Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Columbian Carpet Moss in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Columbian Carpet Moss
Bryoerythrophyllum Columbianum

Species Information

Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum, the Columbian carpet moss, is one of four species of Bryoerythrophyllum in North America. It is a small, often red-brown moss that grows in small clumps or compact turfs either as pure colonies or intermixed with other mosses and lichens. Its most distinctive features are the ovate-lanceolate leaves, sharp-pointed leaf tips, and the broad, somewhat ornamented leaf mid-ribs. It is dioicous, with male and female organs on separate stems.

 

Distribution

This species is a western North American endemic, and, in Canada, it appears to be restricted to British Columbia. It has a rather confined distribution in the province, found at 11 confirmed locations. It has been found in the south Okanagan Valley, near Kamloops, near Spence’s Bridge, and at one site along the Fraser River in the Cariboo Region. Elsewhere it is known from Washington, Oregon and California.

 

Habitat

This species is restricted to soils in semi-arid steppe and grassland habitats of British Columbia. The habitats of two of the known sites for Columbian carpet moss are heavily disturbed, four are moderately disturbed, and five are relatively undisturbed.

 

Biology

Columbian carpet moss is a perennial that grows over soil in semi-arid shrub-steppe and grassland environments. Sporophytes have been reported only once in Canadian populations and spores are probably of limited importance in the dispersal of this species. It may disperse and colonize open soils by fragmentation of fragile leaf tips

 

Population Sizes and Trends

This species is uncommon or rare in seven of its known locations, and widespread but uncommon in four sites. Populations appear stable in nine sites, and two may be declining, but trends are largely unknown. 

 

Limiting Factors and Threats

The most important threats are agricultural practices, including grazing and development of vineyards. However, urban development, road building, hiking, and general erosion also appear to be limiting factors and threats to Columbian carpet moss.

 

Special Significance of the Species

This species is a western North American endemic. The British Columbia populations may represent the northern extension of its range in North America. It is probably a contributing element in a healthy biological soil crust community characteristic of shrub-steppe habitats.

 

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

Most of the extant populations of this species are found on public-owned lands, either municipal or provincial, in particular crown lands. No legislation, regulations, customs, or conditions currently protect this species. Columbian carpet moss is listed as critically imperiled at the provincial level and it is Red-listed. Globally, it is ranked vulnerable.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’érythrophylle du Columbia au Canada

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Érythrophylle du Columbia
Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum

Information sur l’espèce

Le Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum, ou érythrophylle du Columbia, est une des quatre espèces que compte le genre Bryoerythrophyllum en Amérique du Nord. C’est une petite mousse, souvent de couleur brun-rouge, qui pousse en petites touffes ou en gazons denses. L’espèce peut former des colonies pures ou être mélangée à d’autres mousses et à des lichens. Elle se distingue principalement par ses feuilles ovées-lancéolées à pointe aiguë et à nervure large et plutôt ornementée. L’espèce est dioïque : les organes mâles et femelles sont produits par des tiges différentes.

 

Répartition

Le Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum est endémique de l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord. Au Canada, l’espèce semble n’être présente qu’en Colombie-Britannique, où sa répartition est plutôt restreinte. La présence de la mousse n’a été confirmée que dans 11 localités. L’espèce a été trouvée dans le sud de la vallée de l’Okanagan, près de Kamloops, près de Spences Bridge et dans une localité située le long du Fraser dans la région de Cariboo. Aux États-Unis, l’espèce a été signalée dans l’État de Washington, en Oregon et en Californie.

 

Habitat

En Colombie-Britannique, l’espèce pousse uniquement sur le sol de prairies et steppes semi-arides. Le terrain est très perturbé dans deux des sites, modérément perturbé dans quatre sites et relativement exempt de perturbation dans les cinq autres.

 

Biologie

Le Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum est une mousse vivace qui pousse sur le sol de prairies et steppes arbustives semi-arides. La présence de sporophytes a été signalée une seule fois dans une population canadienne, et les spores ne jouent sans doute qu’un rôle limité dans la dispersion de l’espèce. La mousse peut vraisemblablement se propager et coloniser les sols nus par fragmentation de la partie apicale de ses feuilles, qui est fragile.

 

Taille et tendances des populations

L’espèce est peu commune ou rare dans sept de ses sites connues, alors qu’elle est répandue mais peu commune dans les quatre autres. La population semble stable dans neuf des sites et en déclin dans les deux autres, mais on ne sait presque rien des tendances réelles.

 

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Les plus importantes menaces pesant sur leBryoerythrophyllum columbianum sont les activités agricoles, comme le pâturage et l’aménagement de vignobles. Cependant, l’expansion urbaine, la construction routière, la randonnée pédestre et l’érosion générale semblent également constituer des facteurs limitatifs et des menaces pour l’espèce.

 

Importance de l’espèce

Le Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum est une espèce endémique de l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord, et ses populations de Colombie-Britannique constituent sans doute la limite nord de sa répartition. Par ailleurs, lorsque l’espèce fait partie de la croûte biologique qui caractérise le sol des steppes arbustives, elle contribue sans doute à la santé de ces communautés.

 

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations

La plupart des populations canadiennes actuelles du Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum se trouvent sur des terrains municipaux ou provinciaux et notamment sur des terres de la Couronne. Aucune loi, réglementation, règle coutumière ou circonstance particulière ne protège actuellement l’espèce. Le B. columbianum figure sur la liste rouge de Colombie-Britannique et est considéré comme très menacé dans cette province. À l’échelle mondiale, l’espèce est jugée vulnérable.