TRTE), Toronto, ON; University of Western Ontario (UWO), London, ON; University of Waterloo (WAT), Waterloo, ON. They also confirmed that no F. caroliniensis specimens were held by the herbaria at Queen’s University (QK, Kingston, ON), University of Windsor (WOCB, Windsor, ON), and Wilfred Laurier University (WLU, Waterloo, ON) (Crins and Sharp, 1993).

 

Page 15

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la frasère de Caroline au Canada – Mise à jour

Sommaire biographique des rédacteurs du rapport

Tyler Smith détient un B.Sc. en écologie de la University of Guelph. Il possède onze années d’expérience professionnelle comme naturaliste et biologiste de terrain. De 1998 à 2002, à titre de botaniste de terrain aux Jardins botaniques royaux, il a assuré la conservation de l’herbier (HAM) de cet établissement, il a surveillé la végétation dans le cadre de la restauration des milieux humides de Cootes Paradise, et il a élaboré et mis en œuvre divers projets de conservation pour des espèces en péril. Il prépare actuellement un doctorat au Département de sciences végétales de l’Université McGill, sur la systématique et l’écologie des Carex de la section Porocystis. Tyler Smith a publié plusieurs articles et rapports sur la restauration des milieux, la conservation des espèces en voie de disparition et la flore de Hamilton; il a notamment rédigé le plan de rétablissement du trichophore à feuilles plates (Trichophorum planifolium). Il a corédigé la mise à jour de trois rapports de situation du COSEPAC, sur le lipocarphe à petites fleurs (Lipocarpha micrantha), la phégoptéride à hexagones (Phegopteris hexagonoptera) et l’arisème dragon (Arisaema dracontium).

Carl Rothfels détient un B.A.Sc. Combined Honours en biologie de la McMaster University. Il est naturaliste professionnel depuis le début des années 1990, et a notamment travaillé pendant six années comme naturaliste-interprète au parc provincial Algonquin, où il s’est chargé de la conservation de l’herbier du musée (APM) et de la mise à jour de la liste des plantes vasculaires du parc. Il a publié plusieurs articles sur la répartition et l’écologie d’espèces exotiques, dont le Lythrum hyssopifolia L. et l’Hesperis matronalis L., et il a signalé des douzaines d’espèces végétales qui n’avaient jamais été recensées dans le parc Algonquin, la région de York ou la nouvelle ville de Hamilton. Carl Rothfels est actuellement chercheur principal au programme des plantes rares ou en voie de disparition des Jardins botaniques royaux, à titre de conservateur de l’herbier (HAM) et d’intendant des terres naturelles de l’établissement. Il est également actif dans les domaines de l’ornithologie et de l’entomologie. Il a corédigé la mise à jour de deux rapports de situation du COSEPAC, sur la phégoptéride à hexagones (Phegopteris hexagonoptera) et l’arisème dragon (Arisaema dracontium).

Erica Oberndorfer détient un B.A.Sc. Honours de la McMaster University. Elle a travaillé à plusieurs projets de conservation et de restauration écologiques aux Jardins botaniques royaux, où elle a notamment participé à des travaux de terrain en vue du plan de rétablissement du trichophore à feuilles plates (Trichophorum planifolium) et du rapport de situation sur le lipocarphe à petites fleurs (Lipocarpha micrantha). Elle a également participé à un projet d’ethnobotanique mené conjointement par les Jardins botaniques royaux et les Six Nations ainsi qu’à la surveillance de divers travaux de restauration écologique. En 2001, elle a terminé un stage en technologie des toits verts, en Allemagne, et elle est toujours très active dans certains projets de verdissement des collectivités. De 2003 à 2004, elle a coordonné l’intendance des réserves naturelles appartenant à la Federation of Ontario Naturalists, et elle a beaucoup travaillé à l’élaboration de plans d’aménagement pour les alvars. Erica Oberndorfer prépare actuellement une M.Sc. au département de biologie de la Saint Mary’s University, à Halifax, sur le maintien de la diversité végétale des landes côtières.


Collections examinées

Aucun spécimen d’herbier additionnel n’a été examiné dans le cadre de la préparation de la présente mise à jour. Pour la préparation du rapport de situation original, Crins et Sharp (1993) ont examiné des spécimens se trouvant dans les herbiers suivants : Musée canadien de la nature (CAN), Ottawa ON; Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (DAO), Ottawa ON; University of Guelph (OAC), Guelph ON; Royal Ontario Museum (TRT), Toronto ON; Erindale College, University of Toronto (TRTE), Toronto ON; University of Western Ontario (UWO), London ON; University of Waterloo (WAT), Waterloo ON. Ils ont également pu confirmer qu’aucun spécimen de Frasera caroliniensisne se trouvait dans les herbiers suivants : Queen’s University (QK), Kingston ON; University of Windsor (WOCB), Windsor ON; Wilfred Laurier University (WLU), Waterloo ON.