Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Columbian Carpet Moss in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum is restricted to soils in semi-arid shrub-steppe and grassland environments, characterized by dry, hot summers and cool to cold, moderately wet winters. Across its North American range, ithas been found growing on soil over acid rock, on sandy soil, in grassland steppe, or on ledges and bluffs near rivers (Zander 2000).

In British Columbia, this species is found in the Bunchgrass Biogeoclimatic Zone, which is restricted to a number of narrow valleys in the south-central part of the province. Common plants in this zone are bluebunch wheatgrass (Agropyron spicatum), needlegrass (Stipa comata), big sage (Artemisia tridentata), and antelope brush (Purshia tridentata, in the southern portions of the Okanagan Valley). Within the Bunchgrass Zone, it has been found on a variety of soil types, including compact silts, silt-loams, and sandy loams, where it appears to be a minor component of some biological soil crusts, important contributors to the health of arid land ecosystems (Belnap et al. 2001, Evans and Johansen 1999). Common crust associates include lichens, Cladonia cariosa, Acarospora schleicheri, and Psora spp, and mosses, in particular Tortula atrovirens, Didymodon vinealis, Syntrichia ruralis, Pseudocrossidium obtusulum, and Ceratodon purpureus. It also has been found on thin soil over an outcrop face (Collection 5), growing with a species of Grimmia, although this is an unusual habitat for this species.


Trends

Table 2 (Column C) lists habitat trends and conditions for each of the 11 known populations, along with conditions for some of the reported but unconfirmed locations of Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum in British Columbia. Two of the known locations are heavily disturbed, four are moderately disturbed, and five are relatively undisturbed. Most sites appear to be relatively stable, but site monitoring is necessary in order to confirm this.

Table 2: Habitat and Population Characteristics of Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum Collection Sites in British Columbia
A
Collection Site
( * = confirmed
population)
B
Limiting
Factors
and Threats
C
Habitat
Condition
and Trend
D
Population
Size
and Trend
E
Protection
and
Ownership
1B (C)B – C, B??
2?A (E) FA – B, B?Gmp
3????
4????
5????
6*D EA – B, BB, BGm?
7AB, A - B?Gp
8 and 10*?D EA, BA, BGm
9*?D EA, BB, BGm
11*C E FB, BA, CGp
12*A FB, BB, BGp
13*EA – B, AB, B (?A)P
14*AB – C, BA, BGp
15*A (F)B – C, BB, BGp
16*D EC, BC, CGp?
17*E FC, ?AA, B (?A)Gm
18*E FA – B, BC, BGm
19????

Notes (in all cases, ‘?’ refers to ‘unknown’ or ‘uncertain’, and a letter in brackets refers to ‘minor importance’):
1. With respect to Column B: A refers to grazing impacts, B refers to vineyard, C refers to urban development, D refers to road building, E refers to human impacts such as hiking, and F refers to general erosion.
2. With respect to Column C: Habitat Condition: A refers to relatively undisturbed, B refers to moderately disturbed, C refers to heavily disturbed; Habitat Trend: A refers to improving, B refers to stable, C refers to degrading.
3. With respect to Column D: Population Size: ‘A’ means widespread in area surveyed, ‘B’ means uncommon across site, and ‘C’ rare across site; Population Trend: A refers to improving, B refers to stable, C refers to declining.
4. With respect to Column E: P refers to private ownership and G refers to government ownership, either municipal (m) or provincial (p, usually crown land).


Protection/Ownership

Most of our extant populations of Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum are found on public-owned lands, either municipal or provincial, in particular crown lands. At Collection Site 1, it may be present in an ecological research area that is found along Inkaneep Road north of Osoyoos, but was not seen there during the survey. At Collection Site 2 near Spences Bridge, there is a sign near the site that restricts entry to the waterfalls area at the municipal site, but B. columbianum, if it is still present here, is probably more common in the shrub-steppe nearby where access is allowed. Some protection appears available at Collection Site 7 (Churn Creek Provincial Park in the Cariboo) and at Collection Sites 8, 9, and 10 (apparently this part of the Valleyview area in Kamloops is a municipal recreational park, and dogs are regularly walked at this location).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’érythrophylle du Columbia au Canada

Habitat

Besoins de l’espèce

Le Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum ne pousse que sur le sol de prairies et steppes arbustives semi-arides, dans des régions se caractérisant par des étés secs très chauds et des hivers frais à froids modérément humides. Dans l’ensemble de son aire nord-américaine, l’espèce a été trouvée sur des sols recouvrant des roches acides, sur des sols sableux, dans des steppes de graminées et sur des corniches et escarpements bordant les rivières (Zander, 2000).

