Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Columbian Carpet Moss in Canada

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Columbian Carpet Moss
Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum
in Canada
2004

Species Information

Name and Classification

Scientific Name:
Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum (Herm. & Lawt.) Zand.
Pertinent Synonyms:
Didymodon columbianus Herm. & Lawt.
Common Name:
Columbian Carpet Moss
Family:
Pottiaceae
Major Plant Group:
Mosses (Musci)


The Pottiaceae is a large and diverse family of mosses with many of its species restricted to dry environments. It is a taxonomically difficult family and has been undergoing extensive review in recent times (Zander 1993). New genera have been created or the constraints of older genera have been changed to exclude some species and/or include others from different genera. One result is that a number of taxa formerly members of either Barbula or Didymodon have been placed into Bryoerythrophyllum, including Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum (Zander 1978), following its initial description as a species of Didymodon (Hermann & Lawton 1968). Bryoerythrophyllum consists of a group of species characterized by turf-forming to loosely caespitose plants, sometimes with red to reddish-brown colouration on older parts, crowded upper laminal papillae (wart-like bumps over the leaf surface) that often obscure the cells, and strongly differentiated basal leaf cells (Chen 1941, Zander 1993, 2002).

According to Zander (2000), there are three additional species of Bryoerythrophyllum in North America: B. ferruginascens (Stirt.) Giac., B. inaequalifolium (Tayl.) Zand., and B. recurvirostrum (Hedw.) Chen. Anderson et al. (1990) also reported B. recurvum (Griff.) Saito from North America, but this has been transferred to Bellibarbula as B. recurva (Griff.) Zand. (Zander 1993). Zander (2000) lists B. columbianum and B. recurvirostrum from Canada, and noted that B. ferruginascens has been reported from Newfoundland (R. Zander pers. comm. 2002). He suspects that B. inaequalifolium is present in Canada as well. Ireland et al. (1987) reported that Bjamesonii (Tayl.) Crum and, possibly, B. alpigenum (Vent.) Chen are also present in Canada, but Zander considers these species to be large forms of B. recurvirostrum.

Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum is distinguished from other species in the genus principally by leaf characteristics:

  1. its leaves end in sharp mucros consisting of elongate cells,
  2. rows of smooth cells are sometimes present along the distal leaf margins, and
  3. the costa, or leaf mid-rib, of B. columbianum is much wider at midleaf, and its upper surface bulges as a unistratose pad of cells.


Description

The following description has been derived from Zander (1993, 2000), Lawton (1971), McIntosh & Paige (2001), and from examination of herbarium specimens. Figure 1 is a composite illustration from Zander (2000) and shows many of the features discussed below.

Figure 1: Illustration of Plant, Leaves, and Cell Details of B. columbianum from the Bryophyte Flora of North America Project

Figure 1: Illustration of plant, leaves, and cell details of B. columbianum from the Bryophyte Flora of North America project.

Upper left is stem cross-section, center is leaf tip and cross-section near middle of leaf.

Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum is a perennial, acrocarpous (producing female structures and sporophytes at the tips of the main stems) moss species that grows in small clumps or compact turfs either as pure colonies or intermixed with other mosses and lichens. Stems branch at the base, and range from 2–6 mm in height, although smaller plants are common in provincial collections (1–3 mm stems are common in British Columbian collections). The leaves of B. columbianum are ovate-lanceolate to, less commonly, ovate, and usually sharply acute. They are stiffly erect to, rarely, twisted in some larger plants, imbricate (overlapping), and usually dark red-brown when dry, and erect-spreading, and sometimes green, when wet. Leaves range from 0.8–1.2 mm in length, although Zander (2000) notes that they can be somewhat longer. Leaf margins are entire and narrowly recurved from near the base almost to the apex.

The leaf midrib is up to 8 cells wide at midleaf, and the upper surface bulges forming a distinctive pad. The midrib is excurrent, forming a sharp mucro comprised of elongate cells, at least on the younger leaves. In older and eroded leaves, this apical cell is difficult to see or is absent, making species confirmation difficult in some specimens. The median and upper leaf cells of Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum are isodiametric to irregular-short-rectangular, are covered by small papillae, and range in size from 8–15 µm in diameter. The basal cells are smooth, thin-walled, and quadrate to short-rectangular.

Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum is dioicous, with male and female organs on separate stems. Leaves around the female sex organs are larger and more concave than the stem leaves, ranging from 1.6–1.8 mm in length, and often have plane margins. Sporophytes, which produce spores, mature in early spring, but are rarely found across its North American range. Its capsules (spore producing sacs) are long-exserted above the leaves on a dark seta (stem), and are cylindrical to ovate-cylindrical. They have conic-rostrate opercula (lids) and their peristomes, fringes of tooth-like appendages surrounding the mouth of the capsule, are rudimentary or absent. Its nearly smooth spores range in size from 8–13 µm.

In British Columbia, Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum can be confused with Didymodon vinealis (Brid.) Zand., a more common moss of similar habitats which also grows as red-brown patches over soil. This species can be distinguished from B. columbianum by its less recurved and, usually, more twisted upper leaves, at least when dry, its much narrower leaf mid-ribs, and the absence of a multi-cellular and sharply pointed leaf apex, although it does have a smaller and blunter conical cell at the leaf apex. Tortula atrovirens (Sm.) Lindb., formerly Desmatodon convolutus (Brid.) Grout, another red-brown and small taxon that is relatively common in silt-rich sites in the province, can also be confused with B. columbianum. It is distinguished from B. columbianum by its blunt leaf apices and generally tightly twisted habit when dry.

Taxonomic keys and additional illustrations are found in Lawton (1971, as Didymodon columbianus) and Zander (1978, 2000).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’érythrophylle du Columbia au Canada

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur
l’érythrophylle du Columbia
Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum
au Canada
2004

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Nom scientifique :
Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum (Herm. & Lawt.) Zand.
Synonyme pertinent :
Didymodon columbianus Herm. & Lawt.
Nom français :
érythrophylle du Columbia
Nom anglais :
Columbian carpet moss
Famille :
Pottiacées
Grand groupe végétal :
Mousses (Musci)


La famille des Pottiacées est grande et diversifiée, et un grand nombre de ses espèces ne poussent que dans les milieux secs. La famille présente des difficultés sur le plan taxinomique et a récemment fait l’objet d’une révision en profondeur (Zander, 1993). De nouveaux genres ont été créés, et les limites de certains genres existants ont été modifiées de manière à en exclure certaines espèces ou à y inclure des espèces qui appartenaient auparavant à d’autres genres. Plusieurs espèces des genres Barbula et Didymodon ont ainsi été placées dans le genre Bryoerythrophyllum (Zander, 1978). C’est notamment le cas du Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum, qui avait d’abord été décrit comme espèce du genre Didymodon (Hermann et Lawton, 1968). Dans ses limites actuelles, le genre Bryoerythrophyllum réunit des espèces gazonnantes à lâchement cespiteuses dont les diverses parties peuvent prendre une coloration brun rougeâtre en vieillissant; les cellules supérieures des feuilles sont densément recouvertes de papilles qui en obscurcissent souvent le contour, et les cellules basales sont fortement différenciées (Chen, 1941; Zander, 1993, 2002).

Selon Zander (2000), il existe trois autres espèces de Bryoerythrophyllum en Amérique du Nord : le B. ferruginascens (Stirt.) Giac., le B. inaequalifolium (Tayl.) Zand. et le B. recurvirostrum (Hedw.) Chen. Anderson et al. (1990) signalent également le B. recurvum (Griff.) Saito, mais cette espèce a été transférée au genre Bellibarbula et est ainsi devenue le Bellibarbularecurva (Griff.) Zand. (Zander, 1993). Selon Zander (2000), les deux espèces de Bryoerythrophyllum présentes au Canada sont le B. columbianum et le B. recurvirostrum. R. Zander (comm. pers., 2002) mentionne en outre que le B. ferruginascens a été signalé à Terre-Neuve et que le B.inaequalifolium est sans doute également présent au Canada. Selon Ireland et al. (1987), le B. jamesonii (Tayl.) Crum et peut-être le B. alpigenum (Vent.) Chen seraient aussi présents au Canada, mais Zander considère que ces espèces ne sont en fait que des formes de grandes dimensions du B. recurvirostrum.


Le Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum se distingue des autres espèces du genre surtout par certains caractères de la feuille :

  1. la pointe se termine par un mucron aigu constitué de cellules allongées;
  2. les marges supérieures sont parfois bordées de plusieurs rangs de cellules non papilleuses;
  3. la nervure est beaucoup plus large (à mi-longueur) que chez les autres espèces, et elle forme un bourrelet d’épaisseur unicellulaire à la face supérieure de la feuille.


