Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Columbian Carpet Moss in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

Table 2 (Column B) lists limiting factors and threats for each site. Agricultural practices, including the elimination of wide areas of shrub-steppe to plant vineyards, and the disturbance by domesticated animals appear to be the most serious factors impacting populations of Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum. Other factors, including urban development, road building activities, hiking, and general (natural) erosion, are probably of less significance. Detailed studies are necessary to confirm the degree of threat of any of the above factors.

Vineyards completely eliminate all of the native vegetation when constructed. They are especially common in the south Okanagan valley, one of the centers of distribution in Canada for this moss species. Large areas of the shrub-steppe ecosystem have been lost over the past few decades, and will continue to be lost as more vineyards are developed. Site 1 has probably been lost due to this activity.

The impact from domesticated animals, in particular cattle, is common in arid land areas. Trampling of grazing herds reduces the cover of biological crusts in rangelands with the result, in some areas, of a near complete elimination of viable microbiotic ground cover. Populations of Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum will also be affected. Three of the confirmed populations are probably affected by trampling of cattle. However, these impacts do not completely eliminate the native crusts and they can readily recover once grazing is reduced or eliminated.

Urban development may impact populations. Collection Site 11 may have had its population size reduced by the expansion of a property. Road building and expansion, and erosion that may coincide following these activities may be impacting four populations. Other human impacts, in particular hiking, appear to have impacted, although slightly, eight populations. General (natural) erosion related to steep slopes is a concern at five sites, and may be responsible for the loss of the population at Collection Site 2.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’érythrophylle du Columbia au Canada

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

La colonne B du tableau 2 résume les facteurs limitatifs et les menaces auxquels est exposée l’espèce dans chaque site. Les pratiques agricoles, dont l’élimination de grandes superficies de steppe arbustive pour l’aménagement de vignobles, et la perturbation par les animaux domestiques semblent être les activités nuisant le plus aux populations de Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum. D’autres facteurs, comme l’expansion urbaine, la construction routière, la randonnée pédestre et l’érosion générale (naturelle), ont probablement une importance moindre, mais il faudrait des études plus approfondies pour établir le degré réel de menace associé à chacun de ces facteurs.

L’aménagement d’un verger a pour effet d’éliminer complètement la végétation indigène. Or, les vignobles sont particulièrement communs dans le sud de la vallée de l’Okanagan, un des centres de répartition du B. columbianum au Canada. De grandes superficies de steppe arbustive ont ainsi disparu au cours des dernières décennies, et d’autres disparaîtront à mesure que de nouveaux vignobles seront aménagés. Cette activité a probablement fait disparaître le site 1.

L’impact des animaux domestiques, et notamment des bovins, est commun dans les terrains arides. Dans les grands pâturages, le piétinement par les troupeaux réduit la couverture de croûte biologique du sol. Dans certains secteurs, on a même observé une absence quasi complète de couche microbienne viable. Les populations de Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum sont également affectées, et le piétinement par les bovins a probablement nui à trois des populations confirmées. Heureusement, le piétinement n’élimine pas complètement les croûtes biologiques indigènes, et celles-ci peuvent se rétablir facilement si on cesse ou limite l’utilisation du terrain comme pâturage.

L’expansion urbaine peut aussi avoir un impact sur les populations de l’espèce. Dans la localité 11, il se peut que la taille de la population ait été réduite par l’agrandissement d’une propriété. La construction et l’élargissement des routes ainsi que l’érosion consécutive à ces travaux ont peut-être un impact sur quatre des populations. D’autres activités humaines, et notamment la randonnée pédestre, semblent avoir eu un léger impact sur huit des populations. L’érosion générale naturelle associée aux versants escarpés est préoccupante dans cinq des sites et pourrait avoir fait disparaître la population de la localité 2.