En Colombie-Britannique, l’espèce se rencontre dans une seule zone biogéoclimatique, la zone à graminées cespiteuses, qui se limite à un certain nombre de vallées étroites du centre-sud de la province. Parmi les plantes communes de cette zone, mentionnons l’agropyre à épi (Agropyron spicatum), la stipe chevelue (Stipa comata), l’armoise tridentée (Artemisia tridentata) et, dans le sud de la vallée de l’Okanagan, la purshie tridentée (Purshia tridentata). À l’intérieur de la zone, le Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum a été trouvé sur divers types de sols, dont des limons compacts, des loams limoneux et des loams sableux. L’espèce semble être une composante mineure des croûtes biologiques qui recouvrent ces sols et contribuent de façon importante à la santé des écosystèmes arides (Belnap et al., 2001; Evans et Johansen, 1999). Dans ces croûtes, le Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum est communément associé aux lichens Cladonia cariosa, Acarospora schleicheri et Psora spp ainsi qu’à certaines mousses, dont le Tortula atrovirens, le Didymodon vinealis, le Syntrichia ruralis, le Pseudocrossidium obtusulum et le Ceratodon purpureus. Le B. columbianum a également été trouvé sur le sol mince recouvrant un affleurement rocheux (spécimen 5), où il poussait avec une mousse du genre Grimmia, mais cet habitat est inhabituel.


Tendances

La colonne C du tableau 2 résume la situation et les tendances de l’habitat dans chacune des 11 sites connus et dans certains des sites signalés mais non confirmés du Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum en Colombie-Britannique. Le terrain est très perturbé dans deux des sites connus, modérément perturbé dans quatre des sites, et relativement exempt de perturbation dans les cinq autres. La plupart des sites semblent relativement stables, mais seule une surveillance permettrait de le confirmer.

Tableau 2 : Habitat et autres caractéristiques des populations de Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum de la Colombie-Britannique
A
Localité de récolte
(* = population
confirmée)
B
Facteurs
limitatifs
et menaces
C
Situation et
tendances
de l’habitat
D
Taille et
tendances
de la population
E
Protection et
propriétee
des terrains
1B (C)B – C, B??
2?A (E) FA – B, B?Gmp
3????
4????
5????
6*D EA – B, BB, BGm?
7AB, A – B?Gp
8 et 10*?D EA, BA, BGm
9*?D EA, BB, BGm
11*C E FB, BA, CGp
12*A FB, BB, BGp
13*EA – B, AB, B (?A)P
14*AB – C, BA, BGp
15*A (F)B – C, BB, BGp
16*D EC, BC, CGp?
17*E FC, ?AA, B (?A)Gm
18*E FA – B, BC, BGm
19????

Notes (dans tous les cas, le « ? » signifie « inconnu » ou « incertain », et les lettres mises entre parenthèses désignent des facteurs d’importance mineure)
1. Dans la colonne B, le A indique un impact du broutage, le B indique l’aménagement d’un vignoble, le C indique une expansion urbaine, le D indique une construction routière, le E indique des activités telles que randonnée pédestre, et le F indique une érosion générale.
2. Dans la colonne C, la première lettre indique la situation de l’habitat, où A signifie une absence relative de perturbation, B signifie une perturbation modérée et C, une forte perturbation, tandis que la deuxième lettre indique les tendances de l’habitat, où A signifie une amélioration, B signifie une stabilité, et C, une dégradation.
3. Dans la colonne D, la première lettre indique la taille de la population, où A signifie que l’espèce est répandue dans la localité examinée, B signifie qu’elle y est peu commune, et C signifie qu’elle y est rare. La deuxième lettre indique les tendances de la population, où A indique un accroissement, B, une stabilité, et C, un déclin.
4. Dans la colonne E, le P signifie qu’il s’agit d’un terrain privé, et le G signifie que le terrain appartient au gouvernement municipal (Gm) ou provincial (Gp, le plus souvent une terre de la Couronne).


Protection et propriété des terrains

La plupart des populations canadiennes actuelles du Bryoerythrophyllum columbianum se trouvent sur des terrains municipaux ou provinciaux, ces derniers étant souvent des terres de la Couronne. Dans le cas de la localité 1, la population est peut-être présente dans un secteur servant à des recherches écologiques, le long du chemin Inkaneep, au nord d’Osoyoos, mais l’espèce n’a pas été trouvée à cet endroit durant le relevé. À proximité de la localité 2, près de Spences Bridge, il y a une affiche limitant l’accès au terrain municipal où se trouvent les chutes, mais le B. columbianum, s’il pousse toujours dans cette localité, est probablement plus commun dans la steppe arbustive voisine, à laquelle le public a accès. La localité 7 semble jouir d’une certaine protection, étant située dans le parc provincial Churn Creek, dans la région de Cariboo. Il en est de même pour les localités 8, 9 et 10, situées dans ce qui semble être un parc récréatif municipal du quartier Valleyview, à Kamloops, mais cet endroit est régulièrement utilisé pour promener les chiens.