Description

La description suivante a été établie d’après Zander (1993, 2000), Lawton (1971), McIntosh et Paige (2001) ainsi que d’après les spécimens d’herbier examinés. La figure 1 est un montage tiré de Zander (2000) et illustre bon nombre des caractères ici mentionnés.

Figure 1 : Plante entière, feuilles et cellules du Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum

Figure 1 : Plante entière, feuilles et cellules du Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum.

Coupe transversale de la tige, en haut à gauche; pointe de la feuille, au centre; coupe transversale de la partie médiane de la feuille, à droite.
Dessins réalisés dans le cadre du projet Bryophyte Flora of North America.

Le Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum est une mousse vivace acrocarpe (dont les organes femelles et les sporophytes apparaissent à l’extrémité des tiges principales) qui pousse en petites touffes ou en gazons denses, à l’état pur ou en mélange avec d’autres mousses et des lichens. Les tiges se ramifient à la base et mesurent normalement de 2 à 6 mm de hauteur, mais les tiges de 1 à 3 mm sont fréquentes parmi les spécimens récoltés en Colombie-Britannique. Les feuilles sont ovées-lancéolées, ou plus rarement ovées, et généralement très aiguës. À l’état sec, les feuilles sont raides et dressées, ou rarement contortées chez certains gros individus, imbriquées (chevauchantes) et généralement brun-rouge foncé. À l’état humide, elles sont dressées-étalées et parfois vertes. Les feuilles mesurent normalement de 0,8 à 1,2 mm de longueur, mais Zander (2000) signale qu’elles peuvent être un peu plus longues. Les marges de la feuille sont entières et étroitement récurvées depuis près de la base jusqu’à près du sommet.

À mi-longueur de la feuille, la nervure compte jusqu’à 8 cellules dans le sens de la largeur. La nervure forme à la face supérieure de la feuille un bourrelet caractéristique. La nervure est excurrente, se prolongeant en un mucron aigu constitué de cellules allongées, à tout le moins chez les jeunes feuilles. Chez les feuilles vieilles et érodées, le mucron est absent ou difficile à observer, ce qui complique l’identification de certains spécimens. Les cellules médianes et supérieures de la feuille, isodiamétriques ou irrégulièrement et courtement rectangulaires, sont recouvertes de petites papilles et mesurent de 8 à 15 µm de diamètre. Les cellules basales sont carrées à courtement rectangulaires, dépourvues de papilles, et leurs parois sont minces.

Le Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum est une mousse dioïque, dont les organes mâles et femelles sont donc produits par des tiges différentes. Les feuilles périchétiales (entourant les organes femelles) sont plus grandes et plus concaves que les feuilles caulinaires, mesurent de 1,6 à 1,8 mm de longueur et ont souvent les marges planes. Les sporophytes (produisant les spores) arrivent à maturité vers le début du printemps mais sont rarement observés, dans toute l’aire de répartition de l’espèce. La soie (tige du sporophyte) est foncée, la capsule (sac produisant les spores) est cylindrique à ovoïde-cylindrique et longuement exserte, l’opercule (couvercle de la capsule) est conique-rostré, et le péristome (couronne d’appendices en forme de dents bordant l’orifice de la capsule) est rudimentaire ou absent. Les spores sont presque lisses et mesurent de 8 à 13 µm de diamètre.

En Colombie-Britannique, le Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum risque d’être confondu avec le Didymodon vinealis (Brid.) Zand., mousse plus commune ayant un habitat semblable et formant aussi des touffes brun-rouge sur le sol. Cette espèce se distingue du B. columbianum par certains caractères de la feuille : la nervure est beaucoup plus étroite, la feuille ne se termine pas par un mucron aigu multicellulaire mais plutôt par une cellule conique plus petite et moins aiguë, et les feuilles supérieures sont moins récurvées et souvent plus tortillées, du moins à l’état sec. Le Tortula atrovirens (Sm.) Lindb., autrefois appelé Desmatodon convolutus (Brid.) Grout, est une autre petite mousse brun-rouge, relativement commune dans les terrains limoneux, qui pourrait être confondue avec le B. columbianum mais s’en distingue par le sommet obtus de ses feuilles et par son port généralement tortillé à l’état sec.

On trouvera des clés d’identification et des illustrations supplémentaires dans Lawton (1971, sous Didymodon columbianus) et Zander (1978, 2000).